Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce
Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce This forum is all about NVIDIA graphics cards and related technology. Do you have a question regarding an older GeForce videocard? Likely we have the answer.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
Marri
Ancient Guru
 
Marri's Avatar
 
Videocard: 5970
Processor: :S
Mainboard: Asus Rampage :S
Memory: 12GB GT2000
Soundcard: Xonar HDAV1.3DLX
PSU: TT 1500watt
Default 05-12-2007, 03:32 | posts: 3,465 | Location: Moon

I honestly think there would be a drag effect with two 8x over a 16x PCI-E lane...

By drag I mean , like running a game on low refresh rate..
Dont know if every one else would agree but that's what I've noticed..

Though that was with my older cards...
So I suspect it might be a bottle neck for two 8800GTX's !
By bottle neck I mean , even though ur games might get great FPS , U'd suffer from a low response time type feel/drag effect !
Some people dont even notice it..
Cant say how much a cap it might be inturms of FPS with two 8800GTX..


But nothing major generally speaking !

Last edited by Marri; 05-12-2007 at 03:36.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
chispy
Ancient Guru
 
chispy's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1070@ 2126/2300Mhz-H2O
Processor: AMD R7 1700x@ 4200Mhz-H2O
Mainboard: Asus CH VI Hero x370 AM4
Memory: G.Skill DDR4-3200Ghz 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: eVGA Supernova G2-1300w
Smile 05-12-2007, 06:48 | posts: 7,719 | Location: In Paradise :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marri View Post
I honestly think there would be a drag effect with two 8x over a 16x PCI-E lane...

By drag I mean , like running a game on low refresh rate..
Dont know if every one else would agree but that's what I've noticed..

Though that was with my older cards...
So I suspect it might be a bottle neck for two 8800GTX's !
By bottle neck I mean , even though ur games might get great FPS , U'd suffer from a low response time type feel/drag effect !
Some people dont even notice it..
Cant say how much a cap it might be inturms of FPS with two 8800GTX..


But nothing major generally speaking !
In other words it is not recommended for 2 GTX a 650i chipset. I might think about it and see if i buy a 680i. Thanks for your suggestion and opinnion.
Good Day.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
ediflorianus
Newbie
 
ediflorianus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Radeon HD7550 2G DDR3
Processor: 2x Intel Xeon E5320 1.8gz
Mainboard: OEM Dell Precision 490
Memory: 28GB FB-DIMM DDR2 667mhz
Soundcard: Home Pioneer 4x80W
PSU: DELL 750W
Default 05-14-2007, 12:28 | posts: 34 | Location: Ro, Baia Mare

5 % diference betwen 2 GTX on 16 lens and 2 on 32 lens (i wold definitly go with the chep one) but for the future is bether 680i SLi ... bicouse grafikcards eat more and more bandwidth
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
drutort
Member Guru
 
Videocard: AMD FirePro V5900
Processor: Phenom II X6 1090T 4Ghz
Mainboard: Asus M4A79T Deluxe 2.8Ghz
Memory: G.SKILL 16GB 1600 (850)
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster X-
PSU: OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXS
Default 05-15-2007, 11:24 | posts: 81 | Location: AZ

i have a question... this hasnt been talked about and i dont know how it works... but back in agp days you could o/c the agp as well... now almost all cards have independent control... so nobody bothers with o/c like the pci-e even though there is quite a range... now would this do any good at all for sli? since some of us have only the ability of 8x and not 16x? this would be of a good test... and what "safe" values would be recommended?

If this is possible at all?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
roofio86
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 05-19-2007, 08:08 | posts: 4

Is it possibe to run SLi 8800 GTX with only one PCI-X, so basically one of the card is completely connected up via molex connectors?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
Marri
Ancient Guru
 
Marri's Avatar
 
Videocard: 5970
Processor: :S
Mainboard: Asus Rampage :S
Memory: 12GB GT2000
Soundcard: Xonar HDAV1.3DLX
PSU: TT 1500watt
Default 05-19-2007, 18:34 | posts: 3,465 | Location: Moon

Quote:
Originally Posted by drutort View Post
i have a question... this hasnt been talked about and i dont know how it works... but back in agp days you could o/c the agp as well... now almost all cards have independent control... so nobody bothers with o/c like the pci-e even though there is quite a range... now would this do any good at all for sli? since some of us have only the ability of 8x and not 16x? this would be of a good test... and what "safe" values would be recommended?

If this is possible at all?

OCing the PCI-E lane , results in poor performance or a degrade in performance !
U can try it out...but its a waste of time every time I've given it a shot !

Quote:
Is it possibe to run SLi 8800 GTX with only one PCI-X, so basically one of the card is completely connected up via molex connectors?
No wayYy !
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
LBC|Jester
Newbie
 
Videocard: EVGA / XFX 8800GT
Processor: E6600 @ 3.2 Ghz
Mainboard: EVGA 780i
Memory: 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Fagtality
PSU: Enermax Liberty 620
Default 05-23-2007, 08:40 | posts: 6 | Location: Oklahoma

Hi, Im looking to get another 8800GTS 640 in about a week or two and was wondering what kind of performace increase I can expect?

Also will the 640MB of memory on both cards be utilized?

Will be using SLi on 1920x1200 resolution. Just trying to do homework ahead of purchase. Thanks for input!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
Marri
Ancient Guru
 
Marri's Avatar
 
Videocard: 5970
Processor: :S
Mainboard: Asus Rampage :S
Memory: 12GB GT2000
Soundcard: Xonar HDAV1.3DLX
PSU: TT 1500watt
Default 05-24-2007, 01:35 | posts: 3,465 | Location: Moon

Well first of all , you should expect a major or noticable reduction in your average minimum FPS.
Secondly my general understanding is that what your Single card does @ 1600x1200 is achievable for a SLI set @ a resolution higher or even more !

Some games gain 30% more performance , some gain 40 to 50% more...
But the least U can gain is around 15% !
I could be a bit wrong with numbers but it'll be a great boost non the less..

Last edited by Marri; 05-24-2007 at 01:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
roofio86
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 05-24-2007, 15:15 | posts: 4

I just got a new 1000w PSU, thermatake toughpower thinking this would solve all my SLi probs but when I run 3DMark06 with split frame, I get the following:

http://img486.imageshack.us/my.php?image=slidz8.jpg

and in AFR1 I get half of my normal FPS

and AFR2 I get the same FPS as with a single GPU...

Is this normal?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
Marri
Ancient Guru
 
Marri's Avatar
 
Videocard: 5970
Processor: :S
Mainboard: Asus Rampage :S
Memory: 12GB GT2000
Soundcard: Xonar HDAV1.3DLX
PSU: TT 1500watt
Default 05-26-2007, 10:24 | posts: 3,465 | Location: Moon

So assume your using two 800GTX's , correct !

Could you please give more details , about your cards , drivers and all the other things you've tried to do for solving this problem.

Dont mess around with AFR or SFR , messing around with driver settings does cause trouble most of the time..
Sometimes settings stay messed even after your delete custom profiles.

So make sure all your systems drivers are upto date and try making sure you've connect the power cables to your cards and your motherboard properly..

Use driver cleaner to remove your current drivers. Try a different set of drivers but make sure you dont play around with AFR or SFR this time...

To remove system drivers , go to device manager through safe mode..
uninstalled drivers from both your cards...
Reboot , safe mode , driver cleaner , clear 'Nvidia' .

Plus make sure your chip set drivers are all upto date..
Check your motherboard manual for extra power connections on your board for extra SLI juice. (Auxillary Power For Graphics)
   
Reply With Quote
SLI with G71 cores
Old
  (#36)
pman6
Master Guru
 
pman6's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 9800GT SLI 1GB DDR3
Processor: Q6600@3.4/1700FSB/H2O
Mainboard: EVGA nForce 790i ULTRA
Memory: 2GB DC XMS DDR3 2000
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS/GigaworksS750
PSU: Kingwin ABT-MA1S 1000W
Default SLI with G71 cores - 05-29-2007, 12:14 | posts: 661 | Location: Boston, USA

Hey Guru's,

I was wondering if a BFG 7950GT 512 would run in SLI with my BFG

7950GX2 since they are all G71 cores. Any opinions are welcome. If not I

will wait for the 9XXX Series of cards.

Thanks,

pman6
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#37)
pman6
Master Guru
 
pman6's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 9800GT SLI 1GB DDR3
Processor: Q6600@3.4/1700FSB/H2O
Mainboard: EVGA nForce 790i ULTRA
Memory: 2GB DC XMS DDR3 2000
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS/GigaworksS750
PSU: Kingwin ABT-MA1S 1000W
Default 05-29-2007, 18:01 | posts: 661 | Location: Boston, USA

BUMP!!

Last edited by pman6; 05-30-2007 at 12:16.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#38)
pman6
Master Guru
 
pman6's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 9800GT SLI 1GB DDR3
Processor: Q6600@3.4/1700FSB/H2O
Mainboard: EVGA nForce 790i ULTRA
Memory: 2GB DC XMS DDR3 2000
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS/GigaworksS750
PSU: Kingwin ABT-MA1S 1000W
Default 05-30-2007, 12:29 | posts: 661 | Location: Boston, USA

Bumpity bump!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#39)
Waylander
Master Guru
 
Waylander's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 980
Processor: Intel core i7-6700
Mainboard: Asus Z170 Pro
Memory: 32Gb DDR4
Soundcard: On board HDAC
PSU: EVGA 850 G2
Default 05-30-2007, 13:15 | posts: 696 | Location: Dundee, Scotland

Quote:
Originally Posted by LBC|Jester View Post
Hi, Im looking to get another 8800GTS 640 in about a week or two and was wondering what kind of performace increase I can expect?

Also will the 640MB of memory on both cards be utilized?

Will be using SLi on 1920x1200 resolution. Just trying to do homework ahead of purchase. Thanks for input!


My understanding (having read other posts on the subject) is that although both cards will be using all their vram, because of the way sli works, ie both cards need to have the same info in ram to work correctly, the total texture memory avail to games is only 1 cards worth. ie 768mb for me, the benefit comes from the additional gpu processing power...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#40)
drutort
Member Guru
 
Videocard: AMD FirePro V5900
Processor: Phenom II X6 1090T 4Ghz
Mainboard: Asus M4A79T Deluxe 2.8Ghz
Memory: G.SKILL 16GB 1600 (850)
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster X-
PSU: OCZ GameXStream OCZ700GXS
Default 05-30-2007, 19:37 | posts: 81 | Location: AZ

Quote:
Originally Posted by Waylander View Post
My understanding (having read other posts on the subject) is that although both cards will be using all their vram, because of the way sli works, ie both cards need to have the same info in ram to work correctly, the total texture memory avail to games is only 1 cards worth. ie 768mb for me, the benefit comes from the additional gpu processing power...
that cant be true, yes maybe general info but if each card is rendering different frames ie alternating then they cant have the same data in ram... they must use there own data? doesnt it make sense this way?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#41)
rl66
Maha Guru
 
rl66's Avatar
 
Videocard: quadro K6000+Tesla M2090
Processor: Xeon E5 2687W
Mainboard: Asus workstation
Memory: 64G DDR3 ECC
Soundcard: none
PSU: Corsair AX1200 moded
Default 06-02-2007, 08:06 | posts: 1,397 | Location: France

Quote:
Originally Posted by chispy View Post
A quick question , how much of a speed penalty is it to have 2 8x slot instead of 2 full 16x for 2 8800GTX SLI , im planning to buy this board 650 but SLI works at 2x 8x instead of 2x 16x like in the 680i chipset?

What you guys think of this board: Gigabyte GA-N650SLI-DS4 650i SLI for a pair of 2 8800GTX

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128044
if you got anything exept high end GPU (6, 7, or even 8500, 8600)
the diference is only on your mind...
it you want to buy a 8800GTX sliX16 is much more better indeed
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#42)
StarvinMarvinDK
Maha Guru
 
StarvinMarvinDK's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus Strix 1080 1861/1385
Processor: I7 6700K @ 4500Mhz 1.295V
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VIII Hero
Memory: 16GB Corsair 3200Mhz DDR4
Soundcard: SB Z, KRK Rokit 5 Stereo
PSU: EVGA Supernova 750G2
Default 06-02-2007, 09:46 | posts: 1,260 | Location: Denmark

Hi guys

Just got ny second 8800GTS 640MB card today, so obviously I'm a noob at SLI

The question(s) is this :
Which slot to put the second in ?
And what settings in the control panel for max performance ?

Have looked in the SLI guide forum, but didn't find answers with the new drivers... Saw in Hilbert's SLI review, that he put the second card in the third slot. Guess I should do the same or does it make a difference ?

I'm running Vista Home Premium 32bit and my specs's to the right
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#43)
Marri
Ancient Guru
 
Marri's Avatar
 
Videocard: 5970
Processor: :S
Mainboard: Asus Rampage :S
Memory: 12GB GT2000
Soundcard: Xonar HDAV1.3DLX
PSU: TT 1500watt
Default 06-02-2007, 23:43 | posts: 3,465 | Location: Moon

You better make sure it goes in the right slot , just check the manual , it'll have numberings on the PCI-Express slot..
If the manual says ''3rd Slot PCI-Express'' then thats your slot for the card...

Yeah its mostly the 3rd slot , remember its not the PCI slot , its the PCI-E slot..
Once your done..
Just try and install the drives and you'll see the option in the Driver CP , no prob..
Restart then your set..since Vista last I checked had issues with the SLI enabling feature..
Try the latest drivers for Vista its a must !

My PC's out of Order so I cant confirm Vista with SLI !
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#44)
Cold Fussion
Maha Guru
 
Cold Fussion's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 260 gtx (216sp)
Processor: Core i7 920 3.6ghz-3.8ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T Deluxe
Memory: 6gb patriot 9-9-9-24
Soundcard: Xfi prelude + z5500
PSU: TruePower Trio 650W
Default 06-03-2007, 01:10 | posts: 883 | Location: Sydney, Australia

Quote:
Originally Posted by StarvinMarvinDK View Post
Hi guys

Just got ny second 8800GTS 640MB card today, so obviously I'm a noob at SLI

The question(s) is this :
Which slot to put the second in ?
And what settings in the control panel for max performance ?

Have looked in the SLI guide forum, but didn't find answers with the new drivers... Saw in Hilbert's SLI review, that he put the second card in the third slot. Guess I should do the same or does it make a difference ?

I'm running Vista Home Premium 32bit and my specs's to the right
Put the cards in the blue slots and connect the monitor up on the first card (one closet to the cpu)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#45)
CpxAzn
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-06-2007, 01:16 | posts: 5

alright guys, i need some help here

i have a Clevo M590KE Laptop with 2 Nvidia GO 7950GTX
http://www.clevo.com.tw/products/M590KE.asp

I'm trying to SLI the cards but whenever i choose enable SLI in the nvidia control panel, the screen turns black for 20 seconds and i get the almighty BSOD and that nice reboot. then i have to go into safe mode and reinstall the drivers to be able to boot up.

i have already tried to drivers from the clevo site and the NGO drivers but same result. can anybody think of anything that would cause this?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#46)
Burnt_Ram
Ancient Guru
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 580 SLi
Processor: Core i5 @ 4.2 H20 Cooled
Mainboard: Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Memory: G.Skill RipJaw 1600 2x4GB
Soundcard: Via HD 7.1
PSU: Corsair HX1050W
Default 06-06-2007, 14:03 | posts: 5,926 | Location: British Columbia

3dmark05: 14,654

3dmark06: 10,359

do these score seem low to you guys? i'm forced to run in 8x mode due to my mobo. does 16x in SLi make alot of difference?

i'm currently running only one card off the 300w Fortron Booster, but i still think maybe i'm not getting enough power, thus lower scores?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#47)
cowie
Ancient Guru
 
cowie's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX
Processor: 2600k
Mainboard: gigabyte p67 UD7
Memory: 2x4g 1600 ddr3
Soundcard:
PSU: pcp&c 1200 watt
Default 06-06-2007, 22:45 | posts: 12,790 | Location: new jersey

for your rig not low at all!!16x will help in my case with two 320 88's 400 more points o6 .680i compared to a 650i with v-modded cards that is.
idk if its m/b points related or the 2 x8,just my experance
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#48)
Burnt_Ram
Ancient Guru
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 580 SLi
Processor: Core i5 @ 4.2 H20 Cooled
Mainboard: Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Memory: G.Skill RipJaw 1600 2x4GB
Soundcard: Via HD 7.1
PSU: Corsair HX1050W
Default 06-07-2007, 01:58 | posts: 5,926 | Location: British Columbia

Quote:
Originally Posted by cowie View Post
for your rig not low at all!!16x will help in my case with two 320 88's 400 more points o6 .680i compared to a 650i with v-modded cards that is.
idk if its m/b points related or the 2 x8,just my experance
you don't think my 3dmark05 score is low? i thought i got more with one card ..

i only use synthetic benchmarks as a base line, but if they're not in the ball park i tend to think i'm not seeing all i can in actual games. however CoD2 runs "way better" with 8800/sli. i hardly see below 150 fps in DX9 @ 1280x1024 4xAA 8xAF. so i dunno
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#49)
RanCor TDO
Master Guru
 
RanCor TDO's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit 1080 GameRock
Processor: i7 4790k
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Hero VII
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: EVGA 750w SuperNova
Default 06-09-2007, 11:48 | posts: 344 | Location: Comrie, Scotland

heya guys

got my sli set up yesterday and have to say i love it, went from 2x 6800gs to whats in my sig.

now with 1 card enabled i get about 8100 score in 3dmark06 and with sli enabled i get 9115 (http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm06=2166438).

i was expecting to get over 10k with sli on, is my score a bit low? i did notice that while the 3d tests were running 3dmark would only use one of my cpu cores, but if it was a cpu test in 3dmark it would use both cpu cores, shouldnt it use both cores during a 3d test also so i dont get bottlenecked?

using 158.45 and on vista.

thanks in advance,

Rank
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#50)
Angushades
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Evga 980Ti EK COOLED
Processor: I7 3770K @4.5 EK COOLED
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe
Memory: 16GB G.Skill-2400 CL10
Soundcard: Auzentech X-Fi Forte
PSU: Enermax 1250W
Default 06-11-2007, 17:41 | posts: 138 | Location: Australia

Hey StarvinMarvinDK don't worry about your mobo been a sli X8 in each slot it doesn't make any difference . not even 2 GTX uses the full 16 in each slot Ok. Don't go and waste your money on a new mobo because some dude has no idea whats his talking about. You should read up about that if you don't belive me , im pretty sure tomshardware did a study about that not long ago. Go check it out.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.