Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Links
Links Archived stickys.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
Grahf
Maha Guru
 
Grahf's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI N580GTX Lightning
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500K
Mainboard: ASRock P67 Extreme6
Memory: 4x2GB G.Skill DDR3 2133
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi Fatal1ty
PSU: XFX Black Edition 750W
Default 04-17-2005, 19:29 | posts: 1,817 | Location: New England, USA

jbiel;

R350 core = don't flash it.

I actually removed the heat sink and checked just to be sure, and it was in fact an R350 core.

I had flashed it before and I was getting crazy artifacting, colored pixels and warping textures.
I reflashed it back to the proper memory and even replaced the thermal paste with arctic 5 and it works fine now.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
bananaboi
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire 9800 pro flash to xt @ 420/320
Processor: Athlon XP 2800+ barton 12.5x184 (2.3ghz) 1.7v
Mainboard: Asus A7N8X-X XMod
Memory: 2x DDR 512mb @ 184mhz 2.5-3-3-7 2.8v
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Live! 24-bit 7.1
PSU: SONY CPD-G220R 17" Monitor
Default 04-23-2005, 23:06 | posts: 67 | Location: Buffalo, NY

if u have a r350 core, just edit ur bios thru RaBit and change device id to 4E4A. This will softmod it to an xt, and make ur radeon be read as an xt everytime u install the drivers
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
Emoscreamo
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 05-04-2005, 13:42 | posts: n/a

Sounds good - might give this a try .
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
MetalCore
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 05-13-2005, 18:32 | posts: n/a

Why wouldnt you just download and use ATI Tool to OC the card???????

Last edited by MetalCore; 05-18-2005 at 13:56.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
Bubbaganoosh
Maha Guru
 
Bubbaganoosh's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA nVidia 7600GT 512MB
Processor: AMD Sempron 64 3100+ 1.8Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS K8N nForce 3 800FSB
Memory: Corsair 1GB (2x512) DDR 400 2.5
Soundcard: Gamsurround Fortissimo 3
PSU: Antec Smartpower 2.0 450W
Default 05-22-2005, 16:44 | posts: 1,485 | Location: St.Catharines Ontario Canada

Cause if he oced it he would have a risk of frying the card with the run-of-a- mill cooling on the card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
Rukk
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 295
Processor: i7 930 @ 4.0
Mainboard: ASUS RoG Rampage II
Memory: 6 gig
Soundcard: XFI Extreme Gamer Fatapro
PSU: Cooler Master 850w
Default 06-04-2005, 03:46 | posts: 61 | Location: SC, USA

Its been probably at least a year since I bios modded my card. At that time, I had never flashed a graphics card bios. But after reading Rojak's guide (several times) and following step by step verification of my card as able to be flashed, type of memory, etc., I gained the confidence to do it, and I was successful.

Now my original Sapphire 9800pro 256mb is a "Hercules 3D Prophet 9800xt classic 256mb". I was at that time on air so I did make my own heatsink for it and it o/c'd above xt defaults.

Now, with some liquid refreshment, it has overclocked further. I'm currently still using the card @ 450/780 stable and no artifacts.

If you're looking possibly to mod your card, do yourself a favor and read the related threads and read the guide. Ask questions and educate yourself as much as possible. Then hopefully you will have a successful experience. Mistakes could be costly or at the very least, aggravating.

Good luck.

Last edited by Rukk; 06-04-2005 at 03:49.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#57)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 06-04-2005, 03:48 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

Good post Rukk (has to be said.) I often see people who are just too "flash happy" without care nor concern for the consequences, so hopefully your post will encourage more thought.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
Colin_C
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 06-15-2005, 11:24 | posts: n/a

Hello...

I want one of those coolers,..Looks the job ,..I have a ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128mb.....
Saved all your Pics incase I Try Clocking,..Never did it before...

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
loomx
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x Club3D 7970 RoyalQueen
Processor: i7 3770k @ 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus V Gene
Memory: 16GB 2400Mhz DDR3
Soundcard: AMD - HDMI out
PSU: ANTEC Gamer 900w
Default 06-18-2005, 13:08 | posts: 36 | Location: UK - Oxon

Hi, I have this card

I was just wondering how I get the heatsink/fan off.

Also Ive checked with overclocking and I do get artifacts at the XT Speeds, however it runs very hot. I have ordered an ATI Silencer.

Can I put the new bios on and declock it while im waiting for my silencer to arrive?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#60)
Battleweary
Newbie
 
Videocard: eVGA 7900 GTO@675/1460
Processor: Athlon 64 4000+ San Diego@3.0 gHz
Mainboard: DFI Lanparty nF4 Ultra-D
Memory: 2X1024 OCZ Platinum Series PC3200
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS, Cambridge SoundWorks F
PSU: Silverstone 650W modular
Default 07-04-2005, 12:58 | posts: 26 | Location: Leamington, Ontario, Canada

I bought a Sapphire 9800 pro 128mg card from NCIX.com on sale for $164 Canadian. I took off the heatsink and sure enough, it was the 360 core. It has the Samsung ram on it as well. I tried the Gigacube bios that Rojak recommended and got artifacts galore. I edited a Sapphire XT bios to speeds of 405/350 and flashed the card with it. Success! It works great now as an XT. I ordered a better cooler witht the RAM sinks, and I'm just waiting for it to arrive. Isn't the internet great?
As for your question loomx, the two black pins that go through the fan and card hold it on. Just pinch the end of each pin on the back side of the card together and push it out. You should probably get some ram sinks for your card as well, as the ram runs really hot. You can use RaBit to change the clock settings of the bios so your card runs a bit slower(That's what I did).
   
Reply With Quote
I flashed my card to XT!
Old
  (#61)
games
Master Guru
 
games's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 8800GT
Processor: Athlon 5400 X2 @ 3200MHZ
Mainboard: DFI NF Ultra II - M2
Memory: 2048MB DDR2 800MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: PSU TT PurePower 420W
Post I flashed my card to XT! - 07-16-2005, 14:52 | posts: 176 | Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina

Well finally done.

My card ATI BBA 128DDR (Core r360 - Mem Samsung)

I follow the steps in the article.
I use = flashrom-v2.27 and then RaBiT-1.2_final
BIOS = Gigacube 9800XT "R360 Samsung E-die DDR BIOS - P/N 113-A07518-100 "

And flash the card OK!

Core=412 Mem=365

I run "3DMark05" 3 times without any error (artifact, white dots)

But then I test "rthdribl" and I was getting white flashes everywhere, so I use Rivatuner and underclock the core to 405 and this white flashes dissapear.

So I think I need better cooling in the core, but I had already attached ram sink and I can't remove it, so my option to cool the core was reduced to iceberg 4, because other solution line iceberg 5, giant III, etc can't be installed because off the ramsink.

So, I installed Iceberg 4 (almost the same size the stock heatsink but in cooper and faster fan).

I run 3Dmark again without any error, and then run "rthdribl" again, Now without white flashed, But after 30min of testing Appears again just a few, but appears!.

So, Iceberg 4 is not for 9800 card! if you need to overclock.

So, I use RaBiT-1.2_final and underclock the core to 405
(Core=405 Mem=365)

Just some question: how good (accurate) is rthdribl?
Because 3DMark05 runs without any error?

Can I leave the core in 412, because before flashing the card the core was at 412 and never noticed any error.
the R360 core at same speed than R350 (412) Runs hotter?

thanks in advanced.

Oh! I forgot Drivers Omega 2.6.4.2 (5.6)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
LOOM
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7900gs
Processor: AMD AM2 4600+
Mainboard: MSI K9N Diamond
Memory: 2x 1g DDR2 Corsair 667
Soundcard: Creative
PSU: SUPER FLOWER 500w PSU
Default 07-18-2005, 14:17 | posts: 44 | Location: Brisbane, AUS

I finally got the nerve to flash mine , and so far so good.

1st flash used was a HIS bios from Techpowerup , which ended up with crazy rainbow garble ingames (desktop was fine).
not kool

i tried a different HIS bios from http://www.*******.net
and it worked great. ( well so far)

thanks for the tuts and everything
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#63)
SirSolBadguy
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI Radeon 9800 Pro
Processor: Athlon XP 3000+
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-7N400 Pro2
Memory: 1GB PC3200
Soundcard: SoundBlaster 128 PCI
PSU:
Default 07-20-2005, 08:28 | posts: 33

Ok I finally decided to try it. Here's my story.

I got the generic $20 Arctic Cooling AVC-1000 VGA Silencer. I attached it with arctic silver 5.

I have a MSI ATI Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB. It had an R360 core and Hynix ram.

I tried flashing it to a Club3D Radeon 9800 XT. 3d graphics would cause my system to freeze.

Next I tried flashing to Sapphire Radeon 9800 XT. Seemed to work but had 3d artifacts in some things.

Finally I gave the only other Hynix XT bios I could find, the "GeCube Radeon 9800 XT (With OVERDRIVE)". Now the clock and ram speeds of this aren't as fast as the other two XT bios I tried (412/365). But it's still much higher then my default 378/338. It uses 398/351.

So far there are no artifacts and everything runs well. If problems arise, I will share. Thanks guys.

Edit: Oh but can anyone tell me if it's safe for me to use this BIOS even though it's labled "overdrive"? Obviously my card does not support overdrive. Will this do any damage?

Edit2: Ack, ok I am seeing an extremely infrequent graphics artifact in the marble direct3d demo thing...hmm..

Last edited by SirSolBadguy; 07-20-2005 at 17:08.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#64)
laurenced
Registered User
 
Videocard: Radeon 9800Pro
Processor: XP1700
Mainboard: Shuttle FN41
Memory: 512
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 07-25-2005, 13:45 | posts: 4 | Location: Edinburgh

Hi all

I've got a 9800Pro with Samsung ram, and it's quite new so I'm assuming it's an R360. Before I take the HSF off to check, can I just ask a few questions:

- If it does mod to an XT (i.e. it's got the R360 core) is the stock cooling adequate at all?
- If stock cooling is not adequate, would it be possible to downclock to the standard Pro settings and retain the other benefits of the XT and if so would this be worth it?
- I have a Shuttle XPC so can't use a PCI slot cooler. Is there another HSF solution that can replace the stock HSF which would be sufficient?

Thanks for your help,

-L
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#65)
SirSolBadguy
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI Radeon 9800 Pro
Processor: Athlon XP 3000+
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-7N400 Pro2
Memory: 1GB PC3200
Soundcard: SoundBlaster 128 PCI
PSU:
Default 07-25-2005, 20:19 | posts: 33

Quote:
Originally posted by laurenced
Hi all

I've got a 9800Pro with Samsung ram, and it's quite new so I'm assuming it's an R360. Before I take the HSF off to check, can I just ask a few questions:

- If it does mod to an XT (i.e. it's got the R360 core) is the stock cooling adequate at all?
- If stock cooling is not adequate, would it be possible to downclock to the standard Pro settings and retain the other benefits of the XT and if so would this be worth it?
- I have a Shuttle XPC so can't use a PCI slot cooler. Is there another HSF solution that can replace the stock HSF which would be sufficient?

Thanks for your help,

-L
I'd have to say no to all three questions.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
laurenced
Registered User
 
Videocard: Radeon 9800Pro
Processor: XP1700
Mainboard: Shuttle FN41
Memory: 512
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 07-26-2005, 11:36 | posts: 4 | Location: Edinburgh

Quote:
Originally posted by SirSolBadguy
I'd have to say no to all three questions.
What about the optimised shader performance of the XT?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
Battleweary
Newbie
 
Videocard: eVGA 7900 GTO@675/1460
Processor: Athlon 64 4000+ San Diego@3.0 gHz
Mainboard: DFI Lanparty nF4 Ultra-D
Memory: 2X1024 OCZ Platinum Series PC3200
Soundcard: Audigy 2 ZS, Cambridge SoundWorks F
PSU: Silverstone 650W modular
Default 07-28-2005, 01:07 | posts: 26 | Location: Leamington, Ontario, Canada

Stock cooling is not adequate at all!!! Get the Vantec Iceberg 4 that comes with ram sinks. I put one on mine( actually a Logisys one, but exactly the same) and it works great. It's pretty big though, so I don't know if it would fit. You need the space of a free PCI slot under the card. As for SirSol, is that the green MSI card, or the red one. The green one requires a special bios for that PCB, which can be found if you look. I saw it, but can't remember where.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
SirSolBadguy
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI Radeon 9800 Pro
Processor: Athlon XP 3000+
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-7N400 Pro2
Memory: 1GB PC3200
Soundcard: SoundBlaster 128 PCI
PSU:
Default 07-28-2005, 03:10 | posts: 33

Quote:
Originally posted by Battleweary
Stock cooling is not adequate at all!!! Get the Vantec Iceberg 4 that comes with ram sinks. I put one on mine( actually a Logisys one, but exactly the same) and it works great. It's pretty big though, so I don't know if it would fit. You need the space of a free PCI slot under the card. As for SirSol, is that the green MSI card, or the red one. The green one requires a special bios for that PCB, which can be found if you look. I saw it, but can't remember where.
This is my card

http://www.msicomputer.com/product/p...28SP&class=vga

It's red. What do you mean it "requires" a special bios? For what? The card works fine. I never had to upgrade it's bios. The site doesnt offer any bios downloads anyways, I don't think.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
thecake90
Ancient Guru
 
thecake90's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia 1060GTX
Processor: Intel i7 6700HQ
Mainboard: Asus ROG-GL502VM
Memory: 8GB DDR4
Soundcard: Integrated Sound Card
PSU: Default ASUS PSU
Default 07-28-2005, 21:20 | posts: 4,043 | Location: Germany

you should have bought an 6600gt it is cheaper and faster and better
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#70)
thecake90
Ancient Guru
 
thecake90's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia 1060GTX
Processor: Intel i7 6700HQ
Mainboard: Asus ROG-GL502VM
Memory: 8GB DDR4
Soundcard: Integrated Sound Card
PSU: Default ASUS PSU
Default 07-28-2005, 21:22 | posts: 4,043 | Location: Germany

do not waste your money
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#71)
SirSolBadguy
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI Radeon 9800 Pro
Processor: Athlon XP 3000+
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-7N400 Pro2
Memory: 1GB PC3200
Soundcard: SoundBlaster 128 PCI
PSU:
Default 07-28-2005, 21:43 | posts: 33

Quote:
Originally posted by thecake90
you should have bought an 6600gt it is cheaper and faster and better
Thanks for that information. You have completely swayed my opinion.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#72)
SirSolBadguy
Newbie
 
Videocard: MSI Radeon 9800 Pro
Processor: Athlon XP 3000+
Mainboard: GigaByte GA-7N400 Pro2
Memory: 1GB PC3200
Soundcard: SoundBlaster 128 PCI
PSU:
Default 08-01-2005, 16:39 | posts: 33

Word of warning to MSI owners!

Do NOT download the Radeon 9800 Pro MSI BIOS from the following page:

http://www.techpowerup.com/bios/

It is a bad dump, and will kill your video card (at least until you can find a PCI video card to insert, to get your picture back, and then reflash your AGP card to it's original BIOS.)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#73)
dp911
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-02-2005, 23:07 | posts: n/a

do you need to attatch a fan to flash it to XT? or can u just flash it
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#74)
LOOM
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 7900gs
Processor: AMD AM2 4600+
Mainboard: MSI K9N Diamond
Memory: 2x 1g DDR2 Corsair 667
Soundcard: Creative
PSU: SUPER FLOWER 500w PSU
Default 08-07-2005, 07:16 | posts: 44 | Location: Brisbane, AUS

well if your gfx card can overclock to 412 , 365 without overheating or burning out ... you can lol.

but i dont think it can , so ull need an ATI silencer or sumthing along the lines of that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#75)
zoobooboozoo
Registered User
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 08-19-2005, 09:07 | posts: 9

I have a 128MB radeon 9800 pro.
Should I go with the guide?

what should I cahnge?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.