Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > Folding@Home - Join Team Guru3D !
Folding@Home - Join Team Guru3D ! Please join the Folding@Home Research Program, join team Guru3D. Let's rank the charts high and fight disease !



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
MoosePower
Maha Guru
 
MoosePower's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970
Processor: Xeon e3 1230 v2
Mainboard: Gigabyte z77x-ud3h
Memory: 16GB GSKill Trident 2400
Soundcard: Logitech z5300/Integrated
PSU: Rosewill Fortress 650
Default 04-28-2007, 22:34 | posts: 885 | Location: Tacoma, Wa.

Signed up, hope I can help.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
dcx_badass
Ancient Guru
 
dcx_badass's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX570 1280mb
Processor: I5 4670k
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1333mhz
Soundcard: Realtek ALC892
PSU: 600w OCZ StealthXstream
Default 04-28-2007, 23:43 | posts: 9,983

I joined, its running atm. Should be done in 10hrs.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
Catroqui
Master Guru
 
Catroqui's Avatar
 
Videocard: SLi GTX 980 OC/GTX 970 OC
Processor: i7 4790K/Xeon X5660
Mainboard: Asus Z97-Pro/Asus P6T
Memory: Corsair 16Gb/12Gb OCZ
Soundcard: Onboard/Edifier 2.1/5.1
PSU: Corsair 750w/600w
Default 04-28-2007, 23:51 | posts: 738

I'm in.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
Kow
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: HIS Radeon HD 5850
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 965
Mainboard: Asus Crosshair IV Formula
Memory: OCZ DDR3 4gb
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ 750W
Default 04-29-2007, 00:03 | posts: 1,461 | Location: Twin Cities, MN, USA

They need to get a good version of SMP going because most people these days in Windows do not want to use a console client, and most have SMP machines (2+ cores/cpus). Anyways, running SMP client...

The only confusing part about this is that Folding@Home says the SMP client does not have Windows Service support, yet here I am looking at the Windows Services and Folding@Home is there and running as a service.

Ah I see, its running but its not actually starting the EXE that does all the work, FahCore_a1.exe. I guess I'll just get used to a console window chilling out in the taskbar.

Last edited by Kow; 04-29-2007 at 00:15.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
theworldisover
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Msi 960 gamer 2gb
Processor: Intel i5-4690k @ 4.2ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: 8gb ddr 3 1333
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: corsair 600w
Default 04-29-2007, 01:12 | posts: 1,272

i wanna join this but a couple ?'s

first off can i use it on the PC i use for games and stuff and let it run eveyr night? or do i gotta let it run 24/7?

when i double click on it to install a *install* thing comes up on taskbar then closes real fast...and its not installed. any idea why?

im using vista 32bit
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
aircool
Don Aircooleone
 
aircool's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
Processor: Intel i5 2500K @ Stock
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-V LX
Memory: Corsair 8GB @ 1600
Soundcard: ALC887 - Inspire P580.
PSU: Antec TruePower New 650W
Default 04-29-2007, 01:33 | posts: 13,735 | Location: Devon, In A Little Town.

Quote:
first off can i use it on the PC i use for games and stuff and let it run eveyr night? or do i gotta let it run 24/7?
You can pause it when you want to use your computer for gaming and such.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
morbias
Don Tommasino
 
morbias's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 04-29-2007, 02:21 | posts: 13,297 | Location: UK

I set it to idle and max cpu usage of 85%, and haven't noticed any performance drop running games. You can't run the gui version at the same time as a game I don't think, as the gui is already using the videocard.


Follow Guru3D on twitter.
Folding@Home - join team Guru3D!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
Sprecker
Maha Guru
 
Sprecker's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotech 680 4g
Processor: i7 920 stock/water cooled
Mainboard: X58
Memory: 6gb DDR3
Soundcard: onboard & headphones, Aud
PSU: 850W
Default 04-29-2007, 03:03 | posts: 2,448 | Location: Ottawa, Canada

Done. I put in the team # but it doesn't say I'm on a team when I cheack the stats. ?? Other than that I'm good I guess.
Cheers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
darknight909
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 970
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Pro
Memory: 2 x 8GB DDR3 2800
Soundcard: Realtek ALC1150
PSU: Tough Power 700w
Default 04-29-2007, 04:03 | posts: 4,852 | Location: San Diego, CA

is there a way to join a group using my ps3 im not to sure but i would be glad to enable it on my ps3
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
scipio
Ancient Guru
 
scipio's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga 1080 gaming
Processor: 6700k-H110i 4.7
Mainboard: asus z170a
Memory: Ddr4 3000 vengeance16 gb
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Corsair Rm750
Default 04-29-2007, 04:33 | posts: 4,630 | Location: NorCal

joined
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#36)
Nafta
Master Guru
 
Nafta's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7950/HD4000 MVP
Processor: i7 3770k
Mainboard: Gigabyte Sniper M3
Memory: 16Gb Gskill Ripjaws 1600
Soundcard: SoundCore3D
PSU: Silverstone 750W
Default 04-29-2007, 06:11 | posts: 469 | Location: Who? What? Where?

I would have joined with my ps3 but I'm already on another team, sorry.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#37)
nm+
Don Cappuccino
 
nm+'s Avatar
 
Videocard: old
Processor: slow
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: small
Default 04-29-2007, 08:39 | posts: 10,418 | Location: Get off my lawn

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nafta View Post
I would have joined with my ps3 but I'm already on another team, sorry.
defect
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#38)
Xenthalon
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX460 1024MB
Processor: Intel 3570K @ 3.8GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z75
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: BeQuiet! DarkPowerPro650W
Default 04-29-2007, 09:56 | posts: 9

Joined up, had it running since yesterday by a complete coincidence and now found your group, awesome!

Have it running on my rig here with gpu support, and on my "server" aswell. Some Pentium4 2,4ghz, 1gb ram and a geforce 6600gt running 24/7.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#39)
W@w@Y
Ancient Guru
 
W@w@Y's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus Strix 1080 Advanced
Processor: 5820k@stock
Mainboard: Asus X99-A/USB 3.1
Memory: 16Gb Gskill DDR4 2400
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: Seasonic X Series 750W
Default 04-29-2007, 10:04 | posts: 8,016 | Location: Singapore

signed up

i already launched the app (downloaded the first link...the one with recommended on it)

but its been about 10 minutes and i havent had any work done....

any help on settings please?

Last edited by W@w@Y; 04-29-2007 at 10:10.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#40)
iako
Maha Guru
 
iako's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 580 LIGHTNING
Processor: Intel Ci7 920 @ 3.4 GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD4P
Memory: 12GB Corsair 1600 777.20
Soundcard: Creative Audigy 2 ZS Plat
PSU: TT Tough Power 850W
Default 04-29-2007, 10:13 | posts: 2,072 | Location: London / Athens / New-York / Beirut

Been folding a while with another team... but I'll change a couple of CPUs over to Guru3D next week...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#41)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 ACX
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 04-29-2007, 10:18 | posts: 12,883 | Location: Finland

Does anyone know if X1800 XT does this job faster than E6400?

Current Work Unit
-----------------
Name: 1258 p2739_GPUlambda
Tag: -
Download time: April 28 16:49:25
Due time: May 4 16:49:25
Progress: 3% [__________]

I am not doing this 24h per day. Graphical client crashed so I changed to command line version.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#42)
kwak
Ancient Guru
 
kwak's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 560 ti
Processor: Core i5 2500k
Mainboard: Asus P8P67
Memory: 8GB Adata 2000
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Seasonic M12D 850
Default 04-29-2007, 10:57 | posts: 6,553 | Location: Galactic Sector QQ7 Active J Gamma

just switched from ud to folding, but is this normal in the beginning, it looks like its just sitting idle all the time?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#43)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 5960K
Mainboard: X99
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 04-29-2007, 11:30 | posts: 28,939 | Location: Guru3D testlab

No .. I think there is an issue @ Standford. I noticed this on a second rig today as well and a others have reported it also.

Dunno, try again tomorrow. Current running clients/projects seem fine though.


Follow Guru3D on twitter - facebook and Youtube.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#44)
garylouden
Maha Guru
 
garylouden's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG OC GTX280
Processor: i7 920 D0 @ 3.8Ghz
Mainboard: gigabyte UD5
Memory: Kingston HyperX 3x2Gb
Soundcard: X-FI / Logitech Z-2300
PSU: Corsair Pro 850watt
Default 04-29-2007, 11:32 | posts: 1,071 | Location: Scotland

sure i will give it a try. just downloaded cpu version
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#45)
Glidefan
Don Booze
 
Glidefan's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 | 8600M GS
Processor: i7 6700 | C2D T5550
Mainboard: MSI Z170A
Memory: 16GB| 4096MB
Soundcard: SB Z | ALC 888
PSU: Aurora 600w | 90w AC
Default 04-29-2007, 12:05 | posts: 12,289 | Location: Solar System, Earth, Med, Cyprus

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anarion View Post
Does anyone know if X1800 XT does this job faster than E6400?

Current Work Unit
-----------------
Name: 1258 p2739_GPUlambda
Tag: -
Download time: April 28 16:49:25
Due time: May 4 16:49:25
Progress: 3% [__________]

I am not doing this 24h per day. Graphical client crashed so I changed to command line version.
The GPU client is faster, but less versatile in what it can compute. The CPU client is slower, but it can compute more kinds of data. (At least that is what i could understand from the FAQ. Hence the CPU client receives more points.)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#46)
Silenced
Member Guru
 
Silenced's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x XFX 9800GTX SLI
Processor: Intel E8400 @3.6 AC Freezer 7 Pro
Mainboard: XFX 790i Ultra SLI DDR3
Memory: OCZ Reaper HPC 4GB DDR3 1333
Soundcard: AuzenTech Prelude, Logitech Z-5500
PSU: OCZ ModXStream 900W
Default 04-29-2007, 12:40 | posts: 88 | Location: Washington State, US

Signed up.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#47)
Satan
Ancient Guru
 
Satan's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia 1080 GTX Founders
Processor: Intel Core i7-6700K
Mainboard: Asus Z170-E
Memory: 64GB G.Skill DDR4
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi HD et al.
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova G2
Default 04-29-2007, 13:14 | posts: 6,685 | Location: Baltimore, MD, USA

I was on team XS, but now that you guys have a team and you're my home, I will join you!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#48)
Anarion
Ancient Guru
 
Anarion's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 ACX
Processor: Intel Core i7 3770K
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16 GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx + HD 595
PSU: Corsair AX760
Default 04-29-2007, 13:55 | posts: 12,883 | Location: Finland

We are starting to see some results: http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/...&teamnum=69411

It seems that their login server (or something like that) has some problems because it can not connect to assignment server. BTW, it did that work unit in about one and a half hour (if that shows it right).

Last edited by Anarion; 04-29-2007 at 13:58.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#49)
Xenthalon
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX460 1024MB
Processor: Intel 3570K @ 3.8GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z75
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: BeQuiet! DarkPowerPro650W
Default 04-29-2007, 15:58 | posts: 9

Yeah, can't get another work unit either after completing mine. I allowed my client to download larger work units and am running on gpu, so after completing my first work unit ~20hours I already got 330 points!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#50)
cshall
Member Guru
 
Videocard: G4-TI 4600/G4-TI 4400/G3-TI 500
Processor: Athlon XP 2100+/2100+/2000+
Mainboard: ASUS A7V333/A7V333/A7V333
Memory: PC2700-1024/512/512
Soundcard: Soundblaster Live/ditto/ditto
PSU:
Default 04-29-2007, 16:58 | posts: 1 | Location: Albuquerque, NM

Lets get this one going.

I'll get more mahines on next week as I get UD uninstalled and install the new client.

I't's been a long time since I posted a message, but I think of you guys all the time.

Thanks.

Stan
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
folding, guru3d

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.