Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything GeForce driver related. GeForce ForceWare and GeForce Exerience drivers are for NVIDIA Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
DX12 on FERMI enabled
Old
  (#1)
Krzyslaw
Member Guru
 
Krzyslaw's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 630M 1 GB DDR3 OC
Processor: Intel Core i7 2670QM HT
Mainboard: ASUS K93SM Mainboard
Memory: 16GB 1333MHz
Soundcard: Realtek HDA+Altec Lansing
PSU: Asus 120W
Default DX12 on FERMI enabled - 05-15-2016, 16:45 | posts: 134 | Location: Poland

Hi

It seams that finaly dx12 is enebled on Fermi cards.
On geforce forum I found this thread:
https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...gtx-560-dx12-/

look at the image that guy called ASES posted.

http://imgur.com/45KVtUP

It looks that with driver 365.19 and Windows 10 build 14332 the dx12 is enabled.

We have the same situation that was earlier, we had dx11.2 on build 10240, then dx11.3 on build 10586 and finaly from build 14332 we will have dx 12 on fermi cards.

Anyone can confirm that, because now I am not able to reinstal my windows.

Last edited by Krzyslaw; 05-15-2016 at 16:52.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
maur0
Master Guru
 
Videocard: point of view gtx 570 1gb
Processor: core 2 quad Q9550
Mainboard: asus P5G41T-M LX3
Memory: ddr3 8gb gskill 1333 mhz
Soundcard: realtek HD
PSU: 500w
Default 05-15-2016, 16:57 | posts: 668 | Location: curitiba brazil

finalyyy hehhee thanks for informátion
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
maur0
Master Guru
 
Videocard: point of view gtx 570 1gb
Processor: core 2 quad Q9550
Mainboard: asus P5G41T-M LX3
Memory: ddr3 8gb gskill 1333 mhz
Soundcard: realtek HD
PSU: 500w
Default 05-15-2016, 17:00 | posts: 668 | Location: curitiba brazil

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krzyslaw View Post
Hi

It seams that finaly dx12 is enebled on Fermi cards.
On geforce forum I found this thread:
https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...gtx-560-dx12-/

look at the image that guy called ASES posted.

http://imgur.com/45KVtUP

It looks that with driver 365.19 and Windows 10 build 14332 the dx12 is enabled.

We have the same situation that was earlier, we had dx11.2 on build 10240, then dx11.3 on build 10586 and finaly from build 14332 we will have dx 12 on fermi cards.

Anyone can confirm that, because now I am not able to reinstal my windows.

now test dolphin emulator wii last build on dx12 plugin if work and if good results compared same games running dx11 plugin

Last edited by maur0; 05-15-2016 at 17:10.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
PrMinisterGR
Ancient Guru
 
PrMinisterGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
Processor: Core i7 2600k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Sapphire Pure Black P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 05-15-2016, 17:47 | posts: 6,827

Amen! I am curious about the percentage increase that Fermi gets compared to Kepler/Maxwell under DX12. I have the feeling it might be getting some more actually (if the driver is up on par).
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Stormyandcold
Ancient Guru
 
Stormyandcold's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1070 Gaming X
Processor: i7 6700k
Mainboard: Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Memory: Corsair LPX 4x8GB 3200mhz
Soundcard: RME Babyface/Shure SRH840
PSU: Silverstone Strider 700w
Default 05-15-2016, 20:27 | posts: 4,703 | Location: Wolverhampton, UK

Is this even a win? More than likely just shows that, yeah, you need to upgrade.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
pimp_gimp
Ancient Guru
 
pimp_gimp's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA Geforce GTX 980 SLI
Processor: Core i7-3770k 4.5Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V Premium
Memory: 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws Z
Soundcard: Creative SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX1200
Default 05-15-2016, 20:59 | posts: 6,575 | Location: Tacoma, Washington

Why would you even want to run DX12 on Fermi? I could see a Fermi card running DX12 running out of grunt really fast as they already struggle in current DX11 games.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Yxskaft
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX Titan Sli
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard:
Memory: 32GB DDR3
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: 650w
Default 05-15-2016, 21:24 | posts: 1,032

Quote:
Originally Posted by pimp_gimp View Post
Why would you even want to run DX12 on Fermi? I could see a Fermi card running DX12 running out of grunt really fast as they already struggle in current DX11 games.
It was promised back when DX12 was officially announced and people would understandably be angry if Nvidia backtracked on that two years later

Anyway, Fermi could get great use of DX12 in Dolphin and PCSX2. Core 2 Quads, Phenom II and first gen i5/i7 would benefit greatly even with a GTX 580.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Alessio1989
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Two different furnaces
Processor: It's getting old...
Mainboard: A voltage leaker...
Memory: Heap corruption
Soundcard: It's over 109db!!!!
PSU: Finally, a quite engine
Default 05-15-2016, 23:56 | posts: 696 | Location: Good-food-land

Fermi is going EOL on developer NVIDIA products: forgot Direct3D 12 on Fermi. Over 1 years of delay ("expected soon" status was even on DX12 EAP) is a pretty clear signal.
Not a nice behaviour for a company...
PS: do not trust DXDIAG....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
RzrTrek
Maha Guru
 
RzrTrek's Avatar
 
Videocard: RX580 (8GB)
Processor: i5-7600K
Mainboard: PRIME Z270-A
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: ALCS1220A
PSU: RM750x
Default 05-16-2016, 00:29 | posts: 907 | Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Nvidia should spend a few more dollars on making their hardware backward compatible.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Yxskaft
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX Titan Sli
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard:
Memory: 32GB DDR3
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: 650w
Default 05-16-2016, 00:32 | posts: 1,032

Quote:
Originally Posted by RzrTrek View Post
Nvidia should spend a few more dollars on making their hardware backward compatible.
I think it's more than just a few dollars we're talking about, but Nvidia should have had estimations for the resources required to support Fermi back when they announced support in 2014
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
gassenn
Newbie
 
Videocard: ROG STRIX RX470 OC 4Gb
Processor: Core I5 7600K
Mainboard: ROG STRIX B250F
Memory: 8Gb DDR4 2400Mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: C3 Tech 500W
Default 05-16-2016, 13:49 | posts: 23 | Location: Brasil

still dx 11.3 support
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
PrMinisterGR
Ancient Guru
 
PrMinisterGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
Processor: Core i7 2600k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Sapphire Pure Black P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 05-16-2016, 15:55 | posts: 6,827

It's nice they finally did that. Not everyone plays AAA titles, and not everyone has the cash to upgrade. A low level API and WDDM 2.0 can give nice boosts, especially to frame delivery.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
Yxskaft
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX Titan Sli
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard:
Memory: 32GB DDR3
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: 650w
Default 05-16-2016, 16:37 | posts: 1,032

Quote:
Originally Posted by PrMinisterGR View Post
It's nice they finally did that. Not everyone plays AAA titles, and not everyone has the cash to upgrade. A low level API and WDDM 2.0 can give nice boosts, especially to frame delivery.
The GTX 750 Ti has been recommended alot for budget builds, and that's less powerful than a GTX 580. So I think users go way too far when they dismiss Fermi just because of its age.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
PrMinisterGR
Ancient Guru
 
PrMinisterGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
Processor: Core i7 2600k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Sapphire Pure Black P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 05-16-2016, 17:06 | posts: 6,827

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yxskaft View Post
The GTX 750 Ti has been recommended alot for budget builds, and that's less powerful than a GTX 580. So I think users go way too far when they dismiss Fermi just because of its age.
Exactly that. With DX12 it can be a really nice holdover/2nd card in case of emergencies, or used for a child's PC or something. Or even as a day-to-day driver if people aren't into AAA or don't care about the settings.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
nz3777
Maha Guru
 
nz3777's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gtx 980 Strix @ 1500Mhz
Processor: Fx 8320 E @ 4.2 Ghz
Mainboard: Asus M5A78L-M
Memory: 8gb 1600mhz/Ballistic
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Recon 3d
PSU: Corsair Hx 850
Default 05-16-2016, 20:31 | posts: 1,664 | Location: Willowbrook ill.

Strange but I noticed on Gpu-z

Nvidia Gtx 780 DirectX support 12 (11_0)

I think last time i checked it only has Direct 11 support but I plan on picking-up a Gtx 1080 soon anyway and this card will go in my kids machine.Wonder how it will handle direct x 12 780?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
PrMinisterGR
Ancient Guru
 
PrMinisterGR's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 7970 Quadrobake
Processor: Core i7 2600k@4.5GHz
Mainboard: Sapphire Pure Black P67
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar D2X
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2
Default 05-16-2016, 21:11 | posts: 6,827

Quote:
Originally Posted by nz3777 View Post
Strange but I noticed on Gpu-z

Nvidia Gtx 780 DirectX support 12 (11_0)

I think last time i checked it only has Direct 11 support but I plan on picking-up a Gtx 1080 soon anyway and this card will go in my kids machine.Wonder how it will handle direct x 12 780?
The answer is: Just fine.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 05-16-2016, 21:26 | posts: 7,448 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krzyslaw View Post
Hi

It seams that finaly dx12 is enebled on Fermi cards.
On geforce forum I found this thread:
https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...gtx-560-dx12-/

look at the image that guy called ASES posted.

http://imgur.com/45KVtUP

It looks that with driver 365.19 and Windows 10 build 14332 the dx12 is enabled.

We have the same situation that was earlier, we had dx11.2 on build 10240, then dx11.3 on build 10586 and finaly from build 14332 we will have dx 12 on fermi cards.

Anyone can confirm that, because now I am not able to reinstal my windows.

DXdaig always showed DirectX 12 if you have Windows 10 last i checked even that is just the DX verison, installed

Last edited by tsunami231; 05-16-2016 at 21:36.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Yxskaft
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: GTX Titan Sli
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard:
Memory: 32GB DDR3
Soundcard: Integrated
PSU: 650w
Default 05-16-2016, 21:51 | posts: 1,032

I too thought dxdiag always says DirectX 12 in that tab but I checked on my Win10 PC running GT 610 and it just says 11.3
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#19)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 05-16-2016, 21:58 | posts: 7,448 | Location: USA

intresting, I always thought and read it only show what is isntalled
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#20)
Krzyslaw
Member Guru
 
Krzyslaw's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 630M 1 GB DDR3 OC
Processor: Intel Core i7 2670QM HT
Mainboard: ASUS K93SM Mainboard
Memory: 16GB 1333MHz
Soundcard: Realtek HDA+Altec Lansing
PSU: Asus 120W
Default 05-17-2016, 07:32 | posts: 134 | Location: Poland

Dxdiag showed dx 11.2 on w10 10240 with wddm 1.3 and wddm 2.0 drivers and later dx 11.3 with wddm 2.0 drivers on build 10586 on Fermis. It looks that we will need to wait till Redstone release to see dx 12 on Fermi.
In w10 you will see highest available dx version which your card can support for now.
For example on Intel hd3000 you will see dx 11.1 with fl 10.1 but not dx 12 with fl 10.1

There is something on windows that triger the higher dx version. I think there was some kind of incompatibility with w10( current dx installed with system ) with nvidia drivers. And as we could see on atached foto in 1 post on latest insider build the problem is solved and I hope that with final release of redstone we will be able to enjoy dx12 on Fermi
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#21)
phatbx133
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1050ti 4GB
Processor: Intel 2nd i5 2500K @ 4.5
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 Dexlue v3602
Memory: G.Skill 16GB DDR3 2133mhz
Soundcard: Onboard Realtek
PSU: Cougar 700w with 52A
Default 05-17-2016, 15:42 | posts: 778

Look like we have to upgrade to better card like 750ti and up.

I am thinking about get GTX 960 4gb or wait for GTX 1060/1050 like 950/960.

By the time Battlefield 1 coming out this fall, I will decide which card i need upgrade after somebody own Battlefield 1 with their gpus and leave some reviews, comments.

My GTX 560 is pretty much dying...

1. lack of vram 1GB
2. lack of shadowplay
3. lack of nvidia nvenc that i need for video editor.
4. lack of true DX 12
5. EOL is EOL.

2 cents.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#22)
Krzyslaw
Member Guru
 
Krzyslaw's Avatar
 
Videocard: Geforce 630M 1 GB DDR3 OC
Processor: Intel Core i7 2670QM HT
Mainboard: ASUS K93SM Mainboard
Memory: 16GB 1333MHz
Soundcard: Realtek HDA+Altec Lansing
PSU: Asus 120W
Default 05-17-2016, 15:47 | posts: 134 | Location: Poland

Despite the fact that I will be buying a new laptop, I'm waiting only for some msi laptop with gtx1070/1080, it would be nice to see promised dx12 on Fermi anyway
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#23)
GiNaJuIcE
Master Guru
 
Videocard: ZOTAC 1080 AMP
Processor: RYZEN 1700 @ 3.75ghz
Mainboard: ASROCK X370 Killer SLI/AC
Memory: 16gb Hyperx 2400
Soundcard: Creative ZxR/Z5500
PSU: EVGA 1000w
Default 05-17-2016, 22:48 | posts: 375 | Location: san antonio

im on the latest win 10 update and nvidia drivers. shows dx version 12 feature level 11.0

the 700's series will never have anything more than feature level 11.0
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#24)
wheeljack12
Master Guru
 
wheeljack12's Avatar
 
Videocard: zotac gtx 1060 6gb mini
Processor: intel i7-6700k
Mainboard: gb z170 gaming k3 rev 1.0
Memory: 16gb ddr4 3200mhz
Soundcard: creative sbzx,Z506 5.1
PSU: Antec 80pp 750 watt
Default 05-20-2016, 21:50 | posts: 281 | Location: Hamilton,Ontario,Canada

I have a gigabyte gtx 750 ti 2gb and I only get dx 11.0 on 10586,not 11.1,11.2 or 11.3 or even 12. Why is nvidia cutting off support on dx12 for 1st gen maxwell cards so low at just 11.0?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#25)
fellix
Member Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA GeForce GTX980 Ti SC
Processor: Intel Xeon X5650
Mainboard: Foxconn BloodRAGE GTI
Memory: 12GB GeiL Leggera EVO
Soundcard: Edifier 2.1 Desktop Set
PSU: ChiefTec 850W
Default 05-20-2016, 22:44 | posts: 144 | Location: Bulgaria

Kepler and Maxwell v1 (750Ti) are only FL11_0 capable architectures. They still have full driver support for the DX12 API, just without some key features.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.