Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything GeForce driver related. GeForce ForceWare and GeForce Exerience drivers are for NVIDIA Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#101)
Dragondale13
Maha Guru
 
Dragondale13's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 AMP! H75
Processor: 3930k @ 4.5Ghz H100i V2
Mainboard: GBE X79-UD3 F21E Mod2
Memory: G.Skill 16Gb DDR3 2400Mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi Ti.Champ Z-5300
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 06-30-2017, 15:21 | posts: 1,006 | Location: ...........In a corrupt country

Quote:
Originally Posted by user1 View Post
i dont think its the same person, The dx 12 backend that was merged in 2016 originated in this thread

https://forums.dolphin-emu.org/Threa...ackend?page=23

which was started much later than the article you linked.
Okay my bad.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#102)
Hughes
Newbie
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX 1060 6GB
Processor: Intel i5 4570
Mainboard: MSI B85-G43 GAMING
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA 600B
Question 06-30-2017, 15:39 | posts: 6

I updated today and when I joined the GPU-Z I saw this:



139.00 Mhz is a driver bug?

Is it any problem to run like this?

In idleness it always stood at 202.5 Mhz.

Sorry for bad english.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#103)
valentyn0
Member Guru
 
valentyn0's Avatar
 
Videocard: GB GTX 770 WF3X
Processor: i5 3570k@4Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: Kingston HyperXBeast 16GB
Soundcard: Creative SB Z&Logi Z-2300
PSU: Seasonic X-750 Gold
Default 06-30-2017, 15:46 | posts: 84 | Location: Alpha Centauri

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hughes View Post
I updated today and when I joined the GPU-Z I saw this:



139.00 Mhz is a driver bug?

Is it any problem to run like this?

In idleness it always stood at 202.5 Mhz.

Sorry for bad english.
No it's not a driver bug.

If you checked the previous posts you would have figured it out
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#104)
dmod
Newbie
 
dmod's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 965
Mainboard: Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe
Memory: 6GB OCZ DDR2-800
Soundcard: Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: Zalman ZM600-HP
Default 06-30-2017, 15:50 | posts: 8 | Location: Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by EdKiefer View Post
In MSI AB, hit the "I" button and look for Active 3d processes.
Thanks.
Think I had never seen it before because it requires RTSS to be running.

When DOOM is running:
Code:
Active 3D process    : DOOMx64.exe or DOOMx64vk.exe
After closing DOOM and clocks stuck:
Code:
Active 3D process    : not detected

Last edited by dmod; 06-30-2017 at 16:04.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#105)
klepp0906
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX Titan SC x4
Processor: Intel i7 4790k @ 4800
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z87 OC-Force
Memory: 32gb Corsair Dom-Platinum
Soundcard: Realtek/Klipsch ProMedia
PSU: EVGA NEX1500 SuperNova x2
Default 06-30-2017, 15:52 | posts: 91 | Location: Detroit

completely breaks SLI+surround.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#106)
Alessio1989
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Two different furnaces
Processor: It's getting old...
Mainboard: A voltage leaker...
Memory: Heap corruption
Soundcard: It's over 109db!!!!
PSU: Finally, a quite engine
Default 06-30-2017, 15:54 | posts: 700 | Location: Good-food-land

Do not trust too much the driver about resource binding tier... Tier 2 has several binding limitations (14 only CBV per shader stage, 64 UAV slots on all stages, and no "un-popoulated" root signature slots) which were all established for valid reasons (especially the first and the latter limitations, maybe the UAV slots limit could be bypassed by the driver). Even if with current games such limitations aren't a big deal, they are strictly related to NV hardware.
That's not the first time a driver tells a wrong cap-bit value.
Good for Fermi if they finally decided to public a working DX12 driver..

Last edited by Alessio1989; 06-30-2017 at 16:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#107)
Yxskaft
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX Titan Sli
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard:
Memory: 32GB DDR3
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: 650w
Default 06-30-2017, 16:05 | posts: 1,033

Is there any way to check yet the status for Shader Model 6 features yet? I'd really like news about SM 6.0 support on Kepler and 6.1 for Paxwell
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#108)
Alessio1989
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Two different furnaces
Processor: It's getting old...
Mainboard: A voltage leaker...
Memory: Heap corruption
Soundcard: It's over 109db!!!!
PSU: Finally, a quite engine
Default 06-30-2017, 16:08 | posts: 700 | Location: Good-food-land

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yxskaft View Post
Is there any way to check yet the status for Shader Model 6 features yet? I'd really like news about SM 6.0 support on Kepler and 6.1 for Paxwell
SM 6.0 requires experimental mode to be enabled (which is not available for the common user), SM 6.1 is not available yet (and I am not sure NV supports barycentric semantic).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#109)
kx11
Maha Guru
 
kx11's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan Xp
Processor: i7 6900k
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage V 10th ed.
Memory: G.skill Trident Z RGB
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA 1000 g2
Default 06-30-2017, 16:08 | posts: 2,334 | Location: Qatar

well Watch dogs2 crashes at start up with this driver
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#110)
Solfaur
Ancient Guru
 
Solfaur's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X
Processor: i7 5820K + Corsair H115i
Mainboard: ASUS RAMPAGE V EXTREME
Memory: HyperX Predator 16GB 3000
Soundcard: ROG SupremeFX + Z-5500
PSU: Corsair RM1000i
Default 06-30-2017, 16:09 | posts: 6,332 | Location: Romania

Oh look another garbage 38x.xx driver! Yay!

Every driver after 378.92 causes BSOD when watching videos via browser with my 1080Ti... looks like I will give this one a miss, since even IF it fixed my issue, it brought others with it. And I just bought Watch Dogs 2...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#111)
Carfax
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: NVidia Titan Xp
Processor: Intel 6900K @ 4.3ghz
Mainboard: Asus x99A II
Memory: TridentZ 32GB 3400 CL15
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Zx
PSU: Antec HCP 1200w
Default 06-30-2017, 16:13 | posts: 1,778 | Location: U.S

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alessio1989 View Post
Do not trust too much the driver about resource binding tier... Tier 2 has several binding limitations (14 only CBV per shader stage, 64 UAV slots on all stages, and no "un-popoulated" root signature slots) which were all established for valid reasons (especially the first and the latter limitations, maybe the UAV slots limit could be bypassed by the driver). Even if with current games such limitations aren't a big deal, they are strictly related to NV hardware.
That's not the first time a driver tells a wrong cap-bit value.
Good for Fermi if they finally decided to public a working DX12 driver..
Has NVidia ever publically disclosed that Maxwell and Pascal are not fully bindless?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#112)
Carfax
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: NVidia Titan Xp
Processor: Intel 6900K @ 4.3ghz
Mainboard: Asus x99A II
Memory: TridentZ 32GB 3400 CL15
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Zx
PSU: Antec HCP 1200w
Default 06-30-2017, 16:14 | posts: 1,778 | Location: U.S

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solfaur View Post
Oh look another garbage 38x.xx driver! Yay!

Every driver after 378.92 causes BSOD when watching videos via browser with my 1080Ti..
Are you using Chrome? Chrome's hardware acceleration seems to have a problem with NVidia's drivers, or vice versa.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#113)
Solfaur
Ancient Guru
 
Solfaur's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X
Processor: i7 5820K + Corsair H115i
Mainboard: ASUS RAMPAGE V EXTREME
Memory: HyperX Predator 16GB 3000
Soundcard: ROG SupremeFX + Z-5500
PSU: Corsair RM1000i
Default 06-30-2017, 16:20 | posts: 6,332 | Location: Romania

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carfax View Post
Are you using Chrome? Chrome's hardware acceleration seems to have a problem with NVidia's drivers, or vice versa.
Yeah, I disabled it yesterday and so far, so good. At first the BSODs were maybe 1-2/week, but with the last driver (the one before this) it went insane, pretty much at least 1 BSOD/day...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#114)
Carfax
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: NVidia Titan Xp
Processor: Intel 6900K @ 4.3ghz
Mainboard: Asus x99A II
Memory: TridentZ 32GB 3400 CL15
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Zx
PSU: Antec HCP 1200w
Default 06-30-2017, 16:23 | posts: 1,778 | Location: U.S

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solfaur View Post
Yeah, I disabled it yesterday and so far, so good. At first the BSODs were maybe 1-2/week, but with the last driver (the one before this) it went insane, pretty much at least 1 BSOD/day...
Someone on another forum I frequent had this problem. He fixed it by doing a clean install. It's possible some files might be corrupt on your windows install.

At any rate, Chrome's hardware acceleration is mediocre compared to Microsoft Edge. Edge has the best hardware acceleration of any browser by a long shot.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#115)
Solfaur
Ancient Guru
 
Solfaur's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X
Processor: i7 5820K + Corsair H115i
Mainboard: ASUS RAMPAGE V EXTREME
Memory: HyperX Predator 16GB 3000
Soundcard: ROG SupremeFX + Z-5500
PSU: Corsair RM1000i
Default 06-30-2017, 16:28 | posts: 6,332 | Location: Romania

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carfax View Post
Someone on another forum I frequent had this problem. He fixed it by doing a clean install. It's possible some files might be corrupt on your windows install.

At any rate, Chrome's hardware acceleration is mediocre compared to Microsoft Edge. Edge has the best hardware acceleration of any browser by a long shot.
It's 99% driver related, if I roll back to 378.92 I'll have no BSODs even with Hardware Acceleration enabled.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#116)
Carfax
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: NVidia Titan Xp
Processor: Intel 6900K @ 4.3ghz
Mainboard: Asus x99A II
Memory: TridentZ 32GB 3400 CL15
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Zx
PSU: Antec HCP 1200w
Default 06-30-2017, 16:34 | posts: 1,778 | Location: U.S

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solfaur View Post
It's 99% driver related, if I roll back to 378.92 I'll have no BSODs even with Hardware Acceleration enabled.
Does this problem occur with Edge or other browsers? Although Edge is my primary browser, I use Chrome from time to time, and I've never had a problem with it regardless of driver set.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#117)
holystarlight
Master Guru
 
holystarlight's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus 1080 Strix SLI
Processor: Intel 6950x 4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme 10
Memory: G.Skill 32gb 3200mhz
Soundcard: Chord Dave DAC / WA22
PSU: Corsair AX1500i
Default 06-30-2017, 16:35 | posts: 714 | Location: England

Quote:
Originally Posted by EdKiefer View Post
It should be fixed with last WU, released few days ago.
im still getting the issue with the WU recently sad times
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#118)
Solfaur
Ancient Guru
 
Solfaur's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1080 Ti GAMING X
Processor: i7 5820K + Corsair H115i
Mainboard: ASUS RAMPAGE V EXTREME
Memory: HyperX Predator 16GB 3000
Soundcard: ROG SupremeFX + Z-5500
PSU: Corsair RM1000i
Default 06-30-2017, 16:38 | posts: 6,332 | Location: Romania

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carfax View Post
Does this problem occur with Edge or other browsers? Although Edge is my primary browser, I use Chrome from time to time, and I've never had a problem with it regardless of driver set.
I'm pretty sure it happens with any browser while having hardware acceleration on. I had reports of this same issue from a guy using Edge. Also, it's always with a 1080Ti.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#119)
Alessio1989
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Two different furnaces
Processor: It's getting old...
Mainboard: A voltage leaker...
Memory: Heap corruption
Soundcard: It's over 109db!!!!
PSU: Finally, a quite engine
Default 06-30-2017, 16:52 | posts: 700 | Location: Good-food-land

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carfax View Post
Has NVidia ever publically disclosed that Maxwell and Pascal are not fully bindless?
NVIDIA never publicly disclose explicitly it's hardware architecture details and implementation, however some APIs capabilities and support can be read directly from CUDA virtual machine implementations.
All NVIDIA GPUs have a special cache buffer, where the driver puts the constant buffers (CBV, "constant buffer view" in DirectX jargon). NVIDIA constant buffer hardware is about 64-KB. Since under DirectX a CB is always limited to 4096-bytes (4-KB), the constant buffer limit under NV archtiecture is still 16 (precisely, 14 available to the programmer, 2 reserved for internal usage).

Just this made all current NV hardware a "tier 2" on resource binding tiers. Please note this is not a huge deal for current and upcoming games.

http://docs.nvidia.com/cuda/cuda-c-p...specifications

Last edited by Alessio1989; 06-30-2017 at 17:02.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#120)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX980Ti Amp!Omega
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe 2103
Memory: Gskill TridX 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD @Bose A5
PSU: Nitro88+ 650W 52A
Default 06-30-2017, 17:00 | posts: 13,795 | Location: Proxima \/82

Just checked my idle clocks now with 382.53 and its 135MHz, its always been like that here..

Installing these now.


EDIT: still 135MHz with this release.

Last edited by -Tj-; 06-30-2017 at 17:12.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#121)
Plug2k
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: 2x Gigabyte Fe 1080TI +WB
Processor: i7 4790k @4.8ghz [Delid]
Mainboard: Gigabyte-z97soc Force
Memory: 2x Averix 2133 CL9 8GB 16
Soundcard: ZXR + Astro A50s + Sen650
PSU: 8Pack SuperFlower 2000w
Default 06-30-2017, 18:23 | posts: 1,465 | Location: Uk

well guys i think the lower idle clocks is a placebo or some effect of the driver install.....

i dont know if it was due to rebooting system or installing the latest insider build over my previous but my idle clocks are back to normal again on my 1080ti`s 240//202 instead of 139/202 like before lol
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#122)
RealNC
Maha Guru
 
RealNC's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI P67A-C43
Memory: DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1, JBL Spot
PSU: Corsair HX650
Default 06-30-2017, 18:25 | posts: 1,096

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
Just checked my idle clocks now with 382.53 and its 135MHz, its always been like that here..

Installing these now.


EDIT: still 135MHz with this release.
Maxwell could always do that. Factory OCed Pascal cards were not reaching 135. Now they do.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#123)
bigfutus
Master Guru
 
bigfutus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1080 Ti
Processor: i7 6700K@4.9GHz
Mainboard: Asus Z-170 A
Memory: Kingston 2666MHz 16GB
Soundcard: yes
PSU: EVGA 750 G2
Default 06-30-2017, 19:40 | posts: 408 | Location: Slovakia

Quote:
Originally Posted by aufkrawall2 View Post
Have you set maximum performance setting globally?
No, i leave it at optimal power.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#124)
PQED
Newbie
 
PQED's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980Ti SC+ 6GB
Processor: Core i7-3770K
Mainboard: Gigabyte G1.Sniper 3
Memory: 16GB Team Elite 2133MHz
Soundcard: Creative Recon3Di
PSU: Corsair RM650
Default 06-30-2017, 19:42 | posts: 8

Still having driver crashes in both FF 55b5 and Phase Shift (rhythm game) with these.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#125)
SabotageX
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1
Processor: Intel Core i5 4570
Mainboard: Gigabyte B85M-D3PH
Memory: G.Skill DDR3 16gb
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair RM850X 850W
Default 06-30-2017, 20:13 | posts: 59

Quote:
Originally Posted by kx11 View Post
well Watch dogs2 crashes at start up with this driver
This is a known issue.

https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...75889/#5175889
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.