Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Links
Links Archived stickys.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
jimborae
Newbie
 
Videocard: Leadtek 6800nu 128mb
Processor: Athlon64 3200 S939
Mainboard: MSI K8N Neo2
Memory: Winbond BH-5 512 DDR 3200
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-08-2005, 06:13 | posts: 12 | Location: UK

Quote:
i'm still thinking fireblade is the same as the gto2? and modable but i dun have the ballz to test it
RedAim, does your card have the pci-e power connector & are you able to post a picture of it somewhere?

Quite a few people have been able to mod cards other than GTO2. Mostly the Connect 3D x800GTO vivo but it looks very similar to GTO2.

Imo you should have a go at modding it, I think it'll work
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 10-08-2005, 10:36 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

So... my GTO2 does 640/640.

Now if only I could flash the damn BIOS this would be a rather fast card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
Ekajaya"VaLvE"
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 770
Processor: 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS
Memory: 6GB OCZ
Soundcard: Auzen X-Plosion/Denon AHD
PSU: Enermax Modu 87+
Default 10-08-2005, 10:56 | posts: 412 | Location: Berlin,Germany

Wildstyle i hope this one could help you :
http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/.../vidcard/127/1

good luck!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 10-08-2005, 10:58 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

Yeah yeah I know, but check back a page and you will see my post. For whatever reason, I can't even load up the flashing util in DOS.

Thanks though.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
Ekajaya"VaLvE"
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 770
Processor: 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS
Memory: 6GB OCZ
Soundcard: Auzen X-Plosion/Denon AHD
PSU: Enermax Modu 87+
Default 10-08-2005, 11:17 | posts: 412 | Location: Berlin,Germany

Maybe u can try this :
A20 Hardware Error:
There was an error in the high memory area. Restart your computer, and try again. If you still get this message, load MS-DOS into the low memory area. To do this, remove the DOS=HIGH command line in your CONFIG.SYS file,or configure MS-DOS to load in low memory by adding the DOS=LOW command line to your CONFIG.SYS file. Then restart your computer.

i hope this will help.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 10-08-2005, 22:23 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

Is the config.sys file generated when you create a bootable floppy? If so I'll have to create one on the other PC, then edit that file and burn it onto a CD so I can try it. What an effort.
Edit: Hmm, it isn't, where is it? Help!

Anyways, erm, here's 6593 marks in 05 with just the 12 pipes and 630/630 clocks:

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
j.rhy@n
Maha Guru
 
j.rhy@n's Avatar
 
Videocard: PlayStation 3 + Samsung HDTV
Processor: PlayStation 3 + Samsung HDTV
Mainboard: PlayStation 3 + Samsung Full HDTV
Memory: PlayStation 3 + Samsung Full HDTV
Soundcard: LG 5.1 Wireless Home Theatre
PSU: PlayStation 3 + Samsung Full HDTV
Default 10-08-2005, 23:05 | posts: 2,319 | Location: Germany - But British

nice score , whats the default clock speeds ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
Ekajaya"VaLvE"
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 770
Processor: 4.2Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS
Memory: 6GB OCZ
Soundcard: Auzen X-Plosion/Denon AHD
PSU: Enermax Modu 87+
Default 10-08-2005, 23:25 | posts: 412 | Location: Berlin,Germany

Quote:
Originally posted by WildStyle
[B]Is the config.sys file generated when you create a bootable floppy? If so I'll have to create one on the other PC, then edit that file and burn it onto a CD so I can try it. What an effort.
Edit: Hmm, it isn't, where is it? Help!
Maybe you can just create the file from dos ,humm like create config.txt on windows and then on ms-dosprompt you do
ren config.txt config.sys ,but do it on other than c: prompt.After that you can burn it to cd.Wow that is one nice score,i think if you can get it with 16 pipes ,the score will be around 7000.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 10-08-2005, 23:32 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally posted by j.rhy@n
nice score , whats the default clock speeds ?
400/980
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 10-08-2005, 23:35 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally posted by Ekajaya"VaLvE"
Maybe you can just create the file from dos ,humm like create config.txt on windows and then on ms-dosprompt you do
ren config.txt config.sys ,but do it on other than c: prompt.After that you can burn it to cd.Wow that is one nice score,i think if you can get it with 16 pipes ,the score will be around 7000.
Run that past me again would ya?

I shouldn't even have to do all this. I have a feeling I'll never see the extra 4 pipes..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#36)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 10-09-2005, 17:19 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

*Bump*

Anyone know anything about this issue I'm having ?

It's really annoying me, I wanna see the full potential of this card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#37)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 10-09-2005, 20:14 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

4 posts in a row... oops, oh well.

As it turned out, Nero was the problem. I updated it and the bootable CD worked fine. Flash also went ok, so here are the results:

7147 in 05! 620/580/16 pipes. Love this little card!

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#38)
UZ7
Ancient Guru
 
UZ7's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 [8GB]
Processor: 6820HK [4.0GHz]
Mainboard: MSI MS-17A1
Memory: 16GB DDR4 [2400]
Soundcard: ESS Sabre HiFi
PSU: Delta 230W
Default 10-09-2005, 20:18 | posts: 5,407 | Location: Everyday Rain Florida

sweet momma!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#39)
Scarey Lizzard
Master Guru
 
Scarey Lizzard's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire X800 Pro
Processor: 2.8C Pentium4
Mainboard: Asus P4P800 SE
Memory: Corsair XMS 1024 MB DDR400
Soundcard: Onboard 5.1
PSU:
Default 10-09-2005, 20:51 | posts: 460

Holy crap! Nice score!

Hopefully my X800 Pro will score around that area once I figure out how to unlock my other 4 pipes. Reads it as a X800 XT... but says only 12 pipes unlocked in ATi Tool/RivaTuner.

Can anyone confirm what I'm about to do is correct in my thread?

Sorry about the semi-hijack >_>
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#40)
compgeek89
Ancient Guru
 
compgeek89's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA GTX 480 @ 800/4300
Processor: Intel Core i7 930
Mainboard: Gigabyte X58A-UD5
Memory: 12GB G.Skill DDR3-2000
Soundcard: SIIG 7.1 + Logitech X-530
PSU: Antec TPQ 1200w
Default 10-09-2005, 20:57 | posts: 4,769 | Location: On the Cutting Edge of Technology

My 8961 GTX score is feeling your heat singe! Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#41)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 10-09-2005, 21:06 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally posted by Scarey Lizzard
Holy crap! Nice score!

Hopefully my X800 Pro will score around that area once I figure out how to unlock my other 4 pipes. Reads it as a X800 XT... but says only 12 pipes unlocked in ATi Tool/RivaTuner.
Well as a guide, I had both an X800XT and an X800XTPE before this GTO2. Neither scored more than 6.4k in 05, that was with frequencies resembling ummm.. 540/580 or so.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#42)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 10-09-2005, 21:07 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally posted by compgeek89
My 8961 GTX score is feeling your heat singe! Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah!
Not bad for a card less than half the price of yours huh ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#43)
Octavean
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX960 / GTX670 / GTX760
Processor: 5820K/ 3930K/ i5 2500k
Mainboard: X99A / P9X79 D/ P8P67 P
Memory: 8GB / 32GB/ 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: On Board
PSU: 700W / 750W / 650W
Default 10-09-2005, 22:54 | posts: 1,085

I fully intend to buy a Sapphire X800GTO2 soon but the price seems to be going up,…they are typically around $247 OEM to about $269 retail. When I first started looking it was about $219 OEM,….

Anyway, some of the latest reviews of the X1800XL seem to indicate that it is about on par with the X850XT PE (when SM 3.0 isn’t an issue). The X850XT PE cost less then the X1800XL for the time being. However, the X800GTO2 is a quasi X850XT PE (or faster) and at a fraction of the price.

So with the X800GTO2 you don’t get AVIVO or SM 3.0 (and maybe a few other things) but you save roughly $200 or more and basically get the same performance as an X1800XL!!!

Yeah, I’ve got to get one of these,…and an Athlon 64 X2 3800+,….so I can OC them both silly

http://graphics.tomshardware.com/gra...d_land-14.html

Last edited by Octavean; 10-09-2005 at 23:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#44)
Ehecu
Maha Guru
 
Ehecu's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Vapor-X HD 5750
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 (805)
Mainboard: ASUS M3A78-CM (AMD 780V)
Memory: 4GB Corsair XMS2 PC2-6400
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: Rosewill RG430 (430W/80+)
Default 10-10-2005, 04:10 | posts: 1,247 | Location: US

I'm really tempted to try one of these... Perhaps if I fry my X800 Pro I'll go mad from a lack of CS:S and force myself into it...

Yes... That's it... Fry card... Go mad... Buy a GTO2... Makes perfect sense.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#45)
Octavean
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX960 / GTX670 / GTX760
Processor: 5820K/ 3930K/ i5 2500k
Mainboard: X99A / P9X79 D/ P8P67 P
Memory: 8GB / 32GB/ 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: On Board
PSU: 700W / 750W / 650W
Default 10-10-2005, 19:32 | posts: 1,085

LOL, sounds pretty sane to me!!!

But seriously, why not just flee-bay,….er,….um,…e-bay that X800 Pro to help support the cause!?!

BTW, I just ordered a Sapphire X800GTO2 and an Athlon X2 3800+,….
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#46)
AMDCrazy
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 10-10-2005, 21:05 | posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally posted by WildStyle
4 posts in a row... oops, oh well.

As it turned out, Nero was the problem. I updated it and the bootable CD worked fine. Flash also went ok, so here are the results:

7147 in 05! 620/580/16 pipes. Love this little card!



Hey Wildstyle let me know how you did this thru nero. Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#47)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 10-10-2005, 22:45 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally posted by AMDCrazy
Hey Wildstyle let me know how you did this thru nero. Thanks
You mean make a bootable CD?



Couldn't really be any simpler.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#48)
Octavean
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX960 / GTX670 / GTX760
Processor: 5820K/ 3930K/ i5 2500k
Mainboard: X99A / P9X79 D/ P8P67 P
Memory: 8GB / 32GB/ 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: On Board
PSU: 700W / 750W / 650W
Default 10-10-2005, 23:05 | posts: 1,085

Yeah I would like to know too if you don’t mind since I have a Sapphire X800GTO2 on the way and not a clue as to how to boot into DOS.

I have an OEM version of “nero” so I can only hope that you don’t need the full version.

You can do this in “nero express” right?

Crosses fingers,….

Oct.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#49)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 10-10-2005, 23:15 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

Do the above, and during that create bootable CD wizard, select the files you downloaded from the techpowerup guide (unzip the flashrom zip) and place the three flashrom files as well as the modded BIOS on the CD.

Then, set your BIOS boot order so CDROM is #1. Place the disc in the drive. Restart and it'll load from it. Then follow the instructions on the techpowerup guide as to the commands to flash. Printing the guide out would be advisable.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#50)
Octavean
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX960 / GTX670 / GTX760
Processor: 5820K/ 3930K/ i5 2500k
Mainboard: X99A / P9X79 D/ P8P67 P
Memory: 8GB / 32GB/ 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: On Board
PSU: 700W / 750W / 650W
Default 10-10-2005, 23:29 | posts: 1,085

Outstanding thank you very much!!!

However, how do you save the BIOS that the card came with before the flash mod?

Sorry if I am asking too many n00b questions but naturally I want to get this right and not pooch the deal
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.