nVidia's FXAA mode (anti-aliasing)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by TheHunter, Jul 20, 2011.

  1. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,404
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    nVidia's FXAA and SMAA mode in progress (anti-aliasing)

    NEW improved post process AA - Inject SMAA 1.1 by mrhaandi

    Description

    Adds "Subpixel Morphological Antialiasing" to an application
    Is based on "injectFXAA" (written by "some dude")
    Is supposed to work only with directx 9, directx 10, directx 11, x86 applications
    May be incompatible with any other form of antialiasing

    SMAA is a very efficient GPU-based MLAA implementation, capable of handling subpixel features seamlessly, and featuring an advanced pattern detection & handling mechanism.
    http://www.iryoku.com/smaa/


    Update notes:

    1.1

    *Fix: (d3d9) GTA4 AlphaTest issue
    *Fix: (d3d9) GTA4 DepthStencil issue


    1.0


    *Add: SMAA 1x is our enhaced MLAA implementation



    In the near future:

    NoAA

    Inject FXAA

    Inject SMAA


    Direct download link
    :
    https://docs.google.com/leaf?id=0B-...ZDg1Ny00MmNhLWExOGEtMjJlOGNmYTU0OTM0&hl=en_US



    Big tnx MfA for the info
    ---------------------------------------------------------
    _________________________________________________
    ---------------------------------------------------------



    InjectFXAA 10.7b by somedude

    http://www.mediafire.com/?vxq2f9aai93rtbc

    http://hotfile.com/dl/126721760/6694e76/injectFxaa_by_some_dude_10.7z.html


    FXAA Post Process Injection >>> extra Tone mapping, Bloom, Gradients,..
    http://www.assembla.com/spaces/fxaa-pp-inject/documents

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    How to use

    1.For dx9 game use dx9 files inside dx9 folder, for Dx10/dx11 game then DX10 files inside dx10 folder.

    2. Copy all 4 files to game directory
    2.1 some games use base folder (by game exe), some bin32.. Well it depends on the game.. Check the log to see if its working.

    2.2 To activate it ingame press Pause button (next to scroll lock)

    3. To tweak it to your likings first open shader.fx with wordpad (shader.hlsl by dx10), scroll down and you will see these 3 parameters

    0.65, //fxaaQualitySubpix (default: 0.75)
    0.166, //fxaaQualityEdgeThreshold
    0.0833, //fxaaQualityEdgeThresholdMin


    what does each value do:
    float fxaaQualitySubpix = 0.60; // Default: 0.75 Raise to increase amount of blur (i found the best value between 0.60 - 0.65)
    float fxaaQualityEdgeThreshold = 0.166; // Lower the value for more smoothing (can go to low as 0.113)
    float fxaaQualityEdgeThresholdMin = 0.0633; // Lower the value for more smoothing (can go low as 0.0312)


    fxaaQualityEdgeThresholdMin
    // Trims the algorithm from processing darks.
    // 0.0833 - upper limit (default, the start of visible unfiltered edges)
    // 0.0625 - high quality (faster)
    // 0.0312 - visible limit (slower)

    3.1 its the same in dx10..


    4. Now open sharpen.h with wordpad, its the same in both dx9/dx10.
    4.1 Scroll a little and you will see these 2 parameters

    #define SharpenEdge 0.15
    #define Sharpen_val0 1.5

    // pour le sharpen
    Set values of the sharpening amount

    #define SharpenEdge 0.2 // controls the edge of detection, lower more precise (its ok at ~ 0.12 - 0.15 or more by some, experiment)
    #define Sharpen_val0 1.2 //default, higher value sharper filter (its ok up to ~ 1.4-1.5, by some games even 1.6)


    ________________________________________________

    Background story about FXAA


    http://timothylottes.blogspot.com/2011/03/nvidia-fxaa.html
    Update: 3.11

    http://timothylottes.blogspot.com/2011/07/fxaa-311-released.html
    3.9
    http://timothylottes.blogspot.com/2011/07/nvidia-fxaa-39-released.html
    source code link:
    https://docs.google.com/leaf?id=0B2...MTkwNi00YWVjLWJiMTAtZGNkN2FlMmFmODEx&hl=en_US
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2011
  2. setya5785

    setya5785 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI N560GTX-TI Hawk
    latest forceware already had fxaa, just hidden.
    you can activate fxaa in game profile using 3rd party app such as nvidia inspector
    though i'm not sure which fxaa included.
     
  3. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,404
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    ^
    I know about that (i think its since r275) and its openGL only (and buggy). But this stuff is for all dx9, dx10, dx11 and openGL, although it looks like its still in bandages.



    Well then there is also this:

    SRAA (Subpixel Reconstruction Anti-Aliasing): NVIDIA’s reply to AMD’s MLAA

    http://www.geeks3d.com/20110129/sra...ion-anti-aliasing-nvidias-reply-to-amds-mlaa/


    so now im not 100% which is the real deal, but it might be FXAA since its already "available" in openGL apps.
     
  4. CalinTM

    CalinTM Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,684
    Likes Received:
    18
    GPU:
    MSi GTX980 GAMING 1531mhz
    What this FXAA do ?
     

  5. yosef019

    yosef019 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,185
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 ti
    Hey hunter

    Can you show me how apply fxaa in games?
    And what dx 9 10 11? Is work with fxaa
     
  6. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,404
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    idk yet, there is a source code 64kb fxaa file.


    i had a flash maybe i could somehow inject it into driver but guess its not possible yet..


    its post process AA, what do you think it will do?

    *hint* it will apply aa where its not possible, like GTA4, etc.
     
  7. DirkGently

    DirkGently Guest

    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX 570
  8. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,599
    Likes Received:
    386
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    I hope that they implement it officially in next drivers.

    No. It's post processing filter. You can slap it even on static images. You forgot that it's already partially implemented in the drivers already. I don't know why they say otherwise in that article.

    SRAA however is different story.
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2011
  9. rewt

    rewt Guest

    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Yes
    Crysis 2 uses FXAA (in DX9 & 11 - combined with Cryteks Post MSAA method). It can be toggled on and off using r_PostMSAAEdgeFilterNV 0/1
     
  10. Sajittarius

    Sajittarius Master Guru

    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    76
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX 4090
    the source code is a C file and inside it it says you can call it from a shader.

    I know a while back they had a program d3doverrider(?) that you could use to force a program to use a custom shader... not sure if it works with new drivers or how to make a custom shader that calls this C module though.
     

  11. SirPauly

    SirPauly Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX

    Not exactly! It already can be forced in OpenGL.

    Believe that FXAA will be offered globally and here is the evidence:

    This was first offered from a poster named JackFuste at Rage:


    Then this poster -- Guzz -- offers how to enable the FXAA setting in the Control Panel and offers a screen shot, with the setting and the above data as the description:

    http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=201821&st=260&p=1248230&#entry1248230
     
  12. dchalf10

    dchalf10 Banned

    Messages:
    4,032
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX670 1293/6800
    It makes games look like a blurry mess. Just like MLAA.
     
  13. Sajittarius

    Sajittarius Master Guru

    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    76
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX 4090
    Yea FXAA in Duke Nukem Forever was kinda crappy, i personally think it should be applied on top of supersampling to look decent.
     
  14. erm

    erm Guest

    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 560 1GB
    in F3AR is not so bad, and the performances are not affected much.
     
  15. rewt

    rewt Guest

    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Yes
    Supersampling is already blurry. You want to blur it even more? :bugeye:
     

  16. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,404
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    ^
    yea that's why i don't use TrAA SSAA - to blurry, std. multi sampling is much better, of course it doesn't eliminate all that shimmering but i would pick sharpness over blurriness anytime :nerd:

    imo its bad, i settled with 2xmsaa over FXAA and it looks the same if not better with sharper picture.. as you know 4xmsaa has some weird issues and can slow down to mid 40ish fps..



    also to note this new 3.9 FXAA has sharper filtering technique. So guess they're improving it a bit.
     
  17. isidore

    isidore Guest

    Messages:
    6,276
    Likes Received:
    58
    GPU:
    RTX 2080TI GamingOC
    i hated mlaa, and i think i'll hate this fxaa if it behaves the same..
     
  18. ThEcLiT

    ThEcLiT Master Guru

    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    47
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 460 1gb OC
  19. DarkTerror

    DarkTerror Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 660ti
    :eek3::eek3::eek3::eek3:
     
  20. rewt

    rewt Guest

    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Yes
    With supersampling, every pixel on the screen is an average color of multiple sub-samples, which causes blur.

    Contrast this to multisampling where only the edges of polygons are effectively blurred. Textures remain perfectly sharp.
     

Share This Page