Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything GeForce driver related. GeForce ForceWare and GeForce Exerience drivers are for NVIDIA Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#3951)
LethalManBoob
Newbie
 
LethalManBoob's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 AMP Extreme
Processor: i7 6700k 4.0ghz (oc 4.5)
Mainboard: ASUS Ranger VIII
Memory: DDR4 2x8GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster X7 + DT 1770
PSU: AX860
Default 05-27-2017, 21:32 | posts: 21 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaredpace View Post
yea gta5 is using a "hq aa for environment & hq aa for vehicles" from ENB. Then the gta options are set to "4x msaa & 4x reflection msaa". inspector is set to 4x msaa & 4x sparse grid.

Then I put 4x Factors DSR on for 3840x2160 on 1080p

I have gta set to dx11, there is a difference with the sparse grid option set to on that i can see in the textures.
Im suprised you are getting playable performance with that.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#3952)
Susahamat
Member Guru
 
Susahamat's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus Poseidon GTX 980 Ti
Processor: Intel i7 6700K
Mainboard: Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Memory: TridentZ 3200Mhz 16GBDDR4
Soundcard:
PSU: XTR 750 Watt
Default 05-27-2017, 21:40 | posts: 75 | Location: West Java , ID

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaredpace View Post
What are some good aa flags for gta 5? anybody know? Thanks


currently using these settings:

 Click to show spoiler



pic:

 Click to show spoiler
DSR+TXAA+SMAA is best for me
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3953)
Susahamat
Member Guru
 
Susahamat's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus Poseidon GTX 980 Ti
Processor: Intel i7 6700K
Mainboard: Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Memory: TridentZ 3200Mhz 16GBDDR4
Soundcard:
PSU: XTR 750 Watt
Default 05-27-2017, 21:44 | posts: 75 | Location: West Java , ID

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBonk View Post
edit: After testing 12C1 is all that is needed for good 4-8xSGSSAA.
12C5 will get you a sharper result but with 8xSGSSAA 12C5 will leave you with more aliasing than 4x, but much sharper.
tested C1 and C5 , on my system C5 gives more FPS than C1. AA Fix still stutter on both . i'll stick C5 with AA fix OFF
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3954)
LethalManBoob
Newbie
 
LethalManBoob's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 AMP Extreme
Processor: i7 6700k 4.0ghz (oc 4.5)
Mainboard: ASUS Ranger VIII
Memory: DDR4 2x8GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster X7 + DT 1770
PSU: AX860
Default 05-27-2017, 23:06 | posts: 21 | Location: UK

redundant comment that i dont know how to delete is removed

Last edited by LethalManBoob; Yesterday at 02:45.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#3955)
MrBonk
Maha Guru
 
MrBonk's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 980 STRIX
Processor: Intel Core i7 950 @4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage II GENE
Memory: G-SKILL 12GB @1600Mhz
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair 750TX V1
Default Yesterday, 00:48 | posts: 2,650 | Location: Oregon

Quote:
Originally Posted by LethalManBoob View Post
I would just love to know if theres a fix for the texture blurring when ising trssaa in oldet opengl titles on modern drivers

Oh btw.

Vanquish's edge aa 8x goes really nicely with nvidia driver fxaa.. as well as you can expect to get out of ancient aa anyway.
The blur really isn't that bad most of the time IMO, you can always just do negative LOD bias and sharpen the image if that's such an issue. Depending on the game, it just looks a lot blurrier due to the fact the aliasing is so incredibly harsh in the game and just a tad bit of oversmoothing of high frequency information. (Especially Doom 3 with mods)

You can also use a small amount of DSR with a low smoothness value (10% or so). Or just regular Driver Downsampling with custom resolutions. Which will make the image sharper and emphasize more aliasing depending on the game.

Also, again it's likely your monitor has a sharpness slider. You can always use that.

Last edited by MrBonk; Yesterday at 00:54.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3956)
LethalManBoob
Newbie
 
LethalManBoob's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 AMP Extreme
Processor: i7 6700k 4.0ghz (oc 4.5)
Mainboard: ASUS Ranger VIII
Memory: DDR4 2x8GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster X7 + DT 1770
PSU: AX860
Default Yesterday, 02:51 | posts: 21 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBonk View Post
The blur really isn't that bad most of the time IMO, you can always just do negative LOD bias and sharpen the image if that's such an issue. Depending on the game, it just looks a lot blurrier due to the fact the aliasing is so incredibly harsh in the game and just a tad bit of oversmoothing of high frequency information. (Especially Doom 3 with mods)

You can also use a small amount of DSR with a low smoothness value (10% or so). Or just regular Driver Downsampling with custom resolutions. Which will make the image sharper and emphasize more aliasing depending on the game.

Also, again it's likely your monitor has a sharpness slider. You can always use that.
No its a whole other level. See here.

Looking at floor from top


Looking at floor from an angle

Last edited by LethalManBoob; Yesterday at 03:18.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3957)
jaredpace
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 4890 975/1150
Processor: e0 e8400 4g
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 650w
Default Yesterday, 04:04 | posts: 75

Quote:
Originally Posted by Susahamat View Post
DSR+TXAA+SMAA is best for me



thank you. Try adding the ENB ssaa & the sgssaa along with those
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3958)
MrBonk
Maha Guru
 
MrBonk's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 980 STRIX
Processor: Intel Core i7 950 @4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage II GENE
Memory: G-SKILL 12GB @1600Mhz
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair 750TX V1
Default Yesterday, 06:03 | posts: 2,650 | Location: Oregon

That looks like a bug TBH. I recall some people saying there was a certain driver version which caused something like that with OGL TrSSAA. Wish I could remember where though.

Try a driver from 6 months ago perhaps and see if it still persists.
If it doesn't, then work your way up until it's broken.


If you don't want to do that. Then just use MSAA for the time being or use DSR if the UI scales properly.

Last edited by MrBonk; Yesterday at 06:06.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3959)
LethalManBoob
Newbie
 
LethalManBoob's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 AMP Extreme
Processor: i7 6700k 4.0ghz (oc 4.5)
Mainboard: ASUS Ranger VIII
Memory: DDR4 2x8GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster X7 + DT 1770
PSU: AX860
Default Yesterday, 15:15 | posts: 21 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrBonk View Post
That looks like a bug TBH. I recall some people saying there was a certain driver version which caused something like that with OGL TrSSAA. Wish I could remember where though.

Try a driver from 6 months ago perhaps and see if it still persists.
If it doesn't, then work your way up until it's broken.


If you don't want to do that. Then just use MSAA for the time being or use DSR if the UI scales properly.
Thankfully 4xogssaa+4xmsaa works just as well for me. I guess im sticking with it. Just suprised no one ever reported it to nvidia.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3960)
Guzz
Member Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 970
Processor: 2550K@4.8GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-V Pro/Gen3
Memory: 8GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar DG
PSU: 850W
Default Yesterday, 16:49 | posts: 105

Quote:
Originally Posted by LethalManBoob View Post
Thankfully 4xogssaa+4xmsaa works just as well for me. I guess im sticking with it. Just suprised no one ever reported it to nvidia.
I sent bug report a long time ago (SGSSAA not working properly), but SGSSAA still doesn't work properly in OpenGL on current driver - 382.33.
373.06 is the latest driver version with proper SGSSAA in OpenGL.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3961)
LethalManBoob
Newbie
 
LethalManBoob's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 AMP Extreme
Processor: i7 6700k 4.0ghz (oc 4.5)
Mainboard: ASUS Ranger VIII
Memory: DDR4 2x8GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster X7 + DT 1770
PSU: AX860
Default Yesterday, 18:03 | posts: 21 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guzz View Post
I sent bug report a long time ago (SGSSAA not working properly), but SGSSAA still doesn't work properly in OpenGL on current driver - 382.33.
373.06 is the latest driver version with proper SGSSAA in OpenGL.
Dang. I aint rolling back that far when i got a fine enough workaround.

I think we all need to get together and make nvidia notice this.

Oh also 12D9 with aa fix seems the best all rounder for source games.

I noticed as well that hl2 has a strange white line through its fences when using sgssaa without aa fix.

Last edited by LethalManBoob; Yesterday at 18:13.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3962)
mahanddeem
Master Guru
 
mahanddeem's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX1080 Xtreme G
Processor: 7700K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus IX Hero
Memory: DDR4 3200MHz 16GB
Soundcard: Realtek ALC1220A
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default Yesterday, 19:26 | posts: 571 | Location: USA

Sorry to be a noob here,
Can someone please guide me what to do for good gta v antialiasing on 1080p resolution?
I use 4x msaa and 4x msaa reflections in-game and it is not enough.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3963)
LethalManBoob
Newbie
 
LethalManBoob's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 AMP Extreme
Processor: i7 6700k 4.0ghz (oc 4.5)
Mainboard: ASUS Ranger VIII
Memory: DDR4 2x8GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster X7 + DT 1770
PSU: AX860
Default Yesterday, 19:40 | posts: 21 | Location: UK

reflection aa is a waste imo.
2x msaa + 2x sgssaa + 2x ssaa. Is my best guess but im sure others will give you better solutions. fxaa at 4x ssaa is also really good.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3964)
mahanddeem
Master Guru
 
mahanddeem's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX1080 Xtreme G
Processor: 7700K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus IX Hero
Memory: DDR4 3200MHz 16GB
Soundcard: Realtek ALC1220A
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default Yesterday, 20:21 | posts: 571 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by LethalManBoob View Post
reflection aa is a waste imo.
2x msaa + 2x sgssaa + 2x ssaa. Is my best guess but im sure others will give you better solutions. fxaa at 4x ssaa is also really good.
Thanks
What is sgssaa and ssaa? How to enable them?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3965)
LethalManBoob
Newbie
 
LethalManBoob's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 AMP Extreme
Processor: i7 6700k 4.0ghz (oc 4.5)
Mainboard: ASUS Ranger VIII
Memory: DDR4 2x8GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster X7 + DT 1770
PSU: AX860
Default Yesterday, 21:45 | posts: 21 | Location: UK

Download the latest nvidia inspector https://ci.appveyor.com/project/Orbm...ofileinspector

then you gotta select the game profile e.g grand theft auto 5 from the drop down menu. You can search with typed out text so its easy to find out of the 1000 profiles it has. Then scroll down once the game has been selected and find transparency super sampling. enable 2x sparse grid. click apply and boom.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3966)
mahanddeem
Master Guru
 
mahanddeem's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX1080 Xtreme G
Processor: 7700K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus IX Hero
Memory: DDR4 3200MHz 16GB
Soundcard: Realtek ALC1220A
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default Yesterday, 22:45 | posts: 571 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by LethalManBoob View Post
Download the latest nvidia inspector https://ci.appveyor.com/project/Orbm...ofileinspector

then you gotta select the game profile e.g grand theft auto 5 from the drop down menu. You can search with typed out text so its easy to find out of the 1000 profiles it has. Then scroll down once the game has been selected and find transparency super sampling. enable 2x sparse grid. click apply and boom.
Thanks.
What about 4x sparse? and any other good settings to impove AA in GTA V?
Do I override AA settings? and does MSAA in nvidia inspector work in GTA V?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3967)
LethalManBoob
Newbie
 
LethalManBoob's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 AMP Extreme
Processor: i7 6700k 4.0ghz (oc 4.5)
Mainboard: ASUS Ranger VIII
Memory: DDR4 2x8GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster X7 + DT 1770
PSU: AX860
Default Yesterday, 23:21 | posts: 21 | Location: UK

using more than 2x sparse with any degree of super sampling is frame rate suicide.
4x may not get as much as you want consider in game msaa dosent get alot. but you can try 4xsgssaa with fxaa and see what that gets you.

You cant override or force any anti aliasing on dx10+ games. Just enableing sparse grid is enough.
So yeah.

4xsgsssa+fxaa
2xsgssaa+2ssaa
4xssaa+fxaa
in order from least to most intensive. top to bottom.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3968)
mahanddeem
Master Guru
 
mahanddeem's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX1080 Xtreme G
Processor: 7700K
Mainboard: Asus Maximus IX Hero
Memory: DDR4 3200MHz 16GB
Soundcard: Realtek ALC1220A
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default Yesterday, 23:38 | posts: 571 | Location: USA

OK Thanks.
What is recommended? Anisotropic filtering in nvidia profile or in game? or both?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3969)
Susahamat
Member Guru
 
Susahamat's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus Poseidon GTX 980 Ti
Processor: Intel i7 6700K
Mainboard: Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Memory: TridentZ 3200Mhz 16GBDDR4
Soundcard:
PSU: XTR 750 Watt
Default Today, 00:21 | posts: 75 | Location: West Java , ID

just in nvidia profile , in game set to off
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3970)
LethalManBoob
Newbie
 
LethalManBoob's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 AMP Extreme
Processor: i7 6700k 4.0ghz (oc 4.5)
Mainboard: ASUS Ranger VIII
Memory: DDR4 2x8GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster X7 + DT 1770
PSU: AX860
Default Today, 02:09 | posts: 21 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Susahamat View Post
just in nvidia profile , in game set to off
Ditto to this. always ise nvidia af at 16
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3971)
MrBonk
Maha Guru
 
MrBonk's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 980 STRIX
Processor: Intel Core i7 950 @4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage II GENE
Memory: G-SKILL 12GB @1600Mhz
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair 750TX V1
Default Today, 04:47 | posts: 2,650 | Location: Oregon

I wouldn't bother with SGSSAA in GTA V, the quality is poor. Waste of performance. Use DSR+ One of the in game methods.


Also: Nvidia is slow at fixing bugs, especially ones for undocumented obscure features.
I can't seem to access their old bug report site any more. But it took about a year for them to finally fix the SGSSAA stuttering bug that broke after 347.xx drivers
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.