Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Links
Links Archived stickys.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
Heatseeker_no.1
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 4890 1GB@935/1120
Processor: e8400@3.95GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X38-DS4
Memory: 2x 2GB G-Skill DDR2 6400
Soundcard: Creative x-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Toughpower 750 watt
Default 04-08-2006, 21:30 | posts: 49 | Location: UK

Sorry, complete noob here, but I'v got up to the;

"LDT/FSB Frequency Ratio (Ram Ratio) to 100(Mhz)(1/02)
This is much lower then you should ever set this but it will make sure your ram is running way under spec and wont be causing you any problems at this point.."

point of the guide and I'm copletely stuck on how to do this.

Thanks in advance
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 04-08-2006, 22:02 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

That part is actually incorrect, heh. Well, the naming anyway, as the LDT/FSB Frequency Ratio is your HTT multiplier. The option to adjust your RAM divider is labelled as DRAM Frequency Set in the DFI BIOS, which is what the guide is based upon.

Is your board the AV8 you have listed in your specs? I ask because often people forget to update their specs. Let me know and I'll find out what the option's labelled as in your BIOS.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
Heatseeker_no.1
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 4890 1GB@935/1120
Processor: e8400@3.95GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X38-DS4
Memory: 2x 2GB G-Skill DDR2 6400
Soundcard: Creative x-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Toughpower 750 watt
Default 04-08-2006, 22:05 | posts: 49 | Location: UK

Yep, my specs are up to date and yes it did say dram freq in my bios (as 200MHz) but it was greyed out so I couldn't change it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 04-08-2006, 22:13 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

Ok, under the Advanced Cipset Features menu will be a submenu called DRAM Configuration. It'll look like so:



DRAM Timings Selectable needs to be on Manual so you can change the options.

And the option that needs to be changed to run your RAM on a lower divider is DRAM Clock. DDR400 is the default and is 1:1 meaning your HTT and RAM frequency are synchronous. The option you want to enable here for testing is DDR200.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
Heatseeker_no.1
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 4890 1GB@935/1120
Processor: e8400@3.95GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X38-DS4
Memory: 2x 2GB G-Skill DDR2 6400
Soundcard: Creative x-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Toughpower 750 watt
Default 04-08-2006, 22:24 | posts: 49 | Location: UK

Ah right thanks, I was wary of trying that as it warns you of problems on the right.

Trying it now....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 04-08-2006, 22:29 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

It is possible to cause problems yeah, though on that menu nothing major, but if you're not sure of anything just ask and any possible problems will be prevented.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#57)
Heatseeker_no.1
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 4890 1GB@935/1120
Processor: e8400@3.95GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte X38-DS4
Memory: 2x 2GB G-Skill DDR2 6400
Soundcard: Creative x-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: Toughpower 750 watt
Default 04-08-2006, 22:36 | posts: 49 | Location: UK

Sure thing, thanks, btw what is the max temp I should allow my cpu to?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 04-08-2006, 22:40 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

I wouldn't let it go higher than 50-55c.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
Frag-master
Maha Guru
 
Frag-master's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX960 Mini OC
Processor: 2x Hex-Core X5650 24Cores
Mainboard: HP Z800 Workstation
Memory: 48GB DDR3 ECC 1333mhz
Soundcard: Realtek Build In Audio
PSU: 1050W Watt - HP Z800
Default 04-26-2006, 16:57 | posts: 2,474 | Location: United Kingdom

wow nice guide

have ago l8ers hehe cheers
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#60)
sakis213
Master Guru
 
sakis213's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia eVGA 8800Gtx
Processor: Intel Q9550
Mainboard: Asus Striker Extreme
Memory: 8GB Crucial 800MHz CL4
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme music Gigawor
PSU: Tt 850 watt
Default 05-03-2006, 00:49 | posts: 566 | Location: Cyprus

hi guys,great guide!!

btw when we oc an X2 cpu what we really do?it has 2 cores,when we oc it by 200mhz it's faster by 200 mhz


but what about the cores,the 200mhz are splitted???
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#61)
Clements
Maha Guru
 
Clements's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX 670
Processor: Intel i5 4650K
Mainboard: MSI Z87 GD45
Memory: 16GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Realtek ALC1150
PSU: Antec Trupower 850W
Default 05-03-2006, 00:59 | posts: 903 | Location: Britain

Quote:
Originally Posted by sakis213
it has 2 cores,when we oc it by 200mhz it's faster by 200 mhz
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sakis213
but what about the cores,the 200mhz are splitted???
No.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 05-03-2006, 01:02 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

There are two cores and they are overclocked simultaneously. What this means is if you overclocked your 4200+ to, for example, 2.6GHz, both the cores would be running at 2.6GHz. Whether they're both stable at that speed is another matter...

BTW, In case you were wondering how you Prime with two cores: http://www.dfi-street.com/forum/showthread.php?t=16446
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#63)
Romano
Master Guru
 
Romano's Avatar
 
Videocard: 9800 GTX
Processor: Core 2 Duo E6600 3,3GHz @1,3v 24/7
Mainboard: Asus P5B Deluxe
Memory: 2x1GB Team Xtreem DDR2 800
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Music
PSU: Tagan 530W U22
Default 05-19-2006, 03:34 | posts: 177

is there anyone who help me to OC'ed my mobo????
i'm using an Albatron K8NF4-754 mainboard. or it just a same with DFI???
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#64)
GODzillaSDM
Maha Guru
 
GODzillaSDM's Avatar
 
Videocard: VisionTek AMD HD7850
Processor: Intel i7 6700k (stock)
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z170X-GAMING 5
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR4
Soundcard: SB Z SBX & LOGITECH z5300
PSU: XFX 850W
Default 05-22-2006, 07:46 | posts: 1,708 | Location: San Diego, CA

hello, im not overclocking BUT, i would like to test my system for stability and maybe find out my score. I want to know which is a better program to help me do that? Prime95 or PCMark, 3DMark?

thanks!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#65)
deathvirus
Ancient Guru
 
deathvirus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GeForce 870M 6GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 4710HQ
Mainboard: MSI MS1772
Memory: 2*8 GB 1600 MHz LPDDR3
Soundcard: Realtek ALC892, Bose IE2
PSU: MSI 150W Adapter
Default 05-22-2006, 09:11 | posts: 4,496 | Location: Houston, TX

Ok ... i from here :



to here :



my pc did get a bit unstable .... sudden restarts ... so i lowered the HTT multiplier to 4x ... that brought the HTTdown to 928 MHz .. but though i had a much higher clocked processor .. all my scores came down noticeably ... i think because the HTT fell by quite a lot .... help ..

Now i pushed the fsb by another 10 MHz .. so now i had the HTT at around 960 .. but even then ... by scores stayed low ...

I started the oc'ing by forcing the ram at 333 from 400 coz. i have some very cheap ram ...

Last edited by deathvirus; 05-22-2006 at 09:14.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
anthony
Maha Guru
 
anthony's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus 6600GT top <- Smoken fast
Processor: Intel Q6600
Mainboard: Asus P5N32-E SLI Plus
Memory: OCZ Plat. 4 GB
Soundcard: X-Meridian+opa2227 & z5500
PSU: Antec 550W
Default 06-27-2006, 22:32 | posts: 1,252 | Location: canada

this guide is awsome. thanks for taking the time to write it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
THunDA
Ancient Guru
 
THunDA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Powercolor x1900xtx 675/783
Processor: X2 3800 @ 2700mhz 1.42vcore
Mainboard: DFI SLI-D Bios 04/06/06
Memory: 2x1gig Z503's @ 270mhz 3-3-8-3
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: PcPower&Cooling 1KW
Default 06-28-2006, 01:01 | posts: 2,739 | Location: NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by anthony
this guide is awsome. thanks for taking the time to write it
Thanks !!

@ deathvirus.. You should reread the guide once more and maybe another time after that.. Because in the guide it says how the total htt doesnt really effect performance much (if any at all) so thats definitly not your problem.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
Romano
Master Guru
 
Romano's Avatar
 
Videocard: 9800 GTX
Processor: Core 2 Duo E6600 3,3GHz @1,3v 24/7
Mainboard: Asus P5B Deluxe
Memory: 2x1GB Team Xtreem DDR2 800
Soundcard: X-Fi Xtreme Music
PSU: Tagan 530W U22
Default 06-30-2006, 11:02 | posts: 177

now, i run my rig @2250 MHZ, Multi 9X, FSB 250, DRam Frek 415 MHZ @266, HTT Multi 3X, VMemory 2,7V, VCPU +5%. Is it possible to boost more????
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
Dublin_Gunner
Ancient Guru
 
Dublin_Gunner's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte Rx 460 4GB
Processor: Athlon II x4 645 @3.7
Mainboard: CrossfireX 890GX
Memory: 8GB G-Skill Tri-X 2400Mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX 1000
Default 08-17-2006, 23:23 | posts: 4,642 | Location: Dublin, Ireland

Thunda, you're calculating the ram frequency incorrectly.

It should be:

RAM Freq = CPU Freq / (*CPU Multi / RAM Divider)

*this result must be a whole integer value, rounded upwards. i.e if the result is 10.4, you would use 11.

i.e

My OC for example

RAM Freq = 2404 / (9/ (4/5)) = 2404 / 12 = 200.25mhz

The method above is what the calculator you linked to in the first post uses, not the FSB/Mem ratio

If you were to use the method posted

267 * (4/5) = 213.6mhz, which is incorrect.
   
Reply With Quote
Thank You so Much
Old
  (#70)
phunkshun
Newbie
 
Videocard: Geforce 6600 GT 256
Processor: Athlon 64 FX 55 OC'd
Mainboard: ASRock 939 Dual-VSTA
Memory: DDR 400 1.0 gig
Soundcard:
PSU: Enermax Noisetaker
Default Thank You so Much - 11-11-2006, 12:58 | posts: 1 | Location: NY

Newbie here, I found this site actually from the Oblivion Wiki link, they recommended checking this page out to get the most from my machine while playing.

And boy oh boy did it help! I haven't yet tweaked out my vid card (buying a new one soon) but I was having problems getting my FX55 to run stable at 3.0. It would work fine at 2.8 but as soon as I upped it more it would flip the machine over as soon as I got to windows.

This thread though fixed that because I was finally able to decode and set properly the settings in the BIOS. I dropped the HTT speed a little and blammo, it worked! I'm now running fine at 3.0 with an idle temp of 33C.

Thank you so much.

The only problem now is I wanna see if 3.2 will work. It's an endless spiral! :p

Edit: Oof, artifacts badly during gameplay and then flips the machine over. I think my RAM is suspect but I can't be sure (its just normal PNY fare).

Last edited by phunkshun; 11-11-2006 at 15:53.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#71)
MrCompillitrate
Maha Guru
 
MrCompillitrate's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS Strix 1070/960m
Processor: i7 6700k @ 4.7/i7 6700HQ
Mainboard: ASUS VIII Hero/Dell
Memory: 32Gb G.Skill 3000Mhz/16gb
Soundcard: ASUS SupremeFX/G430
PSU: Sentey 1000W
Default 04-06-2007, 10:54 | posts: 1,038 | Location: Colorado

My CPU is at a real low temp currently (20șC) can't i oc it without messing with anything or would i have to go through the LDT adjustments etc.?

My old CPU (celeron 478) just overclocked. so im curious

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#72)
amieneel
Maha Guru
 
amieneel's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 5770 + 240 GT PhysX
Processor: i5-2500K
Mainboard: BIOSTAR TZ68K+
Memory: 8GB(4x2)G.SKILL RipjawsX
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: Corsair VX 550
Default 06-02-2007, 18:28 | posts: 890 | Location: India

I con't oc my 3000+ cpu...!!! it is "Venice"....and socket 939......anyone can tell me how can i do that...i con't find Htt/Fsb in my bios...is there another process??

Last edited by amieneel; 06-04-2007 at 10:17.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#73)
amieneel
Maha Guru
 
amieneel's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX 5770 + 240 GT PhysX
Processor: i5-2500K
Mainboard: BIOSTAR TZ68K+
Memory: 8GB(4x2)G.SKILL RipjawsX
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: Corsair VX 550
Default 06-07-2007, 06:39 | posts: 890 | Location: India

THANKS...THANKS...THANKS...

Finaly I oc my cpu...I was getting 1.8GHz...now i am getting 2.25GHz......
And another thing...as per i now...cpu temp should be bellow 50...am i right???
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#74)
Dublin_Gunner
Ancient Guru
 
Dublin_Gunner's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte Rx 460 4GB
Processor: Athlon II x4 645 @3.7
Mainboard: CrossfireX 890GX
Memory: 8GB G-Skill Tri-X 2400Mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX 1000
Default 06-07-2007, 10:32 | posts: 4,642 | Location: Dublin, Ireland

Quote:
Originally Posted by amieneel View Post
THANKS...THANKS...THANKS...

Finaly I oc my cpu...I was getting 1.8GHz...now i am getting 2.25GHz......
And another thing...as per i now...cpu temp should be bellow 50...am i right???

It is favourable to keep the temperature as low as possible. What cooler are you using?

I always wanted to keep my A64 below 50c alright, while it will be fine at a higher temp, I always consider below 50c in the 'safe' zone.

Enjoy your new found skills!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#75)
volksblad
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 07-10-2007, 09:46 | posts: 3

Hello! Volksblad here! It seems u know alot abt oc'ing and would like ur prof opinion on how 2 go about.Can u plz tell me how 2 oc my cpu(intel 2933) on a p5s800 asus mb? I have a GF7600gs,2.9cpu,2g ram and still I only manage 2 score +-2700 with 3dmark06. My bios dnt allow me 2 oc. (am sure u understand my frustation)What am I 2 do???
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.