budget sound card advise

Discussion in 'Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats' started by W@w@Y, Aug 17, 2015.

1. W@w@Y

W@w@Y Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Strix 4080
    Hi, Im in the market for budget soundcard. Budget is about ±$100 and I've narrowed it down to the following:

1. Asus Xonar DX S$129
    2. Asus Xonar u7 S$149 (may be a bit out of budget range)
    3. Sound Blaster Z S$139
    4. Sound Blaster Recon 3d Pro S$99

I'll be honest. Im no audio expert. I only use an Audio Technica and Grado SR60 headphone and will only use it for gaming and movies.

Which of the 4 is the best option? Or should I just get a cheap Xonar DGX?

2. Blackfyre

Blackfyre Maha Guru

GPU:
    RTX 3090
    I have a Soundblaster Z and I'm very satisfied with it (I also own an Audio Technica AD900X (having already owned an AD700 & AD900 before it).

So I recommend that, but wait until you hear from others who might have used all these different cards I guess.

+1 to Soundblaster Z

3. Monchis

Monchis Guest

GPU:
    GTX 950
    I´d stick to your onboard audio, alc1150 already better than human ear.

4. Darkest

Darkest Guest

GPU:
    3060ti Vision OC V2
    It's already better than the human ear? What are you talking about?

Yet another vague post that ignores feature sets and does little to inform on the subject.

OP: The Z is the best bet out of the lot if you intend to upgrade, especially for mainly headphone use. Your on board isn't that bad however, so whether the cost is worth it to you is a question only you can answer. Read a couple of reviews and check the specifications out, it's really down to what you want from your sound and what features suit you.

Last edited: Aug 17, 2015

5. ---TK---

---TK--- Guest

GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    Maybe your ears are clogged, on board sound sucks with the gear I got. But if your running cheap speakers and headphones it would be hard to tell the difference between onboard and a good soundcard.