Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Links
Links Archived stickys.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Audigy 2 ZS Driver Installation Guide
Old
  (#1)
Mod Enerjen
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Geforce 7800
Processor: Pentium 4 3.4E @ 4.8GHz
Mainboard: Asus P4C800-E
Memory: OCZ Platinum 2x1024 PC400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro
PSU: Antec NeoHE 430W
Default Audigy 2 ZS Driver Installation Guide - 04-16-2006, 08:26 | posts: 180

Audigy 2 ZS Driver Installation Guide


I have always felt that installing the Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS drivers were the most tedious and confusing part of reinstalling Windows. Creative supports their drivers very little, and they probably will not plan to simplify or integrate the driver installation process. Thus I would like to provide one method I use in order to simplify installing the latest drivers yet be able to obtain all of the functionality.

I am going to divide this guide into two parts. The first is on finding the right updates and the second is on how to install them. Finding the right drivers in the first place (if you want the latest) is a byzantine and rather relatively difficult task. The first part is universal for all Audigy 2 ZS cards and applies for everyone. The second part is subject to question. By no means this is the "right way" to install the drivers. However, I have found that it is the most logical way to install them. If you have other (and better) methods of installing the drivers, please add this to this thread.

One advantage of using this method, for example, is that you get the new-looking silver MediaSource Go! skin. MediaSource Go is just that toolbox/loader appears on the top of your screen. Also you get nonredundancy of driver install. I want to stress nonredundancy (for Creative drivers especially) because doing a normal install, by installing your CD drivers doing and then installing the online updates, installs your drivers in such a strange order that by the time you are finished patching, God knows what version you've replaced and cross-overwritten, and you don't know whether if you've just installed an older version over a newer one (e.g. DTS Neo 6 Functionality)

Although I have a Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro, this nonetheless applies to all Audigy 2 ZS cards. Creative has stopped supporting and hosting drivers for regular Audigy 2 and Audigy 2 ZS cards and thus makes it all the more important that one gets the right drivers if you're aiming for the features and updates of the latest drivers.

So those of you that own a Audigy 2 ZS or and Audigy 2 ZS Platinum, go here and nab those drivers for the Platinum Pro, all of them are them are the same regardless of what specific soundcard you have, except those that are Platinum Pro only.

Part 1: Downloading the right drivers

First, go to the Creative site and get the latest drivers.
http://us.creative.com/support/downloads/
(Goto Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro section since there is no Audigy 2 ZS section)

The files you need are:

Driver Files:
SBAX_WEBUP_LB_2_08_0004 (Driver)
SBA2_WEBUP_EAXC_031230 (EAX Console Update)
SBA2_WEBUP_THXCON_1_00_16 (THX Console Update)
SBA2_WEBUP_DTSCON_1_00_06 (DTS Neo 6 Update)

Not sure if the DTS is necessary since I think it is included in the latest EAX/MediaSource update, but Creative puts it on the download page and has never bothered to remove it unlike some other older drivers that were later incorporated.

MediaSource Files:
CMS_PCAPP_LB_3_30_21 (MediaSource)
CMS_GO_PCAPP_LB_3_10_15 (MediaSource Go)
DVDA_PCApp_LB_2_00_75 (DVD Update)
CMS_BURNER_PCAPP_LB_3_10_18 (Burner Plugin)
CMS_MDC_PCAPP_LB_1_00_58 (MD Plugin)
CMS_RMT_PCAPP_LB_2_30_02 (Remote Control, Audigy 2 ZS Platinum and Plat Pro only)

That's a lot isn't it, for the latest drivers? That's why Creative is so notorious for their irresponsibility as a monopoly.

Part 2: Installation Order

Instead of installing the driver in the Audigy 2 ZS Driver CD first and then later overwrite the older one why not install it first.

1) SBAX_WEBUP_LB_2_08_0004

Then install the driver software utilities on the Audigy 2 ZS CD. When you run the autorun setup on the CD and get to the menu where you can put a check on either driver or MediaSource, indicate that you want to install the drivers only. You can change what is installed later at the custom menu.

When you get there,

Don't install:
-Driver
-Product Tour
-Remote Control
-MD Plugin
-Burner Plugin

Now install the latest version of MediaSource

MediaSource:
2) CMS_PCAPP_LB_3_30_21
3) CMS_GO_PCAPP_LB_3_10_15

Don't install the Mediasource skins if you don't want them. Once Mediasource is installed, you can install more driver control components that is part of Mediasource.

Drivers:
4) SBA2_WEBUP_EAXC_031230
5) SBA2_WEBUP_THXCON_1_00_16
6) SBA2_WEBUP_DTSCON_1_00_06

Cleaning Up

Now you are technically done at this point! If you want additional functionality of your soundcard you can download these optional plugins:

MediaSource:
7) DVDA_PCApp_LB_2_00_75
8) CMS_BURNER_PCAPP_LB_3_10_18
9) CMS_MDC_PCAPP_LB_1_00_58
10) CMS_RMT_PCAPP_LB_2_30_02

On a last note, delete those annoying AOL icons on your desktop, start menu, favorites, and links. You may delete the folders AOD, ProdCat, Product Registration in your Creative folder in your Program Files. Also, disable the useless registration startup service called "UpdReg" that takes up system resources. Go to the Statup tab of msconfig and disable it there. Then go to:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Run

and delete that key.

Finally, adjust your settings to your preference, and enjoy! You can install Vienna SoundFont Studio 2.4 if you want to.

Last edited by Mod Enerjen; 04-18-2006 at 09:22.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
ROBSCIX
Ancient Guru
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 04-16-2006, 18:38 | posts: 16,236 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

Great guide perhaps people could add installation instructions for different cards and we can compile and sticky all the information.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Mod Enerjen
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Geforce 7800
Processor: Pentium 4 3.4E @ 4.8GHz
Mainboard: Asus P4C800-E
Memory: OCZ Platinum 2x1024 PC400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro
PSU: Antec NeoHE 430W
Default 04-17-2006, 04:44 | posts: 180

This is great, I've renamed the thread name. Anyone with other soundcards, X-Fi, M-Audio, Turtle Beach, Auzentech, or E-mu, add your threads in!

Last edited by Mod Enerjen; 04-18-2006 at 04:19.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
ROBSCIX
Ancient Guru
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 04-17-2006, 16:55 | posts: 16,236 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

I think a Mod might need to do that, when you try to edit it does it allow changing of the title text?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Nave
Master Guru
 
Nave's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 7800 GS EE 256MB @ 500/1400
Processor: Intel Pentium 4 3.0E GHz HT
Mainboard: Intel D865GBF
Memory: 2x512MB Kingston DDR400 2.5-3-3-7
Soundcard: SB Audigy 4 & Logitech Z-5300e
PSU: Antec True Power 2.0 480W
Default 04-19-2006, 06:24 | posts: 280 | Location: Canada

Can this be stickied please?You did a very nice job!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Gump
Master Guru
 
Gump's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS Radeon HD 6850
Processor: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400
Mainboard: Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
Memory: 8 GB (4x2048) G.Skill
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS Plat / Logite
PSU: Corsair 650 Watt
Default 04-21-2006, 04:57 | posts: 655

Nice Guide...
I did come across an issue that had me looking at Norton AV recently...
If you run into Norton AV not enabling on Startup then uninstall and reinstall the Creative drivers according to the guide in this thread... apparrently Norton does not always play nice with Audigy cards/drivers.

Here is the Norton error that finally showed after weeks of issues: http://service1.symantec.com/support...build=STANDARD

Last edited by Gump; 04-21-2006 at 04:59.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Roger_D25
Ancient Guru
 
Roger_D25's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus Strix GTX980Ti
Processor: i7 4770K @ 4Gz H20
Mainboard: Gigibyte Z87X-UD5H-CF
Memory: Mushkin 991982 8GB
Soundcard: Corsairs Software
PSU: Corsairs AX1200i
Default 04-29-2006, 03:28 | posts: 4,379 | Location: New Hampshire

Hey Guys,
Thank you very much for a much needed thread, especially becasue I just barely finsihed a clean install of WinXP! I have alway struggled a bit with the install process of drivers/software on my Audigy 2ZS sound card! I never knew what order to install everything and just like you desribed I used to install driver/software from installtion CD and then download and install the updated versions of drivers/software. This is exactly the information I was and have been looking for, thank you very much Mod Enerjen, keep up the good work!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
dark_surge
Maha Guru
 
dark_surge's Avatar
 
Videocard: NVIDIA Titan X
Processor: Intel i7 3820 @4.0
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3 1600 16GB
Soundcard: X-FI Fatal1ty PCI-E
PSU: Corsair TX750
Default 05-07-2006, 19:52 | posts: 802 | Location: ND - US

Thanks for the guide! Especially since they never specify what drivers you need, and the installation disk is useless for the most part.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
alanm
Ancient Guru
 
alanm's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1070 AMP!
Processor: 7700k / D15s
Mainboard: z270 Taichi
Memory: 16gb Vengeance 3200mhz
Soundcard: SB Zx
PSU: XFX Pro 750w
Default 05-18-2006, 13:17 | posts: 7,095

Biggest problem I face when installing the 2 ZS drivers/apps is the constant pop-ups saying file not found and to go to the Windows XP CD/I386 folder or Creative CD to dig them out. And not all of them get copied, so I have to redo the install.

A way around this is to gather these files from your Creative Drivers CD (the Audio\Drivers folder) and extract the rest from your XP CD beforehand and put them into the Windows/Temp folder. The files should be placed according to this folder structure:

C:\Windows\Temp\CTZAPXX\Drivers\WDM\I386

Files are (and must all be placed in the I386 folder):

1394bus.sys
ctac32k.sys
ctaud2k.sys
ctdvda2k.sys
CTGAME.SYS
ctoss2k.sys
CTOSS9X.SYS
ctprxy2k.sys
ctsfm2k.sys
drmk.sys
emupia2k.sys
enum1394.sys
gameenum.sys
ha10kx2k.sys
haP16v2k.sys
I263_32.drv
ksuser.dll
ohci1394.sys
PfModNT.sys
portcls.sys
stream.sys
wdmaud.drv

Total number of files = 22

These are the problem files which I get a pop-up saying they're not found, but when I place them as described above, the installation goes smoothly and uninterupted. Hope this may be of help.

Last edited by alanm; 05-18-2006 at 13:36.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
ROBSCIX
Ancient Guru
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 05-18-2006, 17:41 | posts: 16,236 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

I never had my Audigy 2 asking for windows files...that's different
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
Mod Enerjen
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Geforce 7800
Processor: Pentium 4 3.4E @ 4.8GHz
Mainboard: Asus P4C800-E
Memory: OCZ Platinum 2x1024 PC400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro
PSU: Antec NeoHE 430W
Default 05-19-2006, 01:35 | posts: 180

I haven't either had my Audigy 2 aking for windows files, but it's good to know where the driver files are actually being installed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
alanm
Ancient Guru
 
alanm's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1070 AMP!
Processor: 7700k / D15s
Mainboard: z270 Taichi
Memory: 16gb Vengeance 3200mhz
Soundcard: SB Zx
PSU: XFX Pro 750w
Default 05-19-2006, 06:55 | posts: 7,095

LOL, it appears its only me having this problem. But I've faced this issue every time doing the 2 ZS driver install. I wonder if its due to my deleting the Driver Cache and SP2 backup folders after a WIndows install thats causing it to ask for the XP CD, hmm.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
DOorDIE
Master Guru
 
DOorDIE's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX/GF 7900 GS (500/1.6)/256
Processor: AMD ATHLON X2 4200+ @ 2.5 Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS M2NPV-MX (AMD HAMMER)
Memory: 1GB x 2 Corsair XMS-G 4-4-4-8
Soundcard: SB AUDIGY 2 Platinum
PSU: 550W eXtreme Power (Cool-Master)
Default 05-27-2006, 21:24 | posts: 159 | Location: Pakistan

hey can any1 tell me where i can get the complete drivers for my sound card as i have installed it from the creative site but my external unit is not working i got a Audigy 2 Platinum....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
ROBSCIX
Ancient Guru
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 05-27-2006, 23:08 | posts: 16,236 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

Well all you get from the Creative site is the Base sound card driver. YOu don't get any of the App or panels. A few guys in here know where the ISO's are kept. I am not sure.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
charbar777
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-19-2006, 22:45 | posts: 1

figured it out. my negligence.

Last edited by charbar777; 06-19-2006 at 23:15.
   
Reply With Quote
Please help M-Audio sound card
Old
  (#16)
tarun
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default Please help M-Audio sound card - 06-25-2006, 05:23 | posts: 1

Dear friends can you kindly suggest what other hardware and software do i require to create my personal recording studio.... thank u
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Mod Enerjen
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Geforce 7800
Processor: Pentium 4 3.4E @ 4.8GHz
Mainboard: Asus P4C800-E
Memory: OCZ Platinum 2x1024 PC400
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS Platinum Pro
PSU: Antec NeoHE 430W
Default 06-25-2006, 14:26 | posts: 180

this post would not be appropriate here.. mods please edit it as needed. Otherwise, I am soon making a sticky on how to use a regular high end soundcard and use it in a recordinng studio, because so many people actually have access to the music industry now but don't realize it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Jeremy
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard:
PSU: -
Default 07-10-2006, 07:08 | posts: 4,070 | Location: -

Does Audigy 2 ZS Work with Vista Beta 2? I just want to know before I buy it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
silky19kilo
Member Guru
 
silky19kilo's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 7950 GT 512 Mb
Processor: Opteron 175@2.69 on air
Mainboard: Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe
Memory: OCZ 2X1GB Platinum 3200 (2-3-2-5)
Soundcard: SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat. w/ Klipsch 5.1
PSU: OCZ GameXStream 700W
Default 08-16-2006, 14:50 | posts: 144 | Location: PA, USA

im having a strange issue with my audigy 2 zs plat. when i first bought the card and installed it worked fine, then i reinstalled win xp on a new HDD and now when i try to install the drivers from the disk it tells me that the hardware is not found. its shady because its the same disk that came with my card and it worked the first time. this happened about a year ago. ive been using the driver from their website and everything works fine, but i was just wondering if anybody else has had this problem.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
dbunder
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 8600GT
Processor: Opty 146@2.8ghz
Mainboard: EPoX 9NPA+SLI
Memory: 2GB Corsair XMS 3-3-3-6
Soundcard: Onboard - Creative sucks!
PSU: Enermax Liberty 500W
Default 10-02-2006, 18:55 | posts: 79 | Location: Silverton, OR

Is this just for the ZS or other Audigy 2 cards? I believe mine is just a vanilla Audigy 2. I didn't buy it, got it from a friend, so I don't know exactly what it is.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
LifeForce
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Nvidia 8800 Ultra SLI
Processor: Intel Core 2 Extreme X6800
Mainboard: Nforce Board - Dell Branded
Memory: 4GB DDR2 SDRAM 667 MHZ
Soundcard: Creative X-FI Xtreme Music
PSU: 1,000 Dell Branded
Default 10-10-2006, 23:28 | posts: 332 | Location: NY

I followed this guide and it worked well, but has something changed where I cannot use all of my speakers without having CMS2 EAX enabled in my EAX panel. The second I turn it off I only get my three front speakers working.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
BuildeR2
Maha Guru
 
BuildeR2's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080Gaming@2075/11000
Processor: i7 4770k 4.4GHz 1.265v
Mainboard: ASUS Z97-A BIOS 2801
Memory: 2x8GB G.Skill @ 2400Mhz
Soundcard: ALC892
PSU: OCZ FTY750W
Default 10-10-2006, 23:41 | posts: 2,288 | Location: TX

I have the exact same thing happen. I think it's supposed to be that way. You can only use all your speakers for music listening if you use CMSS. All of your speakers should work in games as long as the game supports 5.1 decoding or whatever.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
LifeForce
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Nvidia 8800 Ultra SLI
Processor: Intel Core 2 Extreme X6800
Mainboard: Nforce Board - Dell Branded
Memory: 4GB DDR2 SDRAM 667 MHZ
Soundcard: Creative X-FI Xtreme Music
PSU: 1,000 Dell Branded
Default 10-11-2006, 04:19 | posts: 332 | Location: NY

Oh ok...I just find it odd that now I LOSE an ability. Is the third option "Stereo Surround" basically what I had before when I didn't need CMSS enabled? Because with the drivers on my CD I NEVER needed CMSS enables to hear out of all my speakers during normal windows activity.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
ROBSCIX
Ancient Guru
 
ROBSCIX's Avatar
 
Videocard: 22" LCD on GTX260 C216
Processor: Intel I7 860
Mainboard: MSI P55 GD80
Memory: G.SKILL DDR3-1600 4X2GB
Soundcard: It Varies...
PSU: Sigma
Default 10-11-2006, 16:02 | posts: 16,236 | Location: Guru3D Audio Lab

That's normal..think if your playing a MP3 or other music it's only stereo..so why would it be playing out of all speakers? this is why you need CMSS3d enabled. if you didn't have it on the only time you would have surround is when your playing surround material-movies or games etc...hope that helps.. I don't understand how you could have all the speakers paying without CMSS enabled..or possibly matrix on your speakers?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
LifeForce
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Nvidia 8800 Ultra SLI
Processor: Intel Core 2 Extreme X6800
Mainboard: Nforce Board - Dell Branded
Memory: 4GB DDR2 SDRAM 667 MHZ
Soundcard: Creative X-FI Xtreme Music
PSU: 1,000 Dell Branded
Default 10-11-2006, 18:22 | posts: 332 | Location: NY

Well I am sitting here right now and currently have the drivers from the creative disc I got with my dell installed. Looking at the control panel, CMSS 3D is not enabled and no matter what im doing, watching a youtube video, listening to MP3s or whatever, its coming out of all the speakers on my 5.1 setup. As far as I can see, I have absolutely no other options on that could seemingly cause this. My speakers are set to 5.1 as they were in both driver sets. So naturally things felt really odd when I installed the new drivers and was only hearing stuff out of the two in the front. I initially assumed it to be an issue with the drivers. So now after a year, I am apparently left with a completely messed up perspective on what 5.1 is and what my speakers are "supposed" to do.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.