Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications 
Die-hard Overclocking & Case Modifications  Want to overclock that processor, videocard or even mainboard ? Wanna tweak the best out of your piece of hardware or have the means to design a killer case ? Get in here and pimp that rig man.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Stable in prime95, crashes in game
Old
  (#1)
SentinelAeon
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 7950 HD
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard: ASUS P8 Z77-V LX
Memory: 8 GB DDR3
Soundcard: Sabre DAC
PSU: Corsair CX600 600W
Default Stable in prime95, crashes in game - 07-30-2017, 02:11 | posts: 185

Using asus p8z77-v lx, i5 2500k 4.2Ghz 1.3V, i only changed voltage and multiplier. I ran prime95 blend for about 10 hours, i also tried combination of prime95 and furmark and OCCT PSU stress test. It is all stable.

Today i played starcraft 2 and after a few minutes it crashed (first white screen then restart). I even tried upping voltage to 1.325V and it didnt help - took a while longer but still crashed. Then i put frequency to 4.1Ghz at 1.325V and it didn't crash anymore.

This doesn't really make sense since prime95 + furmark stressed my cpu a lot more then the game. Temps during stress are cpu 70C, gpu 80C, starcraft 2 my cpu is 60C, gpu is 70C.

I am thinking there must be something else beside cpu voltage. Because even 1.3V for 4.2Ghz is not good at all. I had another i5 2500k chip and it was the same.

Last edited by SentinelAeon; 07-30-2017 at 02:13.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
RealNC
Maha Guru
 
RealNC's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI P67A-C43
Memory: DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1, JBL Spot
PSU: Corsair HX650
Default 07-30-2017, 03:04 | posts: 1,160

Furmark doesn't work anymore for GPU stress testing. NVidia is detecting it and putting the GPU in a low-power state. :-/

You'll need to use another GPU bench/stresstest.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
SentinelAeon
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 7950 HD
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard: ASUS P8 Z77-V LX
Memory: 8 GB DDR3
Soundcard: Sabre DAC
PSU: Corsair CX600 600W
Default 07-30-2017, 03:09 | posts: 185

I tried also OCCT and Fire Strike (Extreme) ... And i dont think it has anything to do with gpu since i didnt overclock it ..
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti H20
Processor: i7 5930K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-AU31
Memory: G.Skill 32GB 3200C12
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus
PSU: EVGA P2-1200W
Default 07-30-2017, 03:31 | posts: 9,610 | Location: USA

Check event viewer and see what it says after crash.

Could be unrelated to CPU
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
SentinelAeon
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 7950 HD
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard: ASUS P8 Z77-V LX
Memory: 8 GB DDR3
Soundcard: Sabre DAC
PSU: Corsair CX600 600W
Default 07-30-2017, 16:01 | posts: 185

I am not seeing anything special in event viewer except error/critical saying pc wasn't restarted/shutdown properly.

Remember, i was playing last mission in SC2 (LOTV) on brutal with loads of enemies, 1.325V 4.2 crashed, 4.1 didn't. I played another mission with less enemies and it was stable on 1.3V 4.2, also small FTT, blend, inplace, etc. prime95 is stable over night, 3dmark, occt furmark, all kinds of combinations, everything is stable. I would even say it is the games fault, but in all the time i played it apart from this, i never had even the tiniest problem with it. And when going to 1.325V 4.1 it didnt crash.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
SentinelAeon
Master Guru
 
Videocard: 7950 HD
Processor: i5 2500K
Mainboard: ASUS P8 Z77-V LX
Memory: 8 GB DDR3
Soundcard: Sabre DAC
PSU: Corsair CX600 600W
Default 07-30-2017, 19:40 | posts: 185

I tried playing that same mission again and now even on 4.2Ghz 1.3V i couldnt produce a crash. Granted i loaded a save game from the last 10 or so minutes of the game but that is also the time when most units are on the map. I am thinking that maybe it wasn't my overclock but a bug in the mission. Anyway until i can produce this error again there is nothing else i can do. I will make sure i have some logging programs running everytime i play SC2.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
RealNC
Maha Guru
 
RealNC's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
Processor: Intel Core i5 2500K
Mainboard: MSI P67A-C43
Memory: DDR3 16GB
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D1, JBL Spot
PSU: Corsair HX650
Default 07-31-2017, 10:49 | posts: 1,160

Bugs in games cannot make your PC restart. Only driver bugs and hardware errors (due to OC or damage) can do that.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
MM10X
Ancient Guru
 
MM10X's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 970
Processor: I7 3770k @4.8 on EK P240
Mainboard: Gigabyte Z77
Memory: 16GB DDR3
Soundcard: SMSL M3 + HD280
PSU: Corsair HX750w
Default 08-09-2017, 19:12 | posts: 4,227 | Location: Antioch, CA, US

I've had similar experience 12 hours stable in prime95, but crash within 30 minutes gaming in PUBG.
Now I'm running multiple tests like cinebench, p95, games, handbrake, ect...
Still haven't found max stable on my cpu after a few weeks of playing.

Try to check ram & chipset voltages? Are they all on manual?

Some motherboards like mine automatically put them too high, making it hard to overclock. For me, dropping CPU VTT and PLL voltages helped a lot.

Also minimum voltages for P95 stable vs actual stable voltages are different for me as well. Prime95 stable at 1.22 volts, but had crashes in games until I went up to 1.26 volts.

My motherboard also set my RAM timings and voltages wrong, its worth double checking everything to make sure its within spec.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
pcmodscanada
Newbie
 
pcmodscanada's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 x EVGA 1070 FTW
Processor: i7 2600K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: XFX 750W
Default 08-10-2017, 01:00 | posts: 3

I'd try IBT (IntelBurnTest) as it is more stressing on the CPU then Prime95. I have ran good Prime95 and failed a IBT. Plus IBT will find instability it much faster then prime95 will.

Last edited by pcmodscanada; 08-10-2017 at 17:17.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Rob McClelland
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: XFX R9 390 x
Processor: AMD 6350 4.5ghz
Mainboard: Msi gaming board 970A
Memory: HyperX FURY 16GB Kit 1866
Soundcard: Z befree 5.1 Bluetooth
PSU: Enermax 920 Sliver 80+
Default 08-10-2017, 12:12 | posts: 1,661 | Location: NW Ohio

Quote:
Originally Posted by SentinelAeon View Post
I tried playing that same mission again and now even on 4.2Ghz 1.3V i couldnt produce a crash. Granted i loaded a save game from the last 10 or so minutes of the game but that is also the time when most units are on the map. I am thinking that maybe it wasn't my overclock but a bug in the mission. Anyway until i can produce thixs error again there is nothing else i can do. I will make sure i have some logging programs running everytime i play SC2.
it could be you're psu might be to weak for over clocking? I notice you have 600watts? Maybe upgrading to least 750 watts that way you can upgrade your graphics card when you want too.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
Dennisbest
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire Radeon 7950
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600k
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z77V-LX
Memory: 4x2GB DDR3
Soundcard: Logitech X-230
PSU: Corsair CX430 V2
Default 08-13-2017, 00:28 | posts: 26 | Location: Greece

Try prime95 custom size 1344 and 1792. I was stable on prime95/ibt and had bsod in games sometimes , then I tried these settings and I found out my overclock was unstable. If you can pass these for about an hour you are 99% stable.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.