Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything GeForce driver related. GeForce ForceWare and GeForce Exerience drivers are for NVIDIA Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
gerardfraser
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: R9 290 Crossfire
Processor: 3770K
Mainboard: MSI Z77-GD65
Memory: DDR3-2133
Soundcard:
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 10-09-2014, 19:22 | posts: 1,836 | Location: Canada

Great job,man that's a lot of work completed.Thanks for sharing.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
whitespider
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 4770k
Processor: Core i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Silverstone 1200 watt
Default 10-22-2014, 11:36 | posts: 157

Great thread.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
fagoatse
Member Guru
 
Videocard: nvidia
Processor: haswell
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 650W
Default 10-26-2014, 19:14 | posts: 139

Bioshock 2 hbao+ dx9 bit is actually 0x0002002D.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
GuruKnight
Maha Guru
 
GuruKnight's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 Ti AMP! Extreme SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 5930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4
Soundcard: Onboard+Sennheiser HD 595
PSU: 1500W SilverStone Strider
Default 10-26-2014, 21:33 | posts: 838 | Location: Denmark

Actually, this makes no difference

"0x0000002D" is enough for DX9 HBAO+ in BioShock 2.
In the same way, "0x00000023" is enough for DX9 HBAO+ in BioShock 1.
The official "0x00020000" AO flag for BS 1 & 2 is DX10-only.

For DX10 only "0x00060000" applies a sufficiently strong HBAO+ effect in BioShock 1 & 2, but with terrible bleeding problems:
http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...&postcount=834

For this reason, I have chosen only to add "0x00000023" and "0x0000002D" for DX9 HBAO+ in respectively BioShock 1 & 2
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
fagoatse
Member Guru
 
Videocard: nvidia
Processor: haswell
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 650W
Default 10-27-2014, 10:22 | posts: 139

Quote:
Originally Posted by GuruKnight View Post
Actually, this makes no difference

"0x0000002D" is enough for DX9 HBAO+ in BioShock 2.
In the same way, "0x00000023" is enough for DX9 HBAO+ in BioShock 1.
The official "0x00020000" AO flag for BS 1 & 2 is DX10-only.

For DX10 only "0x00060000" applies a sufficiently strong HBAO+ effect in BioShock 1 & 2, but with terrible bleeding problems:
http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...&postcount=834

For this reason, I have chosen only to add "0x00000023" and "0x0000002D" for DX9 HBAO+ in respectively BioShock 1 & 2
I've actually tested both and they flicker like crazy(smoke/fog ao bleed?) when approaching pillars/walls, etc. However, 0002D(not 2002D) seems to be even worse in that regard.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
GuruKnight
Maha Guru
 
GuruKnight's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 Ti AMP! Extreme SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 5930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4
Soundcard: Onboard+Sennheiser HD 595
PSU: 1500W SilverStone Strider
Default 10-28-2014, 15:19 | posts: 838 | Location: Denmark

Well I didn't test HBAO+ in BioShock 2 myself, since I don't own the game
But it is absolutely impossible, that there is a difference in AO quality or compatibility between "0x0002002D" and "0x0000002D" in the DX9 mode of ANY game.
The additional AO bit in "2002D" will only affect DX10 and above

However it doesn't really surprise me, that "2D" causes issues in BS2.
This particular AO flag typically applies a very strong effect in many games, but is also known to cause bleeding and other problems.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
GuruKnight
Maha Guru
 
GuruKnight's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 Ti AMP! Extreme SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 5930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4
Soundcard: Onboard+Sennheiser HD 595
PSU: 1500W SilverStone Strider
Default 11-10-2014, 15:54 | posts: 838 | Location: Denmark

OK, my master list spreadsheet is finally in a state I would call "out of beta"
If anybody has any suggestions to new features or other improvements, I'm still very open to this.

It has been a lot of work for the last 2+ months, hope you guys like the outcome.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
GuruKnight
Maha Guru
 
GuruKnight's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 Ti AMP! Extreme SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 5930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4
Soundcard: Onboard+Sennheiser HD 595
PSU: 1500W SilverStone Strider
Default 12-17-2014, 15:26 | posts: 838 | Location: Denmark

If anybody wants to help improve the thread even further, I recommend you upload customized driver profiles in .nip format for your games (preferably with a screenshot of the NVIDIA Inspector settings as well).

That way we can all help each other in building a full database of custom driver profiles ready for download, for all the games in the google spreadsheet linked in the OP.
It is quite impossible for me to do this on my own
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#34)
pedigrew
Master Guru
 
pedigrew's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX770 SC ACX 2GB
Processor: Core i7-4770K @Stock
Mainboard: ASUS Z87-A
Memory: G.SkillSniper 8GB 1866Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: Corsair RM850
Default 12-19-2014, 07:48 | posts: 200 | Location: Brazil

Sir, many thanks, this thread is absolutely fantastic, keep up the good work
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#35)
GuruKnight
Maha Guru
 
GuruKnight's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 Ti AMP! Extreme SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 5930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4
Soundcard: Onboard+Sennheiser HD 595
PSU: 1500W SilverStone Strider
Default 01-12-2015, 22:59 | posts: 838 | Location: Denmark

As "discovered" by pedigrew, HBAO+ is actually also possible in older DX8 games, so I decided to change the title of the "DX9 HBAO+" category in the spreadsheet to "DX8+ HBAO+":
http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.ph...postcount=1366

I also changed the general color scheme of the spreadsheet to match the logo at the top of the OP.
The table in the spreadsheet is now also completely updated with all the latest AA, AO and SLI information I could find.
But if I missed something, then please feel free to report it here in the thread
With appropriate references or proof, of course
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#36)
robb
Member Guru
 
robb's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 x GTX 970 STRIX
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.5 GHZ
Mainboard: Giga GA-Z77X-UD5H Rev 1.1
Memory: 16GB RipjawsZ 2400MHz
Soundcard: Claro Halo w/ Senn PC 360
PSU: Corsair AX760i
Default 01-28-2015, 04:43 | posts: 75 | Location: Connecticut

Nvm retesting a few things.

Side note: I can tell the work was tedious--great job

Last edited by robb; 01-28-2015 at 20:40.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#37)
GuruKnight
Maha Guru
 
GuruKnight's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 Ti AMP! Extreme SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 5930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4
Soundcard: Onboard+Sennheiser HD 595
PSU: 1500W SilverStone Strider
Default 01-30-2015, 12:25 | posts: 838 | Location: Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by robb View Post
Nvm retesting a few things.

Side note: I can tell the work was tedious--great job
Thank you very much, I spent countless hours perfecting this spreadsheet and am now pretty satisfied with the result.
But of course there is always room for improvement

Regarding "Dying Light", the official "0x080000F5" profile recently released through GeForce Experience should give a good result:
http://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulle...postcount=1887

Please report back, if you find any slowdowns or drops in GPU usage with the above profile.
It is not a game I play personally, so I would really appreciate someone else doing the testing in this particular case.

Last edited by GuruKnight; 01-30-2015 at 12:28.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#38)
robb
Member Guru
 
robb's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 x GTX 970 STRIX
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.5 GHZ
Mainboard: Giga GA-Z77X-UD5H Rev 1.1
Memory: 16GB RipjawsZ 2400MHz
Soundcard: Claro Halo w/ Senn PC 360
PSU: Corsair AX760i
Default 01-31-2015, 22:43 | posts: 75 | Location: Connecticut

Quote:
Originally Posted by GuruKnight View Post
Thank you very much, I spent countless hours perfecting this spreadsheet and am now pretty satisfied with the result.
But of course there is always room for improvement

Regarding "Dying Light", the official "0x080000F5" profile recently released through GeForce Experience should give a good result:
http://www.forum-3dcenter.org/vbulle...postcount=1887

Please report back, if you find any slowdowns or drops in GPU usage with the above profile.
It is not a game I play personally, so I would really appreciate someone else doing the testing in this particular case.
I was confused as all hell over the SLI bit for Dying Light. Could've sworn I had the profile updated on both of my OS's, and each had a different one (0x000040F5 Dying Light specifically listed and 0x080000F5 Catzilla). 0x000040F5 of course is horrid, while 0x080000F5 works perfectly fine everywhere.

A good backup I found is 0x0C0000F5, if for some reason the official won't work for someone. No problems with it, but just lower performance indoors (outdoors is hard to tell since its so CPU bound)--perhaps up to a frame drop of 30-50 frames (personally).

TL;DR: As said elsewhere 0x080000F5 is great and has no problems whatsoever. I was just under the impression 0x000040F5 was the official flag due to its name in the drivers originally.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#39)
CPC_RedDawn
Ancient Guru
 
CPC_RedDawn's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1080 +110/+500 H20
Processor: Ryzen 1800X 4GHz H20
Mainboard: CROSSHAIR VI HERO
Memory: 16GB TeamGroup 3200MHz
Soundcard: HyperX Cloud II USB
PSU: 850W EVGA Platinum
Default 01-31-2015, 23:24 | posts: 7,360 | Location: Wolverhampton/United Kingdom

Any new SLI bits for Dragon Age Inquisition?

I am on 347.26 iCafe and still the textures on the floor, shadows on grass, and fog are all bugged in SLI. They flicker a lot and basically break the game for me. Performance is excellent though with the official current sli profile in the drivers.

Just wondered if anyone has been able to find a fix for this issue as it is pretty widespread.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#40)
GuruKnight
Maha Guru
 
GuruKnight's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 Ti AMP! Extreme SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 5930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4
Soundcard: Onboard+Sennheiser HD 595
PSU: 1500W SilverStone Strider
Default 02-02-2015, 13:45 | posts: 838 | Location: Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by robb View Post
I was confused as all hell over the SLI bit for Dying Light. Could've sworn I had the profile updated on both of my OS's, and each had a different one (0x000040F5 Dying Light specifically listed and 0x080000F5 Catzilla). 0x000040F5 of course is horrid, while 0x080000F5 works perfectly fine everywhere.

A good backup I found is 0x0C0000F5, if for some reason the official won't work for someone. No problems with it, but just lower performance indoors (outdoors is hard to tell since its so CPU bound)--perhaps up to a frame drop of 30-50 frames (personally).

TL;DR: As said elsewhere 0x080000F5 is great and has no problems whatsoever. I was just under the impression 0x000040F5 was the official flag due to its name in the drivers originally.
Perhaps you could make indoor and outdoor screenshot comparisons of 0x080000F5 versus 0x0C0000F5 in Dying Light? (with FPS counter).
Also please list all of your ingame settings.
Then I can add 0x0C0000F5 to my table, and subsequently report this to the proper authorities

It might also be interesting to test 0x080000F5 and 0x0C0000F5 with 4xDSR set in the drivers, just to overcome any CPU limit.

Last edited by GuruKnight; 02-02-2015 at 13:50.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#41)
robb
Member Guru
 
robb's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 x GTX 970 STRIX
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.5 GHZ
Mainboard: Giga GA-Z77X-UD5H Rev 1.1
Memory: 16GB RipjawsZ 2400MHz
Soundcard: Claro Halo w/ Senn PC 360
PSU: Corsair AX760i
Default 02-13-2015, 21:59 | posts: 75 | Location: Connecticut

Since I assume you're only adding to the list with proof:

SWAT 4: The Stetchkov Syndicate (SWAT 4 Included)
EDIT: See Post #46.

DX9 AA: Use "0x000012C1"
Album
  • Supports OGSSAA, MSAA, SGSSAA+MSAA, OGSSAA Hybrid. SSAA doesn't seem possible.
  • *OGSSAA Hybrid works, but when I take pictures it's just a black screen (looks comparable to 8xQ MSAA even when using 32xS).

"0x00001201" will also work as in my old post in the other thread, but I can't compare with regards to performance since I can't monitor it. Should be no reason to use it as such.

I used 0xC1 on my old 480 way back when and couldn't cause any frame drops back then. I cannot tell the performance since I can't get RTSS, etc. to work ingame, but even with a very low end card it should be manageable. No ghosting, artifacts, or anything weird.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GuruKnight View Post
Perhaps you could make indoor and outdoor screenshot comparisons of 0x080000F5 versus 0x0C0000F5 in Dying Light? (with FPS counter).
Also please list all of your ingame settings.
Then I can add 0x0C0000F5 to my table, and subsequently report this to the proper authorities

It might also be interesting to test 0x080000F5 and 0x0C0000F5 with 4xDSR set in the drivers, just to overcome any CPU limit.
I just gave up with the game after finishing it. Before the CPU related patch that was pushed, what I said earlier was the case. Now, it seems they both perform nearly the same, at least at 4K. I'm being too lazy with the game since I didn't care for it much

Last edited by robb; 02-15-2015 at 21:51.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#42)
Veteran
Ancient Guru
 
Veteran's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2xTitan XM@1590Mhz-CH20
Processor: 4930k@5.0ghz-1.40v-CH20
Mainboard: R4BE@Monoblock-CH20
Memory: 16Gb Mushkin Redline2133
Soundcard: SupremeFX-Sennheiser 350
PSU: Corsair AX 1200i
Default 02-14-2015, 09:24 | posts: 12,068 | Location: United kingdom

Noted again for reference.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#43)
GuruKnight
Maha Guru
 
GuruKnight's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 Ti AMP! Extreme SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 5930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4
Soundcard: Onboard+Sennheiser HD 595
PSU: 1500W SilverStone Strider
Default 02-14-2015, 19:35 | posts: 838 | Location: Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by robb View Post
Since I assume you're only adding to the list with proof:

SWAT 4: The Stetchkov Syndicate (SWAT 4 Included)
DX9 AA: Use "0x000012C1"
Album
  • Supports OGSSAA, MSAA, SGSSAA+MSAA, OGSSAA Hybrid. SSAA doesn't seem possible.
  • *OGSSAA Hybrid works, but when I take pictures it's just a black screen (looks comparable to 8xQ MSAA even when using 32xS).

"0x00001201" will also work as in my old post in the other thread, but I can't compare with regards to performance since I can't monitor it. Should be no reason to use it as such.

I used 0xC1 on my old 480 way back when and couldn't cause any frame drops back then. I cannot tell the performance since I can't get RTSS, etc. to work ingame, but even with a very low end card it should be manageable. No ghosting, artifacts, or anything weird.
Thank you very much for the contribution
But are you sure a custom AA flag is even needed in such an old game?

Try just "0x00000000" and see if there is any difference in AA quality versus "0x00001201".
Typically these special custom AA bits are only needed to force AA in games using advanced lighting such as HDR, deferred rendering etc.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#44)
robb
Member Guru
 
robb's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 x GTX 970 STRIX
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.5 GHZ
Mainboard: Giga GA-Z77X-UD5H Rev 1.1
Memory: 16GB RipjawsZ 2400MHz
Soundcard: Claro Halo w/ Senn PC 360
PSU: Corsair AX760i
Default 02-14-2015, 20:56 | posts: 75 | Location: Connecticut

Quote:
Originally Posted by GuruKnight View Post
Thank you very much for the contribution
But are you sure a custom AA flag is even needed in such an old game?

Try just "0x00000000" and see if there is any difference in AA quality versus "0x00001201".
Typically these special custom AA bits are only needed to force AA in games using advanced lighting such as HDR, deferred rendering etc.
Yes 0x00 works, but it screws with shadows and details due to the blur. 8xSGSSAA+8xQ (flagged) has equal power, but keeps fine details intact.

I added a picture of 4x4OGSSAA without a flag to compare to the others with the flag in the album.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#45)
GuruKnight
Maha Guru
 
GuruKnight's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 Ti AMP! Extreme SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 5930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4
Soundcard: Onboard+Sennheiser HD 595
PSU: 1500W SilverStone Strider
Default 02-14-2015, 22:42 | posts: 838 | Location: Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by robb View Post
Yes 0x00 works, but it screws with shadows and details due to the blur. 8xSGSSAA+8xQ (flagged) has equal power, but keeps fine details intact.

I added a picture of 4x4OGSSAA without a flag to compare to the others with the flag in the album.
Could you do me a favor and try just "0x000000C0" for OGSSAA?
"C0" is the typical non-blur flag in most older games
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#46)
robb
Member Guru
 
robb's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 x GTX 970 STRIX
Processor: i7-3770K @ 4.5 GHZ
Mainboard: Giga GA-Z77X-UD5H Rev 1.1
Memory: 16GB RipjawsZ 2400MHz
Soundcard: Claro Halo w/ Senn PC 360
PSU: Corsair AX760i
Default 02-15-2015, 21:47 | posts: 75 | Location: Connecticut

Quote:
Originally Posted by GuruKnight View Post
Could you do me a favor and try just "0x000000C0" for OGSSAA?
"C0" is the typical non-blur flag in most older games
Ah didn't know. 0xC0 matches 0x12C1 every way, except performance is marginally better. (Finally got RTSS working in it).

0x12C1: 104.5 frames (98% usage menu)
0x00C0: 104.9 frames (97% usage menu)

Guess 0xC0 is the way to go, even if performance is nearly identical.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#47)
GuruKnight
Maha Guru
 
GuruKnight's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 Ti AMP! Extreme SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 5930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4
Soundcard: Onboard+Sennheiser HD 595
PSU: 1500W SilverStone Strider
Default 02-16-2015, 17:41 | posts: 838 | Location: Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by robb View Post
Ah didn't know. 0xC0 matches 0x12C1 every way, except performance is marginally better. (Finally got RTSS working in it).

0x12C1: 104.5 frames (98% usage menu)
0x00C0: 104.9 frames (97% usage menu)

Guess 0xC0 is the way to go, even if performance is nearly identical.
Very nice, it is settled then
I have updated the spreadsheet with the new information, as well as added various important tips regarding DSR and downsampling in some games.
This is also found under the "OGSSAA" category.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#48)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX980Ti Amp!Omega
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe 2103
Memory: Gskill TridX 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD @Bose A5
PSU: Nitro88+ 650W 52A
Default 02-16-2015, 22:34 | posts: 13,795 | Location: Proxima \/82

btw what is OGSSAA, OG part?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#49)
GuruKnight
Maha Guru
 
GuruKnight's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 Ti AMP! Extreme SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 5930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4
Soundcard: Onboard+Sennheiser HD 595
PSU: 1500W SilverStone Strider
Default 02-17-2015, 02:05 | posts: 838 | Location: Denmark

Ordered grid super sampling AA.

2x2 ~ 4xSSAA ~ 4xDSR (at least in terms of AA coverage)
3x3
4x4

Last edited by GuruKnight; 02-17-2015 at 02:09.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#50)
GuruKnight
Maha Guru
 
GuruKnight's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980 Ti AMP! Extreme SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 5930K
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR4
Soundcard: Onboard+Sennheiser HD 595
PSU: 1500W SilverStone Strider
Default 02-18-2015, 19:57 | posts: 838 | Location: Denmark

I had to move the changelog to a google document instead of including it directly in the OP.
Exceeded the 40.000 character limit

This should also make it easier for me to maintain the spreadsheet and the changelog for both the 3DCenter and Guru3D versions of the thread.

Last edited by GuruKnight; 02-18-2015 at 20:02.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.