Going Nvidia or AMD

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by DiceAir, Feb 7, 2015.

1. DiceAir

DiceAir Maha Guru

GPU:
    Galax 980 ti HOF
    Hi there.

So I'm not a total noob with PC's but I don't know what to buy. now first off I play at 2560x1440 @ 96Hz. I want to upgrade my graphics cards to something better. So I can go GTX 980 and then another one later or the next AMD graphics cards coming out soon. I know it's to soon to talk cause we don't even know how it performs but maybe someone can enlighten me what to do. Should I rahter wait for the next dual gpu from either amd or nvidia. I was thinking of just getting a single card first and then maybe another later.

Everything else is fine don't need to upgrade again.

2. Sabbath

Sabbath Maha Guru

GPU:
    RTX 2080 Super
  3. DiceAir

DiceAir Maha Guru

GPU:
    Galax 980 ti HOF
  4. LM2014

LM2014 Member Guru

GPU:
    RX 6800XT
    Hi

Wait for R9 300 series

GTX980 is very expensive and not worth the money.

If you not wait grab AMD R9 290x

5. Madhatstand

Madhatstand Active Member

GPU:
    Palit 2070 Super JS
    I would personally wait to see what the price and performance is of the new AMD cards - that's what I'm doing

I'm running SLI 680s which should be very similar in performance to the 2x 280s you have. Going to a single 980 for me isn't worth the costs as I bench very similar to the 980 at the moment anyway! So basically for a lot of money all I would essentially gain is better performance in non-sli games and more VRAM.

The next top of the range AMD card should beat the 980 hands down (if not then WTF have AMD being doing!). So if the price is right then I'll get their top card myself as I don't mind the wait - for you though, if moneys not important and you can't wait then get the 980, if like me you want to get the best bang for your buck then wait to see what AMD come out with - shouldn't be too long now!

6. DiceAir

DiceAir Maha Guru

GPU:
    Galax 980 ti HOF