Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum
MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum This forum is intended for MSI customers for questions on the AfterBurner Overclock Utility based off Rivatuner. In this section the users help each other out with answers as well as support staff from MSI.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
1080ti - Voltage Control part 2
Old
  (#1)
Bestofbritish96
Newbie
 
Videocard: x3 XFX 7970
Processor: Intel 3960K
Mainboard: Rampage 4 Extreme
Memory: 64GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard:
PSU: Silverstone Strider 1500w
Post 1080ti - Voltage Control part 2 - 03-13-2017, 12:47 | posts: 12 | Location: London

Hi Unwinder,

Just an update from me as an early adopter of the 1080ti, to offer some feedback on the oem2 tweaks offered.

I have tried GPU Tweak, PX XOC and Afterburner. No dice with all 3 with regards to voltage control on my EVGA 1080ti FE and Windows 10 install.

I offer the following screenshots of Afterburner and config, I don't know if its simply my configuration but the OEM2 settings offered do not appear to work.

 Click to show spoiler



 Click to show spoiler



Afterburner appears to see the card as a 1080ti, it allows clock control for GPU, VRAM plus working power target. The voltage control remains greyed out.

If I follow the instructions to enable the voltage control by adding a new OEM2 config line the slider is greyed out. If i add some '???????' into the config line the voltage control slider does then appear however, just like GPU Tweak and PX XOC, the voltage setting appears to have no effect.

Thanks.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 03-13-2017, 12:58 | posts: 13,120 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Guys, I DON'T need a feedback on that. And that does work, if you do everything properly, add proper entry to third party database and UNDERSTAND what to expect. Please, stop constantly asking me to comment instuctions in Hilbert's article and better learn what "GPU voltage" slider is supposed to do on GPU boost 3.0 cards.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator

Last edited by Unwinder; 03-13-2017 at 13:06.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
fantaskarsef
Ancient Guru
 
fantaskarsef's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti @h2o
Processor: 5930K @h2o
Mainboard: R5E @h2o
Memory: Ripjaws 32GB DDR4
Soundcard: ALC1150
PSU: AX 1200i
Default 03-13-2017, 13:00 | posts: 6,852 | Location: Austria (no kangaroos here)

I have to check again home (using 3rd party for Strix 980s), but isn't there another "3rd party" option in the dropdown menu that you can choose, 3rd party 2 or something?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 03-13-2017, 13:31 | posts: 13,120 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by fantaskarsef View Post
I have to check again home (using 3rd party for Strix 980s), but isn't there another "3rd party" option in the dropdown menu that you can choose, 3rd party 2 or something?
No, there is no another "3rd party" available for selection in dropdown menu. And if voltage control % slider is getting unlocked, it means that card is properly added to database and third patry voltage control mode is correctly selected by user. Understanding of Pascal voltage % adjustment scale is a different story, it can be rather confusing for those who never used NVIDIA Pascal GPU before, but the principles are explained in the link above.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
Bestofbritish96
Newbie
 
Videocard: x3 XFX 7970
Processor: Intel 3960K
Mainboard: Rampage 4 Extreme
Memory: 64GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard:
PSU: Silverstone Strider 1500w
Default 03-13-2017, 13:47 | posts: 12 | Location: London

thanks for the advice.

I can only conclude that in my particular configuration, if the voltage adjustment is working as expected when I comment out the end of the configuration line using '????????' (assuming that this does indeed fix the problem - I can't appear to detect a boost the voltage but I will go back to the test bench with it) then it is possible that the instructions given in the Guru3d review do not work in all configurations with the FE card and you may want to try what I did in order to get the voltage slider working.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 03-13-2017, 14:05 | posts: 13,120 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

The instructions are not intended to be "how-to" guide for everyone, they are not intended to be used by anyone with no third party database editing/modification experience, Hilbert just show what he did to get it on his side and how can it be done by experienced user familiar with third party db editing approach.
Of course proper subsystem ID should be added and there is more than detailed thread on third party databse editing here discussing it at deep level.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Hilbert Hagedoorn
Don Vito Corleone
 
Hilbert Hagedoorn's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD | NVIDIA
Processor: Core i7 5960K
Mainboard: X99
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi - GigaWorks 7.1
PSU: 1200 Watt
Default 03-13-2017, 16:39 | posts: 29,493 | Location: Guru3D testlab

Bestofbritish96,

In AB click on the information button cross-match the VEN, DEV and SUBSYS info, play around with that, it shouldn't be that hard.

 Click to show spoiler



Follow Guru3D on twitter - facebook and Youtube.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
Bestofbritish96
Newbie
 
Videocard: x3 XFX 7970
Processor: Intel 3960K
Mainboard: Rampage 4 Extreme
Memory: 64GB Corsair Dominator
Soundcard:
PSU: Silverstone Strider 1500w
Default 03-13-2017, 20:52 | posts: 12 | Location: London

Hilbert, thankyou for taking time to reply.

I can confirm that your revised instructions work and voltage control is operational, at least on my rig
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Shadowdane
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: EVGA 1080Ti SC
Processor: i7-6700K @ 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VIII Hero
Memory: GSkill 32GB DDR4-3200 C14
Soundcard: SBZ/ProMonitor800/M8 Sub
PSU: Seasonic X-1050
Default 04-04-2017, 23:57 | posts: 1,264 | Location: Virginia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hilbert Hagedoorn View Post
Bestofbritish96,

In AB click on the information button cross-match the VEN, DEV and SUBSYS info, play around with that, it shouldn't be that hard.
Thanks so much Hilbert!! Got my Asus Rog Strix up and working with voltage monitoring/control!

For anyone interested added this to the .oem2 file:

[VEN_10DE&DEV_1B06&SUBSYS_85E41043&REV_??]

; ASUS ROG STRIX GTX 1080 Ti OC Gaming
Desc = Asus ROG Strix GTX 1080Ti OC Gaming
VDDC_Generic_Detection = 1
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Mr_ALLroy
Maha Guru
 
Mr_ALLroy's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Processor: Intel i7-6700k @4.6
Mainboard: Asus Maximus VIII Hero
Memory: CMD32GX4M2B3000C15
Soundcard: Soundblaster Zx
PSU: Corsair HX1000i
Default 04-10-2017, 23:20 | posts: 1,967 | Location: Calgary Canada®

@ Hilbert.
I just installed my MSI Gaming X GTX 1080 ti. I can't seem to make the voltage control work with the above instructions. Is it because it's not a 3rd party card? Maybe I'm doing something wrong? How did you get voltage control to work when you did your review of this card?

Nevermind. I missed a step and got it working now.

This is what I entered.

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;
; Custom design MSI GAMING X NVIDIA series
;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

[VEN_10DE&DEV_1B06&SUBSYS_36021462&REV_??]

; MSI GAMING X GTX 1080 Ti OC Gaming
Desc = MSI GAMING X GTX 1080 Ti OC Gaming
VDDC_Generic_Detection = 1

Last edited by Mr_ALLroy; 04-10-2017 at 23:28.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.