Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Network questions and troubleshooting
Network questions and troubleshooting Does it work or doesn't it ? Discuss it here.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
BuildeR2
Maha Guru
 
BuildeR2's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080Gaming@2075/11000
Processor: i7 4770k 4.4GHz 1.265v
Mainboard: ASUS Z97-A BIOS 2801
Memory: 2x8GB G.Skill @ 2400Mhz
Soundcard: ALC892
PSU: OCZ FTY750W
Default 05-18-2017, 22:57 | posts: 2,257 | Location: TX

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
This implys the issue is not your end its the servers you connecting too that are limiting you
That could certainly be the issue, or some kind of shaping based on protocol by my ISP. It is still strange to me that downloading a file from MS at 13.7MBps, then starting up a download on Uplay makes them fight over that 13.7MBps. It seems to me like the download would keep its needs separate from other programs and servers, like I'm able to do with Steam now. There is no way that a Windows 10 update file and The Crew's install files are coming from the same server, right?

I've gotten to where Uplay and all other programs fight over 13.7MBps while Steam happily downloads at 50+MBps at the same time. I'm going to keep doing some testing on my end and also keep trying to find a tech at Google who knows what is going on.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 05-18-2017, 23:01 | posts: 17,416 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuildeR2 View Post
That could certainly be the issue, or some kind of shaping based on protocol by my ISP. It is still strange to me that downloading a file from MS at 13.7MBps, then starting up a download on Uplay makes them fight over that 13.7MBps. It seems to me like the download would keep its needs separate from other programs and servers, like I'm able to do with Steam now. There is no way that a Windows 10 update file and The Crew's install files are coming from the same server, right?

I've gotten to where Uplay and all other programs fight over 13.7MBps while Steam happily downloads at 50+MBps at the same time. I'm going to keep doing some testing on my end and also keep trying to find a tech at Google who knows what is going on.

Wondering if this would shed any light on things

http://netalyzr.icsi.berkeley.edu/

Needs Java
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 05-18-2017, 23:06 | posts: 7,281 | Location: USA

ISP packet shaping could be cause, not really sure much can be done about that, maybe using proxys get around that

I pretty sure almost all ISP are in some way doing this among other things,

I seen videos of people with google fiber that have unrestricted d/l speeds showing 200+mbit on psn d/l's while many people complain about there d/l speeds dont come close to actual maxed, I have 200mbit but i only get 25-40mbit wirelessly on ps4 and ironically wired the speeds are even worse and wired on ps3 is like 20mbit if lucky.

I dont think the internet infrastructure is capable of do unfetter download speed for all, well no i take it back i think most of it can is just isp dont cant it to cause if the control the speeds and enforce limite they can dicated the prices for the said speeds much easier.

Last edited by tsunami231; 05-18-2017 at 23:15.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
BuildeR2
Maha Guru
 
BuildeR2's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080Gaming@2075/11000
Processor: i7 4770k 4.4GHz 1.265v
Mainboard: ASUS Z97-A BIOS 2801
Memory: 2x8GB G.Skill @ 2400Mhz
Soundcard: ALC892
PSU: OCZ FTY750W
Default 05-18-2017, 23:26 | posts: 2,257 | Location: TX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Wondering if this would shed any light on things

http://netalyzr.icsi.berkeley.edu/

Needs Java
That looks quite interesting. I'll run it in a bit. Also, regarding your comment above about a torrent, I loaded up the most recent Linux ISO and it was able to sustain an upload speed of about 8MBps with a peak of 9MBps. So not even up to what my browser or Uplay can do thus far.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
ISP packet shaping could be cause, not really sure much can be done about that, maybe using proxys get around that

I pretty sure almost all ISP are in some way doing this among other things,

I seen videos of people with google fiber that have unrestricted d/l speeds showing 200+mbit on psn d/l's while many people complain about there d/l speeds dont come close to actual maxed, I have 200mbit but i only get 25-40mbit wirelessly on ps4 and ironically wired the speeds are even worse and wired on ps3 is like 20mbit if lucky.

I dont think the internet infrastructure is capable of do unfetter download speed for all, well no i take it back i think most of it can is just isp dont cant it to cause if the control the speeds and enforce limite they can dicated the prices for the said speeds much easier.
I have seen something about using a proxy or CheatEngine to make Uplay download faster. The CE method did not work for me, and made it slower. I haven't messed around with proxy stuff yet.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 05-18-2017, 23:54 | posts: 7,281 | Location: USA

I use pull my hair out trying to fiqure out why psn d/l speed suck ass and ways to fix, I gave up and accept the fact PSN sucks and there download speed always will. I only have 200mbit and most ever I download reach those speeds for most part, short of psn downloads.

But I would be pissed if I was paying for 1gbit and not even geting 200mbit on most places, Optimum only has 400/40mbit as max there parent company is supposedly doing FTTP which should do 1gbit, but dont even want to know what they will charge, It would be nice if the say upgrade there 100~200~400mbit tiers to 300~500-1gbit and keep there prices the same but highly doubt that will happen.

Then again reports from there parent company, claim they can do 1gbit per house at $ 26 euro which is like 28$ us, I would kill for internet at those prices and those speeds I think most of us would.

Last edited by tsunami231; 05-18-2017 at 23:57.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
BuildeR2
Maha Guru
 
BuildeR2's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080Gaming@2075/11000
Processor: i7 4770k 4.4GHz 1.265v
Mainboard: ASUS Z97-A BIOS 2801
Memory: 2x8GB G.Skill @ 2400Mhz
Soundcard: ALC892
PSU: OCZ FTY750W
Default 05-19-2017, 00:02 | posts: 2,257 | Location: TX

Don't have a PS3 or 4, but I did notice that downloads take the same amount of time on my X360 and X1 since upgrading from TWC to Google Fiber. I don't play them nearly as often as my PC, which is why I'm trying to fix the PC side first.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
BuildeR2
Maha Guru
 
BuildeR2's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080Gaming@2075/11000
Processor: i7 4770k 4.4GHz 1.265v
Mainboard: ASUS Z97-A BIOS 2801
Memory: 2x8GB G.Skill @ 2400Mhz
Soundcard: ALC892
PSU: OCZ FTY750W
Default 05-19-2017, 03:35 | posts: 2,257 | Location: TX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Wondering if this would shed any light on things

http://netalyzr.icsi.berkeley.edu/

Needs Java
Alright, here we go. Full Netalyzr results and IP test thrown in for good measure.

 Click to show spoiler



Not sure what the yellow things mean or if I can do anything about them. Still having the 120Mbps/13.7MBps issues with everything but Steam and Gigabit FTP server downloads.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 05-19-2017, 08:29 | posts: 17,416 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Looks pretty clear of problems, the DNS one you could probably fix by moving to a non ISP DNS such as Googles or OpenDNS

I have no experience with IPv6 so can't help out there
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
Deckard
Master Guru
 
Deckard's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x MSI AMD R9 290x Light
Processor: AMD FX-9590@4.940ghz
Mainboard: Asus CHV Formula-Z 990FX
Memory: 32GB HyperXBeast @2133
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Zx
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 05-19-2017, 12:27 | posts: 377 | Location: London UK

Im with extraordinary,

When I was using a US dns for netflix US and I went back to Now TV (UK) the streaming was terrible, all because of a DNS connection.

check that you are using either google or OpenDNS

Google DNS 1 : 4.4.4.4
Google DNS 2 : 8.8.8.8

Open DNS 1: 208.67.222.222
Open DNS 2: 208.67.220.220

good luck
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
BuildeR2
Maha Guru
 
BuildeR2's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080Gaming@2075/11000
Processor: i7 4770k 4.4GHz 1.265v
Mainboard: ASUS Z97-A BIOS 2801
Memory: 2x8GB G.Skill @ 2400Mhz
Soundcard: ALC892
PSU: OCZ FTY750W
Default 05-19-2017, 23:01 | posts: 2,257 | Location: TX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Looks pretty clear of problems, the DNS one you could probably fix by moving to a non ISP DNS such as Googles or OpenDNS

I have no experience with IPv6 so can't help out there
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deckard View Post
Im with extraordinary,

When I was using a US dns for netflix US and I went back to Now TV (UK) the streaming was terrible, all because of a DNS connection.

check that you are using either google or OpenDNS

Google DNS 1 : 4.4.4.4
Google DNS 2 : 8.8.8.8

Open DNS 1: 208.67.222.222
Open DNS 2: 208.67.220.220

good luck
Hmm, I didn't think to change something as simple as DNS servers to fix speed issues with certain types of traffic or certain websites. I'll try changing DNS stuff when I get home, but how exactly would I change to Google's DNS servers? I'm using Google Fiber! Haha, maybe they don't use their own DNS servers? I'll have to check that when I get home.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
download, internet, network, speed, upload

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.