Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Links
Links Archived stickys.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#126)
Emanon75
Ancient Guru
 
Emanon75's Avatar
 
Videocard: 6800GT / 9800Pro / Ti4600
Processor: A64 3200+ / 2400+M / 2500+M
Mainboard: Dfi LP250GB / Abit NF7-S x 2
Memory: 2x512 Mushkin 3500L2 / 4x512 CorsairXMS 3200XLPT
Soundcard: Audigy 2 / 2 x Soundstorm
PSU:
Default 02-13-2005, 18:08 | posts: 3,795 | Location: Where I am.

Quote:
Originally posted by WildStyle
Yeah I hear you but he has PC3200 underclocked to PC2700 running 2.5-3-3-7 latencies, and that shouldn't need added vdimm.
No, it shouldn't, but it can't hurt to try..

Quote:
As for vcore, it's on the default 1.65v, and even if it was at 1.6v for example it'd still take a few mins to fail with a rounding error rather than sub 1min.
Unless the board undervolts a bit, you're right, that should be enough vcore. Hell, most cpus will run stock speed with less than stock vcore.. Hmmmm..

Quote:
So... hmm, clearing CMOS and starting over is an option I guess but from what I see everything is set appropriately unless I'm overlooking something well obvious.
Did he say it wasn't stable in Windows? (I can't remember)

Not stable in windows either, iirc.
Resetting the cmos is the easiest way to see whether it's a setup issue, or a hardware failure though. That's why I'd recommend it first.. Never can be sure what was adjusted in there ya know..
   
 
Old
  (#127)
sh4d0w1ink920
Newbie
 
Videocard: Visiontek XTASY 9200 SE 128 MB
Processor: Athlon XP 2800+ 2.09 GHz
Mainboard: Biostar M7NCD
Memory: 512 MB Kingston PCI 3200
Soundcard: Dunno...
PSU:
Default 02-19-2005, 17:40 | posts: 42 | Location: Lost in the infinite abyss between time an space

Dad's checking the CMOS later...thanks. I'm getting new error messages now though, guess my computer wasn't happy with the old ones lol.

DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

PFN_LIST_CORRUPT

PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA (RAM, isn't it?)

BAD_POOL_CALLER

   
Old
  (#128)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 02-19-2005, 17:58 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

Well, for "DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL" this usually occurs after installation of a faulty device driver, system service or BIOS.
When do you get the message? At startup or simply when using Windows?
Also do you have a USB modem or such? You may wanna check you have the latest drivers for that, or unplug/uninstall and see if the problem persists.

However, normally you get BSOD's related to RAM problems. So for this you can run memtest86+. This is an app that you run from a floppy or bootable ISO (CD) at startup, without even being in Windows, and it will test your RAM. Basically if you get any errors, you've got a problem. You will need to set your BIOS boot up order so that the CD or FDD (whichever method you choose for memtest) is #1 so it boots from the device before the HDD and can then run memtest.
www.memtest.org
Are you running 1x512MB stick or 2x256? If 2x256 you might try one and then the other individually, to see if one is a bad stick. If it's 1x512 you should swap in some other RAM from elsewhere if possible.
   
Old
  (#129)
AJČ06
Ancient Guru
 
AJČ06's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GT 330M 512MB
Processor: Intel Core i5 - 520M
Mainboard: Intel PM55 Express-M
Memory: 4BG DDR3/1066
Soundcard: Realtek HD
PSU: 108w
Default 04-08-2005, 03:57 | posts: 4,852 | Location: USA

Hey I got a question...
I can run ANY game with the current OC with NO problems at all but CANNOT run PRIME for more than 10 minutes without freezing... Weird. And I never have any heat problems or anything. So why is that?
   
 
Old
  (#130)
WildStyle
Ancient Guru
 
WildStyle's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600
Mainboard: MSI H77MA-G43
Memory: 16GB Samsung PC3-12800
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair CX600M
Default 04-08-2005, 16:07 | posts: 15,302 | Location: UK

Well, IMO, if it doesn't fail in the first couple of mins there is a very mediocre level of stability there, so it may well be fine for some things.
But most people prefer to run for longer so they do not have to worry about potential problems in any way during the use of their computer.
   
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.