Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything GeForce driver related. GeForce ForceWare and GeForce Exerience drivers are for NVIDIA Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Gears of War 4 Display driver nvlddmkm stopped responding and has successfully recov
Old
  (#1)
X7007
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Inno3D 1080GTX Ichill x3
Processor: I7 3770K @ 4.4 1.255
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 16GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative ZXR
PSU: ThermalTake ToughPower850
Default Gears of War 4 Display driver nvlddmkm stopped responding and has successfully recov - 07-11-2017, 21:11 | posts: 1,219 | Location: ISRAEL

I just started playing the game . it was working fine for 3-4 hrs straight , then after some point or 3-4 missions it started crashing on the same spot , one time in instant, second time after 2-3 min . the game just freeze and the event viewer show this error . no BSOD or anything, I can alt tab out of the game , close it and do anything else like nothing happened.

Other games works fine for longer period of hours. I played Prey, Rise of the TombRaider , never had this error repeatedly like this .

So I'm thinking it's the game . many other people with 1080GTX says they have issues , also TI's and also some 970 cards.
it's not heat, the gpu is barely 60c-55c when it freezes. no overclock


https://gearsofwar.com/en-us/forums/...4ff4393e/posts


this one is me

https://gearsofwar.com/en-us/forums/...68ad8e02/posts
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
BuildeR2
Maha Guru
 
BuildeR2's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080 Gaming2050/11100
Processor: i7 4770k 4.4GHz 1.265v
Mainboard: ASUS Z97-A BIOS 2801
Memory: 2x8GB G.Skill @ 2400Mhz
Soundcard: ALC892
PSU: OCZ FTY750W
Default 07-11-2017, 22:31 | posts: 2,318 | Location: TX

I started playing Gears 4 with a friend a few nights ago and I had a terrible time. The game seemed to be pretty cool, but I had constant 2-3 second long stutters, times where the game would sit between 4-5 FPS and the cinematics were about 6 seconds behind in the audio department. Not to mention the driver crash/reset you mention. Meanwhile, my friend and his 6600K/RX480 had zero issues all night long.

Other than going to an older driver, I've tried lots of stuff with no success. Stock clocks, playing on 1080p/low instead of 4k/high, resetting the app data, uninstall and reinstall, prefer max performance but none of that has helped.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
anxious_f0x
Maha Guru
 
anxious_f0x's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan X (Pascal) SLi
Processor: i7 6950X @ 4.1GHz
Mainboard: Asus ROG STRIX X99 GAMING
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 32GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster X7
PSU: Silverstone 1000w
Default 07-12-2017, 12:29 | posts: 1,094 | Location: England

Pretty strange, this has been one of the most stable pc games I've owned in years, no problems across two different systems, one X58 with 980Ti's in SLi which I then switched to a 1080Ti, and the second system being X99 with two Titan X pascals.

One of my friends did mention that when lowering certain quality settings he had the game crash shortly after loading into gameplay, but it's not something I could ever replicate myself.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
BuildeR2
Maha Guru
 
BuildeR2's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080 Gaming2050/11100
Processor: i7 4770k 4.4GHz 1.265v
Mainboard: ASUS Z97-A BIOS 2801
Memory: 2x8GB G.Skill @ 2400Mhz
Soundcard: ALC892
PSU: OCZ FTY750W
Default 07-13-2017, 00:29 | posts: 2,318 | Location: TX

Quote:
Originally Posted by anxious_f0x View Post
Pretty strange, this has been one of the most stable pc games I've owned in years, no problems across two different systems, one X58 with 980Ti's in SLi which I then switched to a 1080Ti, and the second system being X99 with two Titan X pascals.

One of my friends did mention that when lowering certain quality settings he had the game crash shortly after loading into gameplay, but it's not something I could ever replicate myself.
Changing settings and then trying to play the game always results in a hard lock for me. For example, last night I went in and changed DoF from high to medium, loaded my save file and a few seconds in had it hard lock. I asked my friend with the 6600K/480 to do the same thing and it crashed on him as well. For now I'm going to try getting my settings locked in, closing the game, opening it back up and going straight to gameplay. I'm pretty close to going back to 382.53 at this point, since the 384.xx series has brought nothing but trouble.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
X7007
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Inno3D 1080GTX Ichill x3
Processor: I7 3770K @ 4.4 1.255
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 16GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative ZXR
PSU: ThermalTake ToughPower850
Default 07-13-2017, 06:36 | posts: 1,219 | Location: ISRAEL

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuildeR2 View Post
Changing settings and then trying to play the game always results in a hard lock for me. For example, last night I went in and changed DoF from high to medium, loaded my save file and a few seconds in had it hard lock. I asked my friend with the 6600K/480 to do the same thing and it crashed on him as well. For now I'm going to try getting my settings locked in, closing the game, opening it back up and going straight to gameplay. I'm pretty close to going back to 382.53 at this point, since the 384.xx series has brought nothing but trouble.

please update here if it works fine so i will revert too . sometimes it tales long time before crash it can be between 2 min into 2 hrs.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
BuildeR2
Maha Guru
 
BuildeR2's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080 Gaming2050/11100
Processor: i7 4770k 4.4GHz 1.265v
Mainboard: ASUS Z97-A BIOS 2801
Memory: 2x8GB G.Skill @ 2400Mhz
Soundcard: ALC892
PSU: OCZ FTY750W
Default 07-13-2017, 07:57 | posts: 2,318 | Location: TX

Quote:
Originally Posted by X7007 View Post
please update here if it works fine so i will revert too . sometimes it tales long time before crash it can be between 2 min into 2 hrs.
I'll report back in a day or so. We tried playing again tonight and made it about 40 minutes before my game hard locked and we called it a night. By the way, all of my parts (CPU,GPU,RAM) are at stock speeds right now. UWP games have been particularly sensitive to overclocks so this is usually the first thing I try, but it hasn't helped at all. I think it is the 384.xx driver line, so I'm going to do a clean wipe and reinstall of 382.53 tomorrow and see how the games does.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
hexaae
Newbie
 
Videocard: nVidia GTX980M 4GB G-Sync
Processor: i7-4860HQ
Mainboard: ASUS G751JY
Memory: 24GB DDR3L 2133MHz
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: 230W
Default 07-13-2017, 12:08 | posts: 24 | Location: Italy

Did you try to set through NVidiaProfileInspector:
  • Preferred Refreshrate: Use the 3D application setting
  • Vertical Sync: Use the 3D application setting
?
It solved my issues on gtx 980m gaming laptop and Windows 10 CU.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
X7007
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Inno3D 1080GTX Ichill x3
Processor: I7 3770K @ 4.4 1.255
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 16GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative ZXR
PSU: ThermalTake ToughPower850
Default 07-13-2017, 16:24 | posts: 1,219 | Location: ISRAEL

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuildeR2 View Post
I'll report back in a day or so. We tried playing again tonight and made it about 40 minutes before my game hard locked and we called it a night. By the way, all of my parts (CPU,GPU,RAM) are at stock speeds right now. UWP games have been particularly sensitive to overclocks so this is usually the first thing I try, but it hasn't helped at all. I think it is the 384.xx driver line, so I'm going to do a clean wipe and reinstall of 382.53 tomorrow and see how the games does.
K , I hope that what fix it...




Quote:
Originally Posted by hexaae View Post
Did you try to set through NVidiaProfileInspector:
  • Preferred Refreshrate: Use the 3D application setting
  • Vertical Sync: Use the 3D application setting
?
It solved my issues on gtx 980m gaming laptop and Windows 10 CU.
I have TV so only 60 Hz, and Vsync is already set to this .
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
pharma
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Asus Strix GTX 1080
Processor: Intel 5960X @ 4.4
Mainboard: Asus X-99 Rampage Win7x64
Memory: Corsair LPX 2800 @ 3200
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 1200
Default 07-13-2017, 18:47 | posts: 686

Quote:
Originally Posted by X7007 View Post
I just started playing the game . it was working fine for 3-4 hrs straight , then after some point or 3-4 missions it started crashing on the same spot , one time in instant, second time after 2-3 min . the game just freeze and the event viewer show this error . no BSOD or anything, I can alt tab out of the game , close it and do anything else like nothing happened.

Other games works fine for longer period of hours. I played Prey, Rise of the TombRaider , never had this error repeatedly like this .

So I'm thinking it's the game . many other people with 1080GTX says they have issues , also TI's and also some 970 cards.
it's not heat, the gpu is barely 60c-55c when it freezes. no overclock
The same happened to me with MEA (Mass Effect Andromeda) when I changed Vertical Sync to "Off" in the ingame settings. Changing back to "On" solved the errors and crashes with driver 384's.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
X7007
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Inno3D 1080GTX Ichill x3
Processor: I7 3770K @ 4.4 1.255
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 16GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative ZXR
PSU: ThermalTake ToughPower850
Default 07-13-2017, 20:34 | posts: 1,219 | Location: ISRAEL

Quote:
Originally Posted by pharma View Post
The same happened to me with MEA (Mass Effect Andromeda) when I changed Vertical Sync to "Off" in the ingame settings. Changing back to "On" solved the errors and crashes with driver 384's.

I'll check it .

For some reason , Vsync is weird to say.

For example in Bladestorm Nightmare the game is usually caps to 60 Fps , and then always what happens after a restart of the computer. but for some reason some thing happens and I have no idea what it is, checking again the game the fps suddenly is 64 Fps and is smoother, and also no tearing, I'm using the game vsync , so I have no idea what happens.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
X7007
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Inno3D 1080GTX Ichill x3
Processor: I7 3770K @ 4.4 1.255
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 16GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative ZXR
PSU: ThermalTake ToughPower850
Default 07-18-2017, 20:11 | posts: 1,219 | Location: ISRAEL

For now what I did is

Installed Intel MEI INF file only
Installed Intel WatchDog INF file only

Disable Vsync in the game and only use Frame Limiter

I didn't have crash so long 2-3 hrs

Does anyone else have stuttering every now and then ? it's like alway when looking on the same spot or passing through the same place. it's like something in the game.
I don't think we need Frame Limiter and Vsync on the same time, it's screw with the engine. the Frame Limiter does pretty 100% lock on 60.00 if needed or any other FPS . this game is heavy, can't run stable 90 FPS on some places 2560x1440 all on ultra . FOV 90

EDIT : It crashed again ,,, I am not sure if it's because ALT TAB.

Last edited by X7007; 07-18-2017 at 20:38.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
Mda400
Master Guru
 
Mda400's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 1519/7906mhz
Processor: i7-4790k @ 4.7ghz 1.29v
Mainboard: Asus z97-E LGA 1150
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2400mhz
Soundcard: LG LHB326 Receiver (HDMI)
PSU: Ultra X4 1050w (76A 12v)
Default 07-21-2017, 15:46 | posts: 596 | Location: Minnesota

Quote:
Originally Posted by X7007 View Post
For now what I did is

Installed Intel MEI INF file only
Installed Intel WatchDog INF file only

Disable Vsync in the game and only use Frame Limiter

I didn't have crash so long 2-3 hrs

Does anyone else have stuttering every now and then ? it's like alway when looking on the same spot or passing through the same place. it's like something in the game.
I don't think we need Frame Limiter and Vsync on the same time, it's screw with the engine. the Frame Limiter does pretty 100% lock on 60.00 if needed or any other FPS . this game is heavy, can't run stable 90 FPS on some places 2560x1440 all on ultra . FOV 90

EDIT : It crashed again ,,, I am not sure if it's because ALT TAB.
Only times I crashed with this game are Ambient Occlusion on Ultra (some games that use HBAO+ with my card will freeze after some time. Don't know if its a driver or game issue), and unstable processor overclock (this game uses DX12 and uses the whole processor pretty well).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
BuildeR2
Maha Guru
 
BuildeR2's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080 Gaming2050/11100
Processor: i7 4770k 4.4GHz 1.265v
Mainboard: ASUS Z97-A BIOS 2801
Memory: 2x8GB G.Skill @ 2400Mhz
Soundcard: ALC892
PSU: OCZ FTY750W
Default 07-22-2017, 09:02 | posts: 2,318 | Location: TX

Using DDU and going back to 382.53 seems to have fixed the freezing for me. I had never made it more than an hour without a hard freeze while using any of the 384.xx drivers, but I just got through playing for 5 hours straight with my buddy in coop campaign. We made it through the entirety of the 3rd act freeze and crash free. I did get some slowdown and stutters in gameplay and cutscenes, but I'll take that over hard freezes.

Also, using 384.xx drivers with all components @ stock speeds still had freezes and crashes. Using 382.53 I have all my OC's listed in my profile back on and no freezes or crashes. It might be worth trying to "downgrade" your drivers.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
IcemaN22
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Asus 1080Ti ROG STRIX
Processor: 4930K @ 4.4Ghz - 24/7
Mainboard: MSI X79A GD65 8D
Memory: 16GB HyperX 2400mhz
Soundcard: Xonar Essence STX
PSU: Corsair RM 1000W
Default 07-22-2017, 14:18 | posts: 120 | Location: Norway

I also had serious issues with my 1080 TI getting nvlddmkm stopped responding both in games and idle with the newest 384.xx drivers.
After running DDU and installed 382.05 so far after 24hours no problems.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
X7007
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Inno3D 1080GTX Ichill x3
Processor: I7 3770K @ 4.4 1.255
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 16GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative ZXR
PSU: ThermalTake ToughPower850
Default Yesterday, 00:00 | posts: 1,219 | Location: ISRAEL

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuildeR2 View Post
Using DDU and going back to 382.53 seems to have fixed the freezing for me. I had never made it more than an hour without a hard freeze while using any of the 384.xx drivers, but I just got through playing for 5 hours straight with my buddy in coop campaign. We made it through the entirety of the 3rd act freeze and crash free. I did get some slowdown and stutters in gameplay and cutscenes, but I'll take that over hard freezes.

Also, using 384.xx drivers with all components @ stock speeds still had freezes and crashes. Using 382.53 I have all my OC's listed in my profile back on and no freezes or crashes. It might be worth trying to "downgrade" your drivers.
Thanks I'll check it




Quote:
Originally Posted by IcemaN22 View Post
I also had serious issues with my 1080 TI getting nvlddmkm stopped responding both in games and idle with the newest 384.xx drivers.
After running DDU and installed 382.05 so far after 24hours no problems.
thanks nice, I will install them
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
BuildeR2
Maha Guru
 
BuildeR2's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080 Gaming2050/11100
Processor: i7 4770k 4.4GHz 1.265v
Mainboard: ASUS Z97-A BIOS 2801
Memory: 2x8GB G.Skill @ 2400Mhz
Soundcard: ALC892
PSU: OCZ FTY750W
Default Yesterday, 01:00 | posts: 2,318 | Location: TX

As a side note, ManuelG from Nvidia posted in the 384.94 driver thread saying that the Gears 4 crashes in the 384.xx drivers has been fixed for Maxwell/Pascal not including 970. I'm still not updating from the 382.xx series until I have to, but good news if it is indeed fixed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
X7007
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Inno3D 1080GTX Ichill x3
Processor: I7 3770K @ 4.4 1.255
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77-V
Memory: 16GB G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative ZXR
PSU: ThermalTake ToughPower850
Default Yesterday, 20:48 | posts: 1,219 | Location: ISRAEL

Quote:
Originally Posted by BuildeR2 View Post
As a side note, ManuelG from Nvidia posted in the 384.94 driver thread saying that the Gears 4 crashes in the 384.xx drivers has been fixed for Maxwell/Pascal not including 970. I'm still not updating from the 382.xx series until I have to, but good news if it is indeed fixed.
Can anyone test if it was fixed ? I'm already with drivers 382.53 , didn't want to test . just wanted to play properly.

with 382.53 it works fine, at least by 1-2 hrs that I played
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
BuildeR2
Maha Guru
 
BuildeR2's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080 Gaming2050/11100
Processor: i7 4770k 4.4GHz 1.265v
Mainboard: ASUS Z97-A BIOS 2801
Memory: 2x8GB G.Skill @ 2400Mhz
Soundcard: ALC892
PSU: OCZ FTY750W
Default Yesterday, 23:41 | posts: 2,318 | Location: TX

Quote:
Originally Posted by X7007 View Post
Can anyone test if it was fixed ? I'm already with drivers 382.53 , didn't want to test . just wanted to play properly.

with 382.53 it works fine, at least by 1-2 hrs that I played
Sorry about that last post. I've been following several threads about 384.94 and Gears 4 and it doesn't look like it has been fixed. MG's post has now disappeared and people with 980/1060/1070/1080 are reporting that it still freezes. Looks like we are on 382.53 for a while longer.

In other news, my friend and I played through the entirety of Act 4 last night and had zero issues. Another nearly flawless 5 hour session on 382.53.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.