Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards Intel
Processors and motherboards Intel Is that Core i7 or X99 chipset giving you a hard time? Enter this forum, this is all about Intel baby.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Can't get into the bios
Old
  (#1)
Jonnyboy
Ancient Guru
 
Jonnyboy's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA SC GTX 1070
Processor: i5-4690k (4.3 Ghz)
Mainboard: Gigabyte G1.SNIPER B6
Memory: 8 GB of GSkill DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Onboard sound
PSU: Corsair TX850
Default Can't get into the bios - 07-16-2017, 00:21 | posts: 3,571 | Location: Florida

In the past I have been able to get into the bios to overclock my i5 to 3.9 Ghz but not I can't even get the keyboard to turn on during boot and connecting another keyboard is a waste of time. In short is there some way, some how I can some how get into the bios because this is really starting to annoy the piss out of me because I'm trying to give my gpu a little more push in Battlefield 1 because the gpu usage hovers around 80%-96% and there seems to be a bit bogging down on the gpu end not having enough usage.

EDIT: I do realize I may have to upgrade my cpu at some point but at the moment I can only overclock it.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
norton
Member Guru
 
norton's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX970 G1 Gaming 4GB
Processor: Intel core i5 4590
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-H97-D3H-CF
Memory: Corsair LP 16GB 1600MHz
Soundcard: Realtek ALC1150
PSU: corsair VS650
Default 07-16-2017, 00:49 | posts: 99 | Location: Somewhere on this planet

you may have fast boot enabled in bios you have two options

1- your motherboard may have a software that can be used to access bios refer to you MB manufacture

2- just remove the CMOS battery to reset your bios to factory settings so fast boot will be turned off
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Mufflore
Ancient Guru
 
Mufflore's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080ti @2GHz+ air silent!
Processor: 6700K @4.6GHz
Mainboard: Maximus VIII Hero
Memory: 16GB LPX 3000 @3600
Soundcard: Oppo 205, TL+Ribbon spks
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default 07-16-2017, 01:36 | posts: 10,202 | Location: United states of Kingdom

Try F2.
You have zero hope of getting in the bios setup if the keyboard doesnt work.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Jonnyboy
Ancient Guru
 
Jonnyboy's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA SC GTX 1070
Processor: i5-4690k (4.3 Ghz)
Mainboard: Gigabyte G1.SNIPER B6
Memory: 8 GB of GSkill DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Onboard sound
PSU: Corsair TX850
Default 07-16-2017, 01:40 | posts: 3,571 | Location: Florida

Cleared the CMOS with a flathead screw driver and got into the bios

Last edited by Jonnyboy; 07-16-2017 at 01:43.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Jonnyboy
Ancient Guru
 
Jonnyboy's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA SC GTX 1070
Processor: i5-4690k (4.3 Ghz)
Mainboard: Gigabyte G1.SNIPER B6
Memory: 8 GB of GSkill DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Onboard sound
PSU: Corsair TX850
Default 07-16-2017, 02:17 | posts: 3,571 | Location: Florida

More problems

Last edited by Jonnyboy; 07-16-2017 at 02:32.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Jonnyboy
Ancient Guru
 
Jonnyboy's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA SC GTX 1070
Processor: i5-4690k (4.3 Ghz)
Mainboard: Gigabyte G1.SNIPER B6
Memory: 8 GB of GSkill DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Onboard sound
PSU: Corsair TX850
Default 07-16-2017, 02:31 | posts: 3,571 | Location: Florida

Well now this has to be the most nerve racking crap ever for some reason the cpu speed will not go up to 4.4Ghz even though I have the frequency set to 43 but it just does not want to run at 4.3Ghz instead it only runs around 3.7-4.3 and i have no idea what the hell happened to my system
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
thatguy91
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: XFX RX 480 RS 4 GB
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: MSI X370Gaming Pro Carbon
Memory: DDR3-3733@3333 C15 16 GB
Soundcard: Onboard ALC1220 Nahimic 2
PSU: Enermax Platimax 750W
Default 07-16-2017, 09:23 | posts: 6,420 | Location: Australia

It sounds like power saving stuff, it's not a bad thing. Alternatively the other option is you are hitting a thermal limit, it could be that your heatsink is clogged with dust.

From what I have seen, Haswell can be a bit iffy about 4.2 GHz, unless you use high voltages which will likely affect longevity.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX980 SLI
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 07-16-2017, 10:02 | posts: 17,571 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Speedstep? Is that still a thing with Intel boards?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Jonnyboy
Ancient Guru
 
Jonnyboy's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA SC GTX 1070
Processor: i5-4690k (4.3 Ghz)
Mainboard: Gigabyte G1.SNIPER B6
Memory: 8 GB of GSkill DDR3 1600
Soundcard: Onboard sound
PSU: Corsair TX850
Default 07-16-2017, 12:13 | posts: 3,571 | Location: Florida

Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguy91 View Post
It sounds like power saving stuff, it's not a bad thing. Alternatively the other option is you are hitting a thermal limit, it could be that your heatsink is clogged with dust.

From what I have seen, Haswell can be a bit iffy about 4.2 GHz, unless you use high voltages which will likely affect longevity.
I got it overclocked at 4.3Ghz with a 1.152 Vcore, Just need to run some games to check stability but for the most part it seemed to be related to not having enough vcore voltage. I tried using 1.20 for the vcore but the idle temps went up to 50 Celsius and 99 under prime 95 but only ran it like that for a couple minutes until I seen the temp and backed off on that voltage and I have it liquid cooled.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Speedstep? Is that still a thing with Intel boards?
My motherboard is over two years old but have turbo boost and the typical power saving features in the advanced cpu settings.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.