Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce
Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and related technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Likely we have the answer.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
StarvinMarvinDK
Maha Guru
 
StarvinMarvinDK's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus Strix 1080 1861/1385
Processor: I7 6700K @ 4500Mhz 1.295V
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VIII Hero
Memory: 16GB Corsair 3200Mhz DDR4
Soundcard: SB Z, KRK Rokit 5 Stereo
PSU: EVGA Supernova 750G2
Default 06-11-2007, 18:01 | posts: 1,260 | Location: Denmark

Actually my score rose about 900points when I put the second card in the right slot

And I had some colour corruption that disappeared too
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 06-11-2007, 18:23 | posts: 12,790 | Location: new jersey

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angushades View Post
Hey StarvinMarvinDK don't worry about your mobo been a sli X8 in each slot it doesn't make any difference . not even 2 GTX uses the full 16 in each slot Ok. Don't go and waste your money on a new mobo because some dude has no idea whats his talking about. You should read up about that if you don't belive me , im pretty sure tomshardware did a study about that not long ago. Go check it out.
it seems you dont know what you talkin about smdk has 16x x2

and it only mattered in futuremark 3d tests

Last edited by cowie; 06-11-2007 at 18:27.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
Angushades
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Evga 980Ti EK COOLED
Processor: I7 3770K @4.5 EK COOLED
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe
Memory: 16GB G.Skill-2400 CL10
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Fi Forte
PSU: Enermax 1250W
Default 06-12-2007, 03:47 | posts: 138 | Location: Australia

Oh really...how is that? and why would that be? last i checked i still haven't seen any card that using the full of an AGPX8....So in real time gaming it doesn't matter huh? So its bad to own a 965 board that has only 8X no 16X in each lane for duel cards?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 06-12-2007, 08:39 | posts: 12,790 | Location: new jersey

yo stop it ok i never said that,plus i have a 1x16 2 x8 mb i'm on now ok.
it scores a little less at same clocks in b/m's is all i said so go play now ok.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 06-12-2007, 08:42 | posts: 12,790 | Location: new jersey

you act like tm the babyest baby winer waaaaaaaa no no go get a bottle
btw welcome to guru where the folks dont take no bs
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
Angushades
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Evga 980Ti EK COOLED
Processor: I7 3770K @4.5 EK COOLED
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe
Memory: 16GB G.Skill-2400 CL10
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Fi Forte
PSU: Enermax 1250W
Default 06-12-2007, 09:33 | posts: 138 | Location: Australia

Ok Ill act my age now, sorry for the crap.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#57)
JPennStar
Maha Guru
 
JPennStar's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD 7970M
Processor: Intel i7 3610QM
Mainboard: Intel
Memory: 8GB 1600Mhz
Soundcard: Creative THX 5.1
PSU: 200wh, 9 Cell Battery
Default 06-13-2007, 18:49 | posts: 1,215 | Location: Fiber 18MB/18MB Internet

I just joined the SLI club for the second time. I had SLI 7900GTs for a couple weeks and I didn't like it, to much heat, not a good enough PSU, so I ended us selling it.

Now I'm back with an awesome PSU and a pair of 8800GTS 320MB, its nice to get back in the game. Now I'm spending time reading all about it.


Here's a link to the thread I made on my new rig.
   
Reply With Quote
SLI - big pains with big gains
Old
  (#58)
Estima8tor
Maha Guru
 
Estima8tor's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 960 FTW
Processor: Core i7 920
Mainboard: Foxconn X58
Memory: 6GB CORSAIR XMS3 1600MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: CORSAIR GS 700w
Default SLI - big pains with big gains - 08-01-2007, 14:48 | posts: 2,577 | Location: Virginia, USA

Well, I finally got my SLI working nicely after almost giving up on it altogether.

After adding my second card the first issue I had was heat. My asus mobo is passively cooled with a heat pipe set-up. The fist time I fired up a game the alarms on my asus monitoring program started going off because the chip-set temps shot up over 50c (normally around 42c max). I added a spot cool fan at the bottom of my case blowing toward the chip-set and bottom gpu which got my temps back to normal. My case has excellent cooling by the way - two 120mm fans and one 90mm side fan but it wasn't enough.

I also assumed that the second card I bought would overclock to the same speeds as my original card and it did, but it caused the system to become unstable and freeze in games. I was thinking it was a PSU or driver issue at first but I finally realized the problem and I down clocked a little from 600/1600 to 575/1550 and that stabilized the system.

Then I started to tweak the driver settings. I tried using AFR 1 & 2 but got horrible performance in some games (Stalker especially). After much tweaking I decided to set it on auto and use nvidia's pre-defined game profiles which works fine as long as the games you play are already in the profile set-up. That ended up being the best setting for my system and I'm getting nice a performance increase in all of my sli supported games. Some games I had to set up manually in the game profile to get good performance but most play perfectly on nvidia's pre-defined settings.

Now games like Stalker, FEAR and COD2 that were barely playable on max settings with a single card now play completely smooth in SLI. I'm going back and re-playing my single player games like FEAR and COD2 with all of the eye candy on and the difference is just incredible! Stalker looks and plays beautifully now where it was struggling with a single 7900GS on high settings.

3DMark05 score went from 9700 to 12,650 and 3DMark06 went from 5400 to 7660 and if I had a better cpu they would be even higher I'm sure.

I never really wanted to go SLI but I needed some extra power and didn't want to shell out for a new 8800 card right now. This ended up being a great alternative and I got my second evga 7900GS KO card on sale at newegg for $130.00 shipped.

Last edited by Estima8tor; 08-01-2007 at 15:08.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
RanCor TDO
Master Guru
 
RanCor TDO's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 1080 GameRock
Processor: i7 4790k
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Hero VII
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: EVGA 750w SuperNova
Default 08-01-2007, 16:00 | posts: 344 | Location: Comrie, Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Estima8tor View Post
Well, I finally got my SLI working nicely after almost giving up on it altogether.

After adding my second card the first issue I had was heat. My asus mobo is passively cooled with a heat pipe set-up. The fist time I fired up a game the alarms on my asus monitoring program started going off because the chip-set temps shot up over 50c (normally around 42c max). I added a spot cool fan at the bottom of my case blowing toward the chip-set and bottom gpu which got my temps back to normal. My case has excellent cooling by the way - two 120mm fans and one 90mm side fan but it wasn't enough.

I also assumed that the second card I bought would overclock to the same speeds as my original card and it did, but it caused the system to become unstable and freeze in games. I was thinking it was a PSU or driver issue at first but I finally realized the problem and I down clocked a little from 600/1600 to 575/1550 and that stabilized the system.

Then I started to tweak the driver settings. I tried using AFR 1 & 2 but got horrible performance in some games (Stalker especially). After much tweaking I decided to set it on auto and use nvidia's pre-defined game profiles which works fine as long as the games you play are already in the profile set-up. That ended up being the best setting for my system and I'm getting nice a performance increase in all of my sli supported games. Some games I had to set up manually in the game profile to get good performance but most play perfectly on nvidia's pre-defined settings.

Now games like Stalker, FEAR and COD2 that were barely playable on max settings with a single card now play completely smooth in SLI. I'm going back and re-playing my single player games like FEAR and COD2 with all of the eye candy on and the difference is just incredible! Stalker looks and plays beautifully now where it was struggling with a single 7900GS on high settings.

3DMark05 score went from 9700 to 12,650 and 3DMark06 went from 5400 to 7660 and if I had a better cpu they would be even higher I'm sure.

I never really wanted to go SLI but I needed some extra power and didn't want to shell out for a new 8800 card right now. This ended up being a great alternative and I got my second evga 7900GS KO card on sale at newegg for $130.00 shipped.

nice to see someone who loves sli like I do

i reccomend playing quake 4 maxed out, looks absolutly amazing. I installed it again last night and im almost complete :>

anyhow back to kicking some strogg arse.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#60)
Estima8tor
Maha Guru
 
Estima8tor's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 960 FTW
Processor: Core i7 920
Mainboard: Foxconn X58
Memory: 6GB CORSAIR XMS3 1600MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: CORSAIR GS 700w
Default 08-02-2007, 16:19 | posts: 2,577 | Location: Virginia, USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by RanCor TDO View Post
nice to see someone who loves sli like I do

i reccomend playing quake 4 maxed out, looks absolutly amazing. I installed it again last night and im almost complete :>

anyhow back to kicking some strogg arse.
Yeah, I am loving the extra power. I need to re-install Q4 since I reformatted my system, never actually finished that game, lol.

The only problem I'm having now is using the AFR1 or 2, I get horrible performance when I enable either one. I'm using the "nvidia recommended profile" setting in the sli profile in the 94.24 drivers which seems to work great.

The new 162.18 drivers don't have the nividia recommended setting in the sli options anymore - looks like nvidia got rid of that option with the new drivers and it's the only setting that works good for my sli system.

I would like to be able to try the new drivers when they come out but I can't if they don't include the "nvidia recommended" settinging in the sli profile anymore. So I'm stuck using the 94.24 drivers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#61)
mcBu113t
Master Guru
 
mcBu113t's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG 8800GTX @635/1540/1060
Processor: Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.0Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P5K Premium
Memory: 2 GB G.Skill DDR2-800 4-4-3-5
Soundcard: Razer Barracuda AC/Sennheiser HD555
PSU: PC Power and Cooling Silencer 610W
Default 08-03-2007, 20:56 | posts: 266 | Location: East

Does anyone know when nVidia will be releasing an SLi board that supports DDR3 memory?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
mito
Master Guru
 
mito's Avatar
 
Videocard: zotac gtx 280 SLI
Processor: q9650
Mainboard: evga 790i ftwd
Memory: 4gb mushkin pc1600
Soundcard: _\|/_ auzentech x-fi pre
PSU: pc power silencer quad 75
Default 08-09-2007, 22:40 | posts: 160 | Location: ontario

I'm having issues with SLI...

I'm running games at 1920x1200 and everything MAXED out, except perhaps for AA, which is medium.

using forceware 162.18, latest one from nvidia.com

Stalker runs at 70fps but some scenes the framerate drops to 20fps... it's frustrating...

Call of Juarez, the first level where you steal the gun from the old man, I was getting like 100fps, it was flying.... but after I reached the town (after the bridge), framerate drops to a horrible 20fps...

Splinter Cell Double Agent is OK, steady at 40fps... Never drops below 30fps.

Now FEAR Extraction Point, this baby flies at 150fps... IQ and GFX are awesome. Of course I'm running it at 1600x1200 (max everything)... Have to try 1920x1200

And I have yet to overclock my q6600....

Last edited by mito; 08-09-2007 at 22:44.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#63)
Estima8tor
Maha Guru
 
Estima8tor's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 960 FTW
Processor: Core i7 920
Mainboard: Foxconn X58
Memory: 6GB CORSAIR XMS3 1600MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
PSU: CORSAIR GS 700w
Default 08-10-2007, 16:09 | posts: 2,577 | Location: Virginia, USA

I had the same problem with the 162.18 drivers - sever fps drop in some games.

Try installing the 94.24 drivers. Then go into the global driver settings and set the SLI mode to the "nvidia recommended" setting instead of using AFR.

It got rid of all the nasty frame rate drop problems for me. It's worth a try.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#64)
mito
Master Guru
 
mito's Avatar
 
Videocard: zotac gtx 280 SLI
Processor: q9650
Mainboard: evga 790i ftwd
Memory: 4gb mushkin pc1600
Soundcard: _\|/_ auzentech x-fi pre
PSU: pc power silencer quad 75
Default 08-10-2007, 21:08 | posts: 160 | Location: ontario

Quote:
Originally Posted by Estima8tor View Post
I had the same problem with the 162.18 drivers - sever fps drop in some games.

Try installing the 94.24 drivers. Then go into the global driver settings and set the SLI mode to the "nvidia recommended" setting instead of using AFR.

It got rid of all the nasty frame rate drop problems for me. It's worth a try.
nice...

isn't 94.24 too old for my rig?

What about Vista64? I haven't even installed it yet.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#65)
mito
Master Guru
 
mito's Avatar
 
Videocard: zotac gtx 280 SLI
Processor: q9650
Mainboard: evga 790i ftwd
Memory: 4gb mushkin pc1600
Soundcard: _\|/_ auzentech x-fi pre
PSU: pc power silencer quad 75
Default 08-11-2007, 14:20 | posts: 160 | Location: ontario

Under nVidia Control Panel I am setting AFR 2.

That seems to solve the issue of low framerates in Stalker and Juarez.

Why AFR 2?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
mito
Master Guru
 
mito's Avatar
 
Videocard: zotac gtx 280 SLI
Processor: q9650
Mainboard: evga 790i ftwd
Memory: 4gb mushkin pc1600
Soundcard: _\|/_ auzentech x-fi pre
PSU: pc power silencer quad 75
Default 08-11-2007, 18:53 | posts: 160 | Location: ontario

I learned something yesterday regarding SLI and poor perfomance.

I crank things up (1920x1200 details = MAX) and do not OC.


Please check my config and the following storyline:

1. Installed Win XP and forceware 158 (comes with evga cd);

2. avg fps: stalker=75 / juarez=50 / scda=60 / fear=150;

3. Installed forceware 162.18, nightmare begins;

4. avg fps: stalker=10 / juarez=19 / scda=60 / fear=150

5. Downgrade to forceware 158;

6. same fps

7. go to nVidia Control Panel -> 3d settings -> Manage 3d settings -> Program Settings

8. set SLI Perfomance Mode to Force Alternate Frame Rendering 2

9. voilá!!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
Burnt_Ram
Ancient Guru
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 580 SLi
Processor: Core i5 @ 4.2 H20 Cooled
Mainboard: Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Memory: G.Skill RipJaw 1600 2x4GB
Soundcard: Via HD 7.1
PSU: Corsair HX1050W
Default 08-12-2007, 14:26 | posts: 5,926 | Location: British Columbia

Quote:
Originally Posted by mito View Post
Under nVidia Control Panel I am setting AFR 2.

That seems to solve the issue of low framerates in Stalker and Juarez.

Why AFR 2?
some games run better with AFR, some AFR2. just the way it is, and that can change from driver to driver.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
Marri
Ancient Guru
 
Marri's Avatar
 
Videocard: 5970
Processor: :S
Mainboard: Asus Rampage :S
Memory: 12GB GT2000
Soundcard: Xonar HDAV1.3DLX
PSU: TT 1500watt
Default 08-12-2007, 15:12 | posts: 3,465 | Location: Moon

let me know if u guy come up with a working proformance boosting profile for Supreme Commander or atleast better settings for SLi...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: GB 290X WF3
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX860
Default 08-13-2007, 22:19 | posts: 8,163 | Location: United Kingdom

I have just ordered a q6600 with an asus a5n-e sli mobo, 2 gb corsair. I have also just ordered a leadtek 8800gts 640mb only to read that this card only does sli on dual sli x16 pci-e boards, The above board only does dual x8 pci-e in sli mode.

Any one had any experience of running a similar setup?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#70)
MikeMK
Ancient Guru
 
MikeMK's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x EVGA GTX980 Ti SLI
Processor: Core i7 5960x
Mainboard: MSI X99S X-Power ac
Memory: 16gb Corsair Plat DDR4
Soundcard: Asus Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Enermax Revolution+ 1200w
Default 08-13-2007, 22:30 | posts: 11,044 | Location: Woking

Marri - I dont think you will ever get a huge boost from Supreme Commander as your CPU is just as if not more important to that game as pure GPU power. Infact its one of the few games that really makes use of more cores.

Protocol - im pretty sure ive read of people who have 8800's working on dual 8x SLI boards. However, if you can return the board and swap it at no cost, its probably worth getting yourself a 680i based board. For quads, either the EVGA or the DFI seem to be best.

BTW - i take it you are changing that 240watt PSU for something rather more meaty?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#71)
BlackZero
Ancient Guru
 
BlackZero's Avatar
 
Videocard: GB 290X WF3
Processor: 2600K H2O
Mainboard: Asus P67 Pro
Memory: G.Skill 2133
Soundcard: X-Fi + 2400ES
PSU: Corsair AX860
Thumbs up 08-13-2007, 22:40 | posts: 8,163 | Location: United Kingdom

Hey Mike,

Just got an email from supplier confirming that I can upgrade to the p5n32-e plus sli which supports dual x16 pci-e in sli mode.

Yes the psu will be upgraded along with a new case, just a 450 watt for the time being.

No disrespect to my faithfull 240 watt from hp, served me well currently running an x1950-pro oc to 620+ on core and 1500 on mem effective, with 2 hd's, a dvd, a cd-rom, 2 case fans, and a zalman vf700-cu keepimg the x1950-pro at mid 50s at full load while overclocked.

cant complain.

Last edited by BlackZero; 08-13-2007 at 23:34.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#72)
Burnt_Ram
Ancient Guru
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 580 SLi
Processor: Core i5 @ 4.2 H20 Cooled
Mainboard: Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Memory: G.Skill RipJaw 1600 2x4GB
Soundcard: Via HD 7.1
PSU: Corsair HX1050W
Default 08-14-2007, 03:16 | posts: 5,926 | Location: British Columbia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Protocol_48 View Post
I have just ordered a q6600 with an asus a5n-e sli mobo, 2 gb corsair. I have also just ordered a leadtek 8800gts 640mb only to read that this card only does sli on dual sli x16 pci-e boards, The above board only does dual x8 pci-e in sli mode.

Any one had any experience of running a similar setup?
i run 8X SLi, and its fine. mind you i probably loose a bit of speed, but it's neglegable according to any of the articles i've read.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#73)
Bani
Master Guru
 
Bani's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX GeForce 8800 GTX
Processor: Intel QX9650 3 GHz
Mainboard: Abit IP35 Pro
Memory: 4 GB DDR2 Crucial Ballistix 8500
Soundcard: Creative X-gamer X-fi Platinium
PSU: Thermaltake Thoughpower 850
Default 08-15-2007, 00:01 | posts: 463 | Location: Norway

can anyone tell me if there is a program that let u check if your SLI setup is working propperly when running games ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#74)
MoosePower
Maha Guru
 
MoosePower's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970
Processor: Xeon e3 1230 v2
Mainboard: Gigabyte z77x-ud3h
Memory: 16GB GSKill Trident 2400
Soundcard: Logitech z5300/Integrated
PSU: Rosewill Fortress 650
Default 08-16-2007, 07:33 | posts: 885 | Location: Tacoma, Wa.

Hey guys I'm thinking about purchasing a second 7950 cheap off ebay. I was wondering if I would see a dramatic performance boost? The games I play most are Oblivion and cnc3. I play on 1280 by 1024, but will soon upgade to a 22 inch lcd. Also the card I would most likely get is a bfg, and I was wondering if it would have compatability issues with my evga 7950? The BFG would have a slower core and memory speed, but I should be able to fix that with a small oc.

Last edited by MoosePower; 08-16-2007 at 07:58.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#75)
Paladinchan
Maha Guru
 
Paladinchan's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX970
Processor: i7 4790K
Mainboard: Asrock Fatal1ty Z97 Pro
Memory: 8GB GSkill 1333 Ripjaws
Soundcard: Astro A40
PSU: Thermaltake 850W
Default 08-21-2007, 17:26 | posts: 1,997 | Location: FL USA

real quick.. what you would guys say is the best size (watt and amp) Power Supply is best for a pair of 88GTS's

nvm.. i picked up a Cooler Master Power Pro 850W today.. good deal... it should take care of it

Last edited by Paladinchan; 08-21-2007 at 21:47.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.