Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Operating Systems
Operating Systems Is Windows 8.1 giving you a hard time ? Wanna try out Windows 10 ?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
F1refly
Ancient Guru
 
F1refly's Avatar
 
Videocard: 970GTX-oc edition
Processor: Core i7
Mainboard: Asus
Memory: 8 gigs
Soundcard: SonicMaster with Maxxbass
PSU: Asus
Default 01-01-2008, 20:51 | posts: 9,042 | Location: Indiana

ughh...once again i tried to get ubuntu installed into VPC, i can sometimes...sometimes get the install menu to load and install but it never boots into it.

isnt there a virtual machine thats freeware besides vpc?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
herbster
Member Guru
 
herbster's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 8800GT 512MB
Processor: Core 2 Duo Q6600
Mainboard: ASUS P5K-E
Memory: 4gb
Soundcard: M-Audio Revolution 7.1
PSU: Silverstone Element 500w ST50EFPlus
Default 01-02-2008, 20:31 | posts: 91 | Location: Brampton, ON

You can try virtualbox, virtualbox.org. I run an XP virtual machine from inside Arch linux, mainly for company software that requires Windows (I'm not a huge Wine fan) and Palm Desktop.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
Licaon
Member Guru
 
Licaon's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX660Ti-OC
Processor: Intel i5-4570
Mainboard: Asrock B85 Pro4
Memory: 8Gb DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DX
PSU: Corsair VX450W
Default 02-07-2008, 15:53 | posts: 140 | Location: Romania

VMWare Server is free
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
philippe.c
Master Guru
 
Videocard: gigabyte 460 gtx 2gb
Processor: intel i5-3570
Mainboard: asus P8 Z77-V
Memory: corsair vengeance 8 gb
Soundcard: creative xtreem gamer
PSU: switching 550w PSU
Default 08-26-2008, 19:29 | posts: 254 | Location: sweden

I have been using ubuntu 64 bit for 2 months now and I most say that I am impressed!!! really cool OS, no virus or hackers!!! I use windows only for games but really alots of games on wine. but the best thing its free, alots of support, and fast like a ferrarie!!.
Hope to give a new start to this thead, heheheh
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
scoutingwraith
Ancient Guru
 
scoutingwraith's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 670 FTW/ Intel4400
Processor: i7-3770K 4.4/i7-4500U 2.4
Mainboard: ASRock Z77Ex4/Haswell-ULT
Memory: 32GB 1600 / 8GB 1600
Soundcard: Realtek HD / Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair HX750W / 9 Cell
Default 08-27-2008, 02:35 | posts: 9,444 | Location: Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

I need to give ubuntu 64-bit a try but with vista it might be a little problem because of the boot loaders.
   
Reply With Quote
maybe.
Old
  (#56)
philippe.c
Master Guru
 
Videocard: gigabyte 460 gtx 2gb
Processor: intel i5-3570
Mainboard: asus P8 Z77-V
Memory: corsair vengeance 8 gb
Soundcard: creative xtreem gamer
PSU: switching 550w PSU
Default maybe. - 08-27-2008, 09:39 | posts: 254 | Location: sweden

I will chech this, and comeback to you m8.
   
Reply With Quote
Ubuntu UE
Old
  (#57)
learners permit
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Xfire 290X
Processor: 4770k
Mainboard: gigabyte z87x-d3h
Memory: 2x8 team xtreem lv 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi PCIE
PSU: PCPC 950watt
Talking Ubuntu UE - 11-13-2008, 09:49 | posts: 292 | Location: Or.

Here ya go for linux noobs this'll get your attention. http://ultimateedition.info/ultimate-edition-20/
I've been using Ubuntu for awhile and only use winders fer gamin. i tried Vi$ta and it only irritated me. Ubuntu UE rocks with Amarok player. BTW Ati now has linux drivers that are crossfire capable for the Linux kernel with the 4800 series cards. My 4850's are running in Xfire as I type this.

Last edited by learners permit; 11-13-2008 at 10:09.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
Tat3
Ancient Guru
 
Tat3's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS R9 380 4gb
Processor: Intel 6700K
Mainboard: MSI Z170A M5
Memory: HyperX 4*4gb 2666Mhz
Soundcard: UA-55
PSU: Seasonic G650
Default 11-13-2008, 13:59 | posts: 11,485 | Location: Finland

About time for ATI to get Linux drivers out. Nvidia had SLi support for Linux 3 years ago.

How good pc that Ultimate Edition needs to run smooth ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
scoutingwraith
Ancient Guru
 
scoutingwraith's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 670 FTW/ Intel4400
Processor: i7-3770K 4.4/i7-4500U 2.4
Mainboard: ASRock Z77Ex4/Haswell-ULT
Memory: 32GB 1600 / 8GB 1600
Soundcard: Realtek HD / Realtek HD
PSU: Corsair HX750W / 9 Cell
Default 11-13-2008, 14:03 | posts: 9,444 | Location: Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tat3 View Post
About time for ATI to get Linux drivers out. Nvidia had SLi support for Linux 3 years ago.

How good pc that Ultimate Edition needs to run smooth ?
The whole eye candy on linux is not that intensive. Anything above a P4 2.6 with a card X1xxx or GF6xxx series and up is fine. Also a 1GB of ram.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#60)
Tat3
Ancient Guru
 
Tat3's Avatar
 
Videocard: HIS R9 380 4gb
Processor: Intel 6700K
Mainboard: MSI Z170A M5
Memory: HyperX 4*4gb 2666Mhz
Soundcard: UA-55
PSU: Seasonic G650
Default 11-13-2008, 14:09 | posts: 11,485 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoutingwraith View Post
The whole eye candy on linux is not that intensive. Anything above a P4 2.6 with a card X1xxx or GF6xxx series and up is fine. Also a 1GB of ram.
Yeah... Got some laptop at school which is running Ubuntu (VMware) under Windows XP. I think it has S3 graphics, ram wasnt issue. I think CPU was core2. Just not sure about that S3...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#61)
aircool
Don Aircooleone
 
aircool's Avatar
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
Processor: Intel i5 2500K @ Stock
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-V LX
Memory: Corsair 8GB @ 1600
Soundcard: ALC887 - Inspire P580.
PSU: Antec TruePower New 650W
Default 11-13-2008, 15:19 | posts: 13,735 | Location: Devon, In A Little Town.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tat3 View Post
Yeah... Got some laptop at school which is running Ubuntu (VMware) under Windows XP. I think it has S3 graphics, ram wasnt issue. I think CPU was core2. Just not sure about that S3...
I wouldnt expect those intergrate S3's to do aero (since most I've had my hands on havent) or equally the linux eye candy (beryl?).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
AxiMaxi
Newbie
 
Videocard: GIGA Byte / Model! / 1GB
Processor: Intel PIV
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Normal PS
Default 02-15-2009, 14:01 | posts: 2

omg , this is so informative thread guys... thx alot all for the help
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#63)
panZEr330
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX280 @666/2333
Processor: Q9550 @3.4ghz 1600mhz fsb
Mainboard: Asus p5e3 Deluxe x38 wifi
Memory: 8gb DDR3 1333 @1T cas-7
Soundcard: xFi Fatal Klipsch 5.1 Ult
PSU: Antec 850w TPQ modular
Default 05-03-2009, 18:52 | posts: 276 | Location: Ohio

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoutingwraith View Post
I need to give ubuntu 64-bit a try but with vista it might be a little problem because of the boot loaders.
Grub will act as the bootloader (installed into MBR) and chain itself to the Vista Bootloader. Works great, all automatic also - you won't have to do anything. Editing the menu.lst in your /boot/grub directory to default to Vista is all you'll need to do probably.

Also, Ubuntu 9.04 worked 'out of the box' (fresh install) with my built in wireless on my desktop's asus p5e3 mobo. First linux distro to do this! Very cool. Nvidia drivers work good, installed the compiz fuzion settings manager and got the cube up and all effects, no problems at all.


EDIT
Quote:
Originally Posted by aircool View Post
I wouldnt expect those intergrate S3's to do aero (since most I've had my hands on havent) or equally the linux eye candy (beryl?).
As far as I know, graphics acceleration doesn't work properly in a virtual machine. I use virtual box and even with graphics hardware acceleration checked with 128mb of Vram dedicated to the VM (that's max for vbox) you can't enable even simple desktop effects. This could change someday... I know it will probably not work with virtual pc (microsoft) and I can't speak for VMWare.


EDIT:

HOLY COW
So I installed the newest virtualbox, 2.2.2 I think - and installed ubuntu 9.04 on it. Had to update, install guest additons, change permissions on /tmp directory (sudo chmod 777 /tmp) - and voila, desktop effects work!
Code:
sudo aptitude install compizconfig-settings-manager
(to install the settings manager)

And the cube and all effects work. I had thought this was impossible...
Pretty sweet, here's a screenshot:



I urge everyone here to give this a shot, especially since most of you have mega computers.

Last edited by panZEr330; 05-04-2009 at 22:03.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#64)
scajjr2
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Zotac GTX1080Ti FE 11Gb
Processor: i7-6700k
Mainboard: ASRock Fatal1ty Z170 K4
Memory: 32Gb G-Skill DDR4-2400
Soundcard: Realtek, Logitech
PSU: EVGA 750watt
Thumbs up 06-02-2009, 01:25 | posts: 143 | Location: NH-USA

I've been trying out openSUSE 11.1 for about 2 weeks now. Have it dual booting Vista/openSUSE on 2 systems (a P4 2.4/2Gb, a Athlon 64 3400+/2gb) and triple boot (XPpro/Vista x64/openSUSE x64) on my Phenom II X3-720BE/8Gb setup. A bit of a learning curve but I'm liking openSUSE more and more.

Sam
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#65)
Matt151b
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gtx 670
Processor: i5-3570k
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77-V Pro
Memory: 8gb ddr3
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: PC Power and Cooling 750W
Default 06-02-2009, 01:43 | posts: 436 | Location: California, USA

Does audio out the HDMI work on any linux versions? I failed to get it working with Ubuntu and Mint (ubuntu derivative).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
Renegade8100
Ancient Guru
 
Renegade8100's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 670 FTW w/32' 1080p
Processor: AMD Phenom™ II 1090T 4ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Memory: A-DATA DDR3 1600 c8 8gb
Soundcard: Nvidia HDMI audio(decent)
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX MOD
Default 08-01-2010, 05:07 | posts: 4,813 | Location: jersey shore US (unfortunately)

Linux Mint 9 KDE 64 bit = Epic based off ubuntu 10.04lts streamlined.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
DasFox
Master Guru
 
DasFox's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI 3200HD
Processor: AMD Athlon TF-20 1.6ghz
Mainboard:
Memory: 4 GB of DDR2 667 MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: eMachines e627
Default 08-14-2010, 00:13 | posts: 734

I updated the dead links and added in new links.

So more goodies guys, enjoy!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
AndreasGuido
Ancient Guru
 
AndreasGuido's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970
Processor: Core i7 6700k @ 4.2GHz
Mainboard: Asus Z170-A
Memory: Corsair 8GB DDR4-3000
Soundcard: Integrated 5.1
PSU: OCZ ZX Series 850W
Default 09-07-2010, 14:40 | posts: 4,840 | Location: Riga, LV/Bristol, UK

AH I need to install it so badly on my PC as all my uni assigments are in Linux,but god damn thing wont work!
I isntall everything fine, partitions,boot loader blah blah,but it always skips boot menu,so i cant choise what i want, Linux or Windows
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
Renegade8100
Ancient Guru
 
Renegade8100's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 670 FTW w/32' 1080p
Processor: AMD Phenom™ II 1090T 4ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-790XTA-UD4
Memory: A-DATA DDR3 1600 c8 8gb
Soundcard: Nvidia HDMI audio(decent)
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX MOD
Default 09-23-2010, 22:55 | posts: 4,813 | Location: jersey shore US (unfortunately)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndreasGuido View Post
AH I need to install it so badly on my PC as all my uni assigments are in Linux,but god damn thing wont work!
I isntall everything fine, partitions,boot loader blah blah,but it always skips boot menu,so i cant choise what i want, Linux or Windows
skips boot loader? did you try manually creating a 150mb ext4 partition mounted to /boot? What you do is install windows first and then linux second. If you install windows last, it changes the boot. What version of linux as you using?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#70)
AlexKidd5000
Member Guru
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon R9 280X
Processor: AMD FX-8320 Vishera
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Memory: G.SKILL Ares Series 16GB
Soundcard: Logitech Z623 2.1
PSU: Rosewill CAPSTONE-750
Default 09-14-2013, 12:40 | posts: 110

Quote:
Originally Posted by philippe.c View Post
I have been using ubuntu 64 bit for 2 months now and I most say that I am impressed!!! really cool OS, no virus or hackers!!! I use windows only for games but really alots of games on wine. but the best thing its free, alots of support, and fast like a ferrarie!!.
Hope to give a new start to this thead, heheheh
After you get used to Ubuntu, I'd recommend Manjaro as a good step up from that, much faster, and much more stable, also far far easier to upgrade the kernel, and updates are very smooth too, rolling release

See, I don't consider Ubuntu as a permenant Linux OS, more like a starting point for people to help them get used to Linux

Last edited by AlexKidd5000; 09-14-2013 at 12:43.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#71)
Blacklash
Member Guru
 
Blacklash's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon HD 7970
Processor: AMD FX-6300 @ 4.6GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: G. Skill Ripjaws X 2133
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DGX
PSU: Corsair AX 650
Default 01-17-2014, 15:05 | posts: 107

I've been trying Mint 16 with KDE here. I'm using the 3.12.8 kernel and the nVidia 331.38 driver. I changed the colors and icons to a dark scheme. I like it. It's slick.

I've run Skyrim, Mass Effect 2, Drakensang, Neverwinter and AoC on it so far; I used PlayOnLinux.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#72)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 02-19-2014, 00:41 | posts: 17,539 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Just noticed that Ubuntu is almost up to a "T" release with "14.04 Trusty Tahr"

Made me think, that means there is only 6 builds left before they hit "Z"

What will they do then? Start again with "A" ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#73)
BLEH!
Ancient Guru
 
BLEH!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Fury
Processor: 980X @ 4.00 GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T7 WS-SC
Memory: 12 GB Corsair @ 2133 MHz
Soundcard: Saffire Pro40/KRK Rokit 5
PSU: Enermax Revo 1500W
Default 02-19-2014, 00:58 | posts: 5,613 | Location: THE NORTH!!!

Ubuntu with Unity is horrid, I hate that interface, too dumbed down from what it used to be. Kubuntu on the other hand (or Ubuntu with KDE mashed on top), I do like. Running it on a spare machine to mess around with. Keep meaning to give openSUSE a go when I can be arsed to buy an 8GB pen drive.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#74)
Foamy4
Master Guru
 
Foamy4's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX770 4GB
Processor: 3770k H90
Mainboard: AsRock Professional-M
Memory: Corsair 8GB 1600 Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Cosair HX850w
Default 05-01-2014, 07:14 | posts: 502 | Location: Denmark

I started out with Ubuntu -> Debian and now I'm at Linux Mint 16. I'm also running a Kali Linux to do naughty stuff, for pure educational purposes ofc

Mint is by far one of THE most userfriendly and lesser bugged Linux distros I've ever tried. Ubuntu is great but it's pretty bugged. Debian is solid as a rock but too conservative and boring.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#75)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX RX 470
Processor: AMD Ryzen 5 1600
Mainboard: MSI B350 Tomahawk
Memory: Corsair DDR4-2666
Soundcard: Realtek....
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Default 12-02-2014, 03:36 | posts: 19,860 | Location: US East Coast

If you want an "install and use" experience for Linux, OpenSuSE 13.1 is great. Not sure what went wrong, but OpenSuSE 13.2 is unstable as hell for me. I tried to "upgrade" my OpenSuSE 13.1 installation to 13.2 but the system was completely unbootable. I had to wipe all 4 partitions and start all over. I tried doing a clean install of 13.2, but it's still unstable and thus, unusable.


   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.