Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General > Operating Systems
Operating Systems Is Windows 8.1 giving you a hard time ? Wanna try out Windows 10 ?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#576)
tsunami231
Ancient Guru
 
tsunami231's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 660gtx sig2
Processor: i7 6700k NH-D14
Mainboard: Asrock z170 Extreme 4
Memory: Corsair LPX 2400mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Realtek HD Audio
PSU: Antec HCG 750m
Default 05-10-2017, 20:51 | posts: 7,260 | Location: USA

.293

Here and i cant see an issue or fixed one everything works, well other then the startbar bug that my ocd dont like

Last edited by tsunami231; 05-10-2017 at 21:03.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#577)
Archvile82
Newbie
 
Videocard: Msi 1070 gtx gaming x
Processor: 4790k @ 4ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z97 pro gamer
Memory: Corsair V 32 gig @ 2400
Soundcard: HT Omega Halo Claro
PSU: Seasonic 860w platinum
Default 05-12-2017, 08:41 | posts: 2 | Location: United Kingdom

I just wish they hurry up and fix the hdr integration. Nvidia implementation was fine until these cowboys f'ed it. Mass effect hdr is broken again with the latest Nvidia driver.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#578)
Undying
Ancient Guru
 
Undying's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280X Vapor-X
Processor: Intel i5 @ 4.8Ghz-1.38v
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
Memory: HyperX-16GB @ 2133Mhz
Soundcard: Realtek onboard
PSU: Tt ToughpowerXT 775W
Default 05-13-2017, 00:37 | posts: 9,534 | Location: Serbia, NS

Finally forced an update .296, no issues so far.

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#579)
dsbig
Ancient Guru
 
dsbig's Avatar
 
Videocard: SAPPHIRE NITRO 390x
Processor: 3770k @ 4.3ghz
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 32gb 1866mhz
Soundcard: Soundblaster ZxR
PSU: Kingwin 850 watts
Default 05-17-2017, 14:33 | posts: 3,823 | Location: florida

my speaker settings are not keeping separate from the headphone settings.


I have an issue with my left speaker being louder than my right one.
been like this sense I got it.

so I use speaker setup to lower the volume of the left speaker.

but when switching to headphone mode. the volume for the left is still the same... so then I have to switch back to speaker mode and volume back to normal and switch back to headphone mode.


It wasnt like that before....
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#580)
EdKiefer
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i5-3570k@4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V pro
Memory: 16Gb-DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair XT650
Default 05-21-2017, 15:00 | posts: 1,291

I was going to ask how it going with 1703 and stability, Nvidia drivers.

I have it installed in a VM, and while I was messing with it more, I see they removed a lot functions from even the old control panel.

Something simple like adding MyPC shortcut to desktop which you could do through control panel >personalize is now gone (control panel looks trimmed down).
Yeh, in above example you can add it by right clicking on MyPC in file browser and then to pin to startmenu and drag to desktop, but man why remove this stuff w/o replacing it.

I don't get it, guess I will wait till defer time runs out, i really hate what there doing with simple stuff.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#581)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1070
Processor: i7 6700K 4.5Ghz 1.28v
Mainboard: Asus Maximus 8 Hero
Memory: Vengeance 32GB 3000Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + H/K Soundsticks
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova
Default 05-21-2017, 18:11 | posts: 9,824 | Location: Dobuy

Install LTSB and forget about their "upgrades" until you really need something.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#582)
AsiJu
Ancient Guru
 
AsiJu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 980Ti SC+/Xtreme IV
Processor: Ryzen 5 1600@3.9GHz/1.3V
Mainboard: ASRock X370 Killer SLI
Memory: TridentZ 2933/C14 16 GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium + Z906
PSU: Tt. Toughpower XT 875 W
Default 05-21-2017, 20:36 | posts: 3,391 | Location: Finland

Off-topic really but kind of Windows 10 related (won't fit any other thread either):

I just came back to my own PC after finalizing a Windows 7 build with Core 2 Duo processor and SATA HDD for my father-in-law (he's helped me so much with cars and whatnot that building him a semi-decent rig is the least I can do in return).

The system did have an issue where WU would just keep looping in the background and reserve 50 % of CPU.
Got it sorted and system is clean and sleek, but comparing to a state-of-the-art multicore CPU, SSD and Windows 10 the difference in responsiveness is insane!

I basically had an identical Core 2 build myself only four years ago and was happy with it. How things change...
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#583)
EdKiefer
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i5-3570k@4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V pro
Memory: 16Gb-DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair XT650
Default 05-21-2017, 22:12 | posts: 1,291

Quote:
Originally Posted by AsiJu View Post
Off-topic really but kind of Windows 10 related (won't fit any other thread either):

I just came back to my own PC after finalizing a Windows 7 build with Core 2 Duo processor and SATA HDD for my father-in-law (he's helped me so much with cars and whatnot that building him a semi-decent rig is the least I can do in return).

The system did have an issue where WU would just keep looping in the background and reserve 50 % of CPU.
Got it sorted and system is clean and sleek, but comparing to a state-of-the-art multicore CPU, SSD and Windows 10 the difference in responsiveness is insane!

I basically had an identical Core 2 build myself only four years ago and was happy with it. How things change...
So your saying win7 was better, I honestly not see much deference between win7 and win10 as for performance with same HW, seems about the same.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#584)
Dch48
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro+ RX 470 4g
Processor: AMD FX-6300 6 core
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-78LMT-S2
Memory: Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 8gb
Soundcard: Realtek 7.1 integrated
PSU: LEPA 650 watt
Default 05-22-2017, 01:15 | posts: 1,782 | Location: Upstate NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsunami231 View Post
This startbar bug where lil bar turn white when and get stuck when autohide is used require one to hit the windows button to fix it is starting to annoy me, alot..

So for every build update has had Startbar issue to be fix by next build that just happens to introduce a new startbar issue after fix the last issue.
I've never had any start bar issues with Windows 10
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#585)
Dch48
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Sapphire Nitro+ RX 470 4g
Processor: AMD FX-6300 6 core
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-78LMT-S2
Memory: Corsair XMS DDR3-1333 8gb
Soundcard: Realtek 7.1 integrated
PSU: LEPA 650 watt
Default 05-22-2017, 01:16 | posts: 1,782 | Location: Upstate NY

Quote:
Originally Posted by EdKiefer View Post
So your saying win7 was better, I honestly not see much deference between win7 and win10 as for performance with same HW, seems about the same.
He's actually saying that Windows 10 is better.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#586)
AsiJu
Ancient Guru
 
AsiJu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 980Ti SC+/Xtreme IV
Processor: Ryzen 5 1600@3.9GHz/1.3V
Mainboard: ASRock X370 Killer SLI
Memory: TridentZ 2933/C14 16 GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium + Z906
PSU: Tt. Toughpower XT 875 W
Default 05-22-2017, 17:23 | posts: 3,391 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by EdKiefer View Post
So your saying win7 was better, I honestly not see much deference between win7 and win10 as for performance with same HW, seems about the same.
No, the opposite actually. Sure using an SSD would help with Win 7 system tremendously too but all in all the difference is remarkable.

And the Core 2/Win 7/HDD performance was exactly how my old system performed and never complained.
Would complain a lot these days
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#587)
radosuaf
Maha Guru
 
radosuaf's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 1050 Ti D5 4GB
Processor: Intel Core i5-6402P
Mainboard: MSI H110 PC MATE
Memory: DDR4 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer PCI
PSU: Corsair TX-650W
Default Yesterday, 10:24 | posts: 1,441 | Location: Poland

Quote:
Originally Posted by AsiJu View Post
Got it sorted and system is clean and sleek, but comparing to a state-of-the-art multicore CPU, SSD and Windows 10 the difference in responsiveness is insane!
Try using W10 on a HDD. I have 1607 on my 7200 rpm HDD to run it from time to time for testing purposes and it's bad. My mom has it on a C2D + 5400 rpm HDD and 4GB of RAM and it's a nightmare, really.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#588)
DiceAir
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: Galax 980 ti HOF
Processor: i7-4790k @ 4.6GHz
Mainboard: ASUS z97 vii Ranger
Memory: 16GB Adata 2400mhz
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair ax850w
Default Yesterday, 15:18 | posts: 1,325 | Location: South Africa

Quote:
Originally Posted by radosuaf View Post
Try using W10 on a HDD. I have 1607 on my 7200 rpm HDD to run it from time to time for testing purposes and it's bad. My mom has it on a C2D + 5400 rpm HDD and 4GB of RAM and it's a nightmare, really.
WOW any pc with a hdd is bad. I do get annoyed by laptops these days cmming with 5400rpm HDD's. They should all come with at least some caching method on the cheap even a 4GB cache should be a bit better. I wish intel optane was more widspread and not 7th gen only and cheaper. I upgraded old celeron laptop that actually had 6GB/s port from stock 5400rpm drive to SSD and man it's like a new system
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#589)
AsiJu
Ancient Guru
 
AsiJu's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 980Ti SC+/Xtreme IV
Processor: Ryzen 5 1600@3.9GHz/1.3V
Mainboard: ASRock X370 Killer SLI
Memory: TridentZ 2933/C14 16 GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium + Z906
PSU: Tt. Toughpower XT 875 W
Default Yesterday, 18:05 | posts: 3,391 | Location: Finland

Yeah SSD is the biggest key there. When you get used to it, HDDs seem so sluggish.

Well, newer 150-200 MB/s HDDs are much better than older ones but an SSD will always be a lot faster in everyday use.

My father-in-law has W10 on his laptop, upgraded from W7. The laptop did become a lot more responsive with W10 vs. W7 I must admit (HDD drive in laptop).

However the laptop has a laughable 2 GB of RAM so the "responsiveness" was likely due to better memory management in W10.
Both OS's need to swap a ton of data anyhow when any program is running. If the laptop had more RAM the difference may have been less obvious.

Last edited by AsiJu; Yesterday at 18:08.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#590)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980Ti SLI H20
Processor: i7 5930K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-AU31
Memory: G.Skill 32GB 3200C12
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus
PSU: EVGA P2-1200W
Default Yesterday, 22:13 | posts: 9,267 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by AsiJu View Post
Well, newer 150-200 MB/s HDDs are much better than older ones but an SSD will always be a lot faster in everyday use.
Sequential read/writes for large files is not even part of the picture in real world use.

HDDs will always be extremely poor in small file OPS and access time.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#591)
dsbig
Ancient Guru
 
dsbig's Avatar
 
Videocard: SAPPHIRE NITRO 390x
Processor: 3770k @ 4.3ghz
Mainboard: GA-Z77X-UD3H
Memory: 32gb 1866mhz
Soundcard: Soundblaster ZxR
PSU: Kingwin 850 watts
Default Today, 03:43 | posts: 3,823 | Location: florida

calculator updated through the store. and now I have the one with transparency.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#592)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1070
Processor: i7 6700K 4.5Ghz 1.28v
Mainboard: Asus Maximus 8 Hero
Memory: Vengeance 32GB 3000Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + H/K Soundsticks
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova
Default Today, 04:00 | posts: 9,824 | Location: Dobuy

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsbig View Post
calculator updated through the store. and now I have the one with transparency.
What does it look like?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#593)
radosuaf
Maha Guru
 
radosuaf's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 1050 Ti D5 4GB
Processor: Intel Core i5-6402P
Mainboard: MSI H110 PC MATE
Memory: DDR4 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi XtremeGamer PCI
PSU: Corsair TX-650W
Default Today, 08:45 | posts: 1,441 | Location: Poland

Quote:
Originally Posted by AsiJu View Post
My father-in-law has W10 on his laptop, upgraded from W7. The laptop did become a lot more responsive with W10 vs. W7 I must admit (HDD drive in laptop).
Might be also due to higher Aero overhead vs. simplified 8.1/10 interface. We'll see how it'll look with Fluent Design .
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.