Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Links
Links Archived stickys.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
BlueStinger
Master Guru
 
BlueStinger's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Radeon X1950XT 256mb
Processor: Core 2 Duo E4300 @3ghz
Mainboard: Abit AB9 QuadGT
Memory: 2Gb OCZ Platinum DDR2-800
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek HD ALC888
PSU: Corsair HX 520W
Default 05-29-2007, 21:36 | posts: 627 | Location: England

ATI tool with overclocking enabled probably disables the ATI service for dynamically changing clock speeds for 2d/3d modes. Cant remember what its called, 'ATI Poller' or something.

Yep that's exactly correct and it's called the ATi hotkey poller.
When you start ATITTool it will tell you it's best to disable it becasue of low level overcloking and you probably just clicked yes. Go into the setting an re-enable it and all will be fixed

I had the exact same thing. It looks like the problem is limited to just X1950XT cards.

Last edited by BlueStinger; 05-29-2007 at 21:40.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
shady86
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Palit GTX 260 Sonic
Processor: i7 920
Mainboard: Gigabyte EX58-UD4
Memory: SP 2GBX3
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS & Logitech X-
PSU: Antec EW 650W
Default 05-30-2007, 06:39 | posts: 79 | Location: Japan

Whenever I have ATITool or ATI Tray Tools installed, my 1950XT will not change to 3D clock mode. I checked hotkey poller in services and found that it's still running. I'm not sure what is the cause.

Btw, at idle speed, I found the stock fan is a bit loud and I hate the whinning sound so I tried lowering the fan speed from 29% to 20% during idle. Temp jumps to over 60 from 55C idle. Is it possible for me to underclock the card during idle? Say, from 2D mode 500/594 to 400/400? Do I need to change voltage setting and create new profiles? What is the best program for this?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
guardz
Master Guru
 
guardz's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX GTS250 1G OC
Processor: AMD64 X2 4600 @2.7Ghz
Mainboard: MSI.(OS-still XP pro sp3)
Memory: 2G GeiL Ultra (x2 1G)
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi 24 bit!
PSU: Hyper Type R 580w
Default 08-14-2007, 08:11 | posts: 765 | Location: New-Zealand

Quote:
Originally Posted by shady86 View Post
.. I found the stock fan is a bit loud and I hate the whinning sound so I tried lowering the fan speed from 29% to 20% during idle. Temp jumps to over 60 from 55C idle. Is it possible for me to underclock the card during idle? Say, from 2D mode 500/594 to 400/400? Do I need to change voltage setting and create new profiles? What is the best program for this?
Forget it. ATI made the card to run best low at that speed, buggering round with this will stuff the card. Yeah it can be done but why!? If you find the card too loud at that low rpm setting then I suggest getting a card without a fan on it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
gx-x
Maha Guru
 
gx-x's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 780Ti Gaming
Processor: intel i5 3570K
Mainboard: ASRock Extreme4 Gen3
Memory: patriot 4x2GB @1333 ddr3
Soundcard: Yamaha RX-V550 w/!JBL
PSU: tT SmartSE 530W
Default 08-23-2007, 00:19 | posts: 907 | Location: Serbia

I replaced the cooling system from x1900xt with HIS cooling system from x1950pro an got 50C idle (from 56C) and 82C full load (instead of ~90C) and the card is barelly audiable, which is VERY important to me, since everithing else is water cooled....
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
guardz
Master Guru
 
guardz's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX GTS250 1G OC
Processor: AMD64 X2 4600 @2.7Ghz
Mainboard: MSI.(OS-still XP pro sp3)
Memory: 2G GeiL Ultra (x2 1G)
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi 24 bit!
PSU: Hyper Type R 580w
Default 09-11-2007, 02:02 | posts: 765 | Location: New-Zealand

Yeah HIS has great GPU coolers ah. Mind you with those clocks (your specs) no wonder your card got that hot@!!!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
Lelevt
Newbie
 
Videocard: HD2900pro
Processor: Core2Duo E8500
Mainboard: P5K Pro
Memory: 8GB DDR2 800
Soundcard:
PSU: Enermax Liberty 500
Default 04-30-2008, 07:28 | posts: 1 | Location: Treviso

Hi, I have a question for you, I have a X1950pro softmodded in a FIREGL V7300 for professional apllications, is the FAN speed controlled by drivers or it is driver independent?
This is because the FAN spins always at the same speed, and I don't know how to slow down it. By Catalyst Control Ceneter?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.