Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Links
Links Archived stickys.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
X850 Pro MOD to X850XT/XT PE
Old
  (#1)
jblade
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ATI X850 Pro Flashed to X850XT PE
Processor: AMD Athlon XP-M 2600+ at 2.5Ghz
Mainboard: ABIT NF7-S v2.0 nForce2 Ultra 400
Memory: OCZ EL Platinum 1GB (2x512MB) at 2-2-2-5
Soundcard: Audigy2 ZS Gamer on Logitech Z-2300 2.1 Speakers
PSU: Also have Boise Triport Headphones, VP171b-2,MX518
Default X850 Pro MOD to X850XT/XT PE - 08-21-2005, 00:30 | posts: 48 | Location: Columbia, MD

This mod works just like the X800 one, (you gotta download the modded flashrom)
(My card has 1.6 NS memmory, and is AGP, from what I understand, PCI-E CAN't be flashed.

Completing this mod successfully will unlock all of the 16 pipelines your X850 Pro has.

In order to have a moddable card you just need to have the 1.6ns memmory (I do not think 2.0ns works) and the yellow VIVO thingy next to your purple power input.

All credit goes towards W1zzard from forums.techpowerup.com
all I did was change the guide from X800 to X850

Performing the Mod:


Download modified flashrom.
Download Bios from here.
I suggest the latest X850XT PE Bios.
A little sidenote: Many people complain that they get a "file not found" error when trying to flash the bios under DOS. The problem is that DOS does not know long filenames, so all files are truncated to some funky names like Powerco~1.bin. Either use the dir command, when in DOS, to find out the short filename or rename the file to something shorter while still in Windows.
Make sure the card can reliably run at the clock speeds of the new bios (with ATITool, for example).
Use the modified flashrom to flash the Bios to the card. More extensive flashing instructions can be found here. They talk about atiflash - you use the modified flashrom, usage is the same.
After bootup Windows should automatically install the X800 XT PE driver.
Verify the number of active pipelines using ATITool. Go to Settings -> Overclocking. The list there shows the number of pipelines the card is running with.

If you want to remove all traces of previous Bios flashes (for example if you flashed the Gigabyte Bios):
Use modified flashrom to flash empty.bin (use "Save as..." if weird characters appear when clicking the link) to your video card, then flash the new Bios without rebooting. Be careful - if you don't flash a real Bios after flashing the empty Bios, your card will not work properly.

Note:

If your going to use the stock cooler from the X850 Pro, I suggest that you downclock your card back to the 500 1000 speeds, or just dont do the mod , until you buy a cooler like this one, or this one. Otherwise you will certainly get errors and artifacts (The stock cooler on the XT's and XT PE's is a lot better then the Pro one

Extra Info:
The card I have is a X850 PRo AGP with the little yellow VIVO thingy. I am preaty sure that has a huge difference on the ability to flash or not. Since the core of the AGP is different from te PCI-E

Edit:
Quote:
Originally Posted by nOv1c3
Woot I flashed my card this morning with the CD-Rom Drive and atiflash, Took a bit of research but i figured it out hehe

Everything went fine on the first try

I used a moded x850 pro bios with the 16 pipes unlocked

So i have the 16 pipes with stock speeds on the ram and core and the fan controls

Now to bench this puppy and see what i have gained :p



I ziped and uploaded the moded bios and instruction on how to flash your card with a cd-rom

http://s11.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=2...F02VY0UM4M68VN

I cant take credit for this , But i forget the original poster name that i got this off of at another board . so all credit goes to him but i Hope this helps a few
- I highly suggest this way of doing the mod, as far as the bios is concerned. As the X850 Pro AGP are not really supposed to be clocked higher then the default of 500/500, unless you have a custom fan, and even then the speeds exceeding that of a X850 XT are dangerous to your card. This bios is clocked at normal Pro speeds and thus ensures your cards safety.

Last edited by jblade; 01-01-2006 at 00:40.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
gobbles
Member Guru
 
Videocard: x800 -> x800 xt pe 526/570
Processor: venice 3000 @ 26000mhz 1.6v
Mainboard: DFI nForce 3 S939 w00t!
Memory: corsair xms pc3200c2 480mhz2.5-3-3-7 2.9v
Soundcard: audigy 2 zs softmod to audigy 4 pro
PSU:
Default 08-21-2005, 06:08 | posts: 128

What is the benefit of flashing an x850 pro to xt pe?

Last edited by gobbles; 08-21-2005 at 06:10.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
scatman839
Ancient Guru
 
scatman839's Avatar
 
Videocard: 7970m/970 Mini, KD55XD800
Processor: i7 3610QM/i5 6500
Mainboard: HM77/B150M-C
Memory: 12GB D3/16GB D4
Soundcard: Via HD, x-530
PSU: 180w/RM650x
Default 08-21-2005, 12:14 | posts: 13,054 | Location: Scotland

faster speeds, and maybe a temp controlled fan
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
jblade
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ATI X850 Pro Flashed to X850XT PE
Processor: AMD Athlon XP-M 2600+ at 2.5Ghz
Mainboard: ABIT NF7-S v2.0 nForce2 Ultra 400
Memory: OCZ EL Platinum 1GB (2x512MB) at 2-2-2-5
Soundcard: Audigy2 ZS Gamer on Logitech Z-2300 2.1 Speakers
PSU: Also have Boise Triport Headphones, VP171b-2,MX518
Default 08-21-2005, 13:11 | posts: 48 | Location: Columbia, MD

It enables all 16 pipelines, instead of just 12. Also, in The CCC Overdrive is enabled.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Ehecu
Maha Guru
 
Ehecu's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire Vapor-X HD 5750
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 (805)
Mainboard: ASUS M3A78-CM (AMD 780V)
Memory: 4GB Corsair XMS2 PC2-6400
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: Rosewill RG430 (430W/80+)
Default 08-21-2005, 13:12 | posts: 1,247 | Location: US

I was under the impression that X850 Pro cores were laser cut, making a soft-mod impossible...
The only proven case I've seen is an X800 Pro --> XT.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
jblade
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ATI X850 Pro Flashed to X850XT PE
Processor: AMD Athlon XP-M 2600+ at 2.5Ghz
Mainboard: ABIT NF7-S v2.0 nForce2 Ultra 400
Memory: OCZ EL Platinum 1GB (2x512MB) at 2-2-2-5
Soundcard: Audigy2 ZS Gamer on Logitech Z-2300 2.1 Speakers
PSU: Also have Boise Triport Headphones, VP171b-2,MX518
Default 08-22-2005, 04:00 | posts: 48 | Location: Columbia, MD

I have a X850 Pro and its flashed to a X850XT PE, although I am only running it at X850 Pro speeds until I get my Zalman VGA Cooler.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
FreakyMe
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI RADEON x850xt 256mb @600/617
Processor: P4 3.6ghz +HT @stock
Mainboard: Hewlet-Packard xw4200 Bios ver 1.09
Memory: 2gb DDR2 @ stock
Soundcard: 5.1 sound card saround speakers
PSU:
Default 08-22-2005, 10:13 | posts: 23 | Location: England

I was wondering would this work with putting a 850xt to 850xt PE? for those of us who got a cheaper XT but want PE performance
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
jblade
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ATI X850 Pro Flashed to X850XT PE
Processor: AMD Athlon XP-M 2600+ at 2.5Ghz
Mainboard: ABIT NF7-S v2.0 nForce2 Ultra 400
Memory: OCZ EL Platinum 1GB (2x512MB) at 2-2-2-5
Soundcard: Audigy2 ZS Gamer on Logitech Z-2300 2.1 Speakers
PSU: Also have Boise Triport Headphones, VP171b-2,MX518
Default 08-22-2005, 22:08 | posts: 48 | Location: Columbia, MD

Theres no difference that I know of, the BIOS might allow the RAM to run cooler, but yes it would work 100%. All XT's can be flashed to XT PE. Although I am not sure what it would do. The Pro only has 12 pipelines, while the XT and XT PE has 16, thats the reason I flashed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
reflex
Maha Guru
 
reflex's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG 8800GT 725/1800/2000
Processor: Q6600@3.6 (400x9) 1.475v
Mainboard: Asus P5E Intel X38
Memory: 4GB DDR2800(4-4-4-15)2.2v
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS w/ Sennheiser
PSU: OCZ GamerXStream 700W
Default 08-22-2005, 22:57 | posts: 2,051

Just OC the x850xt to x850xt pe speeds, its not a huge overclock at all, only a increase of 20mhz on the core and 40mhz on the memory or something
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
clawhamer
Maha Guru
 
clawhamer's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 780 Classified
Processor: Core i7 4770K 4.4GHz
Mainboard: ASUS M6H z87
Memory: Corsair Pt. 8GB 1866MHz
Soundcard: SupremeFX
PSU: Corsair AX850
Default 08-23-2005, 05:18 | posts: 2,579 | Location: canada

I agree with reflex, if you have the xt, it already has 16 pipes so there really is no need to risk flashing it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
jblade
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ATI X850 Pro Flashed to X850XT PE
Processor: AMD Athlon XP-M 2600+ at 2.5Ghz
Mainboard: ABIT NF7-S v2.0 nForce2 Ultra 400
Memory: OCZ EL Platinum 1GB (2x512MB) at 2-2-2-5
Soundcard: Audigy2 ZS Gamer on Logitech Z-2300 2.1 Speakers
PSU: Also have Boise Triport Headphones, VP171b-2,MX518
Default 08-23-2005, 18:35 | posts: 48 | Location: Columbia, MD

Well if someone has a X850XT and wants to test it out, go for it. The risk is very low. All you gotta do is OC it to PE, run the fan at a constant speed, record temps load and idle, then flash it, and do the same thing. i just know from experience with ATI, that the tend to have more then the just the OC, and its that it has a improved BIOS.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
dedmonds12
Registered User
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-23-2005, 18:57 | posts: 1

jblade, can you confirm this works with the x850 pro and it unlocks pipelines? I too was under the impression unlocking was impossible with the x850. Do you have an screenshots of this working? thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
jblade
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ATI X850 Pro Flashed to X850XT PE
Processor: AMD Athlon XP-M 2600+ at 2.5Ghz
Mainboard: ABIT NF7-S v2.0 nForce2 Ultra 400
Memory: OCZ EL Platinum 1GB (2x512MB) at 2-2-2-5
Soundcard: Audigy2 ZS Gamer on Logitech Z-2300 2.1 Speakers
PSU: Also have Boise Triport Headphones, VP171b-2,MX518
Default 08-23-2005, 19:34 | posts: 48 | Location: Columbia, MD

I dont have a screenshot, because my card was getting too hot (80degrees) cause I was using stock cooler. I will probally get my Zalman VGa fanheatsink by tomorrow, then I will take pics, or try to at least.

Just check if your memmory ends with a 16, and has the Yellow vivo thingy, and your good to go. However, I do not recommened doing this until you get a new cooler.

oh its important to know
My card is AGP and I think that is what cause the difference in flashability.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
sean478
Member Guru
 
Videocard: X850 XT Platinum Edition
Processor: Athlon X2 4400+ Toledo
Mainboard: Dfi Lanparty UT NF4 Sli-DR
Memory: 4x512 Dc 400 Corsair Value Cas 2.5
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Zs Platinum GigaWorks S750 (700W) 7.1
PSU:
Default 08-23-2005, 19:58 | posts: 65 | Location: Behind You

guys i stress dont get a x850 under the impression that it will unlock to 16 pipes jblade is the only one i have ever heard of who actualy did it and ive heard of at least 10 trying it personaly

its just best to asume that it wont mod
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
jblade
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ATI X850 Pro Flashed to X850XT PE
Processor: AMD Athlon XP-M 2600+ at 2.5Ghz
Mainboard: ABIT NF7-S v2.0 nForce2 Ultra 400
Memory: OCZ EL Platinum 1GB (2x512MB) at 2-2-2-5
Soundcard: Audigy2 ZS Gamer on Logitech Z-2300 2.1 Speakers
PSU: Also have Boise Triport Headphones, VP171b-2,MX518
Default 08-25-2005, 00:13 | posts: 48 | Location: Columbia, MD

IS yours AGP? Does it have 1.6 ns memmory?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
sean478
Member Guru
 
Videocard: X850 XT Platinum Edition
Processor: Athlon X2 4400+ Toledo
Mainboard: Dfi Lanparty UT NF4 Sli-DR
Memory: 4x512 Dc 400 Corsair Value Cas 2.5
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Zs Platinum GigaWorks S750 (700W) 7.1
PSU:
Default 08-25-2005, 12:27 | posts: 65 | Location: Behind You

mine? its pcie with 1.6

but i bought it as a xt and flashed to a pe not from a pro
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Salem13
Master Guru
 
Salem13's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 1070 FTW DT
Processor: i5 6600k
Mainboard: Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Memory: DDR4 XMS 2666 32 gb
Soundcard: Bose :(
PSU: Corsair 750
Default 08-25-2005, 15:17 | posts: 328 | Location: Salem,MA USA

*boohoo*

Got the sucker flashed, running at XT speed no problem, only 12 pipes showing with ATITool.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
sean478
Member Guru
 
Videocard: X850 XT Platinum Edition
Processor: Athlon X2 4400+ Toledo
Mainboard: Dfi Lanparty UT NF4 Sli-DR
Memory: 4x512 Dc 400 Corsair Value Cas 2.5
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Zs Platinum GigaWorks S750 (700W) 7.1
PSU:
Default 08-25-2005, 21:23 | posts: 65 | Location: Behind You

Quote:
Originally posted by Salem13
*boohoo*

Got the sucker flashed, running at XT speed no problem, only 12 pipes showing with ATITool.
leave it like that it wont hurt it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
ehren13
Registered User
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-02-2005, 00:44 | posts: 2

I'd just like to state that this mod worked COMPLETED as described by the OP. I had an ATI x850 Pro, WITH the yellow VIVO connector, and 1.6ns Samsung Memory Modules.

After flashing the BIOS, ATITool reported 16 pipes, and I was off and running.

Now I just need to hook it into my water loop via my Maze4GPU block, and we'll see how high I can overclock this sucker ;D

Thanks!!!!


EDIT ---

Oops! Forgot to note that I had the AGP version of the card... =)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
sean478
Member Guru
 
Videocard: X850 XT Platinum Edition
Processor: Athlon X2 4400+ Toledo
Mainboard: Dfi Lanparty UT NF4 Sli-DR
Memory: 4x512 Dc 400 Corsair Value Cas 2.5
Soundcard: Audigy 2 Zs Platinum GigaWorks S750 (700W) 7.1
PSU:
Default 09-02-2005, 10:48 | posts: 65 | Location: Behind You

intersting... that makes 3 sucess stories... out of 4 this past week congrats dudes

all seem to be with the (agp) x850 pro (vivo)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
ehren13
Registered User
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-02-2005, 20:43 | posts: 2

Well, the card op was a success, but I screwed my board up...


I had gotten the waterblock attached to the video card, and everything was running smooth. Silly me decides to up my Northbridge cooler from my stock Abit fan/HS to a new ThermalTake. Long story short, the fan interfered with my waterblock mounting screws, and I ended up shorting out my AGP slot. ;'(

So, this awesome card will end up being returned to the store, from whence it came, cuz I'm getting a new SLi motherboard ;D
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
JstAnthrSquid
Newbie
 
Videocard: ATI X850Pro AGP flashed to X850XT-PE
Processor: Athlon64 3200+
Mainboard: Compaq / Asus
Memory: 1GB
Soundcard: Audigy 2 & Klipsch 5.1
PSU:
Default 09-04-2005, 18:56 | posts: 13

Hey all,

I found this thread thru Google (hooray Google) and just wanted to add another success story:

I have a retail ATI X850Pro AGP VIVO purchased from Best Buy. Flashed it following the directions above with the ATI X850PE bios and now have all 16 pipelines unlocked with no artifacts reported in ATITool. However, I've clocked it back to the standard X850Pro 500/1000 speeds as the stock cooler could not keep the card cool at PE speeds.

The extra pipelines are giving 10-20% higher benchmark numbers in the tests I've run so far. :thumbsup:

Thanks jblade for taking the time to post the instructions.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
alpha1471
Registered User
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 09-06-2005, 22:57 | posts: 1

I've had the same success on my ATI X850 Pro VIVO AGP with stock cooling at 500/500. My card has 1.6ns Samsung memory (K4J55323QF-GC16) and the yellow VIVO connector as well.

The stock cooler struggles to keep the card cool unless the fan is going at full speed. Maybe underclocking it a bit would help until I get a better cooler.

3dmark05 scores went from 5126 to 5727.
   
Reply With Quote
successful method
Old
  (#24)
tylerim
Registered User
 
Videocard: ATI X850PRO 256 AGP
Processor: Athlon XP 2600+
Mainboard: Asus A7V600
Memory: PC3200 512
Soundcard:
PSU:
Smile successful method - 09-24-2005, 05:46 | posts: 1 | Location: Canada

I've a factory Ati x850PRO 256 w. VIVO and 1.6ns RAM...

I tried flashing with techpowerup.com's Ati x850XT bios with no results other than an increase in clocks speeds.

Then I tried flashing first with techpowerup's "empty.bin" bios followed directly by a second flash with the x850XT bios. Success at last.

Now my PRO has XT's core of 519.75 and memory of 540.00 with all 16 pipes reporting for duty (as reported by AtiTools). Flashing the empty.bin first was the key. Good luck and thanks for the direction all.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
Foxbat25
Maha Guru
 
Foxbat25's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x EVGA 9800GTX`S
Processor: E8400@ 3.8ghz
Mainboard: EVGA 750i FTW
Memory: 4 GIGS KNGSTN 1066 @ 1066
Soundcard: Onboard HD
PSU: Apevia 750watt Warlock
Default 09-30-2005, 16:23 | posts: 1,376 | Location: New York City N.Y.

can i use my old amd 64 2800+ HSF to cool my 850pro so i can flash it to an 850xt pe?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.