Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Operating Systems
Operating Systems Is Windows 8.1 giving you a hard time ? Wanna try out Windows 10 ?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Can't finish Windows 10 update
Old
  (#1)
Halloween Jack
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Zotac 1080 Ti AMP!
Processor: i7 4790K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengance 16Gb
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair RMx 650W
Default Can't finish Windows 10 update - 06-18-2017, 14:30 | posts: 949 | Location: london

Hi folks,

I can't seem to finish the KB4022714 update.

Everytime I turn the computer off it goes through the whole configuring, installing, restarting stuff, and then right at the end it simply says it 'we were unable to complete the updates'

So frustrating as it takes ages each time.

I'm not getting any specific error message to help understand what's wrong.

I tried downloading the msu file and doing it manually with the same result right at the end.

I tried running a windows update diagnostic it tells me

Windows Update components must be repaired. It tells me it's fixed the issue, but the problem remains.

Any idea what I can do or what the problem is?

Cheers
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 06-18-2017, 14:51 | posts: 3,533 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Have you tried trick with deleting "SoftwareDistribution" folder?

Execute in elevated command prompt:

net stop wuauserv
del c:\windows\SoftwareDistribution /q /s
net start wuauserv


Also there is PowerShell script from MS itself
https://gallery.technet.microsoft.co...Agent-d824badc
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
toronto699
Newbie
 
Videocard: asus GTX660
Processor: i7-4770k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: asus 700 watt
Default 06-18-2017, 14:54 | posts: 43

I had similar issue , same messages u r are receiving with W10 updates , for me it came down to a defective hard drive ,
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Halloween Jack
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Zotac 1080 Ti AMP!
Processor: i7 4790K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengance 16Gb
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair RMx 650W
Default 06-18-2017, 19:07 | posts: 949 | Location: london

MBK, do I delete that folder and do the command prompt, or is that 2 separate methods?

Toronto, hope it's not that, it's a brand new SSD
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 06-18-2017, 21:56 | posts: 3,533 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Halloween Jack View Post
MBK, do I delete that folder and do the command prompt, or is that 2 separate methods?
Command prompt commands are for correct deletion of the folder. First command stops WinUpdate service, second command deletes folder, and third one starts WinUpdate service.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Halloween Jack
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Zotac 1080 Ti AMP!
Processor: i7 4790K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengance 16Gb
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair RMx 650W
Default 06-19-2017, 06:22 | posts: 949 | Location: london

Thanks, I tried that and it said WinUpdate Service could not be stopped.

I deleted anyway and I'll see if the anything changes tonight, when I get back from work.

I'll report back. Thanks again.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Halloween Jack
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Zotac 1080 Ti AMP!
Processor: i7 4790K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengance 16Gb
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair RMx 650W
Default 06-20-2017, 20:15 | posts: 949 | Location: london

Hi there,

Looks like the update actually worked but now Windows update service is constantly 'Stopping'

If I run 'net stop wuauserv' it says:

The service is starting or stopping. Please try again later.

If I go into services it's Status is 'stopping' and Start, Stop and other options are greyed out.

Any ideas what I should do?

Cheers
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 06-20-2017, 22:33 | posts: 3,533 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Are you sure this is faulty behaviour?

Try PowerShell script
https://gallery.technet.microsoft.co...Agent-d824badc
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Halloween Jack
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Zotac 1080 Ti AMP!
Processor: i7 4790K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengance 16Gb
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair RMx 650W
Default 06-20-2017, 23:46 | posts: 949 | Location: london

Had a go with that.

Which option should I try?

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 06-21-2017, 00:17 | posts: 3,533 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Halloween Jack View Post
Had a go with that.

Which option should I try?

Thanks
Sorry, I have not tried it myself. What are the options?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
Halloween Jack
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Zotac 1080 Ti AMP!
Processor: i7 4790K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengance 16Gb
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair RMx 650W
Default 06-21-2017, 00:18 | posts: 949 | Location: london

1. Open the system protection.
2. Reset Windows Update Components.
3. Delete temporary files in Windows.
4. Open the Internet Explorer options.
5. Scans all protected system files.
6. Scan the image to check for corruption.
7. Check the detected corruptions.
8. Repair the image.
9. Clean up the superseded components.
10. Change invalid values in the Registry.
11. Reset the Winsock settings.
12. Search updates.
13. Explore other local solutions.
14. Explore other online solutions.
15. Download Diagnostic.
16. Restart your PC.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 06-21-2017, 09:59 | posts: 3,533 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Halloween Jack View Post
2. Reset Windows Update Components.
There
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Halloween Jack
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Zotac 1080 Ti AMP!
Processor: i7 4790K
Mainboard: Asus Z97-A
Memory: Corsair Vengance 16Gb
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair RMx 650W
Default 06-21-2017, 10:05 | posts: 949 | Location: london

Thanks mate.

I think I tried that one, but I'll try tonight and report back.

Meanwhile Win10 has tried to install another update and failed in the same way.

However there was no note of it in that LHS notification area of Win10.

If I look at Settings (the newish Win10 thing) it say my computer is up to date. But also that it's never had an update.

The old way via Control Panel lists installed Updates, but I can't seem to find where available ones are listed. I thought it used be there in Win7.

So I'm not even sure how to check what Updates are needed now.

Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
mbk1969
Ancient Guru
 
mbk1969's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 970
Processor: I7-4930
Mainboard: Asus p9x79
Memory: G Skill RipjawZ, 16GB
Soundcard: Onboard + FiiO E17
PSU: 1000 W
Default 06-21-2017, 12:16 | posts: 3,533 | Location: Moscow, Russia

Yeah, they made whole process pretty confusing.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.