Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything GeForce driver related. GeForce ForceWare and GeForce Exerience drivers are for NVIDIA Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
jujuom26
Member Guru
 
Videocard: SLI GTX 670 GIGABYTE O/C
Processor: i5 2500K 3,3GhZ
Mainboard: P8P67 Pro
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ 700W
Default 02-27-2015, 09:34 | posts: 60

very good thread
please keep updating as you do
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
GuruKnight
Maha Guru
 
GuruKnight's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 Ti AMP! Extreme SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 5930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4
Soundcard: Onboard+Sennheiser HD 595
PSU: 1500W SilverStone Strider
Default 03-04-2015, 12:05 | posts: 837 | Location: Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by CPC_RedDawn View Post
Any new SLI bits for Dragon Age Inquisition?

I am on 347.26 iCafe and still the textures on the floor, shadows on grass, and fog are all bugged in SLI. They flicker a lot and basically break the game for me. Performance is excellent though with the official current sli profile in the drivers.

Just wondered if anyone has been able to find a fix for this issue as it is pretty widespread.
Terrain flickering in SLI mode should be fixed with the new 1.06 patch for Dragon Age: Inquisition
No need for a custom SLI profile, since the official one scales very well.
http://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulle...postcount=1933
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
MrBonk
Maha Guru
 
MrBonk's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS GTX 980 STRIX
Processor: Intel Core i7 950 @4Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage II GENE
Memory: G-SKILL 12GB @1600Mhz
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair 750TX V1
Default 03-04-2015, 12:34 | posts: 2,676 | Location: Oregon

Looking it over. I am still glad you made this.

It's always great to have additional resources and since it's basically maintained by only you, it shows great effort!

Keep it up!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
Txema
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 03-11-2015, 15:54 | posts: 10

Hi,

I remember that by using Nvidia Inspector and a compatibility fix (0x000012C1) it was possible to force Antialiasing to 4xMSAA and Transparency Supersampling to 4xSGSSAA in previous versions of the games Steel Armor Blaze of War and Graviteam Tactics Operation Star. They looked really great, but in the new versions of the games it is not working.

Is it possible to force antialiasing in Steel Armor Blaze of War and Graviteam Tactics Operation Star now? How?

(These games are sold through steam, for example)

Thank you very much for your help !

Txema
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
GuruKnight
Maha Guru
 
GuruKnight's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 Ti AMP! Extreme SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 5930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4
Soundcard: Onboard+Sennheiser HD 595
PSU: 1500W SilverStone Strider
Default 03-12-2015, 23:12 | posts: 837 | Location: Denmark

I'm not familiar with these games unfortunately, and it seems they are using an proprietary graphics engine made by the Graviteam developers.
But you might want to try "0x204412C1" for SGSSAA, just to see if it does anything.
Also try disabling or turning down any post processing or bloom settings.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
Txema
Newbie
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 03-13-2015, 23:39 | posts: 10

Hi GuruKnight,

First of all, thank you very much for your suggestion !

Unfortunately, if I force Antialiasing to 4xMSAA and Transparency Supersampling to 4xSGSSAA with the compatibility fix "0x204412C1", I still get a corrupted image in the games.

If I set just Transparency Supersampling to 4xSGSSAA (without setting Antialiasing to 4xMSAA) then the game works properly BUT I see no antialiasing effect...

Txema
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#57)
GuruKnight
Maha Guru
 
GuruKnight's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 Ti AMP! Extreme SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 5930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4
Soundcard: Onboard+Sennheiser HD 595
PSU: 1500W SilverStone Strider
Default 03-23-2015, 00:25 | posts: 837 | Location: Denmark

Then your only choice is to turn every setting down to the lowest values and try SGSSAA again.
If this still has no effect on IQ or performance in any way, then it is very likely that the developer somehow broke forced AA in a recent patch.
This has also happened several times with for example World of Tanks

If SGSSAA works with the lowest settings, then try turning each setting up incrementally until AA stops working.
Then you will know for sure, which setting is responsible for breaking forced AA.

BTW the master list spreadsheet linked on the first page should now be completely up to date.
I have also made various improvements to SLI, AA, AO and DSR descriptions.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
GuruKnight
Maha Guru
 
GuruKnight's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 Ti AMP! Extreme SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 5930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4
Soundcard: Onboard+Sennheiser HD 595
PSU: 1500W SilverStone Strider
Default 04-01-2015, 02:16 | posts: 837 | Location: Denmark

The FSAA x2 and x4 options have been removed in the new DX11 version of Shadow Warrior.
This is no big loss IMO, since these settings were low quality and demanding anyway
http://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulle...postcount=1957
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
GuruKnight
Maha Guru
 
GuruKnight's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 Ti AMP! Extreme SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 5930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4
Soundcard: Onboard+Sennheiser HD 595
PSU: 1500W SilverStone Strider
Default 04-23-2015, 21:43 | posts: 837 | Location: Denmark

I can happily report, that both SLI and Flawless Widescreen still works very well in The Evil Within after the latest "DLC patch" a few days ago.
I have updated my original SLI post for the game with a few more details:
http://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulle...postcount=1939

It also seems Ubisoft finally fixed the SLI flickering in Far Cry 4 with the latest 1.10.0 patch:
http://forums.ubi.com/showthread.php...1#post10712130

All in all, I think official and unofficial SLI support is slowly getting better after a quite "troublesome" 2014
Personally I'm becoming more optimistic now, since the release of GTA 5.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#60)
robb
Member Guru
 
robb's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 x GTX 970 STRIX
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.5 GHZ
Mainboard: Giga GA-Z77X-UD5H Rev 1.1
Memory: 16GB RipjawsZ 2400MHz
Soundcard: Claro Halo w/ Senn PC 360
PSU: Corsair AX760i
Default 05-13-2015, 22:07 | posts: 75 | Location: Connecticut

Been in search of games to play to kill time. Tried Dream. Although I hit a bug that won't let me continue so I'm not in the mood to really test much more with it, but here's results for the past 4 hours or so:

~ SLI ~

No Flag
  • Autoselect/Default: 2nd GPU may be used, but microstutter, poor performance/scaling.
  • AFR: Same as above.
  • AFR2: Works damn well. Performance does noticeably drop in large detailed areas (like desert). No microstutter.

0x02406405
  • AFR: Mediocre as earlier.
  • AFR2: Works damn well again. Performance doesn't appear to drop as heavily in more detailed open areas--or it just feels smoother when drops may occur. May cause very rare shadow flickering on certain objects on certain maps based on the angle you're looking at.

0x03402005 from a steam guide
  • AFR2: Lots of microstutter and or random FPS drops. Didn't bother testing much further.


TL;DR: Use no flag, or use 0x02406405 (recommended). Either way, use AFR2; AFR causes performance problems, mostly microstutter. The game runs on UE3.5. Tested with all settings at max with Vsync on.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#61)
GuruKnight
Maha Guru
 
GuruKnight's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 Ti AMP! Extreme SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 5930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4
Soundcard: Onboard+Sennheiser HD 595
PSU: 1500W SilverStone Strider
Default 05-14-2015, 01:24 | posts: 837 | Location: Denmark

Since this is UE3.5 DX9; 0x02402005, 0x42402005 or 0x02406405 are usually good candidates
In some rare cases SLI bit #20 or #9 is needed for full scaling, in which case you might want to try "0x02502005" or "0x02402205".

And you should ALWAYS use AFR2 in DX9, AFR is mostly used in DX10+ these days.
The role of the actual SLI "profile" is to ensure maximum performance, and prevent general compatibility issues or other glitches.

BTW I have also found a nice SLI profile "0x02400005" and SGSSAA flag "0x004010C1" for Of Orcs and Men, but just haven't gotten around to addding this to the spreadsheet yet:
http://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulle...postcount=1989
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
robb
Member Guru
 
robb's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 x GTX 970 STRIX
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.5 GHZ
Mainboard: Giga GA-Z77X-UD5H Rev 1.1
Memory: 16GB RipjawsZ 2400MHz
Soundcard: Claro Halo w/ Senn PC 360
PSU: Corsair AX760i
Default 05-14-2015, 18:45 | posts: 75 | Location: Connecticut

Quote:
Originally Posted by GuruKnight View Post
Since this is UE3.5 DX9; 0x02402005, 0x42402005 or 0x02406405 are usually good candidates
In some rare cases SLI bit #20 or #9 is needed for full scaling, in which case you might want to try "0x02502005" or "0x02402205".

And you should ALWAYS use AFR2 in DX9, AFR is mostly used in DX10+ these days.
The role of the actual SLI "profile" is to ensure maximum performance, and prevent general compatibility issues or other glitches.
Yeah, I figured any one of the UE3.5 flags would do, which seems to be the case. The modified flags aren't needed specifically for this game--or rather I should say don't change performance (although you taught me something I never bothered to realize ).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#63)
GuruKnight
Maha Guru
 
GuruKnight's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 Ti AMP! Extreme SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 5930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4
Soundcard: Onboard+Sennheiser HD 595
PSU: 1500W SilverStone Strider
Default 05-15-2015, 19:39 | posts: 837 | Location: Denmark

The spreadsheet should now be completely updated with the latest AA, AO and SLI profiles.
As always all major changes can be found in the "Changelog", linked at the bottom of the OP.
I continue to be amazed at how many quality driver AA and HBAO+ profiles, we can still squeeze out of new and older titles with a DX9 render path.

There would be practically no limit to the amazing stuff we could accomplish with better DX11 AA and AO driver options.
DSR+FXAA/TXAA is such a poor substitute for real driver SSAA modes

I still encourage people to vote for the DX11 AA petition, if anything just to show NVIDIA that we still care about proper driver AA modes in modern APIs:
https://forums.geforce.com/default/t...iver-profiles/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#64)
GuruKnight
Maha Guru
 
GuruKnight's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 Ti AMP! Extreme SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 5930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4
Soundcard: Onboard+Sennheiser HD 595
PSU: 1500W SilverStone Strider
Default 05-20-2015, 14:59 | posts: 837 | Location: Denmark

SLI scaling is now also officially fixed in Watch Dogs and Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor as of the latest 352.86 WHQL driver:
http://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulle...postcount=1992

Things are finally looking to go in the right direction for SLI users
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#65)
lowenz
Master Guru
 
lowenz's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 750Ti
Processor: Intel i3 530 @200x20 MHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-H55-UD3H
Memory: Transcend DDR3 @200x4 MHz
Soundcard: Creative Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: Enermax Liberty ECO 500 W
Default 05-24-2015, 00:55 | posts: 298 | Location: Berghem Haven

For Deus Ex: Invisible War and Thief: Deadly Shadows the MSAA (0x00000041) bit is causing some flashing moving around, with the lastest driver package.

Can anyone test?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
GuruKnight
Maha Guru
 
GuruKnight's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 Ti AMP! Extreme SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 5930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4
Soundcard: Onboard+Sennheiser HD 595
PSU: 1500W SilverStone Strider
Default 05-27-2015, 17:25 | posts: 837 | Location: Denmark

I don't own those particular games
Perhaps MrBonk or pedigrew could have a look at this issue?
http://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulle...postcount=5612
http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...postcount=1460

Do you also encounter the problem with MSAA+SGSSAA modes, or is it isolated to MSAA and MSAA+TrSSAA?
Try "0x00000045" with and without the AA fix enabled.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
lowenz
Master Guru
 
lowenz's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 750Ti
Processor: Intel i3 530 @200x20 MHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-H55-UD3H
Memory: Transcend DDR3 @200x4 MHz
Soundcard: Creative Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: Enermax Liberty ECO 500 W
Default 05-27-2015, 18:20 | posts: 298 | Location: Berghem Haven

Only tested pure MSAA (no transparency)

Still flashing moving around.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
pedigrew
Master Guru
 
pedigrew's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX770 SC ACX 2GB
Processor: Core i7-4770K @Stock
Mainboard: ASUS Z87-A
Memory: G.SkillSniper 8GB 1866Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair RM850
Default 05-28-2015, 02:06 | posts: 200 | Location: Brazil

Well, IIRC, this flashing issue is related to Bloom, so, disabling it in main menu should fix this :/ , will install tomorrow to confirm.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
lowenz
Master Guru
 
lowenz's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 750Ti
Processor: Intel i3 530 @200x20 MHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-H55-UD3H
Memory: Transcend DDR3 @200x4 MHz
Soundcard: Creative Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: Enermax Liberty ECO 500 W
Default 05-28-2015, 11:33 | posts: 298 | Location: Berghem Haven

Damn, without bloom there's no point to use forced MSAA.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#70)
pedigrew
Master Guru
 
pedigrew's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX770 SC ACX 2GB
Processor: Core i7-4770K @Stock
Mainboard: ASUS Z87-A
Memory: G.SkillSniper 8GB 1866Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair RM850
Default 05-29-2015, 00:27 | posts: 200 | Location: Brazil

The issue is only present in recent drivers, tried with iCafe 340.72 and the issue is gone, so rolling back drivers is the only solution. ( OR a new flag)

Well, atleast forced HBAO+ behavior stayed the same

Edit: Great news! 0x000000C1 is working without issues for pure MSAA or MSAA+TsSSAA (needs more testings) when using iCafe 352.94

Last edited by pedigrew; 05-29-2015 at 00:55.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#71)
lowenz
Master Guru
 
lowenz's Avatar
 
Videocard: GeForce GTX 750Ti
Processor: Intel i3 530 @200x20 MHz
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-H55-UD3H
Memory: Transcend DDR3 @200x4 MHz
Soundcard: Creative Audigy 2 ZS
PSU: Enermax Liberty ECO 500 W
Default 05-29-2015, 09:13 | posts: 298 | Location: Berghem Haven

Will try! Thanks man!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#72)
Zoson
Member Guru
 
Videocard: 2x GTX 980 @ 1557/8000
Processor: Core i7 5960x
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage 5 Extreme
Memory: 32GB Corsair LPX 3000MHz
Soundcard: Swans M10 & V-MODA M100
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 06-03-2015, 07:29 | posts: 59 | Location: Manhattan

I'm hoping someone here can explain how sli flags work.
When nvidia implemented sli in titanfall they chose 0x020000F5 for the DX11 sli compatibility bits. This causes lightflares to flicker and also causes some lightbleed occasionally through walls.
It's been said a few times 'I think flag 25 is responsible' - but I have seen no explanation as to what flag 25 is, and how to 'unset' it.
I tried a few of the suggested 'these are good to try for DX11 games' but none of them seemed to provide scaling anywhere near what 0x020000F5 gives.
Thanks!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#73)
pedigrew
Master Guru
 
pedigrew's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX770 SC ACX 2GB
Processor: Core i7-4770K @Stock
Mainboard: ASUS Z87-A
Memory: G.SkillSniper 8GB 1866Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair RM850
Default 06-29-2015, 00:11 | posts: 200 | Location: Brazil

I've added more screenshots for Alien Isolation HBAO+ flag.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#74)
GuruKnight
Maha Guru
 
GuruKnight's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 Ti AMP! Extreme SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 5930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4
Soundcard: Onboard+Sennheiser HD 595
PSU: 1500W SilverStone Strider
Default 06-29-2015, 11:21 | posts: 837 | Location: Denmark

Thanks for the Alien: Isolation screenshots, pedigrew
The shadow depth effect is quite subtle, but as long as it has no serious issues I see no problem in listing it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoson View Post
I'm hoping someone here can explain how sli flags work.
When nvidia implemented sli in titanfall they chose 0x020000F5 for the DX11 sli compatibility bits. This causes lightflares to flicker and also causes some lightbleed occasionally through walls.
It's been said a few times 'I think flag 25 is responsible' - but I have seen no explanation as to what flag 25 is, and how to 'unset' it.
I tried a few of the suggested 'these are good to try for DX11 games' but none of them seemed to provide scaling anywhere near what 0x020000F5 gives.
Thanks!
The official SLI driver profile (0x020000F5) is completely optimal in terms of SLI scaling for Titanfall, and the light flare issues are purely engine related.
The only way of fixing this multi GPU issue is through a game patch made by the developers.

DX11 SLI bit #25 gives the extra "2" in 0x020000F5.
Without this compatibility bit the profile is simply 0x000000F5, which is equivalent of basic AFR 2 mode.
But unfortunately you can't remove bit #25 without breaking scaling, as you discovered yourself.
Hope this helps clear up the confusion

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On a more general note, I have now updated the master list spreadsheet with a couple HBAO+ flags discovered by "Blade II" for Enclave and the DX9 version of Tomb Raider (2013).
Other than these couple of changes, not much has been going on in the area of customized driver profiles in the last month or so.

Personally I'm spending this "downtime" to plan a new PC system build.
Overall I'm very impressed by the new GTX 980 Ti cards, and intend on combining a couple of factory overclocked EVGA or ASUS cards with a 5930K CPU.
Could also be interesting to use one of my old GTX 780's as a dedicated PhysX card, to permit optimal SLI scaling in PhysX heavy titles
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#75)
heymian
Master Guru
 
heymian's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS Strix GTX 980
Processor: Intel Core i7-4770K
Mainboard: ASUS Z87-Plus
Memory: G.Skill DDR3 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: ASUS Xonar Essence STX II
PSU: Corsair AX860 ATX
Default 07-03-2015, 06:02 | posts: 619 | Location: U.S.

A couple questions:

In Nvidia Inspector, under TrSSAA settings, you have 2x, 4x and 8x Supersampling etc. But there is another option below 2x that just says "Supersampling". Is this 1x?

Antialiasing Gamma Correction, I know what this setting does but is it best to have it On or Off nowadays?
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.