Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Links
Links Archived stickys.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
nexusworks
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: ATI Radeon 9800 Pro with arctic cooling fan
Processor: Pentium 4 Prescott 3.2Ghz@3.6 OC with XP-120
Mainboard: Asus P4P800-E Deluxe with CoolerMaster Aerogate 2
Memory: Hynix DDR 400 1024mb in dual channel
Soundcard: Creative Audigy 2 Platinium VideoLogic 750 7.1
PSU: LG and Pioneer Dual Layer Dvd Burner
Default 12-06-2004, 09:29 | posts: 961 | Location: Western Australia

Question, is it safe to flash the bios? and can it be reversable?
links to the both upgrading and back to original 9800pro would be great, thanks in adavance.

and does this affect any other quality of the original 9800 pro or this is in fact a boost for my card as I know nuts about oc of video card.

cheers!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
{..Rw..}
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 12-12-2004, 10:01 | posts: n/a

First step ( what u need to know ) is what is your card core !
If you got r350 core then you cant flash it to XT. But if your card got r360 core its pice of cake
   
Reply With Quote
I've got r360...
Old
  (#28)
xxwabbit
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default I've got r360... - 12-15-2004, 01:27 | posts: n/a

Hi all,
I've been searching for answers and have confused myself. I've got a BBA 9800pro256 w/r360 w/arctic cooler rev3 from frozencpu. I want to flash it to xt, but like I said I've confused myself on which bios I should get. I think I can do the process of flashing, but just need to know exactly which bios I need. Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
mod my 9800pro
Old
  (#29)
coolman
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default mod my 9800pro - 12-17-2004, 05:05 | posts: n/a

Hi all, what BIOS Utilities do I need to flash my 9800pro to a 9800xt I have a 9800pro with a 360 and samsung ram chips.is there any links that gives info on how to flash it.

thanks guys
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
Lateralus
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Built-by-ATI 9800 Pro 128MB 256-bit
Processor: Pentium 4 2.8e @ 3.5GHz
Mainboard: MSI 865PE Neo2-PFISR (BIOS ver. 3.8)
Memory: 2x512MB OCZ PC3700 Gold Edition Rev. 3 @ 500 MHz
Soundcard: Audigy2 ZS Platinum
PSU:
Default 12-19-2004, 20:30 | posts: 112 | Location: Boone, NC

http://www.rojakpot.com/default.aspx...var1=92&var2=0

To flash you need to confirm that you have an R360 core (take off the heatsink and fan and look for yourself, software won't do it). Then you need to determine your RAM chip type (Samsung or Hynix). Then you need to overclock your card to 412/265, which is what it'll default to when you flash. Overclock to these speeds and let it get used to these speeds for several days or a week or two. If everything is completely stable, you're set to flash.

You need a floppy disk, a FlashROM program and the appropriate BIOS.

The guide linked to above used FlashROM 1.3, but when I downloaded that version and installed it, things got all wonky. So I downloaded version 2.13 here:

http://www.3dchipset.com/bios/ati/ap...lashrom223.php

A list of BIOSes can be found here:

http://www.techpowerup.com/bios/

Make absolutely sure you get the BIOS with your memory type. Flashing a Samsung BIOS onto a card with Hynix memory or vice versa is very, very bad.

If you have a BBA card, there are no BIOSes to flash your card to XT. You have to use the Sapphire BIOS. I used it on my BBA 9800 Pro 128MB/256-bit and it worked flawlessly.

In the first link there's a page in there called 'Flashing the video BIOS'. Read that because it details exactly what to do. You need to have the BIOS file in .rom or .bin format, the Flashrom.exe program, and the flashrom.rom that comes in the download package. The BIOS filename will be long, so rename it something short because DOS doesn't like long filenames. I used '9800XT.bin'.

Format the floppy and click the 'create DOS Boot Disk' option.

Once that's done extract all three things onto the disk and reboot.

When you reboot your computer will boot into DOS from the disk and come to the 'A:/' prompt. Type the following exactly to save your old BIOS onto the floppy:

flashrom -s 0 backup.bin

It will give you a couple messages saying X KB of X KB saved, blah blah. That means it was saved successfully.

To flash the new BIOS, type the following exactly:

flashrom -f -p 0 xxx.bin

Where xxx = the filename you chose.

It will work for a few seconds and then give you a few lines of output. If it says something to the effect of 'X KB of X KB written', you've flashed successfully. CTRL-ALT-DEL to reboot and eject the floppy.

When you get back to the desktop, your screen will probably flash black for a few seconds then go back to normal. Mine did this three times, and ended up with my monitor geometry all messed up. Don't worry, that's normal. Right click on the Desktop, go the Properties, then the Settings tab. If the flash was successful, it will list your display as 9800 XT. You'll have to go into the Advanced section and reconfigure your graphics settings, but you won't have to reinstall your ATI drivers. At least, I didn't.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
xFuSiOnx
Member Guru
 
Videocard: POWERCOLOR ATI 9800XT 128MB
Processor: INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.2EGHz HT
Mainboard: ASUS P4P800-E DELUXE
Memory: CORSAIR TWINX 1024MB XMS3200XL
Soundcard: LOGITECH Z-640 5:1
PSU:
Default 12-20-2004, 20:11 | posts: 70 | Location: UK

what bios do i use for mine ?

ive got a Powercolor ATi 9800 Pro 128mb R360 Core + Hynix 2.8ns ram.

i have tried some bio's but it won't work

has anyone successfully flashed a card like mine ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
Peacemaker
Newbie
 
Videocard: Ati 9800 pro 128
Processor: Pent 4, 2.4
Mainboard:
Memory: 1 gig PC-800
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Live
PSU: Dell 8200
Default 12-21-2004, 01:14 | posts: 24 | Location: PA

Crap I just ordered a VGA CO0LING ATI SILENCER 3 RT and I seen in the first post you had ATI Silencer 1. Will Silencer 3 fit a 9800 pro? Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
Peacemaker
Newbie
 
Videocard: Ati 9800 pro 128
Processor: Pent 4, 2.4
Mainboard:
Memory: 1 gig PC-800
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Live
PSU: Dell 8200
Default 12-23-2004, 01:59 | posts: 24 | Location: PA

anybody???? arrives tomorrow
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
xFuSiOnx
Member Guru
 
Videocard: POWERCOLOR ATI 9800XT 128MB
Processor: INTEL PENTIUM 4 3.2EGHz HT
Mainboard: ASUS P4P800-E DELUXE
Memory: CORSAIR TWINX 1024MB XMS3200XL
Soundcard: LOGITECH Z-640 5:1
PSU:
Default 12-24-2004, 15:39 | posts: 70 | Location: UK

im pretty sure it won't fit.. besides u have a 128mb 9800 pro
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
shroberts1950
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 01-14-2005, 00:27 | posts: n/a

Way too much trouble for such a limited gain. I went to Zulman water cooler with CPU and GPU cooler blocks. Works very well, looks cool and is very quite.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#36)
GwaRizer86
Newbie
 
Videocard: ati 9800 pro
Processor: amd 64 3200+
Mainboard: asus k8v se deluxe
Memory: 1024 pc3200
Soundcard: sound max
PSU:
Default 02-07-2005, 20:39 | posts: 16

hey i guys i could use some help
so i have a 9800 pro using samsung and r360
but when i try to flash using flashrom 2.40 it doesnt want to write the 9800xt bios (saphire show on the first page) enven if i force it by this command -f -p 0
i dont know what to do. thanks
   
Reply With Quote
9800 Pro with 360 Core and 16x16 Memory
Old
  (#37)
jblade
Member Guru
 
Videocard: ATI X850 Pro Flashed to X850XT PE
Processor: AMD Athlon XP-M 2600+ at 2.5Ghz
Mainboard: ABIT NF7-S v2.0 nForce2 Ultra 400
Memory: OCZ EL Platinum 1GB (2x512MB) at 2-2-2-5
Soundcard: Audigy2 ZS Gamer on Logitech Z-2300 2.1 Speakers
PSU: Also have Boise Triport Headphones, VP171b-2,MX518
Default 9800 Pro with 360 Core and 16x16 Memory - 02-09-2005, 02:23 | posts: 48 | Location: Columbia, MD

Hey basically I was wondering if anyone had any info on what a user with the 16x16 (memory) 9800 Pro with a 360 Core would have to purchase as far as cooling goes.

I am not sure if I would need the Arctic Cooling VGA Cooler, Model "ATI silencer 3" AS many have said the 256MB needs. I am concerned that my memory would not be cooled properly, because it was only designed to have to cool 8 memory chips (4 on front and 4 on back)

The Arctic Cooling VGA Cooler, Model "ATI silencer 1" , however, has no Memory Cooler, allowing me to add two sets of OCZ Aluminum BGA Ramsinks . Many people have said this card does not fit the 256MB 9800 Pro, so I am not sure whether this would be the propper fan to purchase.

Thanks for the help in advance, this has been really puzzling for me.
   
Reply With Quote
HIS9800pro ice
Old
  (#38)
tovalb
Registered User
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default HIS9800pro ice - 02-11-2005, 00:00 | posts: 1

Hi i got an Higtech9800pro ice (r360)
I dont know what memory it uses because the memory is covered up by heatzink. (i dont want to remove those becase i dont have anything to glue them back with).

I wanna try to flash the card to an xt, but i have no idea wich bios to use. i tried the link to bioses but i only got confused. (im a noob)

Can anyone please help me please
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#39)
Neoslash
Registered User
 
Videocard: ATI 9800 Pro 256Mb
Processor: Pentium 4c 2.4Ghz
Mainboard: Intel 865Perl
Memory: DDR400 2x512Mb
Soundcard: Creative Audigy 2
PSU:
Default 03-06-2005, 02:30 | posts: 5

I'll post this in this thread too, sorry if this is poor etiquette.

So I just flashed my 9800 Pro 256 to the 9800 XT and it was succesful. I turned Overdrive on and it seems to be working just fine. ATITool and that marble thing both show artifacts but City of Heroes, Everquest 2, Half life 2, and Aquamark show no graphical anomolies anywhere. While playing EQ2 at max settings I am getting around 14FPS and the GPU is reading 74-75C and overclocking itself to 418Mhz.

My question is that I am not planning on overclocking any further than this. It is a stock built by ATI 9800 Pro, will the heatsink and fan be adequate for this or do I still need to mod it further? It's just bouncing back and forth from 74C and 75C so I am assuming that is alright but I am afraid that it might still be TOO hot. I'm unaware of what it was running before this update.

Thank you very much for your help and input.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#40)
IkemenTommy
Master Guru
 
IkemenTommy's Avatar
 
Videocard: Galaxy 8800GT 512MB HDMI
Processor: Intel E8400 Wolfdale
Mainboard: ASUS P5Q
Memory: G.Skill DDR2-1066 2GBx2
Soundcard: kick-ass onboard
PSU: Corsair VX550W
Default 03-10-2005, 16:17 | posts: 434 | Location: Tokyo, Japan

Damnit, I have the full version XT.
Can I miraculously turn this card into something?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#41)
Emanon75
Ancient Guru
 
Emanon75's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6800GT / 9800Pro / Ti4600
Processor: A64 3200+ / 2400+M / 2500+M
Mainboard: Dfi LP250GB / Abit NF7-S x 2
Memory: 2x512 Mushkin 3500L2 / 4x512 CorsairXMS 3200XLPT
Soundcard: Audigy 2 / 2 x Soundstorm
PSU:
Default 03-10-2005, 16:21 | posts: 3,795 | Location: Where I am.

Quote:
Originally posted by Neoslash
I'll post this in this thread too, sorry if this is poor etiquette.

So I just flashed my 9800 Pro 256 to the 9800 XT and it was succesful. I turned Overdrive on and it seems to be working just fine. ATITool and that marble thing both show artifacts
It's not stable then..
If it flashed ok, you shouldn't have ANY artifacts anywhere.
If you do, the card can't handle those clocks, or it needs better cooling.
Simple as that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#42)
Neoslash
Registered User
 
Videocard: ATI 9800 Pro 256Mb
Processor: Pentium 4c 2.4Ghz
Mainboard: Intel 865Perl
Memory: DDR400 2x512Mb
Soundcard: Creative Audigy 2
PSU:
Default 03-10-2005, 23:19 | posts: 5

Quote:
Originally posted by Emanon75
It's not stable then..
If it flashed ok, you shouldn't have ANY artifacts anywhere.
If you do, the card can't handle those clocks, or it needs better cooling.
Simple as that.
Yeah I just put the Silencer 3 on it and all those lil artifacts went away.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#43)
Kill4L
Master Guru
 
Kill4L's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX480@875/1760/4200
Processor: i7 930 @4.2 Zalman CNPS97
Mainboard: Asus Ramapage II Extreme
Memory: DDR3 6GB @ 1600 8-8-8-20
Soundcard: X-Fi FPS Fatal1ty
PSU: 1000 TT C.M
Default 03-23-2005, 20:40 | posts: 375 | Location: Ukraine

i have radeon His 9800 pro 128mb ICeq @ 380/334 reslashed to 9800XT @ 425/370... evry thing is going okay no artifact's ... but.... the problem is that in 3dmark01 se i have only 14490... my SYS spec is :
Processor:
Athlon Xp 2600+
Operating System:
XP Pro
Mobo:
Asus a7n8x-8
RAM:
DDR 1024(400 mhz)
Storage:
Western Digital 80 GB IDE 7200 rpm ATA 100
Audio:
Audigy 2 ZS
i'm using ATI cata. 5.3 what shal i do to make my score higher?????
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#44)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 03-23-2005, 20:46 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

You are getting a low(ish) score in 01 because that benchmark takes into account the whole of your system, rather than primarily the video card like 03 & 05 do.

To increase your score you could OC your CPU....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#45)
Kill4L
Master Guru
 
Kill4L's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX480@875/1760/4200
Processor: i7 930 @4.2 Zalman CNPS97
Mainboard: Asus Ramapage II Extreme
Memory: DDR3 6GB @ 1600 8-8-8-20
Soundcard: X-Fi FPS Fatal1ty
PSU: 1000 TT C.M
Default 03-23-2005, 20:54 | posts: 375 | Location: Ukraine

but you know why specialy in 3dmark01 it's low.... in 3dmark03 340 it score 6890?????? and one more thing i compaerd mine score in both 3dmark01 an 03 on the future mark site... and i found that the computer with my spec score with same card more than mine why??? if any one know plz tell me???
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#46)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 03-23-2005, 20:57 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

Because 03 and 05 almost completely GPU orientated. They take into account the ability of the video card and not much else.

What was the spec of the machine you saw @ the ORB?

Your 03 score is fine.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#47)
Kill4L
Master Guru
 
Kill4L's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX480@875/1760/4200
Processor: i7 930 @4.2 Zalman CNPS97
Mainboard: Asus Ramapage II Extreme
Memory: DDR3 6GB @ 1600 8-8-8-20
Soundcard: X-Fi FPS Fatal1ty
PSU: 1000 TT C.M
Default 03-23-2005, 21:06 | posts: 375 | Location: Ukraine

My System Compared System

Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Microsoft Windows XP

DirectX Version 9.0 9.0



Mobo Model A7N8X-X ASUSteK
AGP Rates
(Current/Available) 8x / 4x 8x 8x / 4x 8x



CPU Unknown 2170 MHz AMD Athlon(tm) XP 1929
FSB 173 MHz 212 MHz

Memory 1024 MB 512 MB



Graphics Chipset ATI RADEON 9800 XT ATI RADEON 9800 PRO

Driver Name RADEON 9800 XT RADEON 9800 PRO

Driver Version 6.14.10.6517 6.14.10.6396

Video Memory 128 MB 128 MB



Program Version 3DMark2001 SE 3DMark2001 SE

Resolution 1024x768 32bit 1024x768 32bit

Texture Format Compressed Compressed

FSAA Disabled Disabled

Z-Buffer Depth 24bit 24bit

Frame Buffer Double Double

Rendering Pipeline D3D Pure Hardware T&L D3D Pure Hardware T&L



Detailed Test Results
3DMark Score
(3D marks) 14410 17596



Game 1 - Car Chase - Low Detail (FPS) 179.4 227.6

Game 1 - Car Chase - High Detail(FPS) 63.7 72.4

Game 2 - Dragothic - Low Detail(FPS) 282.1 339.6

Game 2 - Dragothic - High Detail(FPS) 151.8 177.0

Game 3 - Lobby - Low Detail (FPS) 166.6 204.2

Game 3 - Lobby - High Detail (FPS) 72.8 90.8

Game 4 - Nature(FPS) 118.3 153.9
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#48)
Kill4L
Master Guru
 
Kill4L's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX480@875/1760/4200
Processor: i7 930 @4.2 Zalman CNPS97
Mainboard: Asus Ramapage II Extreme
Memory: DDR3 6GB @ 1600 8-8-8-20
Soundcard: X-Fi FPS Fatal1ty
PSU: 1000 TT C.M
Default 03-23-2005, 21:18 | posts: 375 | Location: Ukraine

and one more thing is it danger to change agp Volt??? i heard that it make the card more abile to be overclocked?? is that right???
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#49)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 03-23-2005, 21:35 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

It is probably the FSB and some such other tweaks... perhaps latencies etc, they both make a real difference in 01 scores.

Changing AGP voltage is pointless in most cases. It can help stability at high FSBs sometimes, but generally it's considered best to leave it at 1.5v

It is the voltage going to the slot, not the card.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#50)
jbiel
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 04-08-2005, 04:11 | posts: n/a

I have a 9800PRO with the correct Samsung memory but has a R350 core. RivaTuner says its a R350 core. I have not pulled the HS to verify yet. I have a new VGA cooler on the way before I flash it if it it possible.

How safe am I to flash it to 9800XT?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.