Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Computer Monitor Forum
Computer Monitor Forum IPS Panels, Brands, Ultra HD, G-Sync, 144Hz, FreeSync it all is monitor related. This is the place where you can discuss all monitor related matters. Find help and information about high resolutions and refresh rates, VGA ti Display port connectors.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
My opinion about 144Hz monitor - AVOID
Old
  (#1)
No1True
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 1070
Processor: 6600
Mainboard:
Memory: 4GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 750
Default My opinion about 144Hz monitor - AVOID - 12-13-2016, 16:39 | posts: 143

NEVER BUY THEM..

I sure am still happy with my Acer xb241h.
It arrived in perfect condition, I used for a month and I noticed 1mm blue tint on the bottom. No big deal..

Now its like 3 months and I see that tint is 4mm and there are 1mm tints on each side!
Still no big deal, its mostly noticable in dark images.. But its just been for around 4months..

I expect it to be rubish after a year.

Why do people plague with incredible reviews? Because they post them immediatly and never edit them!

P.S. and my LCD is TN.. I dont want to even image what kind of garbage tints they have with IPS 144Hz panels.

Never again.. 60Hz IPS anytime from now onwards..
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 12-13-2016, 16:40 | posts: 17,538 | Location: 127.0.0.1

So because you got a bad panel, no-one else should buy one?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
sverek
Maha Guru
 
sverek's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX970 4G
Processor: i5 2500k
Mainboard: P8Z68-V
Memory: Corsair Ven. 8GB
Soundcard: XonarDG+HD595
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 12-13-2016, 17:18 | posts: 2,736 | Location: Ibaraki, Japan

That's a real trauma. You should see a doctor.

Or use your warranty and exchange your bad panel.


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
nz3777
Maha Guru
 
nz3777's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gtx 980 Strix @ 1500Mhz
Processor: Fx 8320 E @ 4.2 Ghz
Mainboard: Asus M5A78L-M
Memory: 8gb 1600mhz/Ballistic
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Recon 3d
PSU: Corsair Hx 850
Default 12-13-2016, 17:48 | posts: 1,608 | Location: Willowbrook ill.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sverek View Post
That's a real trauma. You should see a doctor.

Or use your warranty and exchange your bad panel.
Lol!~
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Han2K
Master Guru
 
Han2K's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1080 Gaming X
Processor: i7-2600K @ 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8P67 DELUXE
Memory: GSkill 16GB DDR3@2133 CL9
Soundcard: Xonar DGSI & HyperX Cloud
PSU: Corsair HX750
Default 12-13-2016, 18:45 | posts: 271 | Location: Valencia, Spain

I have an Acer XB217HU 144Mhz IPS for 4 months now and have not experienced any tint issues.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
GenClaymore
Ancient Guru
 
GenClaymore's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 FE @ 2100/5556
Processor: I7 3930k @ 4.3ghz
Mainboard: Asus X79 Sabertooth
Memory: G-skill 4x4GB DDR3-1600
Soundcard: Jotunheim BAL>JBL305/R70x
PSU: Cosair RM850
Default 12-13-2016, 19:06 | posts: 5,894 | Location: Southfield,MI

I have an Asus VG248QE for almost 3 years, and I haven't had any tinting issues either. But yea its silly to tell other people not to buy them, just because you gotten one bad egg, because not every one will have issues with them.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
No1True
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 1070
Processor: 6600
Mainboard:
Memory: 4GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 750
Default 12-13-2016, 21:03 | posts: 143

I dont think my monitor its bad. It just it getting worse over time. And thats where warranty goes. That couple mm of tint is barely visible and only in some cases, but it went from none to this. And thats why this tech isnt ready yet.

You can buy a perfect monitor and it will get worse in a year or two..

If you guys draw stupid conslusions like - it doesnt matter, lets buy more lcd.. then its up to your IQ.
I just see no reason to validate a tech that degrades over time! And that tint wont even go through warranty yet, but its not big deal yet..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 12-13-2016, 21:05 | posts: 17,538 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by No1True View Post
I dont think my monitor its bad. It just it getting worse over time. And thats where warranty goes. That couple mm of tint is barely visible and only in some cases, but it went from none to this. And thats why this tech isnt ready yet.

You can buy a perfect monitor and it will get worse in a year or two..

If you guys draw stupid conslusions like - it doesnt matter, lets buy more lcd.. then its up to your IQ.
I just see no reason to validate a tech that degrades over time! And that tint wont even go through warranty yet, but its not big deal yet..
Actually no, I still have an LCD I bought ex-display 8 years ago, and it looks as good today as it did back then
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
nhlkoho
Ancient Guru
 
nhlkoho's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 980ti sc+
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Z87 Plus
Memory: Veng. Pro 16GB DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: EVGA 750G2
Default 12-13-2016, 21:35 | posts: 7,059 | Location: Washington DC

How is that a problem with 144hz monitors? Your telling me that 60hz monitors never fail?

I once had a optical mouse die, guess its back to ball mice for me
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
RealNC
Maha Guru
 
RealNC's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI P67A-C43
Memory: DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1, JBL Spot
PSU: Corsair HX650
Default 12-14-2016, 01:47 | posts: 989

I had a 60Hz monitor that was way crappier than your Acer. Backlight bleeding like no tomorrow, and the backlight died after two years.

Does that now mean no one should ever buy 60Hz monitors?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080ti @2GHz silent!
Processor: 6700K @4.6GHz
Mainboard: Maximus VIII Hero
Memory: 16GB LPX 3000 @3600
Soundcard: Oppo 205, TL+Ribbon spks
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default 12-14-2016, 03:02 | posts: 10,114 | Location: United states of Kingdom

Pro review op.
Well researched, balanced opinion.
I now realise that any problem must be a worldwide issue suffered by everyone.
Wonder why nobody has mentioned this in forums for all the years they have been out.

Does this mean I have syphilis?
I heard people catch it having sex.
I've had sex, damn.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
fantaskarsef
Ancient Guru
 
fantaskarsef's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti @h2o
Processor: 5930K @h2o
Mainboard: R5E @h2o
Memory: Ripjaws 32GB DDR4
Soundcard: ALC1150
PSU: AX 1200i
Default 12-14-2016, 08:04 | posts: 6,733 | Location: Austria (no kangaroos here)

My Acer XB270HU is like on it's first day, and I'm very glad I went for 1440p 144Hz over 1080p 60Hz any day. But I also waited and paid a bit more for the IPS panel.

So... no idea what op is talking about.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
ladcrooks
Member Guru
 
Videocard: DECIDING
Processor: RYZEN 1700
Mainboard: GA-AB350M-GAMING 3
Memory: KINGS Fury Black 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic P Series 760w
Default 12-30-2016, 21:02 | posts: 73

I'm lucky, never had anything higher than 60hz, so I do not know what i am missing!

my 40 ''4k tv monitor is a beauty and you can play games such as FC3 and GTA 5 which I did with a gtx970 and a rx470 with a i7 6700. ( sold now waiting for Zen ) No comparison! Once 4k, no going back

I went the tv route years ago when people were paying silly money for 30'' pc monitors. I just dont get it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
De-M-oN
Member Guru
 
De-M-oN's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia Geforce GTX 1080
Processor: Intel i7 3770k @ 4,1 ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe
Memory: Corsair 16 GB(CL7-1600mhz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar HDAV1.3 Deluxe
PSU: Seasonic M12-600
Default 06-04-2017, 01:12 | posts: 61 | Location: Germany

Try NEC. NEC's devices are extremely expensive, but there you get pure quality.
All Acer's I had, had terrible panels which indeed got worse and worse from day to day.

@ladcrooks : Arent TVs still at 16-235 color range only? Would be a no-go for me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080ti @2GHz silent!
Processor: 6700K @4.6GHz
Mainboard: Maximus VIII Hero
Memory: 16GB LPX 3000 @3600
Soundcard: Oppo 205, TL+Ribbon spks
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default 06-04-2017, 01:21 | posts: 10,114 | Location: United states of Kingdom

Quote:
Originally Posted by De-M-oN View Post
Arent TVs still at 16-235 color range only? Would be a no-go for me.
If you choose to feed it 16-235... yes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
alanm
Ancient Guru
 
alanm's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1070 AMP!
Processor: 7700k / D15s
Mainboard: z270 Taichi
Memory: 16gb Vengeance 3200mhz
Soundcard: SB Zx
PSU: XFX Pro 750w
Default 06-07-2017, 11:42 | posts: 7,086

Quote:
Originally Posted by ladcrooks View Post
my 40 ''4k tv monitor is a beauty and you can play games such as FC3 and GTA 5 which I did with a gtx970 and a rx470 with a i7 6700. ( sold now waiting for Zen ) No comparison! Once 4k, no going back

I went the tv route years ago when people were paying silly money for 30'' pc monitors. I just dont get it.
Picked one up a few days ago (40" sammy ku-7000), love it. Size a bit overwhelming at first for desktop usage, esp vertical height (have to move my head to look at upper area) but resolved this by removing stand and wall mounting it to where its suspended just 2cm above desktop. Also used a custom 21:9 res (3840x1620) which further lowers viewing height. F'ing awesome in gaming and wide-screen movies.

Quote:
Originally Posted by De-M-oN View Post
Arent TVs still at 16-235 color range only? Would be a no-go for me.
Older TVs lacking HDMI 2.0 maybe. I get full range on mine.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080ti @2GHz silent!
Processor: 6700K @4.6GHz
Mainboard: Maximus VIII Hero
Memory: 16GB LPX 3000 @3600
Soundcard: Oppo 205, TL+Ribbon spks
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default 06-07-2017, 13:16 | posts: 10,114 | Location: United states of Kingdom

Yep.
I cant remember the last display I used that was limited to DVD quality colour.
I've been using TVs on my PC for over 8 years.
Friends also do the same and there is no limitation.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Exascale
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte G1 1070
Processor: i7-6700K
Mainboard: MSI Z170 Carbon
Memory: 32GB Crucial DDR4 in XMP
Soundcard: Grado SR-80i ALC1150
PSU: Seasonic X850 Gold
Default 06-11-2017, 18:01 | posts: 99

With respect to the 0-255, 16-235 color, both the source and the TV have to be set to the same color space, in order for the image on the display to be accurate. So in your GPU drivers, you need to set it to full range RGB 0-255 and the TV must have a PC monitor mode that also supports 0-255.

If your GPU output is 0-255 but your display is 16-235, youll have black crush. If your GPU is outputting 16-235(as many GPUs used to default to for "TV resolution monitors", regardless of the monitor's color space) blacks will look gray.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
Steppzor
Master Guru
 
Steppzor's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080 Ti Gaming X
Processor: Intel i7-4770K @ Stock
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Kingston HyperX Cloud II
PSU: XFX ProSeries BE 1050W
Default 06-11-2017, 18:52 | posts: 694 | Location: Norway

****! Guess i need to sell my 144Hz monitor then. Thanks OP!
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.