Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section
Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section In this section you can discuss everything GeForce driver related. GeForce ForceWare and GeForce Exerience drivers are for NVIDIA Quadro and all GeForce based videocards.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
Afterdark
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 ti 11gb
Processor: Intel Core i7 7700k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX1000i
Default 06-29-2017, 10:49 | posts: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by bishi View Post
Replying to OP. Make your own thread and don't hijack his.
We're having the same problem, adding the differences from mine to his might help narrow down the issue. That's why I didn't make a new thread. Your solution is a band-aid and not a fix. Thanks anyways though.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
boombastik
Master Guru
 
Videocard: PNY GTX 970 XLR8 OC
Processor: i7 4790
Mainboard: Assrock z97 Anniversary
Memory: 2x8=16GB 1600MHZ corsair
Soundcard: X-fi Xreme audio-Keposon
PSU: Thermaltake BerlinV3 650w
Default 06-29-2017, 10:56 | posts: 185 | Location: greece

This is bug with asus bios.
reset your bios and leave cm on.
Uefi + legacy

try it if it is not boot return to cm off.
And i know for surely that is uefi asus bug because if a take out the nvidia video card and boot with only the onboard card with the monitor, it is doing the same thing.

Now days we only pay for different sockets with the same bugs.
What is the reason to have 10000 hours japan capacitors when they have no clue how to write a proper firmware.

Last edited by boombastik; 06-29-2017 at 11:03.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
Afterdark
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 ti 11gb
Processor: Intel Core i7 7700k
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair HX1000i
Default 06-29-2017, 12:43 | posts: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by boombastik View Post
This is bug with asus bios.
reset your bios and leave cm on.
Uefi + legacy

try it if it is not boot return to cm off.
And i know for surely that is uefi asus bug because if a take out the nvidia video card and boot with only the onboard card with the monitor, it is doing the same thing.

Now days we only pay for different sockets with the same bugs.
What is the reason to have 10000 hours japan capacitors when they have no clue how to write a proper firmware.

That worked for me, thanks! I'm not sure why I was told to turn cm off in the first place, thank you kindly. It was a huge annoyance.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
boombastik
Master Guru
 
Videocard: PNY GTX 970 XLR8 OC
Processor: i7 4790
Mainboard: Assrock z97 Anniversary
Memory: 2x8=16GB 1600MHZ corsair
Soundcard: X-fi Xreme audio-Keposon
PSU: Thermaltake BerlinV3 650w
Default 06-29-2017, 13:19 | posts: 185 | Location: greece

because when u have cm on in other motherboards u loose secure boot.
But in asus with cm on in mode uefi+legacy u dont loose anything.
Uefi boot works and secure boot also.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
Mda400
Master Guru
 
Mda400's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 1519/7906mhz
Processor: i7-4790k @ 4.7ghz 1.29v
Mainboard: Asus z97-E LGA 1150
Memory: 16GB Corsair DDR3 2400mhz
Soundcard: LG LHB326 Receiver (HDMI)
PSU: Ultra X4 1050w (76A 12v)
Default 06-30-2017, 21:44 | posts: 596 | Location: Minnesota

Quote:
Originally Posted by boombastik View Post
because when u have cm on in other motherboards u loose secure boot.
But in asus with cm on in mode uefi+legacy u dont loose anything.
Uefi boot works and secure boot also.
Because with UEFI + legacy, the devices that don't want to work cooperate with the UEFI can run in BIOS emulated mode. It can be set to first try EFI support and if not, fallback to legacy BIOS emulation.

If it works normal when you have UEFI + Legacy OPROM, then it falling back to legacy and secure boot should not work in that instance. It is recommended if everything supports UEFI, you should enable UEFI support only. POSTing from UEFI only is faster on any drive than BIOS and you have the option to install a boot drive larger than 3 TB.

Plus security from an enterprise standpoint as with secure boot, unauthorized software cannot run at bootup (a sort of DEP but before you are booted to the OS).

But good to know you got it working

Last edited by Mda400; 06-30-2017 at 21:56.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.