Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Links
Links Archived stickys.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#76)
rauskis
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x XFX 6600GT PCI-E
Processor: AMD 64 3200+
Mainboard: ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
Memory: 1GB Transcend DDR
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 01-13-2005, 05:51 | posts: 19 | Location: Finland

Does this utility work with PCI-express (ASUS A8N-SLI with 2xGF 6600GT)?! When I open it my graphics cards latency is already 32 not 248... And isn't it possible to adjust latency straight from BIOS too? I have there an option called "PCI latency".


-Rauski
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#77)
Damnit
Maha Guru
 
Damnit's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFI R9 390
Processor: AMD FX 9590
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth
Memory: G.SKILL Trident+ 16Gb
Soundcard: Creative x-Fi Fatality
PSU: Cooler Master 1000w Gold
Default 01-13-2005, 05:59 | posts: 2,422 | Location: Uncle Sam's Pocket

It depends on what BIOS software is installed and what version. For example my BIOS used to have the PCI Latency option but when I flashed it to a newer version I lost that option. Dont know why........

Also if your still having problems installing it there's another link to a program in this thread (first page I imagine) that would hopefully work.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#78)
Toxic Worrier
Maha Guru
 
Toxic Worrier's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 275
Processor: Phenom ll X4 955 BE ;)
Mainboard: DFI LP UT 790FX-M2R
Memory: 4GB-OCZ-DDR21066LV-Blade-
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X
PSU: PCPC 850 watt
Default 01-13-2005, 07:55 | posts: 938 | Location: Middle Georgia

Quote:
Originally posted by rauskis
Does this utility work with PCI-express (ASUS A8N-SLI with 2xGF 6600GT)?! When I open it my graphics cards latency is already 32 not 248... And isn't it possible to adjust latency straight from BIOS too? I have there an option called "PCI latency".


-Rauski
In my bios , there's a pci latency setting, but it applies to all but my vid card..Good chance thats how it is with most bios's....If you already show your video card at 32, leave it....

you know ,,,,this thread is kinda freakin out ,,,,,,after all it got started in the wrong place, by nvidia drivers, so if anyone else has questions or thoughts, why not post a new topic with a question and I'm sure someone with mega knowledge about this sort of thing will reply and enlighten us all....LoL.
or.......do a google on it.......good luck

Last edited by Toxic Worrier; 01-13-2005 at 08:15.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#79)
Animatrix
Ancient Guru
 
Animatrix's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG 8800GT OC2 512
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6750
Mainboard: ABIT IP35 Pro
Memory: Corsair XMS2 4x1GB
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: Corsair VX550W
Default 01-13-2005, 10:18 | posts: 6,843 | Location: Denmark

This is a repost of some info.

Note that a low PCI latency is not the same as access latency.

"PCI latency refers to the number of cycles that any device can hold an IRQ before it is disconnected as a function of fairness algorithms."
http://www.lostcircuits.com/hdd/hdd5/3.shtml


PCI Latency
http://www.geocities.com/phileosoph...pcilatency.html

PCI Latency Timer Howto
http://www.reric.net/linux/pci_latency.html

PCI Latency Timer (BIOS)
http://www.rojakpot.com/default.aspx...ar1=0&var2=138
For better PCI performance, a longer latency should be used. Try increasing it to 64 cycles or even 128 cycles. The optimal value for every system is different. You should benchmark your PCI cards' performance after each change to determine the optimal PCI latency time for your system.

Please note that a longer PCI latency isn't necessarily better. A long latency can also reduce performance as the other PCI devices queuing up may be stalled for too long. This is especially true with systems with many PCI devices or PCI devices that continuously write short bursts of data to the PCI bus. Such systems would work better with shorter PCI latencies as they allow rapid access to the PCI bus.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#80)
Burnt_Ram
Ancient Guru
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 580 SLi
Processor: Core i5 @ 4.2 H20 Cooled
Mainboard: Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Memory: G.Skill RipJaw 1600 2x4GB
Soundcard: Via HD 7.1
PSU: Corsair HX1050W
Default 01-13-2005, 15:17 | posts: 5,926 | Location: British Columbia

Quote:
Originally posted by Animatrix
This is a repost of some info.

Note that a low PCI latency is not the same as access latency.

"PCI latency refers to the number of cycles that any device can hold an IRQ before it is disconnected as a function of fairness algorithms."
http://www.lostcircuits.com/hdd/hdd5/3.shtml


PCI Latency
http://www.geocities.com/phileosoph...pcilatency.html

PCI Latency Timer Howto
http://www.reric.net/linux/pci_latency.html

PCI Latency Timer (BIOS)
http://www.rojakpot.com/default.aspx...ar1=0&var2=138
For better PCI performance, a longer latency should be used. Try increasing it to 64 cycles or even 128 cycles. The optimal value for every system is different. You should benchmark your PCI cards' performance after each change to determine the optimal PCI latency time for your system.

Please note that a longer PCI latency isn't necessarily better. A long latency can also reduce performance as the other PCI devices queuing up may be stalled for too long. This is especially true with systems with many PCI devices or PCI devices that continuously write short bursts of data to the PCI bus. Such systems would work better with shorter PCI latencies as they allow rapid access to the PCI bus.
very interesting
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#81)
{HLH}
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 01-13-2005, 15:52 | posts: n/a

animatrix is the guy with the links
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#82)
Animatrix
Ancient Guru
 
Animatrix's Avatar
 
Videocard: BFG 8800GT OC2 512
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6750
Mainboard: ABIT IP35 Pro
Memory: Corsair XMS2 4x1GB
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: Corsair VX550W
Default 01-13-2005, 20:08 | posts: 6,843 | Location: Denmark

Yes im the google monster coming at you with a Favorites Folder of a staggering 7,35 MB (7.716.864 bytes)
Containing 1.878 files in 194 folders.

No way im bookmarking all that again. lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#83)
eviakhan
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 01-13-2005, 22:12 | posts: n/a

Quote:
Originally posted by ericdrum
You need to extract all the files into the same folder(it doesn't matter where) and it should work. You can't just open the archive and run it.
Thanks for the reply. That what I did, extracted entire contents of zip file to its own folder. Then I ran the exe.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#84)
dai
Newbie
 
Videocard: geforce 8800 ultra
Processor: intel e6600 @ 3ghz
Mainboard: abit aw9d-max
Memory: 4gig OCZ 1066mhz
Soundcard: x-fi music
PSU: tagen 600
Default 01-13-2005, 23:23 | posts: 7 | Location: uk

just wondering is this pci latency the same setting as my pci latency setting in my bios?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#85)
KexboX
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 01-14-2005, 07:40 | posts: n/a

My VGA latency is at 000 what should i do ??
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#86)
Damnit
Maha Guru
 
Damnit's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFI R9 390
Processor: AMD FX 9590
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth
Memory: G.SKILL Trident+ 16Gb
Soundcard: Creative x-Fi Fatality
PSU: Cooler Master 1000w Gold
Default 01-14-2005, 08:28 | posts: 2,422 | Location: Uncle Sam's Pocket

Are you looking at the line for your graphics card or the AGP bus?

The AGP bus is already set to 000. I would imagine that the setting is fine as long as you arent having any issues with it but if it IS worrying you then try setting it to 128 or 64.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#87)
KexboX
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 01-14-2005, 08:45 | posts: n/a

This line is at 000 -->
VGA compatible controller - ATI Technologies Inc R423 5F57 [Radeon X800XT (PCIE)]
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#88)
Damnit
Maha Guru
 
Damnit's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFI R9 390
Processor: AMD FX 9590
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth
Memory: G.SKILL Trident+ 16Gb
Soundcard: Creative x-Fi Fatality
PSU: Cooler Master 1000w Gold
Default 01-14-2005, 08:53 | posts: 2,422 | Location: Uncle Sam's Pocket

oooooooh! Didnt know you had a PCIE card (not that it's going to make anything easier )

hmmmmmm, Animatrix Im over my head when it comes to PCIE, so maybe you can pull up a link?

You and your massive Favorites folder........
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#89)
bilston
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 6800GT
Processor: P4 3.2 wc'ed
Mainboard: Asus P4C800-E Deluxe
Memory: 1 Gig OCZ VX 2.5/2/2/5 242FSB
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS + S750's
PSU:
Default 01-14-2005, 21:12 | posts: 126

Im able to run the program and set the latency and everything, and I checked Apply on startup. Yet, when I restart the pc, and windows loads, it comes up with the "could not load driver" error and fails to load.

Any idea guys?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#90)
Toxic Worrier
Maha Guru
 
Toxic Worrier's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 275
Processor: Phenom ll X4 955 BE ;)
Mainboard: DFI LP UT 790FX-M2R
Memory: 4GB-OCZ-DDR21066LV-Blade-
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X
PSU: PCPC 850 watt
Default 01-14-2005, 21:38 | posts: 938 | Location: Middle Georgia

Quote:
Originally posted by bilston
Im able to run the program and set the latency and everything, and I checked Apply on startup. Yet, when I restart the pc, and windows loads, it comes up with the "could not load driver" error and fails to load.

Any idea guys?

Man oh man, I think you may have set the wrong one.....You have to read some of the docs. before you go changing any of those settings... Google is your friend,,,, friend
good luck
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#91)
bilston
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX 6800GT
Processor: P4 3.2 wc'ed
Mainboard: Asus P4C800-E Deluxe
Memory: 1 Gig OCZ VX 2.5/2/2/5 242FSB
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS + S750's
PSU:
Default 01-14-2005, 21:44 | posts: 126

Ive read the readme, and changed the right one, theres only one listed that has 248.

Im presuming that I dont use the Quickset as the readme says that isnt stored.

I also clicked apply and save.

Weird :/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#92)
war59312
Member Guru
 
Videocard: eVGA GeForce GTX 470
Processor: Intel Core i7-930
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R 2.0
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16GB
Soundcard: LOGITECH THX Z-560
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W
Default 01-14-2005, 21:47 | posts: 95 | Location: U.S.A

Tweakguides:

Quote:

A few days ago a utility called the PCI Latency Tool was given broad coverage on most sites across the Net. This is a handy utility, however I am now seeing this tool being recommended as the solution to stuttering, a means of performance improvement and pretty much a solution to anything else afflicting peoples' systems. There is clearly some confusion over PCI Latency. People are noticing that their graphics cards have a PCI Latency of 248 clocks, which seems quite high. They then reduce this latency and report FPS improvements and/or a reduction in stuttering. The truth is most modern graphics cards sit on an AGP Port, which is a graphics dedicated PCI slot, hence the need for higher latency. Furthermore, the graphics card carries the bulk of PCI bus activity during the playing of a game for example, so a higher latency actually improves performance. You can try lowering the latency, and you may indeed notice a slight drop in stuttering, perhaps in return for lower FPS. For the most part though I urge that if you're going to use this tool to lower the graphics card PCI Latency, you set it to 64 at the lowest, and 128 is my recommended value. And if in doubt, don't alter your PCI latency.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#93)
voivodian
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus 260GTX 216SP
Processor: E6300 (3.2ghz)
Mainboard: ABIT IP35
Memory: 4gb Kingston HyperX
Soundcard: Audigy2/Jazz 9940
PSU:
Default 01-15-2005, 10:58 | posts: 19 | Location: Novi Sad, Serbia

Great tool, really works. But...
Does anyone see why the original AGP latency is 248? As said AGP bus is an accelerated PCI. AGP x8 gives some numbers:

PCI (32(33) x 8 = 256 (why 8 bits less, beats me...)

Just scale this down and add the story of slight framerate loss, it can make you think is the AGP rate here also scaled down, and was AGP accelerating a good thing after all? Im writing from a clean installed PC, so I don`t have riva tuner or Sandra to check out what else hapens with AGP rate when this tweak is done.
Maybe I`m wrong, but it seems very connected.

This tweak helped my with my games a lot, really. I remember my pain after every new upgrade of my rig, avery time I thought "ha ha, now I nailed him right" and then a new dissapointment. Now, I see where was the problem. Far Cry is a complete new game now. No stutter at all. I must check NFS Hot Pursuit, I remember that game as the stutter champion

From the other side, I don`t see any improvements in Cubase and similar programs. Clicks that my audigy 2 loves to make are still here, but I must admit that I really didn`t updated my drivers for a long time.

Thanks, this is a good one
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#94)
Burnt_Ram
Ancient Guru
 
Burnt_Ram's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 580 SLi
Processor: Core i5 @ 4.2 H20 Cooled
Mainboard: Asus P7P55D Deluxe
Memory: G.Skill RipJaw 1600 2x4GB
Soundcard: Via HD 7.1
PSU: Corsair HX1050W
Default 01-15-2005, 18:26 | posts: 5,926 | Location: British Columbia

Quote:
Originally posted by voivodian
Great tool, really works. But...
Does anyone see why the original AGP latency is 248? As said AGP bus is an accelerated PCI. AGP x8 gives some numbers:

PCI (32(33) x 8 = 256 (why 8 bits less, beats me...)

Just scale this down and add the story of slight framerate loss, it can make you think is the AGP rate here also scaled down, and was AGP accelerating a good thing after all? Im writing from a clean installed PC, so I don`t have riva tuner or Sandra to check out what else hapens with AGP rate when this tweak is done.
Maybe I`m wrong, but it seems very connected.

This tweak helped my with my games a lot, really. I remember my pain after every new upgrade of my rig, avery time I thought "ha ha, now I nailed him right" and then a new dissapointment. Now, I see where was the problem. Far Cry is a complete new game now. No stutter at all. I must check NFS Hot Pursuit, I remember that game as the stutter champion

From the other side, I don`t see any improvements in Cubase and similar programs. Clicks that my audigy 2 loves to make are still here, but I must admit that I really didn`t updated my drivers for a long time.

Thanks, this is a good one
what did you set your latency at for your GT ? i set mine to 64, and FarCry dint improve as much as i hoped ...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#95)
Camster
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire HD 4890 OC
Processor: Core 2 Duo E6750 @ 3.01
Mainboard: ASUS P5K SE
Memory: 2 Gigs Buffalo DDR2-800
Soundcard: Audigy SE @ X-FI Xtreme A
PSU: 650 Watt Antec
Default 01-15-2005, 23:41 | posts: 131 | Location: Ottawa, Canada

Hi I downloaded the utility to try but it has my 9700 Pro at 32 already. No device is set higher than 32. Is the BIOS maintaining everthing at 32 by chance. I was surprised my video card was only at 32 now. I am using the ASUS Nforce2 Deluxe MOBO with onboard Soundstorm FWIW. I had heard that ATI drivers automatically raise the PCI LAtency but this doesn't appear to be true in my case.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#96)
okcpu
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce 7950 GT
Processor: Athlon 64 4000+
Mainboard: Asus A8N-E S939 board
Memory: Corsair 2 gig PC3200
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: Tagen 480W
Default 01-16-2005, 02:02 | posts: 105 | Location: N.Ireland

I am not 100 percent sure but this really seems to be making a difference. I have been suffering from minor hiccups from games for a while not but they don't seem as bad now. I set my PCI latency to 128 from 248. This deserves to be a sticky!! THankyou please, you just made my muthafuking night
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#97)
voivodian
Newbie
 
Videocard: Asus 260GTX 216SP
Processor: E6300 (3.2ghz)
Mainboard: ABIT IP35
Memory: 4gb Kingston HyperX
Soundcard: Audigy2/Jazz 9940
PSU:
Default 01-16-2005, 12:10 | posts: 19 | Location: Novi Sad, Serbia

Quote:
Originally posted by Burnt_Ram
what did you set your latency at for your GT ? i set mine to 64, and FarCry dint improve as much as i hoped ...
I was running Far Cry on 128 and it did really improved. Of course first running of game is always choppy, but when textures find their place in RAM, game really runs great, without those damn stutters which I could never get rid off earlier... even lowering settings didn`t helped. Now it`s ok.
Not perfect, but much much better.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#98)
Ultrax75
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 01-16-2005, 12:42 | posts: n/a

I have a slight problem. Everytime I change my latencies and click on the apply on startup and restart I get "failed to load driver" and the latencies aren't changed....

Anyone know a trick to help me out?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#99)
okcpu
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce 7950 GT
Processor: Athlon 64 4000+
Mainboard: Asus A8N-E S939 board
Memory: Corsair 2 gig PC3200
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: Tagen 480W
Default 01-16-2005, 12:57 | posts: 105 | Location: N.Ireland

False alarm, new day and i put on UT2004 (onslaught) and i am still getting slight stutters every 5-10 secs. Source engine seemed to have benifited more.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#100)
V_LESTAT
Maha Guru
 
V_LESTAT's Avatar
 
Videocard: PNY XLR8 GTX280
Processor: C2Q Q9650 @ 3.85 1.28v
Mainboard: Asus Maximus Formula
Memory: 2GB OCZ Reaper PC9200
Soundcard: X-Fi & Z5300 THX 5.1 Spkr
PSU: CM Real Power Pro 700w
Default 01-16-2005, 13:38 | posts: 1,297 | Location: Iowa

(btw i cant use it , it says "error loading driver" everytime i boot)

okcpu and all the rest of you kiddies

have any of you taken 3 seconds to go in and make sure your video card and sound card are NOT sharing the same IRQ same with video and IDE or Sound and SATA or video and SATA
if you know 2 cents worth of anything about computers you will know that when your video card shares an IRQ with ANY other LARGE device it will mess stuff up.(by large i mean sound, network, IDE controller SATA controller) by defualt typically sometimes windows will share the card with a usb adapter or a agp to pci adapter this is ok ive never had any issue when it does that)

cuz i bet almost everyone of you are.

this whole stuttering thing is getting out of hand,, and it isnt the drivers, it isnt the motherboard its WINDOWS and the way windows is handling 1)pagefile 2)memory 3) your slow ass hard drive


i have tried changing the latency on all of my IMPORTANT devices and nothing makes any performance change.

also sooo many people forget to open their game ini file like UT2004.ini or halflife.ini or config.ini and change the bloody cache setting by default the games ALWAYS have their cache setting to either 32megs or 64 change that fooker to 128 or higher. typically i believe 128 is best.

this has been a cure for poor fps and studdering and tons of other game related performance inssues for years and years.,

and just so you know, and some of you senios member will remember this also this tool has been around for YEARS and YEARS this is nothing new.

and no where even back then did this tool improve anything. alot of times it was used in conjunction with overclocking to add more speed to the entire system.
It just had a different GUI back then

also there was another tool called AGPTimer.exe and still have it, it directly hits your agp latency.

WCPUCREDIT or WPCREDIT was the originator for this latency stuff and i still have it, its too bad h-oda quit making it. it was one kick ass application.
it just got to be too much to keep up with all the new hardware that was coming out. except those of you who used it will remember it let you alter all kinds of wahcky stuff.

if it helps .. great... but dont just alter your video,, alter say your SATA controller if you use a pci card like i do, alter somthing else that might seem to have a high setting.

just dont change anything thats 32 already to a lower setting. and not a higher either cuz your asking to either lock your system or cause it to slow down or start having lockups.

pci devices are set to 32ms for a reason.
AGP on the other hand,,,, well,,,, agp is goofy... 128 248 whatever works i guess. but the statement made above is correct newer video cards are gunna be 248 for a reason........
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
latency, pci

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.