Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > General Software and Applications
General Software and Applications Trouble with software/DirectX or other programs like Detonator Destroyer.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Hardware monitoring programs sometimes won't start up...
Old
  (#1)
deeselcyde
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX R9 290 DD 1145/1520
Processor: 2500k @ 4.5
Mainboard: ASROCK P67 Extreme4
Memory: G. Skill 2 x 4gb 1600
Soundcard: Auzentech Prelude
PSU: Seasonic 750 GOLD
Default Hardware monitoring programs sometimes won't start up... - 09-12-2014, 02:01 | posts: 66 | Location: Thousand Oaks, California

I reformatted my computer with a fresh version of Windows 8.1 after I got my new 290. I have a 1 hour prime stable overclock on my 2500k at 4.6

I have always used CPUID HwMonitor, CPU-z, and OCCT. All of those programs have sensors that read off temps and what not. Occasionally, enough to make me post, those programs will just not start up. HWMonitor will just say "not responding. CPU-z will just stop at "software" on the loading menu and for the first time tonight OCCT didn't start up and did something similar to what HWMonitor did. After I reboot the pc, they seem to always work fine.

I've been using windows 8.1 for about 6-8 months now and have never had this problem before, albeit, this is really the first time I've been tinkering with my overclock and these types of programs.

I'm current'y 23 minutes into a OCCT 1 hr session and it seems rock solid stable. I know some of you might not think an hour of stability isn't completely 100% stable, but I think it's stable enough to not cause the problems at hand.

Any input would be appreciated.

Oh, and I've googled with very very little luck.

Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti H20
Processor: i7 5930K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-AU31
Memory: G.Skill 32GB 3200C12
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus
PSU: EVGA P2-1200W
Default 09-12-2014, 02:21 | posts: 9,482 | Location: USA

Have you tried opening them up at stock settings?

I know you may think its stable enough, but when i first got my 3770k i was prime stable for 30mins, but sometimes steam would stop responding, games would stop responding literally right after i open them as well.. Needed way more voltage.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
deeselcyde
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX R9 290 DD 1145/1520
Processor: 2500k @ 4.5
Mainboard: ASROCK P67 Extreme4
Memory: G. Skill 2 x 4gb 1600
Soundcard: Auzentech Prelude
PSU: Seasonic 750 GOLD
Default 09-12-2014, 02:30 | posts: 66 | Location: Thousand Oaks, California

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
Have you tried opening them up at stock settings?

I know you may think its stable enough, but when i first got my 3770k i was prime stable for 30mins, but sometimes steam would stop responding, games would stop responding literally right after i open them as well.. Needed way more voltage.
It actually started when my cpu was overvolted. I was at 1.40. I'm now still stable (52 minutes in on OCCT) with my voltage at 1.325

It's just weird that only the programs that are trying to access sensors on the motherboard are the ones sometimes having problems. Everything else has ran fine....knock on wood.


EDIT:
It seems after I start doing stuff, youtube, etc. and then try opening it is when I have the problems. I just did it again. While these programs wouldn't load I downloaded realtemp and when I tried running it, I crashed and windows 8 did it's thing and restarted yadda yadda yadda. After the restart, real temp worked fine.

Last edited by deeselcyde; 09-12-2014 at 03:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti H20
Processor: i7 5930K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-AU31
Memory: G.Skill 32GB 3200C12
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus
PSU: EVGA P2-1200W
Default 09-12-2014, 03:02 | posts: 9,482 | Location: USA

OCCT isnt always the best for stress testing. Try intel burn test latest(watch temps with these ), p95, and asus real bench(real world testing).

If it crashes after OC but doesnt at stock, it means you arent 100% stable
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
deeselcyde
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX R9 290 DD 1145/1520
Processor: 2500k @ 4.5
Mainboard: ASROCK P67 Extreme4
Memory: G. Skill 2 x 4gb 1600
Soundcard: Auzentech Prelude
PSU: Seasonic 750 GOLD
Default 09-15-2014, 20:51 | posts: 66 | Location: Thousand Oaks, California

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agent-A01 View Post
OCCT isnt always the best for stress testing. Try intel burn test latest(watch temps with these ), p95, and asus real bench(real world testing).

If it crashes after OC but doesnt at stock, it means you arent 100% stable
I have been testing it and it's stable. However, often times monitoring programs will just not start up. I've tried real temp, core temp, hwmonitor, occt, and cpu-z.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Labyrinth
Ancient Guru
 
Labyrinth's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD 290 4GB
Processor: i5 6600K 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Memory: Kingston 8GB DDR4 @ 2666
Soundcard: Xonar DSX
PSU: Corsair CS750M
Default 09-15-2014, 21:28 | posts: 4,285 | Location: Cheshire, England

Did you try running them at stock clocks?
Does this application work http://www.hwinfo.com/download.php
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
deeselcyde
Member Guru
 
Videocard: XFX R9 290 DD 1145/1520
Processor: 2500k @ 4.5
Mainboard: ASROCK P67 Extreme4
Memory: G. Skill 2 x 4gb 1600
Soundcard: Auzentech Prelude
PSU: Seasonic 750 GOLD
Default 09-15-2014, 21:52 | posts: 66 | Location: Thousand Oaks, California

Quote:
Originally Posted by Labyrinth View Post
Did you try running them at stock clocks?
Does this application work

I have not tried them at stock settings thinking I wouldn't have to because I'm stable.

I have no tried that program. I've been using HWMonitor and CPU-z for as long as I can remember.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Pill Monster
Banned
 
Videocard: 7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
Processor: AMD FX-8320 @4.7
Mainboard: ASUS Sabertooth 990FX R2
Memory: 8GB HyperX Beast 2400
Soundcard: X-Fi Fatal1ty, Wharfedale
PSU: AcBel M8 750 Bronze
Default 09-15-2014, 23:40 | posts: 25,234 | Location: NZ

It's not weird, if several different processes are polling the same registers at the same time lockups can happen.

Use one good app like AIDA64/HWiNFO64 or else don't let them all have low level access to sensors.

Last edited by Pill Monster; 09-15-2014 at 23:42.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Felix1941
Newbie
 
Videocard: 290X 4GB
Processor: i7 6700K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Fractal integra M 750
Default 04-27-2017, 13:03 | posts: 1

Reset PC, go to bios and SAVE & EXIT. This fixed both HWmonitor and cpuz for me.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.