Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything GeForce driver related. GeForce ForceWare and GeForce Exerience drivers are for NVIDIA Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
Kaill
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 770 SC Dual 4G
Processor: AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
Mainboard: ASUS CrosshairV FormulaZ
Memory: 8 gigs @ 2400
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Rosewill LIGHTNING-1000
Default 05-24-2016, 23:42 | posts: 54

so has anyone looked in to this and tested it with GPU-Z?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
bandage106
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 970 G1 Gaming
Processor: Core i7 3770k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 850w Corsair PSU(Gold)
Default 05-28-2016, 11:00 | posts: 2

I looked around on google and I found this thread and it caught my eye. If DX12 is really enabled on Fermi, I should be able to insert my GTX 590 into my case to see whether it'll allow it to use the full 3GB of V-ram on the 590 on a DX12 benchmark. I'm just not sure I want to do that.

Unsinstalling my GPU means I may reset the configured bios once I un-install the drivers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
dr_rus
Maha Guru
 
dr_rus's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 GRP
Processor: i7-6850K
Mainboard: Sabertooth X99
Memory: 64 GB DDR4
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Ti
PSU: CM V1200 Platinum
Default 05-28-2016, 12:31 | posts: 1,709

Quote:
Originally Posted by bandage106 View Post
I looked around on google and I found this thread and it caught my eye. If DX12 is really enabled on Fermi, I should be able to insert my GTX 590 into my case to see whether it'll allow it to use the full 3GB of V-ram on the 590 on a DX12 benchmark. I'm just not sure I want to do that.

Unsinstalling my GPU means I may reset the configured bios once I un-install the drivers.
DX12 will not allow to use "full VRAM" on any videocard. Developers may program their games under DX12 in such a way as to make them aware of the VRAM split in SLI/CF systems but that's not something which will happen automatically and it's unlikely to even suit all games out there.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
siriq
Master Guru
 
siriq's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570 Classified
Processor: FX 8350@4.8&PII x6 1090T
Mainboard: GA 890FX-UD5
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X PCIE
PSU: Seasonic
Default 05-30-2016, 21:10 | posts: 750 | Location: Earth

Still no full DX 12 driver. This is what i got on the latest win 10 insider build:
http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/16/05/30/awb.png

DX 12 software's, including API overhead test , won't run .

Last edited by siriq; 05-30-2016 at 21:12.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
dr_rus
Maha Guru
 
dr_rus's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 GRP
Processor: i7-6850K
Mainboard: Sabertooth X99
Memory: 64 GB DDR4
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Ti
PSU: CM V1200 Platinum
Default 05-30-2016, 21:36 | posts: 1,709

Quote:
Originally Posted by siriq View Post
Still no full DX 12 driver. This is what i got on the latest win 10 insider build:
http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/16/05/30/awb.png

DX 12 software's, including API overhead test , won't run .
You won't get any more than FL11_0 on Fermi, ever, so not sure what you want to show with this screenshot.

What does DXDiag say on Display tab about Feature Levels and Driver Model?

You may also try running this tool to see what feature level and optional features the driver reports as supported.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
siriq
Master Guru
 
siriq's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570 Classified
Processor: FX 8350@4.8&PII x6 1090T
Mainboard: GA 890FX-UD5
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X PCIE
PSU: Seasonic
Default 05-30-2016, 21:55 | posts: 750 | Location: Earth

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_rus View Post
You won't get any more than FL11_0 on Fermi, ever, so not sure what you want to show with this screenshot.

What does DXDiag say on Display tab about Feature Levels and Driver Model?

You may also try running this tool to see what feature level and optional features the driver reports as supported.
Well , you don't understand. It says DX 12 in dxdiag and GPU-Z too but the driver is lacking the DX 12 full implementation. It means, DX 12 is not activated fully in the driver. I am not talking about the feature level at all. WDDM 2.0 as it is long ago now. I hope it is more clear now to you. Anyway , i see the same thing as the kepler shows in dxdiag. I will try the tool later tomorrow. Just don't want to boot up on HDD now.

Last edited by siriq; 05-30-2016 at 21:59.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
dr_rus
Maha Guru
 
dr_rus's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 GRP
Processor: i7-6850K
Mainboard: Sabertooth X99
Memory: 64 GB DDR4
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Ti
PSU: CM V1200 Platinum
Default 05-30-2016, 21:58 | posts: 1,709

Quote:
Originally Posted by siriq View Post
Well , you don't understand. It says DX 12 in dxdiag and GPU-Z too but the driver is lacking the DX 12 full implementation. It means, DX 12 is not activated fully in the driver. I am not talking about the feature level at all.
What makes you think that it's the driver which is lacking and not the Windows dev build you're running? If driver reports the support then the support is there, even if it doesn't work for some reason, which isn't very surprising on a beta version of OS.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
siriq
Master Guru
 
siriq's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570 Classified
Processor: FX 8350@4.8&PII x6 1090T
Mainboard: GA 890FX-UD5
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X PCIE
PSU: Seasonic
Default 05-30-2016, 22:00 | posts: 750 | Location: Earth

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_rus View Post
What makes you think that it's the driver which is lacking and not the Windows dev build you're running? If driver reports the support then the support is there, even if it doesn't work for some reason, which isn't very surprising on a beta version of OS.
Before with the insider version we were able to run DX 12 tests.

Last edited by siriq; 05-30-2016 at 22:03.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
user1
Master Guru
 
user1's Avatar
 
Videocard: hd 6870
Processor: intel xeon e5450 @3.6ghz
Mainboard: ip35-e
Memory: PC2-6400 DDR2 6GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 550w
Default 05-31-2016, 23:18 | posts: 410

Quote:
Originally Posted by siriq View Post
Still no full DX 12 driver. This is what i got on the latest win 10 insider build:


DX 12 software's, including API overhead test , won't run .
Have you tried the dolphin dx12 renderer?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
siriq
Master Guru
 
siriq's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570 Classified
Processor: FX 8350@4.8&PII x6 1090T
Mainboard: GA 890FX-UD5
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X PCIE
PSU: Seasonic
Default 06-01-2016, 11:34 | posts: 750 | Location: Earth

Quote:
Originally Posted by user1 View Post
Have you tried the dolphin dx12 renderer?
No , i use that insider win 10 very rarely because of the HDD.
I may try things this weekend. Specially, after nvidia driver f@ck up big time(around 2 weeks ago), so i had to spend 2 full days to recover it somehow and fix it completely.

Last edited by siriq; 06-01-2016 at 11:36.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#36)
Kaill
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 770 SC Dual 4G
Processor: AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
Mainboard: ASUS CrosshairV FormulaZ
Memory: 8 gigs @ 2400
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Rosewill LIGHTNING-1000
Default 06-02-2016, 21:08 | posts: 54

Quote:
Originally Posted by siriq View Post
No , i use that insider win 10 very rarely because of the HDD.
I may try things this weekend. Specially, after nvidia driver f@ck up big time(around 2 weeks ago), so i had to spend 2 full days to recover it somehow and fix it completely.
So then by saturday/sunday we will know if this is legit or some weird glitch.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#37)
siriq
Master Guru
 
siriq's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570 Classified
Processor: FX 8350@4.8&PII x6 1090T
Mainboard: GA 890FX-UD5
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X PCIE
PSU: Seasonic
Default 06-04-2016, 15:42 | posts: 750 | Location: Earth

Quote:
Originally Posted by user1 View Post
Have you tried the dolphin dx12 renderer?
Hi! So i tried to choose the DX 12 render in dolphin. It is not working. Failed to initialized the render on the device or something like it. I don't even try more since the driver is lacking of DX 12 .

Last edited by siriq; 06-04-2016 at 15:54.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#38)
user1
Master Guru
 
user1's Avatar
 
Videocard: hd 6870
Processor: intel xeon e5450 @3.6ghz
Mainboard: ip35-e
Memory: PC2-6400 DDR2 6GB
Soundcard:
PSU: 550w
Default 06-05-2016, 01:00 | posts: 410

Quote:
Originally Posted by siriq View Post
Hi! So i tried to choose the DX 12 render in dolphin. It is not working. Failed to initialized the render on the device or something like it. I don't even try more since the driver is lacking of DX 12 .
Yeah seems likely that the dx 12 driver path isn't actually active or may not be present, the dx12 renderer on dolphin works pretty well with the 358.70 dev driver. I am suprised it has taken so long for nvidia to release a dx12 enabled fermi driver, since the 358.70 driver works quite well despite being more than 8 months old.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#39)
Yxskaft
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX Titan Sli
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard:
Memory: 32GB DDR3
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: 650w
Default 06-05-2016, 14:17 | posts: 1,033

I'd be more surprised if Nvidia actually still is working on Fermi's DX12 support after not saying a word about it and the delay period soon has reached one year

Last edited by Yxskaft; 06-05-2016 at 14:23.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#40)
siriq
Master Guru
 
siriq's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570 Classified
Processor: FX 8350@4.8&PII x6 1090T
Mainboard: GA 890FX-UD5
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X PCIE
PSU: Seasonic
Default 06-06-2016, 12:56 | posts: 750 | Location: Earth

I just installed the 358.70 driver on my regular WIN 10. Dolphin DX 12 works .
Also did some 3Dmark API overhead test: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/12345651
Over 4.1 mill now . I couldn't get more than 3.6x mill with GTX 570 before.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#41)
maur0
Master Guru
 
Videocard: point of view gtx 570 1gb
Processor: core 2 quad Q9550
Mainboard: asus P5G41T-M LX3
Memory: ddr3 8gb gskill 1333 mhz
Soundcard: realtek HD
PSU: 500w
Default 06-06-2016, 13:45 | posts: 668 | Location: curitiba brazil

Quote:
Originally Posted by siriq View Post
I just installed the 358.70 driver on my regular WIN 10. Dolphin DX 12 works .
Also did some 3Dmark API overhead test: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/12345651
Over 4.1 mill now . I couldn't get more than 3.6x mill with GTX 570 before.
cool but only this driver old support dx12 on fermi?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#42)
Alessio1989
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Two different furnaces
Processor: It's getting old...
Mainboard: A voltage leaker...
Memory: Heap corruption
Soundcard: It's over 109db!!!!
PSU: Finally, a quite engine
Default 06-06-2016, 16:12 | posts: 700 | Location: Good-food-land

358.70 is pretty old.... It never worked well with tons of API features and Microsoft DirectX 12 samples. The Futuremark benchmarks use really few API features AFIK... You should not expect new working d3d12 driver for Fermi, especially with the shut down of NSIGHT support...

Last edited by Alessio1989; 06-06-2016 at 16:14.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#43)
siriq
Master Guru
 
siriq's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570 Classified
Processor: FX 8350@4.8&PII x6 1090T
Mainboard: GA 890FX-UD5
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X PCIE
PSU: Seasonic
Default 06-06-2016, 16:12 | posts: 750 | Location: Earth

Quote:
Originally Posted by maur0 View Post
cool but only this driver old support dx12 on fermi?
So far yes.
I did another run: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/12347573
4.2 mill
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#44)
siriq
Master Guru
 
siriq's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570 Classified
Processor: FX 8350@4.8&PII x6 1090T
Mainboard: GA 890FX-UD5
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X PCIE
PSU: Seasonic
Default 06-06-2016, 16:17 | posts: 750 | Location: Earth

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alessio1989 View Post
358.70 is pretty old.... It never worked well with tons of API features and Microsoft DirectX 12 samples. The Futuremark benchmarks use really few API features AFIK... You should not expect new working d3d12 driver for Fermi, especially with the shut down of NSIGHT support...
That's why we need a proper DX 12 driver. It has been promised. I don't care if nvidia is lazy or not or just want to generate extra profit.
I believe the issue lie in the GPUMMU MS support, which will be fixed this summer. There is a problem with 4kB vs 64kB addressing . As soon as it will be fixed, we shall see a working driver. Well, if nvidia will pull the head out of the ass, ofc.

Last edited by siriq; 06-06-2016 at 16:21.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#45)
Kaill
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 770 SC Dual 4G
Processor: AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
Mainboard: ASUS CrosshairV FormulaZ
Memory: 8 gigs @ 2400
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Rosewill LIGHTNING-1000
Default 06-06-2016, 16:35 | posts: 54

anyone else interested in testing 358.70 http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=403276 download is here.

also i believe these drivers do not support WDDM2.0 on Fermi.

Last edited by Kaill; 06-06-2016 at 17:24.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#46)
siriq
Master Guru
 
siriq's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570 Classified
Processor: FX 8350@4.8&PII x6 1090T
Mainboard: GA 890FX-UD5
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X PCIE
PSU: Seasonic
Default 06-06-2016, 17:15 | posts: 750 | Location: Earth

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaill View Post
anyone else interested in testing it http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=403276 download is here.

also i believe these drivers do not support WDDM2.0 on Fermi.
It is WDDM 2.0
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#47)
Kaill
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 770 SC Dual 4G
Processor: AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
Mainboard: ASUS CrosshairV FormulaZ
Memory: 8 gigs @ 2400
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Rosewill LIGHTNING-1000
Default 06-06-2016, 17:19 | posts: 54

Quote:
Originally Posted by siriq View Post
It is WDDM 2.0
really now thats a bit crazy so the 358.70 has wddm 2.0 support?

Last edited by Kaill; 06-06-2016 at 17:25.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#48)
siriq
Master Guru
 
siriq's Avatar
 
Videocard: Evga GTX 570 Classified
Processor: FX 8350@4.8&PII x6 1090T
Mainboard: GA 890FX-UD5
Memory: 16GB DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X PCIE
PSU: Seasonic
Default 06-06-2016, 17:26 | posts: 750 | Location: Earth

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaill View Post
really now thats a bit crazy so the 358.70 has wddm 2.0 support?
In dxdiag says , WDDM 2.0 . That's how it is
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#49)
dr_rus
Maha Guru
 
dr_rus's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 GRP
Processor: i7-6850K
Mainboard: Sabertooth X99
Memory: 64 GB DDR4
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Ti
PSU: CM V1200 Platinum
Default 06-06-2016, 17:56 | posts: 1,709

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaill View Post
anyone else interested in testing 358.70 http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=403276 download is here.

also i believe these drivers do not support WDDM2.0 on Fermi.
D3D12 runtime is only working with WDDM 2.0.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#50)
Kaill
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 770 SC Dual 4G
Processor: AMD FX-8350 Black Edition
Mainboard: ASUS CrosshairV FormulaZ
Memory: 8 gigs @ 2400
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Rosewill LIGHTNING-1000
Default 06-06-2016, 18:00 | posts: 54

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_rus View Post
D3D12 runtime is only working with WDDM 2.0.
Ah ok because i know official support came out in a later driver so didn't know if these would have them
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.