Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything GeForce driver related. GeForce ForceWare and GeForce Exerience drivers are for NVIDIA Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#101)
Wagnard
Maha Guru
 
Wagnard's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Geforce GTX 1080
Processor: I7 3770K
Mainboard: ASrock Z77 Extreme3
Memory: 16GB corsair DDR 3
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: Corsair 1k Watt
Default 11-22-2013, 17:52 | posts: 2,389 | Location: ****l (Qc) , Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenYeeHua View Post
You don't need to know, just click the button on DDU and it will do it for you.
Except there are some issues on DDU, or a Optimus laptop user, then you will get the driver cleaned up completely.

For the INF, sorry about that, I has a long time for not modding INF.
Not sure if there is an issue as you ran it in normal mode....
Safemode is recommended.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#102)
Neralio
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon R9 270
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard: Asus
Memory: 8GB RAM
Soundcard:
PSU: Fatality
Default 11-22-2013, 18:08 | posts: 21

I got to finally try 3 drivers ranging from latest, middle, and oldest and they all won't fix the freeze. Ran it on safe mode too and dunno if the old version should work without the INF mod as I couldn't find any of the .inf files. Will give the drivers on that link a shot, iirc the latest on the NVIDIA archives was R304. No harm in giving another older driver a shot I guess, though I'm fearful as I read on earlier posts on this thread about the mysteries of trying an old driver on a new GPU(don't have any idea if my GPU is old though). Oh yeah and if I dont find the .inf file does that mean the driver is compatible with my laptop? Thanks again you guys for helping this clueless caveman
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#103)
Cyberdyne
Ancient Guru
 
Cyberdyne's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1080 Arctic Hybrid III
Processor: i7 4770K @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: 4x8GB @ 2GHz
Soundcard: HyperX Cloud + FiiO E6
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 P2
Default 11-22-2013, 23:36 | posts: 2,927 | Location: USA, Pennsylvania

From your previous post, it sounds like you have more problems besides drivers. I would sort out your BSODs and try other games before you blame the drivers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#104)
Neralio
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon R9 270
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard: Asus
Memory: 8GB RAM
Soundcard:
PSU: Fatality
Default 11-23-2013, 04:17 | posts: 21

The blue screens seem to be only during patching in GW2. I think the data on GW2 got corrupted during reformat(no idea how it was back upped as I wasn't the one who did the reformat). Off to try some games at steam
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#105)
BenYeeHua
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 650M D3
Processor: I5-3210M
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Laptop 90W Adapter
Default 11-23-2013, 09:48 | posts: 1,532

Maybe you can try giving the minidump, so I can check which driver/device are causing it, or it is just the game is corrupted.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#106)
Neralio
Newbie
 
Videocard: AMD Radeon R9 270
Processor: Intel Core i7
Mainboard: Asus
Memory: 8GB RAM
Soundcard:
PSU: Fatality
Default 11-25-2013, 09:23 | posts: 21

How do I perform a minidump? Also I'm about to try the R302 driver from your drivers link Cyberdyne, but I just can't seem to find the .inf files, any of them. I got the R302 version for Windows 7, but my GPU wasn't in the list of supported ones.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#107)
BenYeeHua
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 650M D3
Processor: I5-3210M
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Laptop 90W Adapter
Default 11-25-2013, 12:55 | posts: 1,532

The BSoD minidump is at the %SystemRoot%\Minidump, you can find it there.
   
Reply With Quote
old drivers
Old
  (#108)
theyellowlemon
Newbie
 
theyellowlemon's Avatar
 
Videocard: 9800GTX+ 512
Processor: i3-2100
Mainboard: MSI PH67S-C43
Memory: 8GB @ 1333
Soundcard: SB Audigy SE
PSU: Seasonic X650
Exclamation old drivers - 12-05-2013, 03:16 | posts: 1

I'm building a new rig including a 770 soon. I have one question. Is it possible to use older drivers (100 / 200) on newer cards via modding or some other means?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#109)
Cyberdyne
Ancient Guru
 
Cyberdyne's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1080 Arctic Hybrid III
Processor: i7 4770K @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: 4x8GB @ 2GHz
Soundcard: HyperX Cloud + FiiO E6
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 P2
Default 12-05-2013, 08:07 | posts: 2,927 | Location: USA, Pennsylvania

I can't think of any other 'means' other then modding the inf.

And the simple answer is yes. But the further back you go the more problems you will most likely come across. Just be aware, a driver that old may work well and good on your current GPU, but you are making a big jump here, drivers act differently on different GPUs. I would give the latest a try and go from there.
Also be aware the driver you are modding needs to already support the OS you are using. So obviously if you use Windows 8, you can only use drivers made after it came out. Technically it should be possible to get around that, but that requires editing way beyond this guide and my knowledge.

Last edited by Cyberdyne; 12-05-2013 at 08:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#110)
MiR4i
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 780Ti (x3)
Processor: 4930K
Mainboard: Asus RIVBE
Memory: 64GB
Soundcard:
PSU: AX1200
Default 12-07-2013, 07:47 | posts: 34

I wanted to delve into this a bit sometime next week, but is there a GPU string for the GTX 780 Ti? The list in the OP only has up to GTX 780/Titan.

Can I pull it from the existing WHQL drivers somehow?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#111)
Cyberdyne
Ancient Guru
 
Cyberdyne's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1080 Arctic Hybrid III
Processor: i7 4770K @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: 4x8GB @ 2GHz
Soundcard: HyperX Cloud + FiiO E6
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 P2
Default 12-08-2013, 20:14 | posts: 2,927 | Location: USA, Pennsylvania

Yeah you can pull it from another inf. Just follow my instructions, only rather then using my pastebin links, you use the same sections I tell you to paste things into... if that makes sense. I'll update the links in a bit so you can use that if you want.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#112)
MiR4i
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 780Ti (x3)
Processor: 4930K
Mainboard: Asus RIVBE
Memory: 64GB
Soundcard:
PSU: AX1200
Default 12-08-2013, 22:06 | posts: 34

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyberdyne View Post
Yeah you can pull it from another inf. Just follow my instructions, only rather then using my pastebin links, you use the same sections I tell you to paste things into... if that makes sense. I'll update the links in a bit so you can use that if you want.
Gotcha, thanks. I pulled it from nvdisp.inf

Code:
NVIDIA_DEV.100A = "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780 Ti"
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#113)
bluride
Newbie
 
Videocard: G.SKILL RipjawsZ F3-19200
Processor: Intel i7 3930K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: PNY VCGGTX6804XPB GeForc
Default 12-11-2013, 04:16 | posts: 7

THank you Cyberdyne for writing this guide. I built a HTPC/Gaming computer with these specs:

Intel i7 4770k processor

GPU -GTX 780

Corsair Carbide Series Air 540 High Airflow ATX Cube Case CC-9011030-WW - Black

2 Samsung Electronics 840 EVO-Series 250GB 2.5-Inch SATA III Single Unit Version Internal Solid State Drive MZ-7TE250BW in Raid 0 config

Asus Z87 PRO LGA 1150 Motherboard

G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-1600C9Q-32GXM

Swiftech H220 Quiet Power PLUG-AND-PLAY Liquid Cooling System 4 Pin 2x 120mm Fans 3/8 Fitting, Water block for GTX780.

Windows 7 Pro with WMC.

Ceton InfinTV 6 PCIe cable tuner

Samsung 50" Led TV

2 WD black 4GB Hard drives

I am having an issue with both live TV and MKV Playback and am getting video stuttering. I have read that the Nvidia 314.22 driver helps this issue. I read your post and found that there was no GTX 780 found in my .ini file so I copied it from a newer drivers .ini I am pretty sure I read this in one of the posts that this will work?

When I pasted the GPU string in my .ini I found that the line I pasted did not line up with the other lines. I just added spaces where needed to make it look exactly like the other lines. I hope this is correct??

I have not tried it yet since I need to go over the procedure to do a clean install, remove the working driver before trying the moded driver.

Any comments or suggestions on what I have done would be greatly appreciated.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#114)
Cyberdyne
Ancient Guru
 
Cyberdyne's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1080 Arctic Hybrid III
Processor: i7 4770K @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: 4x8GB @ 2GHz
Soundcard: HyperX Cloud + FiiO E6
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 P2
Default 12-11-2013, 04:35 | posts: 2,927 | Location: USA, Pennsylvania

You can still launch the installation to see if you pass the device check to make sure it's modded right. If it allows you to continue with the install then you did it right, you don't need to actually install it to check.

You do not need to add or take away spaces to make things 'line up'. The spaces are just for you to more easily make sense of what is going on. Just paste it in and that's it. And I assume you put the device id in the right place also? If you did, then you are done. Give it a go.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#115)
bluride
Newbie
 
Videocard: G.SKILL RipjawsZ F3-19200
Processor: Intel i7 3930K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: PNY VCGGTX6804XPB GeForc
Default 12-11-2013, 18:53 | posts: 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyberdyne View Post
You can still launch the installation to see if you pass the device check to make sure it's modded right. If it allows you to continue with the install then you did it right, you don't need to actually install it to check.

You do not need to add or take away spaces to make things 'line up'. The spaces are just for you to more easily make sense of what is going on. Just paste it in and that's it. And I assume you put the device id in the right place also? If you did, then you are done. Give it a go.
Thanks for your help Cyberdyne. I selected setup from the the driver folder and am able to select custom install. I then have a choice of selecting:
Graphics driver
3D vision controller driver
3D vision driver
HD audio driver
PhysX system driver

My guess is I would just install the Graphics driver 314.22??? The rest of the drivers can stay with the latest driver version which is what I have installed now or will a clean install delete them?? not sure on how I should go about this??

I realize this is a basic question but I don't want to mess it up.

Appreciate the help

Last edited by bluride; 12-11-2013 at 18:56.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#116)
SLI-756
Banned
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 12-11-2013, 18:56 | posts: 7,604 | Location: Sunny Scotland

there's a program, will do it all for you. (inf. modding)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#117)
Cyberdyne
Ancient Guru
 
Cyberdyne's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1080 Arctic Hybrid III
Processor: i7 4770K @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: 4x8GB @ 2GHz
Soundcard: HyperX Cloud + FiiO E6
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 P2
Default 12-11-2013, 19:01 | posts: 2,927 | Location: USA, Pennsylvania

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluride View Post
Thanks for your help Cyberdyne. I selected setup from the the driver folder and am able to select custom install. I then have a choice of selecting:
Graphics driver
3D vision controller driver
3D vision driver
HD audio driver
PhysX system driver

My guess is I would just install the Graphics driver 314.22??? The rest of the drivers can stay with the latest driver version which is what I have installed now or will a clean install delete them?? not sure on how I should go about this??

I realize this is a basic question but I don't want to mess it up.

Appreciate the help
The fact you got that far means you modded it fine. As for the rest of the components, it's up to you. I don't use anything else other then the driver and physx. If you need the other parts, I suggest you use the one included with the driver not newer parts, usually not a good idea to mix-n-match.

@SLI-756; Ok that's cool. I would check it out and maybe add it to the OP for people to try. But you don't give very much in way of a program name, google leads to this post or post and videos like it (but obviously not nearly as good haha). Not very helpful. I mean you, not google... you are not very helpful.

Last edited by Cyberdyne; 12-11-2013 at 19:05.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#118)
bluride
Newbie
 
Videocard: G.SKILL RipjawsZ F3-19200
Processor: Intel i7 3930K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: PNY VCGGTX6804XPB GeForc
Default 12-11-2013, 19:25 | posts: 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyberdyne View Post
The fact you got that far means you modded it fine. As for the rest of the components, it's up to you. I don't use anything else other then the driver and physx. If you need the other parts, I suggest you use the one included with the driver not newer parts, usually not a good idea to mix-n-match.

@SLI-756; Ok that's cool. I would check it out and maybe add it to the OP for people to try. But you don't give very much in way of a program name, google leads to this post or post and videos like it (but obviously not nearly as good haha). Not very helpful. I mean you, not google... you are not very helpful.
Ok, Great. So the mod looks good. I will leave all the drivers selected. Not sure If I should preform a clean install???
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#119)
SLI-756
Banned
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 12-11-2013, 19:27 | posts: 7,604 | Location: Sunny Scotland

I could only mention it cause it's classified.
at least folks know it exists, it been spoken of before actually.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#120)
Cyberdyne
Ancient Guru
 
Cyberdyne's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1080 Arctic Hybrid III
Processor: i7 4770K @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: 4x8GB @ 2GHz
Soundcard: HyperX Cloud + FiiO E6
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 P2
Default 12-11-2013, 20:00 | posts: 2,927 | Location: USA, Pennsylvania

@bluride; Probably a good idea to clean install. You probably don't need to use DDU or anything like that, just check the clean install option from the installer. When it's done you can make sure it's installed ok by takin a gander at this-

(right click desktop, nv control panel, system information, components)
Last 6 digits of MOST parts should match. Some don't like physx. You will know the install is messed up if the last 6 digits match the driver version of the driver you were using before you installed this one.

@SLI-756; How special. Pointless to mention it only to make it known, what a strange high-horse attitude to have over something so simple.

Last edited by Cyberdyne; 12-11-2013 at 20:21.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#121)
SLI-756
Banned
 
Videocard: 760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
Processor: Devil's Canyon i5 @4.8
Mainboard: gigabyte z97 G1 Sniper
Memory: 8gb dominator gt @2400
Soundcard: asus xonar dx
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
Default 12-11-2013, 20:03 | posts: 7,604 | Location: Sunny Scotland

you didn't even pm me.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#122)
Cyberdyne
Ancient Guru
 
Cyberdyne's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1080 Arctic Hybrid III
Processor: i7 4770K @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: 4x8GB @ 2GHz
Soundcard: HyperX Cloud + FiiO E6
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 P2
Default 12-11-2013, 20:14 | posts: 2,927 | Location: USA, Pennsylvania

I don't need it. I can only see it being useful for people who find the guide to cumbersome. If I can't add it to the OP then I don't see the point.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#123)
BenYeeHua
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 650M D3
Processor: I5-3210M
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Laptop 90W Adapter
Default 12-11-2013, 22:28 | posts: 1,532

If that tool is classified, then we can't put it on OP too, as you also can't tell about it on here, but only PM.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#124)
bluride
Newbie
 
Videocard: G.SKILL RipjawsZ F3-19200
Processor: Intel i7 3930K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: PNY VCGGTX6804XPB GeForc
Smile 12-11-2013, 22:51 | posts: 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyberdyne View Post
@bluride; Probably a good idea to clean install. You probably don't need to use DDU or anything like that, just check the clean install option from the installer. When it's done you can make sure it's installed ok by takin a gander at this-

(right click desktop, nv control panel, system information, components)
Last 6 digits of MOST parts should match. Some don't like physx. You will know the install is messed up if the last 6 digits match the driver version of the driver you were using before you installed this one.

@SLI-756; How special. Pointless to mention it only to make it known, what a strange high-horse attitude to have over something so simple.
Thank you very much Cyberdyne, I ran it and verified it as you had posted and everything looks good. Looks like I am still having some issues with the stuttering on MKV playback. Maybe its a bad setting. I will keep looking , thanks again
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#125)
Cyberdyne
Ancient Guru
 
Cyberdyne's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1080 Arctic Hybrid III
Processor: i7 4770K @ 4.4GHz
Mainboard: MSI Z87-G45 Gaming
Memory: 4x8GB @ 2GHz
Soundcard: HyperX Cloud + FiiO E6
PSU: EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 P2
Default 12-12-2013, 04:17 | posts: 2,927 | Location: USA, Pennsylvania

You're welcome, I'm glad at least the driver installed. Not so glad that it didn't fix your problem though.

And I'm tickled silly by this use of the word 'classified', a top secret program that pastes two lines of text for you, shhhhh.
Again, not so useful for most of us here regulars, and I'm not adding to the OP "PM SLI-756 for a program that does this for you if you find the guide difficult".
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.