Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything GeForce driver related. GeForce ForceWare and GeForce Exerience drivers are for NVIDIA Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#76)
PurSpyk!!
Master Guru
 
PurSpyk!!'s Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX Titan X Sli,VN247H
Processor: Core i7 990x @ 4.52Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P6T - Deluxe
Memory: 24GB Corsair XMS 1600
Soundcard: X-Fi connected to Digital
PSU: Corsair HX 850W
Default 06-30-2017, 09:59 | posts: 568 | Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Does the drop in idle clocks only affect the newer cards?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#77)
T_R_V
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Asus GTX970 DirectCU Mini
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500k
Mainboard: Gigabyte PH67A-UD3-B3
Memory: Mushkin 8GB DDR3
Soundcard: Realtek HD + Logitech 5.1
PSU: 600W
Default 06-30-2017, 09:59 | posts: 72

I'm having issues with this driver. It crashed four times already since yesterday (2xgame, 1xFirefox, 1xdesktop_idle) and it also keeps core/memory clocks and vddc after leaving a Direct3D application like a game.

Did a clean install with DDU just to be sure.

Back to .53 for now.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#78)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 5960K
Mainboard: X99
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 06-30-2017, 10:01 | posts: 29,273 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Has anyone else experienced a system (RAM) memory drain ? I have seen two occasions where this happened. Quite random hence I am trying to determine if this is a result of the new driver.


Follow Guru3D on twitter - facebook and Youtube.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#79)
Rathbone
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070
Processor: i7 6700k
Mainboard: MSI Z170A Gaming M3
Memory: 16 GB Crucial Ballistix
Soundcard: GF HDMI Audio
PSU: Cougar GX-S 80 Plus Gold
Default 06-30-2017, 10:15 | posts: 96 | Location: Germany

I am stuck in the system check during install. It's running forever. Anybody had this issue before?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#80)
dr_rus
Maha Guru
 
dr_rus's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 GRP
Processor: i7-6850K
Mainboard: Sabertooth X99
Memory: 64 GB DDR4
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Ti
PSU: CM V1200 Platinum
Default 06-30-2017, 10:21 | posts: 1,709

Quote:
Originally Posted by user1 View Post
To my shock and disbelief dx12 is enabled for fermi on this driver and is fully functional, Kinda bizarre they didn't list it in the changelog.






The potato lives to fight another day!
Cool! So much for Fermi competing with GTX680 in DX12 because reasons theory though as your result is about 50% slower than that of GT640 (GK107).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#81)
Yxskaft
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX Titan Sli
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard:
Memory: 32GB DDR3
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: 650w
Default 06-30-2017, 10:23 | posts: 1,033

I just feel it's a relief that Nvidia finally did deliver on their statement about DX12 support for Fermi. At this point of time they could just have let it die but now they've gotten a little goodwill back and more credibility regarding future hardware support.


I'm curious to see if Dolphin benefits from DX12 on Fermi.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#82)
user1
Master Guru
 
user1's Avatar
 
Videocard: hd 6870
Processor: intel xeon e5450 @3.6ghz
Mainboard: ip35-e
Memory: PC2-6400 DDR2 6GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 550w
Default 06-30-2017, 10:31 | posts: 410

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yxskaft View Post
I just feel it's a relief that Nvidia finally did deliver on their statement about DX12 support for Fermi. At this point of time they could just have let it die but now they've gotten a little goodwill back and more credibility regarding future hardware support.


I'm curious to see if Dolphin benefits from DX12 on Fermi.
unfortunately the dx12 renderer has been removed from dolphin, since the developer disappeared and no one wanted to pick it up, could test an old build i suppose
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#83)
bigfutus
Master Guru
 
bigfutus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1080 Ti
Processor: i7 6700K@4.9GHz
Mainboard: Asus Z-170 A
Memory: Kingston 2666MHz 16GB
Soundcard: yes
PSU: EVGA 750 G2
Default 06-30-2017, 11:02 | posts: 408 | Location: Slovakia

I lost 12 MHz, this is unacceptable!!!!
http://www.3dmark.com/compare/fs/122...39/fs/13003474
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#84)
RealNC
Maha Guru
 
RealNC's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI P67A-C43
Memory: DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1, JBL Spot
PSU: Corsair HX650
Default 06-30-2017, 11:10 | posts: 1,096

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigfutus View Post
I lost 12 MHz, this is unacceptable!!!!
http://www.3dmark.com/compare/fs/122...39/fs/13003474
Oh no.

/s
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#85)
EdKiefer
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i5-3570k@4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V pro
Memory: 16Gb-DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair XT650
Default 06-30-2017, 11:44 | posts: 1,336

Quote:
Originally Posted by T_R_V View Post
I'm having issues with this driver. It crashed four times already since yesterday (2xgame, 1xFirefox, 1xdesktop_idle) and it also keeps core/memory clocks and vddc after leaving a Direct3D application like a game.

Did a clean install with DDU just to be sure.

Back to .53 for now.
I don't seem to have any issue with Vcore and clocks with MSI 970 from 3d mode back to idle (135mhz/0.843v).

As far as browser, I have HW acceleration off in Palmoon.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#86)
ilidaan
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 970 SLI
Processor: Intel i7 980x
Mainboard: Asus Rampage III Extreme
Memory: Corsair Dominator 1866 c9
Soundcard: Xonar D2X
PSU: Corsair HX850i
Default 06-30-2017, 12:07 | posts: 8 | Location: Slovenia

Is this problem fixed??

Monitor Wont Sleep Windows 10 Creators Update

https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...eators-update/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#87)
EdKiefer
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i5-3570k@4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V pro
Memory: 16Gb-DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair XT650
Default 06-30-2017, 12:41 | posts: 1,336

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilidaan View Post
Is this problem fixed??

Monitor Wont Sleep Windows 10 Creators Update

https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...eators-update/
It should be fixed with last WU, released few days ago.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#88)
dmod
Newbie
 
dmod's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 965
Mainboard: Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe
Memory: 6GB OCZ DDR2-800
Soundcard: Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: Zalman ZM600-HP
Default 06-30-2017, 12:42 | posts: 8 | Location: Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by T_R_V View Post
[...]and it also keeps core/memory clocks and vddc after leaving a Direct3D application like a game.

Did a clean install with DDU just to be sure.[...]
Having the same issue. After reboot GPU idles at 139 MHz, VRAM at 405 MHz and GPU Temp at ~30C. With previous drivers it was 215 MHz and 350? MHz (IIRC). Now upon quitting a game GPU is stuck at 1367 MHz, VRAM at 3504 MHz and a as a result ~40C.
This is the first driver to cause this in my case.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#89)
EdKiefer
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i5-3570k@4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V pro
Memory: 16Gb-DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair XT650
Default 06-30-2017, 12:44 | posts: 1,336

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmod View Post
Having the same issue. After reboot GPU idles at 139 MHz, VRAM at 405 MHz and GPU Temp at ~30C. With previous drivers it was 215 MHz and 350? MHz (IIRC). Now upon quitting a game GPU is stuck at 1367 MHz, VRAM at 3504 MHz and a as a result ~40C.
This is the first driver to cause this in my case.
Does that happen with any 3d application?

Like GPU-Z, Heven, Valley

On my GTX 970 it idles at same 135mhz with Vram at 324mhz, same as last driver.

Last edited by EdKiefer; 06-30-2017 at 12:47.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#90)
dr_rus
Maha Guru
 
dr_rus's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 GRP
Processor: i7-6850K
Mainboard: Sabertooth X99
Memory: 64 GB DDR4
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Ti
PSU: CM V1200 Platinum
Default 06-30-2017, 12:46 | posts: 1,709

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmod View Post
Having the same issue. After reboot GPU idles at 139 MHz, VRAM at 405 MHz and GPU Temp at ~30C. With previous drivers it was 215 MHz and 350? MHz (IIRC). Now upon quitting a game GPU is stuck at 1367 MHz, VRAM at 3504 MHz and a as a result ~40C.
This is the first driver to cause this in my case.
What game and can you check if any other 3D process is active after quitting? You can use either NV CPL or MSI AB for this.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#91)
bigfutus
Master Guru
 
bigfutus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1080 Ti
Processor: i7 6700K@4.9GHz
Mainboard: Asus Z-170 A
Memory: Kingston 2666MHz 16GB
Soundcard: yes
PSU: EVGA 750 G2
Default 06-30-2017, 12:52 | posts: 408 | Location: Slovakia

I noticed too that the idle clock stays at 1544 MHz, so after a restart i re run Fire Strike, result shoved the usual 1936 MHz, then i ran it again, this time it showed 1924 MHz and the idle clock stays at 1544 MHz. I sense a hotfix comming soon.

http://www.3dmark.com/compare/fs/130...41/fs/13004270
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#92)
Dragondale13
Maha Guru
 
Dragondale13's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 AMP! H75
Processor: 3930k @ 4.5Ghz H100i V2
Mainboard: GBE X79-UD3 F21E Mod2
Memory: G.Skill 16Gb DDR3 2400Mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi Ti.Champ Z-5300
PSU: Corsair HX850
Default 06-30-2017, 13:12 | posts: 1,006 | Location: ...........In a corrupt country

Quote:
Originally Posted by user1 View Post
unfortunately the dx12 renderer has been removed from dolphin, since the developer disappeared and no one wanted to pick it up, could test an old build i suppose
The developer committed suicide.

https://www.destructoid.com/transgen...3-291041.phtml
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#93)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX980Ti Amp!Omega
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe 2103
Memory: Gskill TridX 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD @Bose A5
PSU: Nitro88+ 650W 52A
Default 06-30-2017, 14:01 | posts: 13,795 | Location: Proxima \/82

I always had 139mhz.. dunno.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#94)
aufkrawall2
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Processor: 2500k@4.6Ghz
Mainboard: P67
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 860W Platinum
Default 06-30-2017, 14:14 | posts: 383

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigfutus View Post
I noticed too that the idle clock stays at 1544 MHz, so after a restart i re run Fire Strike, result shoved the usual 1936 MHz, then i ran it again, this time it showed 1924 MHz and the idle clock stays at 1544 MHz. I sense a hotfix comming soon.

http://www.3dmark.com/compare/fs/130...41/fs/13004270
Have you set maximum performance setting globally?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#95)
EdKiefer
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i5-3570k@4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V pro
Memory: 16Gb-DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair XT650
Default 06-30-2017, 14:24 | posts: 1,336

That might be it, first thing I do is set global power management from optimal to adaptive.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#96)
user1
Master Guru
 
user1's Avatar
 
Videocard: hd 6870
Processor: intel xeon e5450 @3.6ghz
Mainboard: ip35-e
Memory: PC2-6400 DDR2 6GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 550w
Default 06-30-2017, 14:41 | posts: 410

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragondale13 View Post
i dont think its the same person, The dx 12 backend that was merged in 2016 originated in this thread

https://forums.dolphin-emu.org/Threa...ackend?page=23

which was started much later than the article you linked.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#97)
dmod
Newbie
 
dmod's Avatar
 
Videocard: Palit GeForce GTX 1050 Ti
Processor: AMD Phenom II X4 965
Mainboard: Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe
Memory: 6GB OCZ DDR2-800
Soundcard: Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: Zalman ZM600-HP
Default 06-30-2017, 14:49 | posts: 8 | Location: Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_rus View Post
What game and can you check if any other 3D process is active after quitting? You can use either NV CPL or MSI AB for this.
Hmm, looks like it really is game dependent.
I ran:
-Witcher 3 (Fullscreen)
-Dota 2 (Vulkan Borderless Windowed)
-The Vanashing of Ethan Carter Redux (Borderless Windowed)
-3DMark API Overhead Test
-3DMark Time Spy Graphics Test 1 & 2
None of the above triggered the bug.

Running DOOM though, reliably causes the bug to occur. Tested both Vulkan and OpenGL in Fullscreen each after a reboot.
Steam Overlay, Nvidia Share and Windows Game Bar were disabled for testing purposes. Only programs running in background besides usual driver stuff and system services were GPU-Z 2.1.0 and Task Manager.

Also all Nvidia Control Panel settings, including Power management mode on Optimal power, are left at default. Only exception is Video Color Settings - Advanced - Dynamic range, being set to Full.


Still curious though, how exactly do you check for 3D processes in NV Control panel or Afterburner? Only thing I found was FPS / Framerate Monitoring in Afterburner, which when reporting nothing would indicate no running 3D processes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#98)
EdKiefer
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i5-3570k@4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V pro
Memory: 16Gb-DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair XT650
Default 06-30-2017, 14:55 | posts: 1,336

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmod View Post
Hmm, looks like it really is game dependent.
I ran:
-Witcher 3 (Fullscreen)
-Dota 2 (Vulkan Borderless Windowed)
-The Vanashing of Ethan Carter Redux (Borderless Windowed)
-3DMark API Overhead Test
-3DMark Time Spy Graphics Test 1 & 2
None of the above triggered the bug.

Running DOOM though, reliably causes the bug to occur. Tested both Vulkan and OpenGL in Fullscreen each after a reboot.
Steam Overlay, Nvidia Share and Windows Game Bar were disabled for testing purposes. Only programs running in background besides usual driver stuff and system services were GPU-Z 2.1.0 and Task Manager.

Also all Nvidia Control Panel settings, including Power management mode on Optimal power, are left at default. Only exception is Video Color Settings - Advanced - Dynamic range, being set to Full.


Still curious though, how exactly do you check for 3D processes in NV Control panel or Afterburner? Only thing I found was FPS / Framerate Monitoring in Afterburner, which when reporting nothing would indicate no running 3D processes.
In MSI AB, hit the "I" button and look for Active 3d processes.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#99)
Carfax
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: NVidia Titan Xp
Processor: Intel 6900K @ 4.3ghz
Mainboard: Asus x99A II
Memory: TridentZ 32GB 3400 CL15
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Zx
PSU: Antec HCP 1200w
Default 06-30-2017, 15:15 | posts: 1,778 | Location: U.S

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
Has anyone else experienced a system (RAM) memory drain ? I have seen two occasions where this happened. Quite random hence I am trying to determine if this is a result of the new driver.
No issues with that here. This driver works perfectly fine for me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#100)
Carfax
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: NVidia Titan Xp
Processor: Intel 6900K @ 4.3ghz
Mainboard: Asus x99A II
Memory: TridentZ 32GB 3400 CL15
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Zx
PSU: Antec HCP 1200w
Default 06-30-2017, 15:19 | posts: 1,778 | Location: U.S

Does anyone with a Kepler GPU want to run the DX12 checker program? I'm curious to see whether there has been any changes.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.