Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > The HTPC, HDTV & Ultra High Definition section
The HTPC, HDTV & Ultra High Definition section Home Theater PC Enthusiasts or want to talk in High-Definition ? This is Guru3Ds Premier Community of HD and HTPC.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
kx11
Maha Guru
 
kx11's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan Xp
Processor: i7 6900k
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage V 10th ed.
Memory: G.skill Trident Z RGB
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA 1000 g2
Default 03-18-2017, 19:51 | posts: 2,327 | Location: Qatar

Quote:
Originally Posted by signex View Post
I watched an amazing 4K HDR clip a week ago.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2RIDhA9c8qw

Also a good channel for 4K HDR content.
the owner of the channel captured HDR ps4pro gameplay , he says it requires a lot of stuff
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
kanej2007
Ancient Guru
 
kanej2007's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1080 TI 11GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-VPro
Memory: 12Gb Corsair Vengeance C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X Ultra 7.1
PSU: Fractal Design R2 1000W
Default 03-29-2017, 00:39 | posts: 8,250 | Location: London, United Kingdom

@ chispy, I've been running an LG 50'' 4k IPS TV mainly for gaming and playing movies, both in which it excels in.

Any questions I can help you with? I've had the TV for around 5 or 6 months. Not really anything negative to say about the tv.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
chispy
Ancient Guru
 
chispy's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1080Ti @ 2126/6156 H2O
Processor: Ryzen 1700x @ 4107Mhz H2O
Mainboard: Asus CH VI Hero x370 AM4
Memory: DDR4-16GB @ 3473Mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: eVGA Supernova G2-1300w
Thumbs up 03-29-2017, 16:40 | posts: 7,777 | Location: In Paradise :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kanej2007 View Post
@ chispy, I've been running an LG 50'' 4k IPS TV mainly for gaming and playing movies, both in which it excels in.

Any questions I can help you with? I've had the TV for around 5 or 6 months. Not really anything negative to say about the tv.
Thanks for asking my old friend. Sure i would like to know if your TV supports HDR and if it does have you played any games that supports it ? Shadow warrior 3 and Mass Effect Andromeda been the latest titles me think. Since i do not have those games i cannot comment and i have no idea how does it work or looks like. If by any chance you have any games can you give me some feedback on how to make it work and how does it looks like ? Thank you in advanced.

Kind Regards: Chispy
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 680 FTW 2GB
Processor: Intel Pentium G4560
Mainboard: MSI H110M Pro-VD
Memory: 8GB Crucial DDR4 2133mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: EVGA 430W
Default 03-29-2017, 18:01 | posts: 8,139 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by chispy View Post
Thanks for asking my old friend. Sure i would like to know if your TV supports HDR and if it does have you played any games that supports it ? Shadow warrior 3 and Mass Effect Andromeda been the latest titles me think. Since i do not have those games i cannot comment and i have no idea how does it work or looks like. If by any chance you have any games can you give me some feedback on how to make it work and how does it looks like ? Thank you in advanced.

Kind Regards: Chispy
You should be able to see a popup when HDR is enabled if it doesn't your TV probably doesn't support HDR or not yet.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
kanej2007
Ancient Guru
 
kanej2007's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1080 TI 11GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-VPro
Memory: 12Gb Corsair Vengeance C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X Ultra 7.1
PSU: Fractal Design R2 1000W
Default 03-30-2017, 00:57 | posts: 8,250 | Location: London, United Kingdom

^ Signex kindly beat me to the answer.

And yes, I do not have HDR. There is no option for HDR nor any popup to enable it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
chispy
Ancient Guru
 
chispy's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1080Ti @ 2126/6156 H2O
Processor: Ryzen 1700x @ 4107Mhz H2O
Mainboard: Asus CH VI Hero x370 AM4
Memory: DDR4-16GB @ 3473Mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: eVGA Supernova G2-1300w
Thumbs up 04-04-2017, 18:37 | posts: 7,777 | Location: In Paradise :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by signex View Post
You should be able to see a popup when HDR is enabled if it doesn't your TV probably doesn't support HDR or not yet.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kanej2007 View Post
^ Signex kindly beat me to the answer.

And yes, I do not have HDR. There is no option for HDR nor any popup to enable it.
Thanks for the heads up and feedback guys , appreciate it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#57)
LazKaiWo
Newbie
 
Videocard: AsusGeForceGTX1080Ti 11gb
Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-7600K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX750M 750W80Gold
Default 04-28-2017, 10:18 | posts: 3

Hi Chispy

I just got the Samsung KS8005 model (same as the US KS8000, this is just the EU term) And i have been reading your thread, what I seem to have missed or not found is the total settings you referred that you would post in here?...
This thread has been amazing But could I ask you to post your tv settings and pc settings for gaming?
I know I'm asking alot, and hope that i'm not bothering you

See, I'm totally new to this as well (using a tv for a monitor) and i love to game... well mostly I game WoW and other mmorpg's or just rpg's.. but I'm having trouble with the colors not being quite there and text not being sharp + stuttering.. and then i remembered that you would have your tv calibrated so i thought, hey if i can get you pc settings and tv settings it would help (using Nvidia 1080)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
Steppzor
Master Guru
 
Steppzor's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080 Ti Gaming X
Processor: Intel i7-4770K @ Stock
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Kingston HyperX Cloud II
PSU: XFX ProSeries BE 1050W
Default 04-28-2017, 10:45 | posts: 706 | Location: Norway

Quote:
Originally Posted by lazkaiwo View Post
hi chispy

i just got the samsung ks8005 model (same as the us ks8000, this is just the eu term)
eu ks7005 = us ks8000
eu ks8005 = us ks9000
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
LazKaiWo
Newbie
 
Videocard: AsusGeForceGTX1080Ti 11gb
Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-7600K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX750M 750W80Gold
Default 05-01-2017, 00:19 | posts: 3

thnx Step

hmm
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#60)
chispy
Ancient Guru
 
chispy's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1080Ti @ 2126/6156 H2O
Processor: Ryzen 1700x @ 4107Mhz H2O
Mainboard: Asus CH VI Hero x370 AM4
Memory: DDR4-16GB @ 3473Mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: eVGA Supernova G2-1300w
Default 05-01-2017, 19:43 | posts: 7,777 | Location: In Paradise :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LazKaiWo View Post
Hi Chispy

I just got the Samsung KS8005 model (same as the US KS8000, this is just the EU term) And i have been reading your thread, what I seem to have missed or not found is the total settings you referred that you would post in here?...
This thread has been amazing But could I ask you to post your tv settings and pc settings for gaming?
I know I'm asking alot, and hope that i'm not bothering you

See, I'm totally new to this as well (using a tv for a monitor) and i love to game... well mostly I game WoW and other mmorpg's or just rpg's.. but I'm having trouble with the colors not being quite there and text not being sharp + stuttering.. and then i remembered that you would have your tv calibrated so i thought, hey if i can get you pc settings and tv settings it would help (using Nvidia 1080)
No i'm sorry , i did not get my TV professional calibrated because the techs for BestBuy never showed up to their appointment with me , i did use the rtings settings ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xqb_8r-JDbg ) and tweaked them to my likings , so far i'm more than happy with the outcome .

Kind Regards: Chispy
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#61)
LazKaiWo
Newbie
 
Videocard: AsusGeForceGTX1080Ti 11gb
Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-7600K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX750M 750W80Gold
Default 05-01-2017, 23:08 | posts: 3

thnx for the reply Chispy

Have you done any changes to the nvidia settings on the PC?
I will look over the calibration from the link you posted
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
chispy
Ancient Guru
 
chispy's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1080Ti @ 2126/6156 H2O
Processor: Ryzen 1700x @ 4107Mhz H2O
Mainboard: Asus CH VI Hero x370 AM4
Memory: DDR4-16GB @ 3473Mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: eVGA Supernova G2-1300w
Default 05-06-2017, 03:51 | posts: 7,777 | Location: In Paradise :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LazKaiWo View Post
thnx for the reply Chispy

Have you done any changes to the nvidia settings on the PC?
I will look over the calibration from the link you posted
Sure , i'm running 4K 60Hz YCbCr 4:4:4.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#63)
Straykatt
Maha Guru
 
Straykatt's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 960 SC SLI
Processor: i7 920 @ 3.8 w/CoolerM V8
Mainboard: x58 Classified w/ Win 10
Memory: 12 gig Dominator @ 1600
Soundcard: Denon 1913 / 5.1
PSU: CoolerMaster SP 1000w
Default 07-12-2017, 17:37 | posts: 1,261 | Location: Orange County, CA

I picked up a Sony 65 900E over the weekend, I have a few questions. What's the difference in nvidia control panel 8bpc vs 12 bpc? I'm using 12 currently, my previous TV would only do 8 bpc.

Does anyone know if my tv can do full rgb 0-256/255? I have a few color option in the tv rgb/709, bt2020, adobe rgb, dci and a couple others, which is the best for gaming?

Finally, the TV has a few options for HDR. It can do HDR+, HDR, HDR10, which is best? Does a game have to be programmed in HDR? Or do you just turn on HDR in the TV settings to run a game in HDR?

Great thread btw!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#64)
Steppzor
Master Guru
 
Steppzor's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080 Ti Gaming X
Processor: Intel i7-4770K @ Stock
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Kingston HyperX Cloud II
PSU: XFX ProSeries BE 1050W
Default 07-12-2017, 17:47 | posts: 706 | Location: Norway

Quote:
Originally Posted by Straykatt View Post
I picked up a Sony 65 900E over the weekend, I have a few questions. What's the difference in nvidia control panel 8bpc vs 12 bpc? I'm using 12 currently, my previous TV would only do 8 bpc.

Does anyone know if my tv can do full rgb 0-256/255? I have a few color option in the tv rgb/709, bt2020, adobe rgb, dci and a couple others, which is the best for gaming?

Finally, the TV has a few options for HDR. It can do HDR+, HDR, HDR10, which is best? Does a game have to be programmed in HDR? Or do you just turn on HDR in the TV settings to run a game in HDR?

Great thread btw!
8-bit color = 2^8 x 3 = 2^24 = 16.7 million colors
12-bit color = 2^12 x 3 = 2^36 = 68.7 billion colors

Use BT2020 since it offers lager color space over 709.

HDR+ is "fake" HDR, HDR10 is 10bit HDR, would assume HDR is 12bit since your panel support 12bit.

Yes, games need to support HDR
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#65)
Straykatt
Maha Guru
 
Straykatt's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 960 SC SLI
Processor: i7 920 @ 3.8 w/CoolerM V8
Mainboard: x58 Classified w/ Win 10
Memory: 12 gig Dominator @ 1600
Soundcard: Denon 1913 / 5.1
PSU: CoolerMaster SP 1000w
Default 07-12-2017, 18:37 | posts: 1,261 | Location: Orange County, CA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steppzor View Post
8-bit color = 2^8 x 3 = 2^24 = 16.7 million colors
12-bit color = 2^12 x 3 = 2^36 = 68.7 billion colors

Use BT2020 since it offers lager color space over 709.

HDR+ is "fake" HDR, HDR10 is 10bit HDR, would assume HDR is 12bit since your panel support 12bit.

Yes, games need to support HDR
So 12 bpc is the obvious choice and I should only enable HDR on games where it's supported, got it. If a game supports HDR would there be an option in the game settings to enable it? I can't recall seeing that before.

There's so many options in this tv I don't know where to start, ha! So bt2020 for gaming and movie/cable tv or just gaming? This tv has no display options manuel, so I don't know what most of the settings do. Can't believe they do that!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
Steppzor
Master Guru
 
Steppzor's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080 Ti Gaming X
Processor: Intel i7-4770K @ Stock
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Kingston HyperX Cloud II
PSU: XFX ProSeries BE 1050W
Default 07-12-2017, 19:40 | posts: 706 | Location: Norway

Quote:
Originally Posted by Straykatt View Post
So 12 bpc is the obvious choice and I should only enable HDR on games where it's supported, got it. If a game supports HDR would there be an option in the game settings to enable it? I can't recall seeing that before.

There's so many options in this tv I don't know where to start, ha! So bt2020 for gaming and movie/cable tv or just gaming? This tv has no display options manuel, so I don't know what most of the settings do. Can't believe they do that!
You want to use BT2020 for everything 4K.

For games that support HDR, example ME:A and RE7 you need to activate it from the settings meny in the game. TV will automatically switch to HDR mode when detecting HDR content.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
Exascale
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte G1 1070
Processor: i7-6700K
Mainboard: MSI Z170 Carbon
Memory: 32GB Crucial DDR4 in XMP
Soundcard: Grado SR-80i ALC1150
PSU: Seasonic X850 Gold
Default 07-19-2017, 07:37 | posts: 308

Does the TV know how to display Rec.709 content correctly when set to Rec.2020 or will it distort the colors and oversaturate 709 content? Im curious how these TVs with extended gamut support actually handle it. To my knowledge, there isnt much if anything encoded in 2020 available. I agree with getting a 2020 supporting TV or monitor if youre getting something UHD, but is it time to turn it on yet?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
Straykatt
Maha Guru
 
Straykatt's Avatar
 
Videocard: eVGA 960 SC SLI
Processor: i7 920 @ 3.8 w/CoolerM V8
Mainboard: x58 Classified w/ Win 10
Memory: 12 gig Dominator @ 1600
Soundcard: Denon 1913 / 5.1
PSU: CoolerMaster SP 1000w
Default Yesterday, 21:35 | posts: 1,261 | Location: Orange County, CA

I don't think it's over saturated with 2020. It's actually a lot better than 709. I've only seen it with shadow of mordor. It adds so much more color than 709. 709 looks dull next to 2020. But I cannot say if games are made to support 2020, I don't know. If I enable any of the tvs hdr setting, I can easily say that looks way over saturated.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
Exascale
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte G1 1070
Processor: i7-6700K
Mainboard: MSI Z170 Carbon
Memory: 32GB Crucial DDR4 in XMP
Soundcard: Grado SR-80i ALC1150
PSU: Seasonic X850 Gold
Default Today, 09:00 | posts: 308

Well a videogame might not be the best way to test. Same with animated stuff since its not reproducing an image of reality.

Im just wondering how it handles source material thats 709 because usually displaying a smaller gamut on a wide gamut configured monitor just adds color saturation because of what its actually doing to the source material.

That being said i cant watch my old TV without enabling xvYCC to "oversaturate" the color since Rec.709 just looks flat and dull compared to real life. Rec.2020 covers most of Pointer's Gamut so i cant wait to see Rec.2020 content that has had an entirely Rec.2020 workflow from camera to screen.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.