Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything GeForce driver related. GeForce ForceWare and GeForce Exerience drivers are for NVIDIA Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Nvidia 382.53 - Reboot Crash loop on Window 10 Sign On (Laptop Gigabyte Aero 14)
Old
  (#1)
Richginge
Newbie
 
Videocard: Zotac Geforce 280 AMP
Processor: Intel Core I7
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Extreme II x
Memory: 6GB DDR3 1600mhz
Soundcard: X-FI Titanimum Pro
PSU: Tagan 900W
Thumbs down Nvidia 382.53 - Reboot Crash loop on Window 10 Sign On (Laptop Gigabyte Aero 14) - 06-22-2017, 18:59 | posts: 32 | Location: UK

Hi all,

I have had to disable my Nvidia 1060m device on my laptop within safe mode to prevent the irritating reboot loop within Windows 10.

I am not sure if it was instantly after installing 382.53 driver, but when my laptop started up and the Windows 10 sign-on screen appeared, my laptop would instant reboot every time. Thus the reboot loop.

Anyone know of a fix... I still have my dedicated graphics card disabled in-order to use my laptop!

Laptop Spec:

Gigabyte Aero 14
GeForce GTX 1060
16GB DDR4 RAM
M2 SSD
Windows 10 v1703 OS BUILD 15063.413


I had a similar issue several years ago on my old laptop. I found that that the cause was that the driver would not allow a HDMI to be plugged in for an external monitor (specific set of drivers bug).

This time I have no HDI external monitor plugged in!


Thanks,

Last edited by Richginge; 06-22-2017 at 19:10.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
norton
Member Guru
 
norton's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX970 G1 Gaming 4GB
Processor: Intel core i5 4590
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-H97-D3H-CF
Memory: Corsair LP 16GB 1600MHz
Soundcard: Realtek ALC1150
PSU: corsair VS650
Default 06-22-2017, 23:05 | posts: 99 | Location: Somewhere on this planet

i think you should try DDU first and also check if you have the latest intel HD graphics driver
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Sabbath
Maha Guru
 
Sabbath's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte WF3 GTX670 2GB
Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K/H80i
Mainboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme 3
Memory: G.SKILL RipjawsX 16GB
Soundcard: Xonar STX /Corsair SP2500
PSU: Cooler Master 850W~66A
Lightbulb 06-22-2017, 23:47 | posts: 904 | Location: Ontario, CAN

Hi Richginge,

Well in my experience a endless reboot loop. Could mean 2 thing's #1 processor mite be clocked a bit too far. (OR) #2 Your ram mite be a bit too aggressive.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Carfax
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: NVidia Titan Xp
Processor: Intel 6900K @ 4.3ghz
Mainboard: Asus x99A II
Memory: TridentZ 32GB 3400 CL15
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Zx
PSU: Antec HCP 1200w
Default 06-23-2017, 05:14 | posts: 1,778 | Location: U.S

Quote:
Originally Posted by norton View Post
i think you should try DDU first and also check if you have the latest intel HD graphics driver
This is a good recommendation. First thing to do is always do a clean install of the drivers.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Richginge
Newbie
 
Videocard: Zotac Geforce 280 AMP
Processor: Intel Core I7
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Extreme II x
Memory: 6GB DDR3 1600mhz
Soundcard: X-FI Titanimum Pro
PSU: Tagan 900W
Default 06-23-2017, 07:48 | posts: 32 | Location: UK

Thanks for your replies.

My Intel driver is dated October, I am now downloading the June 2017 version for intel 7th Gen.

I do hope that the issue is not my CPU/RAM - they are stock clocked in reference to the specifications of the manufacturer. Ram is at ~2400 and CPU fluctuates between 2.6 and 3.6GHz depending on my fan speed.

I'll DDU the GeForce drivers after work, and dare try re-enable the device once again!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
bishi
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 SLI
Processor: 5960X
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: 32GB DDR4
Soundcard: Logitech G633
PSU: 1200W
Default 06-23-2017, 11:10 | posts: 525 | Location: UK

Check your event log and find out what is crashing...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Richginge
Newbie
 
Videocard: Zotac Geforce 280 AMP
Processor: Intel Core I7
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Extreme II x
Memory: 6GB DDR3 1600mhz
Soundcard: X-FI Titanimum Pro
PSU: Tagan 900W
Default 06-25-2017, 13:35 | posts: 32 | Location: UK

I can't seem to find anything in the event log.

It says
The system has rebooted without cleanly shutting down first. This error could be caused if the system stopped responding, crashed, or lost power unexpectedly.

I re-enabled my GFX and upon the next boot, again windows crashed at login. I used DDU and reinstalled 382.53 without any luck!

Last edited by Richginge; 06-25-2017 at 13:37.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
CrazyBaldhead
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 970
Processor: i5
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 900w
Default 06-25-2017, 15:22 | posts: 242 | Location: Tennessee

Check for power supply failure. It's a laptop, so you can should be able to find a replacement to test with easily.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Richginge
Newbie
 
Videocard: Zotac Geforce 280 AMP
Processor: Intel Core I7
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Extreme II x
Memory: 6GB DDR3 1600mhz
Soundcard: X-FI Titanimum Pro
PSU: Tagan 900W
Default 06-25-2017, 15:44 | posts: 32 | Location: UK

I've now tried 382.58, same issue.

I cannot source another power supply - the battery is built into the laptop and not removable.

The device reboots even if its no plugged in, on its own power!!

Basically windows starts, I log in, then within 5-10s the system just switches off instantly no blue screen or error message.

I've disabled my GFX again.. useless piece of crap aaah
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
bishi
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 SLI
Processor: 5960X
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: 32GB DDR4
Soundcard: Logitech G633
PSU: 1200W
Default 06-25-2017, 19:03 | posts: 525 | Location: UK

If it switches off instantly without a BSOD etc then it is almost certainly a power or temperature issue. It could be that your GPU or CPU fan has failed or not contacting the chip and creates a large temperature spike. Can you check temps and voltages in bios?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
jbmcmillan
Maha Guru
 
jbmcmillan's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte G1 Gaming GTX970
Processor: i5 2500k@4.4 GHZ.
Mainboard: Asus P8 z77 vl-k
Memory: Gskill 2x4GB 1600 DDR3
Soundcard: Onboard realtek
PSU: OCZ 1000 watt Z series
Default 06-25-2017, 19:15 | posts: 2,266 | Location: Langley,B.C. Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by bishi View Post
If it switches off instantly without a BSOD etc then it is almost certainly a power or temperature issue. It could be that your GPU or CPU fan has failed or not contacting the chip and creates a large temperature spike. Can you check temps and voltages in bios?
He's saying it reboots not shut off.Op you can try rolling back the driver.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Richginge
Newbie
 
Videocard: Zotac Geforce 280 AMP
Processor: Intel Core I7
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Extreme II x
Memory: 6GB DDR3 1600mhz
Soundcard: X-FI Titanimum Pro
PSU: Tagan 900W
Default 06-25-2017, 20:22 | posts: 32 | Location: UK

I've tried 382.19, 382.53 and 382.58 and neither resolved the problem. if the device is enabled my laptop reboots within 5 seconds of loggin into windows.

I've been on my laptop trying to do work, and noticed random reboots happening when the device the GFX is disabled.... sporadic its happened 5 times in the last few hours when I am browsing the web.

Is there a software I can download ot try diagnose this problem further I..e a voltage/temperature monitor/recorder?

This laptop is only 2 months old, think I need to RMA it - I thought it was a software/driver issue but looking more like something else.

I don't think its overheating, as the initial reboot when the GFX is enabled is quite precise, 5s after logging into windows. Voltage I have no idea?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
bishi
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 SLI
Processor: 5960X
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: 32GB DDR4
Soundcard: Logitech G633
PSU: 1200W
Default 06-26-2017, 00:28 | posts: 525 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbmcmillan View Post
He's saying it reboots not shut off.Op you can try rolling back the driver.
Still might be either if theres no BSOD - check the BIOS just to be sure
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
jbmcmillan
Maha Guru
 
jbmcmillan's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte G1 Gaming GTX970
Processor: i5 2500k@4.4 GHZ.
Mainboard: Asus P8 z77 vl-k
Memory: Gskill 2x4GB 1600 DDR3
Soundcard: Onboard realtek
PSU: OCZ 1000 watt Z series
Default 06-26-2017, 01:47 | posts: 2,266 | Location: Langley,B.C. Canada

Starting to sound like rma time to me as well.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
RavenMaster
Master Guru
 
RavenMaster's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2x EVGA GTX 1080Ti's SLI
Processor: Core i7 6850k
Mainboard: EVGA X99 FTW-K
Memory: 32GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX
Soundcard: Creative SB ZXR
PSU: CM Silent Pro Gold 1200w
Default 06-26-2017, 01:49 | posts: 762 | Location: UK

382.53 was total dog turd for me too and i'm playing on a PC. It would cause Mass Effect and and Dota 2 to freeze up for 2 seconds every hour or so randomly. Removing the driver and going back to the previous one solved the issue.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
cryohellinc
Master Guru
 
cryohellinc's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti SeaHawkX@2k+PG348Q
Processor: Intel i7 4770k @4.5ghz
Mainboard: MSI Z87 Mpower
Memory: Corsair DDR3 @1600
Soundcard: Sound Blaster ZxR + Amp
PSU: ANTEC 1200W
Default 06-26-2017, 04:41 | posts: 652 | Location: St. Petersburg

Try taking out the battery from laptop
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
Richginge
Newbie
 
Videocard: Zotac Geforce 280 AMP
Processor: Intel Core I7
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Extreme II x
Memory: 6GB DDR3 1600mhz
Soundcard: X-FI Titanimum Pro
PSU: Tagan 900W
Default 06-26-2017, 20:28 | posts: 32 | Location: UK

I have just tried DDU and 381.65.

Sadly no affect, exact reoccurrence of the same issue. Enable the GFX, log into windows and before I can even open Device manager to disable the GFX, it powers off to reboot. Safe mode again to disable the GFX.

My laptop is crumb, RMAing it on Wednesday.

There is no way I can take my battery out - its a sealed laptop with a non-removal battery.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Richginge
Newbie
 
Videocard: Zotac Geforce 280 AMP
Processor: Intel Core I7
Mainboard: Asus Rampage Extreme II x
Memory: 6GB DDR3 1600mhz
Soundcard: X-FI Titanimum Pro
PSU: Tagan 900W
Default 06-26-2017, 20:44 | posts: 32 | Location: UK

I checked BIOS - unsure what to check. No log functionality just settings?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.