Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum
MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum This forum is intended for MSI customers for questions on the AfterBurner Overclock Utility based off Rivatuner. In this section the users help each other out with answers as well as support staff from MSI.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
CPU Usage Gaming
Old
  (#1)
coc
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 970 SC
Processor: i5 3570
Mainboard: Asus Z77
Memory: G.Skill 2X8GB RJX
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty Titanium
PSU: Seasonic X-760
Default CPU Usage Gaming - 05-06-2017, 11:28 | posts: 158

hey guys, i am running a i 7700 ( non k ) with Noctua U12S, 1070 GTX and 16GB based system
on win 10.

iv installed MSI AB and HWmonitor and i can't figure out whats what...

if im looking at HWmonitor after an hour +- in the the Witcher 3 or ME Andromda i can see normal temps ( around 60C CPU, 65-70 GPU ). if im looking at the CPU ( from cpu 1 to cpu 8 ) they
are all at 100% usage. the GPU max Usage is around 90%. this is what i see on HWMonitor
right after exiting the game.

if im playing "live" with MSI AB i actually see lower numbers. im seeing avrage CPU usage
around 40%, temps around 55-60C and GPU usage around 50-80%.


the main difference is the CPU usage ( lower on MSI AB while playing on real time ).
i doubled checked - the CPU usage is various while playing real time -> changing
from 30 to 60 %, while on HWmonitor the entire list ( cpu 1, cpu 2, cpu 3 ) are on
100%.. maybe im not reading something right. the temperatures seems solid on both
MSI AB and HWMonitor and there is a minor difference in that area.


why the difference ? btw i got 60 stable fps and everything works great.. im just curious.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
EdKiefer
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i5-3570k@4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V pro
Memory: 16Gb-DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair XT650
Default 05-06-2017, 12:07 | posts: 1,320

Quote:
Originally Posted by coc View Post
hey guys, i am running a i 7700 ( non k ) with Noctua U12S, 1070 GTX and 16GB based system
on win 10.

iv installed MSI AB and HWmonitor and i can't figure out whats what...

if im looking at HWmonitor after an hour +- in the the Witcher 3 or ME Andromda i can see normal temps ( around 60C CPU, 65-70 GPU ). if im looking at the CPU ( from cpu 1 to cpu 8 ) they
are all at 100% usage. the GPU max Usage is around 90%. this is what i see on HWMonitor
right after exiting the game.

if im playing "live" with MSI AB i actually see lower numbers. im seeing avrage CPU usage
around 40%, temps around 55-60C and GPU usage around 50-80%.


the main difference is the CPU usage ( lower on MSI AB while playing on real time ).
i doubled checked - the CPU usage is various while playing real time -> changing
from 30 to 60 %, while on HWmonitor the entire list ( cpu 1, cpu 2, cpu 3 ) are on
100%.. maybe im not reading something right. the temperatures seems solid on both
MSI AB and HWMonitor and there is a minor difference in that area.


why the difference ? btw i got 60 stable fps and everything works great.. im just curious.
Are you looking at max values, if so CPU will be 100% that is pretty normal during a game.

I would recommend you switch to HWinfo64, there you can set what you want to show up in AB OSD.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Margalus
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
Processor: i7 6850k
Mainboard: Asus X99 Deluxe
Memory: 32GB Gskill 3200 DDR4
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HXi850
Default 05-06-2017, 12:29 | posts: 124 | Location: St. Louis

You should not be getting that high of cpu usage playing games. One core at or near 100% maybe, but not all. Your overall cpu usage should be in the 25% cpu usage range for the overall cpu. I'd say there is something wrong with HWmonitor on your system.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
EdKiefer
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i5-3570k@4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V pro
Memory: 16Gb-DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair XT650
Default 05-06-2017, 12:54 | posts: 1,320

Quote:
Originally Posted by Margalus View Post
You should not be getting that high of cpu usage playing games. One core at or near 100% maybe, but not all. Your overall cpu usage should be in the 25% cpu usage range for the overall cpu. I'd say there is something wrong with HWmonitor on your system.
It probably to some degree depends on the game and of course how many cores you have, but on quad core seeing very high cpu% in max values is pretty normal.
Also your power plan, HP power plan will hit max clocks faster than balance, even though it would only be a spike, the max value would be high.

In Bf1 I have 100% across all cores in just few min time.
That is why I recommended HWinfo64, you can set it to display current, avg, min , max etc.

Last edited by EdKiefer; 05-06-2017 at 13:12.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
coc
Master Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 970 SC
Processor: i5 3570
Mainboard: Asus Z77
Memory: G.Skill 2X8GB RJX
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty Titanium
PSU: Seasonic X-760
Default 05-07-2017, 07:54 | posts: 158

thanks for your replies.

i will install HWinfo i guess.

iv tested only 2 games. The Witcher 3 and ME: Andromeda.

with MSI AB as i said before CPU usage is around 30%-60%. the GPU
usage is higher. im playing on max settings on 1080P. it seems fine to me,
but HWmonitor shows different usage ( but its not on "real time" ) its only
when im exiting the game and looking at the specs.

it also shows higher temps ( 4-6C higher ) than MSI AB.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Margalus
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
Processor: i7 6850k
Mainboard: Asus X99 Deluxe
Memory: 32GB Gskill 3200 DDR4
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HXi850
Default 05-09-2017, 09:31 | posts: 124 | Location: St. Louis

Quote:
Originally Posted by EdKiefer View Post
It probably to some degree depends on the game and of course how many cores you have, but on quad core seeing very high cpu% in max values is pretty normal.
Also your power plan, HP power plan will hit max clocks faster than balance, even though it would only be a spike, the max value would be high.

In Bf1 I have 100% across all cores in just few min time.
That is why I recommended HWinfo64, you can set it to display current, avg, min , max etc.
high cpu usage in games is not normal. There are hardly any games out that use more than a couple of cores, and even then it's usually not 100% of those cores. Rainbow Six Siege is the only game I've seen that uses multiple cores well, with the cpu sitting around 40% usage, with that equal amount among all cores.

BF1 uses about 30-35%% on my i7 6850 and also on my old i7 930 with the majority of that on one core.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
EdKiefer
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i5-3570k@4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V pro
Memory: 16Gb-DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair XT650
Default 05-09-2017, 12:12 | posts: 1,320

Quote:
Originally Posted by Margalus View Post
high cpu usage in games is not normal. There are hardly any games out that use more than a couple of cores, and even then it's usually not 100% of those cores. Rainbow Six Siege is the only game I've seen that uses multiple cores well, with the cpu sitting around 40% usage, with that equal amount among all cores.

BF1 uses about 30-35%% on my i7 6850 and also on my old i7 930 with the majority of that on one core.
You just don't follow me, I guess.
If you have max values you will show very high usage, but the real usage (current) will be lower.
I will use BF1 for example, for me (quad core/4 threads) max will show 100% but current will be really around 80%, If I ran same thing with i7 xxxx quad/8threads it probably be also very high max but the current would be around 50-60%. you have 6 core/12 thread so of course your current is lower, but I bet that is not max value.
Same if you check CPU clock, it will always show max clock available, but current or avg will be much lower.
Maybe BFx line is not avg game with regard to cpu usage as they use 4 cores to almost max, but point I was making is HWinfo is much better working with AB OSD and max values is poor choice of current usage, for most all data points, unless you truely want the max value it spiked to one time, maybe temps come up as good one for that.

Last edited by EdKiefer; 05-09-2017 at 12:17.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.