Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Want to talk about anything Hardware related? This is the place, you can discuss it here.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
PC turned itself off, burning smell and no cpu fan spinning
Old
  (#1)
aphex182
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX980
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500 Sandy
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 LE New B3 Rev
Memory: 8GB Corsair CMX4GX3M2A16
Soundcard: Soundblaster X-Fi Extreme
PSU: Hiper Type R 580watt
Default PC turned itself off, burning smell and no cpu fan spinning - 03-20-2017, 19:31 | posts: 239 | Location: UK

Ok so I changed my Ram today and after fitting it I started the pc up and left the room for a few seconds, came back to discover the pc was off and a burning smell was predominately coming from the cpu area.

Started pc up again and after a couple of seconds it switches itself off then starts up again with no beeps, cpu fan is not spinning but all other fans are, red cpu led light is on and another green light below the gpu is lighting up on the mobo.

Any ideas guys? One thing I did do and I didn't realise like a complete noob I put the new 8GB memory in with 2 of the old sticks of 4 but what I didn't realise was that one is 1600mhz and the new is 1333mhz

Thx for any help

Win 10
Intel i5 Sandy bridge
Asus p8p67 pro
Gtx980
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1070
Processor: i7 6700K 4.5Ghz 1.28v
Mainboard: Asus Maximus 8 Hero
Memory: Vengeance 32GB 3000Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + H/K Soundsticks
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova
Default 03-20-2017, 19:49 | posts: 9,737 | Location: Dobuy

Burning smell and red LED is never a good thing. Shine a light on your board and see if there are any burns.
Maybe you accidentally loosened your CPU fan's connector during your upgrade. Double check that.

RAM speed shouldn't be an issue, it will default to the lower speed but it might end up OC'ing to 1600 anyway.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
aphex182
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX980
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500 Sandy
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 LE New B3 Rev
Memory: 8GB Corsair CMX4GX3M2A16
Soundcard: Soundblaster X-Fi Extreme
PSU: Hiper Type R 580watt
Default 03-20-2017, 19:55 | posts: 239 | Location: UK

Daft question but if I disconnect the cpu fan and connect this new cooler master I've just bought would it spin Or does it need to be seated in order for it to do so? Thx for the reply btw.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1070
Processor: i7 6700K 4.5Ghz 1.28v
Mainboard: Asus Maximus 8 Hero
Memory: Vengeance 32GB 3000Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + H/K Soundsticks
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova
Default 03-20-2017, 20:18 | posts: 9,737 | Location: Dobuy

It will spin because it is getting power from the motherboard. You will have to actually press the on button on your case or motherboard for that to happen though. Risky but a few seconds shouldn't cause the cpu to burn. Maybe clear cmos too clear up overclocks to be on the safe side.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 03-20-2017, 20:21 | posts: 17,218 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Was the RAM inserted correctly? If that was all you changed, double check it's not causing a short between pins
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
aphex182
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX980
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500 Sandy
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 LE New B3 Rev
Memory: 8GB Corsair CMX4GX3M2A16
Soundcard: Soundblaster X-Fi Extreme
PSU: Hiper Type R 580watt
Default 03-20-2017, 20:21 | posts: 239 | Location: UK

I've took the mobo out and it's burnt on the back right where the the slots are where I'd left the original 2 modules in.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1070
Processor: i7 6700K 4.5Ghz 1.28v
Mainboard: Asus Maximus 8 Hero
Memory: Vengeance 32GB 3000Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + H/K Soundsticks
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova
Default 03-20-2017, 20:23 | posts: 9,737 | Location: Dobuy

Well RIP in peace Asus P8P67 then You can try a chip level repair at a local place if a new PC is not in your budget.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
aphex182
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX980
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500 Sandy
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 LE New B3 Rev
Memory: 8GB Corsair CMX4GX3M2A16
Soundcard: Soundblaster X-Fi Extreme
PSU: Hiper Type R 580watt
Default 03-20-2017, 20:23 | posts: 239 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extraordinary View Post
Was the RAM inserted correctly? If that was all you changed, double check it's not causing a short between pins
Yeah I noticed the old ram wasn't seated properly so looks like I killed the board with my own stupidity. The wife's clapping at me as I'm typing this >. <
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1070
Processor: i7 6700K 4.5Ghz 1.28v
Mainboard: Asus Maximus 8 Hero
Memory: Vengeance 32GB 3000Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + H/K Soundsticks
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova
Default 03-20-2017, 20:25 | posts: 9,737 | Location: Dobuy

Could've been a coincidence really. I've bungled RAM installation dozens of times in my life and it never burnt.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
aphex182
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX980
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500 Sandy
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 LE New B3 Rev
Memory: 8GB Corsair CMX4GX3M2A16
Soundcard: Soundblaster X-Fi Extreme
PSU: Hiper Type R 580watt
Default 03-20-2017, 20:25 | posts: 239 | Location: UK

Quote:
Originally Posted by lucidus View Post
Well RIP in peace Asus P8P67 then You can try a chip level repair at a local place if a new PC is not in your budget.
New mobo would just be ok wouldnt it? Or could the cpu be goosed as well?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
Extraordinary
Ancient Guru
 
Extraordinary's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX980 SC ACX2.0 4GB
Processor: FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz / H100i
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair V Formula
Memory: 12GB 2133 G.Skill
Soundcard: Creative SB1040 7.1
PSU: Corsair RM1000
Default 03-20-2017, 20:27 | posts: 17,218 | Location: 127.0.0.1

Quote:
Originally Posted by aphex182 View Post
New mobo would just be ok wouldnt it? Or could the cpu be goosed as well?
More likely to just be the board, I got thermal paste on a CPU and blew the system up in a big flash, board was dead, chip was fine
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
aphex182
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX980
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500 Sandy
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 LE New B3 Rev
Memory: 8GB Corsair CMX4GX3M2A16
Soundcard: Soundblaster X-Fi Extreme
PSU: Hiper Type R 580watt
Default 03-20-2017, 20:29 | posts: 239 | Location: UK

I'll buy a new board and see how it goes, thanks you two really appreciated with the replies
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
lucidus
Ancient Guru
 
lucidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI Gaming X GTX 1070
Processor: i7 6700K 4.5Ghz 1.28v
Mainboard: Asus Maximus 8 Hero
Memory: Vengeance 32GB 3000Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard + H/K Soundsticks
PSU: 850W EVGA Supernova
Default 03-20-2017, 20:29 | posts: 9,737 | Location: Dobuy

You mentioned the back where RAM slots are so there's a chance your CPU is still fine. You can take it out of its socket and check the pins if there's no damage. If you can get another Z67 board then go ahead, it should be fine then.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
aphex182
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX980
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500 Sandy
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 LE New B3 Rev
Memory: 8GB Corsair CMX4GX3M2A16
Soundcard: Soundblaster X-Fi Extreme
PSU: Hiper Type R 580watt
Default 03-20-2017, 20:34 | posts: 239 | Location: UK

Thx again bud
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
airbud7
Ancient Guru
 
airbud7's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 ARMOR 4G OC
Processor: i7-2600k (Thanks sykozis)
Mainboard: ASRock H61icalf
Memory: 8GB G.S DDR3 1600 --TK--
Soundcard: Xonar DX
PSU: PC Power&Cooling S61EPS
Default 03-20-2017, 20:45 | posts: 3,909 | Location: Beech Island SC,USA

Z77 will work also
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
nhlkoho
Ancient Guru
 
nhlkoho's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 980ti sc+
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Z87 Plus
Memory: Veng. Pro 16GB DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: EVGA 750G2
Default 03-20-2017, 21:21 | posts: 6,987 | Location: Washington DC

At least she is just laughing at you....my GF would have accused me of doing it on purpose so I could upgrade. Although I have done that in the past so.....
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
aphex182
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Geforce GTX980
Processor: Intel Core i5-2500 Sandy
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 LE New B3 Rev
Memory: 8GB Corsair CMX4GX3M2A16
Soundcard: Soundblaster X-Fi Extreme
PSU: Hiper Type R 580watt
Default 03-20-2017, 21:37 | posts: 239 | Location: UK

Cheers Airbud.

@nh I have thought of doing that

On another note, am I best sending this 16GB of 1333 ram back and ordering 1600 or is there not much difference?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#18)
Geryboy
Maha Guru
 
Geryboy's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080 GameRock 2088/11000
Processor: i7 6700k 4.6GHz @ 1.29V
Mainboard: MSI Z170A M7
Memory: RipjawsV 3G 2x8 GB
Soundcard: SBZ->TV_Adap.3.0->OPN1
PSU: Seasonic SS-1250XM
Default 03-20-2017, 21:38 | posts: 2,376 | Location: Munich

some people go with 2133, because it is/was nearly as cheap. there's a couple of fps to be had in some games, nothing big though.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.