Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Network questions and troubleshooting
Network questions and troubleshooting Does it work or doesn't it ? Discuss it here.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
zhackore
Maha Guru
 
zhackore's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 570
Processor: Intel i7-3930k
Mainboard: X79 Asus Something
Memory: 16GB Corsair Ripjaw X
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 80 Gold 750
Default 07-12-2006, 05:57 | posts: 2,608 | Location: Somewhere

if you disable dhcp, and your isp changes your ip won't that cause problems for your router?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
Finchwizard
Don Apple
 
Finchwizard's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 07-12-2006, 06:04 | posts: 16,440 | Location: Locked in Guru3D Server Room. Help!

DHCP is for the LAN side of things, not the WAN.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
InGen
Maha Guru
 
InGen's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 570
Processor: Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600MHz CL9
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: Arctic Power 700W
Default 05-23-2007, 12:03 | posts: 968 | Location: Plymouth, UK

Is there any real need to have WEP/WPA when MAC address filtering is enabled?

I mean surely MAC address filtering is the best and only option requsred because it limited to just that, the MAC address. Everyones number is unique, so if no two addresses are the same how can they gain access to the router?
The only way i could see that happening is if the hacker could somehow mask his MAC address as your own which doesnt seem very easy to do, if not impossible.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
Finchwizard
Don Apple
 
Finchwizard's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 05-23-2007, 12:54 | posts: 16,440 | Location: Locked in Guru3D Server Room. Help!

Spoofing MAC addresses is relatively easily, and when there is no encryption it makes it very easy.

You need some kind of Encryption, and the MAC filtering is just an added thing too
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
InGen
Maha Guru
 
InGen's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 570
Processor: Intel i5 3570K @ 3.4GHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z77-DS3H
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600MHz CL9
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer
PSU: Arctic Power 700W
Default 05-23-2007, 13:32 | posts: 968 | Location: Plymouth, UK

So in your opinion what should i go for WEP, WPA or WPA 2?

Cheers!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
Finchwizard
Don Apple
 
Finchwizard's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 05-23-2007, 22:52 | posts: 16,440 | Location: Locked in Guru3D Server Room. Help!

I use WEP, but it's easily crackable now, something like 15 seconds?

Then again, the others are crack-able too, if you do go WPA(2) you need to pick a LONG key with characters, capitals, numbers, lowercase etc.

Nothing in the dictionary either.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
Roccer
Maha Guru
 
Roccer's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 970 SSC
Processor: Intel i7 3770K @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Memory: 16GB G.Skill DDR3 1600
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: Corsair Pro 850w
Default 09-24-2007, 21:28 | posts: 1,933 | Location: nova

this sticky should really be updated for the current times. if i may be so bold to suggest: to use WPA2 whenever possible. it gets over the many flaws in WEP (and yes finch, 15sec is a best case scenario time if the APs are spweing out a TON of IV keys, but on a home network, unless using ARP injections it can take a while for the AP to generate enough IV keys for a WEP cracking util to decipher the 64 or 128bit HEX key, but is still relatively easy to crack). WPA2 + long, complex passphrase is miles better then WEP

also, note that just because SSID broadcast is off, the SSID can still be found simply by listening to the traffic. all SSID broadcasting allows for is to see the SSID when looking for available networks in fancy pants GUIs like with windows connection wizard. the SSID is still "broadcast" every now and then in the AP's Beacon frames regardless if SSID broadcast is on or off.

also maybe add about wireless channels? if you find several other APs all broadcasting on 11 or 6 (2 most common) switch its settings to another channel to lower the chance of interference.

your writeup is still very good, but i just think it might help to update it to stay current with new security features and such.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
Finchwizard
Don Apple
 
Finchwizard's Avatar
 
Videocard: -
Processor: -
Mainboard: -
Memory: -
Soundcard: -
PSU: -
Default 09-24-2007, 22:48 | posts: 16,440 | Location: Locked in Guru3D Server Room. Help!

You're most welcome to make another security page.

I just don't have the time at the moment.
I'd like to get into a few sections and update my things.

WPA2 is the best option, along with Mac filtering again, and turning off DHCP. Which should be turned off regardless unless you're on a large network.

It depends who you ask too, some people suggest running the standard channels, because you get less of a bleed out with frequencies.
Others say to use them all on different frequencies to avoid interferences.

SSID broadcasting just stops the people who are next door from accidentally connecting to it or seeing it. By no means to stop war drivers etc.

If someone wants in, they'll get in.
If we are talking about Corporate Wireless you can use VPN's and RADIUS auth servers and whole bunch of other things, but that's far outside the scope of the normal user.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
Intrepidx
Member Guru
 
Intrepidx's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA/9800GX2/1024MB
Processor: AMD Phenom X4 9850 BE 2.5
Mainboard:
Memory: DDR2/SDRAM/8 Gigs/pc6400
Soundcard: Soundmax HD Audio
PSU: 600 watt RX-600F
Default 10-09-2008, 20:43 | posts: 128 | Location: Northampton

BackTrack3<3
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
dcx_badass
Ancient Guru
 
dcx_badass's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX570 1280mb
Processor: I5 4670k
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1333mhz
Soundcard: Realtek ALC892
PSU: 600w OCZ StealthXstream
Default 11-10-2009, 01:14 | posts: 9,983

Finch can you update this to say WPA not WEP?

Also at work (a school) we have about 150 laptops on the wireless and will be using mac filtering, although I'm not sure if they did it yet as when I left they only had one Wireless AP in the school instead of the 60+ we should have had, but there was a EU wide shortage of Cisco Wireless AP's, paying 65,000 for the network you'd think they could freaking do it on time.
^^ None of the about is relevant to this thread really. ^^
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#36)
Mineria
Ancient Guru
 
Mineria's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus Strix GTX 1080
Processor: Intel i7 4790K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VI Formula
Memory: 32G G.Skill TridentX@2399
Soundcard: SB ZxR + BD Custom 1 Pro
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1000 G2
Default 03-12-2010, 15:58 | posts: 3,740 | Location: Denmark

A little something to add on the SSID part.

Disabling SSID broadcasting doesn't hide the access point completely.
IBM/Lenovo's connection software will still be able to see it on the list, the same goes for some Windows 7 beta releases.

I kinda freaked out when I saw a fresh installed Windows 7 beta doing just that on my PC.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#37)
yleclerc
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Intel / nVidia GT845 2GB
Processor: IBM IdealPad z710
Mainboard: IBM IdealPad z710
Memory: 8 GB
Soundcard:
PSU: IBM 135Watts
Default 03-14-2010, 17:31 | posts: 618 | Location: CANADA

The guide would definiately need to be updated. WPA2 with AES is the recommended settings for most Intel Centrino based laptops. Without these settings, the laptop may not use the full access speeds provided most 11n routers.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.