Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD Radeon
Videocards - AMD Radeon AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon HD 7800 to R9 390X



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#1751)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL15 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Talking 05-10-2017, 17:13 | posts: 3,106 | Location: HolyWater Village

Not the Best score on 17.5.1 but still is a great driver (i have 17342 GPU some time ago)
But GPU ~17k and more is a very good score (Fiji HBM).

Look at combined My new best one (Best scores was ~27-28FPS, untill today)


 Click to show spoiler



And new Patch for FH3 gives my ZEN a strong 'edge'
So smooothhhh.... at 1440p

Last edited by OnnA; 05-10-2017 at 18:30.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#1752)
AATT
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Nano
Processor: 6700
Mainboard: Z170
Memory: 2x8 2400@10
Soundcard: USB
PSU: E10 500W
Default 05-27-2017, 13:44 | posts: 130

so which is the most stable and bug free driver for the fury cards in your experience here guys?
im gonna need one soon

thx
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1753)
ManofGod
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro
Processor: AMD FX-8300 @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus 970 Pro Aura
Memory: 16GB Kingston HyperX 1866
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Thermaltake Smart M850W
Default 05-27-2017, 13:50 | posts: 1,153 | Location: Tonawanda, NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by AATT View Post
so which is the most stable and bug free driver for the fury cards in your experience here guys?
im gonna need one soon

thx
Not really sure myself. I purchased a Western Digital 250GB NvME M.2 SSD and installed it in my Asus Prim X370 Pro. I have one Sapphire Fury Nitro and one Sapphire Fury Tri X in Cross fire mode. I am on the latest version of Windows 10, brand new clean installation, and the driver crashes periodically on anything above 17.2.1 where as before, I had no issues but, I was not using the M.2 SSD either.

According to my motherboard manual, the PCIe2 x 16 slot and the M.2 socket have IRQ sharing going on so, I am going to try swapping the cards around and see if that helps. On a single card though, all these drivers appeared to work correctly.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1754)
Only Intruder
Maha Guru
 
Only Intruder's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro
Processor: i5 4690K
Mainboard: Z97P-D3
Memory: 16GB HyperX Savage CL9
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi FPS
PSU: EVGA 750 GQ
Default 05-27-2017, 16:38 | posts: 813 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by AATT View Post
so which is the most stable and bug free driver for the fury cards in your experience here guys?
im gonna need one soon

thx
I'm using 17.5.1 and I haven't had any problems as such, wattman seems to be behaving now too. My +50% powerlimit with -25mv settings have remained stable however I've had a curious issue where when shutting down the pc, a componant related to the drivers crashes throwing up a dialog which prevents windows shutting down until it's cleared (clicking ok) but other than that I haven't had any problems.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#1755)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL15 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Default 05-27-2017, 16:44 | posts: 3,106 | Location: HolyWater Village

17.5.1 WDDM 2.2 or
Modded 17.5.2 (in Driver section)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1756)
ManofGod
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro
Processor: AMD FX-8300 @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus 970 Pro Aura
Memory: 16GB Kingston HyperX 1866
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Thermaltake Smart M850W
Default 05-27-2017, 18:19 | posts: 1,153 | Location: Tonawanda, NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by Only Intruder View Post
I'm using 17.5.1 and I haven't had any problems as such, wattman seems to be behaving now too. My +50% powerlimit with -25mv settings have remained stable however I've had a curious issue where when shutting down the pc, a componant related to the drivers crashes throwing up a dialog which prevents windows shutting down until it's cleared (clicking ok) but other than that I haven't had any problems.
I have had that same issue of the AMD:CCC-AEMCapturingWindow:RadeonSettings.exe crashing as well. I just type this in off of a picture I took a couple of weeks ago or so. Also, now that I have an WD 250GB MvME M.2 SSD installed and a clean install of Windows 10, anything past 17.2.1 has driver crashing issues.

I am now on a X370 Pro with a 1700x so I am going to switch my cards around and see if that helps.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1757)
ManofGod
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro
Processor: AMD FX-8300 @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus 970 Pro Aura
Memory: 16GB Kingston HyperX 1866
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Thermaltake Smart M850W
Default 05-28-2017, 03:38 | posts: 1,153 | Location: Tonawanda, NY

Swapping the cards around seemed to have fixed my issues. (Guess the WD 250GB NvME M.2 SSD and the Sapphire Fury TriX did not like one another.) I am now trying 17.5.1 to see what happens.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1758)
AATT
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Nano
Processor: 6700
Mainboard: Z170
Memory: 2x8 2400@10
Soundcard: USB
PSU: E10 500W
Default 05-28-2017, 17:01 | posts: 130

In the newest driver thread one mentioned the 17.4.4 to be a good one, im sot sure, next week the card should be here.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1759)
moaka
Master Guru
 
moaka's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 EXOC Sniper
Processor: I7 4790k / 4.7ghz 1.23v
Mainboard: Asus Ranger VII
Memory: Dominator platinium 2400
Soundcard: Razer Tiamat + X-FI II
PSU: Corsair RM 850
Default 05-28-2017, 18:03 | posts: 237 | Location: France

Quote:
Originally Posted by OnnA View Post
Not the Best score on 17.5.1 but still is a great driver (i have 17342 GPU some time ago)
But GPU ~17k and more is a very good score (Fiji HBM).

Look at combined My new best one (Best scores was ~27-28FPS, untill today)


 Click to show spoiler



And new Patch for FH3 gives my ZEN a strong 'edge'
So smooothhhh.... at 1440p

Hey not bad Onna

Here my last score with my fury : http://www.3dmark.com/fs/11058965 3840SP and old driver .
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1760)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL15 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Talking 05-28-2017, 18:47 | posts: 3,106 | Location: HolyWater Village

Quote:
Originally Posted by moaka View Post
Hey not bad Onna

Here my last score with my fury : http://www.3dmark.com/fs/11058965 3840SP and old driver .
Yo Bro THX

And how is your new GTX?
A lot better? (IMO it will pack min +15FPS in any game)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1761)
ManofGod
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro
Processor: AMD FX-8300 @ 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus 970 Pro Aura
Memory: 16GB Kingston HyperX 1866
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Thermaltake Smart M850W
Default 05-29-2017, 03:31 | posts: 1,153 | Location: Tonawanda, NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by OnnA View Post
Not the Best score on 17.5.1 but still is a great driver (i have 17342 GPU some time ago)
But GPU ~17k and more is a very good score (Fiji HBM).

Look at combined My new best one (Best scores was ~27-28FPS, untill today)


 Click to show spoiler



And new Patch for FH3 gives my ZEN a strong 'edge'
So smooothhhh.... at 1440p
I am seriously tempted to pick up a HP 32q 32 inch monitor that runs at 2560 x 1440 at 60hz. However, I already own a 28 inch 4k Samsung monitor that also runs at 60hz and I am running 2 x Sapphire R9 Furies. The HP one is a Freesync model well my Samsung is not. What do you guys think?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1762)
Agonist
Maha Guru
 
Agonist's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 Fury Nitro Tri-X OC+
Processor: i7 3930k@ 4.1 H100
Mainboard: ASUS P9X79 PRO
Memory: HyperX 1866 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: Asus Xonar DXG X-540 5.1
PSU: OCZ Fata1ty 1000w
Default 05-29-2017, 04:03 | posts: 2,276 | Location: Tennessee

Quote:
Originally Posted by ManofGod View Post
I am seriously tempted to pick up a HP 32q 32 inch monitor that runs at 2560 x 1440 at 60hz. However, I already own a 28 inch 4k Samsung monitor that also runs at 60hz and I am running 2 x Sapphire R9 Furies. The HP one is a Freesync model well my Samsung is not. What do you guys think?
Id rather have the 1440p freesync which prolly can oc to 75-80hz.

Once you go freesync, gsync, you cant go back. Freesync was amazing when I had my 290x xfire. Games felt so much smother with vfresync and
sync on then when vsync on and no freesync with crossfire.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1763)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL15 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Talking 05-29-2017, 10:33 | posts: 3,106 | Location: HolyWater Village

Quote:
Originally Posted by ManofGod View Post
I am seriously tempted to pick up a HP 32q 32 inch monitor that runs at 2560 x 1440 at 60hz. However, I already own a 28 inch 4k Samsung monitor that also runs at 60hz and I am running 2 x Sapphire R9 Furies. The HP one is a Freesync model well my Samsung is not. What do you guys think?
If so Pick some new Sammie 1440p HDR FS One 399USD 27"
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1764)
G13Homi
Newbie
 
Videocard: fury x / Nitro XFire
Processor: I7 4820k oc'd to 4.5
Mainboard: rog rampage iv black
Memory: 16gb 2400
Soundcard: asus phoebus-razer tiamat
PSU: EVGA 1300w
Default 06-01-2017, 02:08 | posts: 12 | Location: rochester ny

http://www.3dmark.com/fs/11791059
my score with fury x and nitro in x-fire.

I recently reinstalled the second fury out of boredom and it seems BF1 is now working with xfire as of 17.5.1 for me at least.
I love these damn cards. as long as I am getting this performance I have no interest or need to upgrade for a little while, leaving me with plenty of time to save up for a monster Ryzen/Vega setup.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1765)
AATT
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Nano
Processor: 6700
Mainboard: Z170
Memory: 2x8 2400@10
Soundcard: USB
PSU: E10 500W
Default 06-03-2017, 09:12 | posts: 130

nano now, is there a way to reduce the minimum fan speed which is ~1550 RPM?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1766)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL15 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Lightbulb 06-13-2017, 12:16 | posts: 3,106 | Location: HolyWater Village

Some Tests: DiRT 4 & Kingdom Come Deliverance Beta

 Click to show spoiler

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1767)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL15 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Lightbulb 06-17-2017, 19:06 | posts: 3,106 | Location: HolyWater Village

Finally, score above 5.2k GPU in TimeSpy (not Maxed and Not Tweaked much)
CAT ReliVe 17.6.1

 Click to show spoiler


Last edited by OnnA; 06-17-2017 at 19:08.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1768)
Only Intruder
Maha Guru
 
Only Intruder's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro
Processor: i5 4690K
Mainboard: Z97P-D3
Memory: 16GB HyperX Savage CL9
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi FPS
PSU: EVGA 750 GQ
Default 07-04-2017, 18:51 | posts: 813 | Location: UK

Ok I confess, I don't know what magic AMD have done with the latest drivers, but overclocking my card has become really easy and stable!

Before, if I tried to OC the core clock anywhere past 1080MHz, I'd have a hard time and same with the memory, anywhere past 540MHz and again, hard time, and it also took a fair amount of increased voltage to be stable.

Now, it's a case of undervolting the card and I can reach higher clocks, I've managed to reach 1110MHz core clock (I know it's only a 60MHz bump) and 570MHz on memory, with a -20mv undervolt and it's running really happily.

Here are some bench comparisons with OC and stock settings which clearly show an improvement which is above the 1-2% margin of error:-

Timespy
 Click to show spoiler


Firestrike
 Click to show spoiler


Still, these cards are far from the overclockers dream we were told they'd be, in some cases it's been a nightmare but now how it appears, it's been the drivers that have been letting down the performance and capability to overclock the cards.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1769)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL15 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Lightbulb 07-04-2017, 20:57 | posts: 3,106 | Location: HolyWater Village

Quote:
Originally Posted by Only Intruder View Post
Ok I confess, I don't know what magic AMD have done with the latest drivers, but overclocking my card has become really easy and stable!

Before, if I tried to OC the core clock anywhere past 1080MHz, I'd have a hard time and same with the memory, anywhere past 540MHz and again, hard time, and it also took a fair amount of increased voltage to be stable.

Now, it's a case of undervolting the card and I can reach higher clocks, I've managed to reach 1110MHz core clock (I know it's only a 60MHz bump) and 570MHz on memory, with a -20mv undervolt and it's running really happily.

Still, these cards are far from the overclockers dream we were told they'd be, in some cases it's been a nightmare but now how it appears, it's been the drivers that have been letting down the performance and capability to overclock the cards.
Yes, i forgot about this new Driver batch 17.6.1 and .2 are indeed very stable.
Has Better tW, Lower mV and HBM OC better, also is really stable with OC like my other best 16.1.2 WHQL

Now i can touch 1TB/s INT barrier with tMOD+OC ->
Normally HBM with 1.3mV 300MHz INT Timer has ~600GB/s
With tMOD 400MHz INT and 575MHz HBM clock 1.37mV it gets ~970GB/s INT

Those are my calculations based on Latency+Interposer+HBM INT Tek

 Click to show spoiler


Last edited by OnnA; 07-04-2017 at 21:05.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1770)
PrMinisterGR
Ancient Guru
 
PrMinisterGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
Processor: Core i7 2600k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Sapphire Pure Black P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 07-04-2017, 23:16 | posts: 6,845

According to the The Tech Report's chart, the Fury X is at 58% absolute performance, and the 1080Ti is at 100%. If we extrapolate Vega as perfectly scaling from the Fury X with no architectural changes (if we clock a Fury X at 1,6GHz), then it goes up to 89% of a 1080Ti.

I could easily suppose that it might have architectural differences that boost it at least 10% and might eventually end up being faster. I don't believe it happening this year, and I can never see it being 30% faster than a Ti or something, unless games really use it or Pascal has a weird bottleneck.

Last edited by PrMinisterGR; 07-04-2017 at 23:27.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1771)
Krizby
Master Guru
 
Krizby's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia Gtx 1080ti
Processor: Core i7 4790K @ 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: MSI z97 Gaming 5
Memory: 2x8 Corsair 2400mhz
Soundcard: AudioEngine 5+
PSU: Corsair rm1000
Default 07-05-2017, 06:09 | posts: 580

Vega is simply power starved people, if rx 580 give you any indication it is that for a small clock boost in the GCN architecture the power consumption increases tremendously. Looking at performance/watt chart from techpowerups, rx480 is at Maxwell efficiency and pascal is 2x the perf/watt of the rx580. That means to reach gtx 1080 performance Vega needs twice the power (400w approximately). So with water cooled Vega you have the option to unlock the power limit and have a nuclear reactor inside your case to get performance between gtx1080 and gtx1080ti.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1772)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL15 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Lightbulb 07-05-2017, 10:29 | posts: 3,106 | Location: HolyWater Village

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krizby View Post
Vega is simply power starved people, if rx 580 give you any indication it is that for a small clock boost in the GCN architecture the power consumption increases tremendously. Looking at performance/watt chart from techpowerups, rx480 is at Maxwell efficiency and pascal is 2x the perf/watt of the rx580. That means to reach gtx 1080 performance Vega needs twice the power (400w approximately). So with water cooled Vega you have the option to unlock the power limit and have a nuclear reactor inside your case to get performance between gtx1080 and gtx1080ti.
You got some point here
Also you need to remember why nV changed it's Renderer for Tile Based one in Maxwel (from Smartphones, if im right Qualcom has developed this) and it was an success (tW wise)

That's why ATI abandoned whole Screen Renderer for Tile Based one (but it has also some new Tweaks in it's sleeve).
We need to wait 25 days to see.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1773)
Shadowxaero
Master Guru
 
Videocard: R9 Fury Crossfire
Processor: Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.9Ghz
Mainboard: Asrock x370 Taichi
Memory: 32GB Trident Z 3020Mhz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Ultra X4 1050 Watt
Default 07-07-2017, 13:34 | posts: 150

Quote:
Originally Posted by OnnA View Post
You got some point here
Also you need to remember why nV changed it's Renderer for Tile Based one in Maxwel (from Smartphones, if im right Qualcom has developed this) and it was an success (tW wise)

That's why ATI abandoned whole Screen Renderer for Tile Based one (but it has also some new Tweaks in it's sleeve).
We need to wait 25 days to see.
The real question is...will vega attract miners? And is so, will we be able to get our hands on them for reasonable cost?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1774)
Denial
Ancient Guru
 
Denial's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 1080Ti
Processor: i7-7820x
Mainboard: X299 SLI PLUS
Memory: 32GB GSkill 3600
Soundcard: ZxR & HD800 Lyr/KEF LS50
PSU: Seasonic 1000w
Default 07-07-2017, 13:59 | posts: 10,988 | Location: Terra Firma

Quote:
Originally Posted by OnnA View Post
You got some point here
Also you need to remember why nV changed it's Renderer for Tile Based one in Maxwel (from Smartphones, if im right Qualcom has developed this) and it was an success (tW wise)

That's why ATI abandoned whole Screen Renderer for Tile Based one (but it has also some new Tweaks in it's sleeve).
We need to wait 25 days to see.
Tile Rasterizers has been around for a long time, a lot longer than smart phones. They don't save that much power - they use it on mobile because every mW matters there, but on desktops the cost of hitting memory is only a few watts. What it does do is increase effective memory bandwidth by decent amount.

Nvidia dynamically turns it on/off in profiles because it actually costs a couple of cycles to use it and certain applications don't gain any benefit from the increased bandwidth.

It's not the magical thing some people make it out to be.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#1775)
Only Intruder
Maha Guru
 
Only Intruder's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro
Processor: i5 4690K
Mainboard: Z97P-D3
Memory: 16GB HyperX Savage CL9
Soundcard: Creative X-Fi FPS
PSU: EVGA 750 GQ
Default 07-07-2017, 15:08 | posts: 813 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by OnnA View Post
You got some point here
Also you need to remember why nV changed it's Renderer for Tile Based one in Maxwel (from Smartphones, if im right Qualcom has developed this) and it was an success (tW wise)

That's why ATI abandoned whole Screen Renderer for Tile Based one (but it has also some new Tweaks in it's sleeve).
We need to wait 25 days to see.
It would have been interesting to see what would have happened if AMD/ATi never sold off their mobile business to Qualcomm - we'd have probably seen Tile-Based rendering in desktop cards a lot sooner.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amd, benchmarking, fury x, owners club

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.