Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Processors and motherboards AMD
Processors and motherboards AMD Got a Phenom, FX or AMD APU based system or the means to buy one? You can discuss it in here!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#476)
ddelamare
Master Guru
 
Videocard: Inno3D GTX 1070 X4
Processor: AMD Ryzen x1800
Mainboard: Asus Prime x370-PRO
Memory: G.Skill F4-3466C16D-16GTZ
Soundcard: Logitech 2.1 THX
PSU: OCZ ZX 1000W '80-Plus'
Default 03-17-2017, 19:38 | posts: 209 | Location: Rabbit

So, a little confusing looking at the results, but here they are non the less

Dreadnought 106.506fps @ 3200
Dreadnought 98.481fps @ 2133

Dirt Rally 97.05fps @ 3200
Dirt Rally 104.58fps @ 2133

Dreadnought only lists one final fps, not sure if its max or average.
Dirt Rally readings are average fps

These were ran at 2560x1080 with Ultra settings

Interesting that i got better performance from dirt rally with everything on stock

Last edited by ddelamare; 03-17-2017 at 19:48.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#477)
Venix
Member Guru
 
Venix's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte Gtx 770 2gb
Processor: 3770k @ 4.3 ghz
Mainboard: Asus Z77 ...
Memory: G.Skill Sniper 4x4gb 1866
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Z
PSU: Corsair Gs 800
Default 03-17-2017, 21:19 | posts: 97 | Location: Greece

Quote:
Originally Posted by ddelamare View Post
So, a little confusing looking at the results, but here they are non the less

Dreadnought 106.506fps @ 3200
Dreadnought 98.481fps @ 2133

Dirt Rally 97.05fps @ 3200
Dirt Rally 104.58fps @ 2133

Dreadnought only lists one final fps, not sure if its max or average.
Dirt Rally readings are average fps

These were ran at 2560x1080 with Ultra settings

Interesting that i got better performance from dirt rally with everything on stock
dreadnought shows the improvement the fire-strike showed give or take .... dirt rally is actually confusing ....how ? why ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#478)
Webhiker
Master Guru
 
Webhiker's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080 SC Gaming
Processor: AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Mainboard: Asus Prime X370-PRO
Memory: 32 GB TridentZ DDR4-3200
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC1220
PSU: Zahlman ZM-1000HP
Default 03-17-2017, 22:02 | posts: 213 | Location: Aarhus, Denmark

So I got it going at 2933 MHz with 18-18-18-42 timing





Currently testing for stability. Then I will try to lower timings ... already tried going to 16 - 16 - 16 - 40 once ..had to clear CMOS. But as far as I can tell, I get 10000 MB/s more bandwidth with these timings compared to 2133 MHz with 15-15-15-36 timings.

EDIT
Or maybe it's just 5000 MB/s can't remember.

Last edited by Webhiker; 03-18-2017 at 00:46.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#479)
w0nderz
Member Guru
 
w0nderz's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 980
Processor: AMD R7 1700
Mainboard: ASUS X370-Pro
Memory: GSKILL 3200 16GB
Soundcard: RTK ALC1220
PSU: CORSAIR AX860
Default 03-17-2017, 22:08 | posts: 134

MSI B350 Tomahawk BIOS 1.21 beta

Flashed and working fine. Going to do some further testing.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#480)
Clouseau
Maha Guru
 
Clouseau's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI RX 480 Gamming
Processor: Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: ASUS Prime X370-Pro
Memory: GSkill Trident (2x8) 3200
Soundcard:
PSU: Seasonic SSR-1200PD
Default 03-17-2017, 22:42 | posts: 1,650

Just thought would post this here if anyone was interested in what their ram timings are programmed at in the SPD and what the full IC ids are.

Decent program (free version too)

Taiphoon Burner
http://www.softnology.biz/
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#481)
Ryu5uzaku
Ancient Guru
 
Ryu5uzaku's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980ti gaming 1490/7700
Processor: 1800x 4.05ghz 1.35 volt
Mainboard: Asus CH VI x370
Memory: 16GB 3ghz ddr4
Soundcard: Asus strix pro
PSU: 850W SF platinum
Default 03-17-2017, 23:37 | posts: 6,463 | Location: Finland

I simply put my 1800x to 4.1ghz and there it stays. Temp readings are messed up. Corsair 110i is showing in it's own thingie that the temps are 28 celsius. But BIOS is just "ye it's 60". Got ram to 2666 and there it shall stay for awhile.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#482)
Gigabytes
Member Guru
 
Gigabytes's Avatar
 
Videocard: RX480 (Vega dreaming)
Processor: AMD Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: Asus Prime X370-Pro
Memory: GSkill DDR4 2x8GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster Zx
PSU: eVGA Supernova 650
Default 03-18-2017, 00:53 | posts: 45



Shows how similar the 1800X and 1700X is, course the 1800X is a better silicon and will overclock better. I was able to get my 1700X to 4050 before stability issues on auto voltage. Decided to just roll her back to 4000 and see how she performed.

Can't get my RAM to run at D.O.C.P. but am getting some decent timings at 2933 so far. Started at Chispys 18-18-18-42 and have tightened the timings 2 times so far and has been stable. Going to try to tighten once more but think I might be getting near the end.

Kinda new at this memory OC so any suggestions are welcome.

Last edited by Gigabytes; 03-18-2017 at 17:53.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#483)
Elder III
Ancient Guru
 
Elder III's Avatar
 
Videocard: 2 x GTX 1080 Ti 11 GB
Processor: R7 1700X 4.0 @ 1.425
Mainboard: AsRock X370 Fatal1ty
Memory: GSkill RGB 16GB 3200 CL14
Soundcard: Corsair VOID RGB
PSU: CM Silent Pro 1000W
Default 03-18-2017, 01:39 | posts: 3,216 | Location: Upstate New York

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryu5uzaku View Post
I simply put my 1800x to 4.1ghz and there it stays. Temp readings are messed up. Corsair 110i is showing in it's own thingie that the temps are 28 celsius. But BIOS is just "ye it's 60". Got ram to 2666 and there it shall stay for awhile.
You could try the newest (beta I think) version of HWInfo. It seems to be the best temperature monitor so far for Ryzen CPUs.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#484)
Gigabytes
Member Guru
 
Gigabytes's Avatar
 
Videocard: RX480 (Vega dreaming)
Processor: AMD Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: Asus Prime X370-Pro
Memory: GSkill DDR4 2x8GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster Zx
PSU: eVGA Supernova 650
Default 03-18-2017, 02:53 | posts: 45

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elder III View Post
You could try the newest (beta I think) version of HWInfo. It seems to be the best temperature monitor so far for Ryzen CPUs.
I dl the beta. It shows the mb temp reporting and cpu temp itself. Mind you, the program does state that the reading of the sensor itself may not be accurate. I found the sensor and mb readings were reasonably close to each other but I noticed is the mb lags behind the cpu sensor, its buffered.

2 screen shots, idle and full load



   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#485)
Gigabytes
Member Guru
 
Gigabytes's Avatar
 
Videocard: RX480 (Vega dreaming)
Processor: AMD Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: Asus Prime X370-Pro
Memory: GSkill DDR4 2x8GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster Zx
PSU: eVGA Supernova 650
Default 03-18-2017, 03:49 | posts: 45

This video is interesting

AMD Ryzen overclock sleep bug fully tested
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KSWcOcHQWDc
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#486)
Ryu5uzaku
Ancient Guru
 
Ryu5uzaku's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980ti gaming 1490/7700
Processor: 1800x 4.05ghz 1.35 volt
Mainboard: Asus CH VI x370
Memory: 16GB 3ghz ddr4
Soundcard: Asus strix pro
PSU: 850W SF platinum
Default 03-18-2017, 08:58 | posts: 6,463 | Location: Finland

I need to tinker and tinker more. I might have the new h110i somewhat flakily on maybe. Not quite sure what temps to trust currently maybe the +20 offset is in effect. I would believe 34-40 celsius idle tbh with current setup. Considering everything else on the pc is around 30c except for the gpu being 50.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#487)
Kohlendioxidus
Maha Guru
 
Kohlendioxidus's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 290X Vapor-X
Processor: AMD RYZEN 1800X
Mainboard: MSI B350 Tomahawk
Memory: 16 Gig Corsair Vengeance
Soundcard: Creative XFi Fatality Pro Gamer
PSU: Corsair TX 750W
Cool 03-18-2017, 09:25 | posts: 1,376 | Location: Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by w0nderz View Post
MSI B350 Tomahawk BIOS 1.21 beta

Flashed and working fine. Going to do some further testing.
Hi w0nderz,

any changes in that bios? I have the same board with 1.15 at the Moment!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#488)
Ryu5uzaku
Ancient Guru
 
Ryu5uzaku's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980ti gaming 1490/7700
Processor: 1800x 4.05ghz 1.35 volt
Mainboard: Asus CH VI x370
Memory: 16GB 3ghz ddr4
Soundcard: Asus strix pro
PSU: 850W SF platinum
Default 03-18-2017, 09:50 | posts: 6,463 | Location: Finland



My current setup. Might stay with this. Until I get a bios where I can run my ram at 3200. Also booted to windows with 4.3ghz but that is about it. Will be interesting once bios matures.

Overwatch was a fine experience coming from my 3770k...

I went from 170 fps avg to 230 fps average on same settings. In same conditions. Which is 12 Zaryas ulting all around...

Max fps went up by 100 also and minimums stayed over 200 vs 140 before.

Diablo 3 went from having min 15, avg 110 and max 178 to 115 min, avg 155 and max 217

So far increase of 5 to 30% in all games. Witcher 3 saw increase of 10% in minimums but else it stayed the same.

Exception to the rule total war rome 2 -20%

Last edited by Ryu5uzaku; 03-18-2017 at 12:18.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#489)
Webhiker
Master Guru
 
Webhiker's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080 SC Gaming
Processor: AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Mainboard: Asus Prime X370-PRO
Memory: 32 GB TridentZ DDR4-3200
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC1220
PSU: Zahlman ZM-1000HP
Default 03-18-2017, 13:56 | posts: 213 | Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Flashed 504 Bios on my ASUS Prime X370-PRO.

I can get ram to 2933 MHz with 18-14-14-14-34 but CAS simply won't go down any further than 18. I can change it to 17 and reboot, but coming back into BIOS it still shows 18 (even though the manuel input still shows 17).
Benching the RAM at 2933MHz - 18-14-14-14-34 shows little or no improvement over 18-18-18-42 except for a little lower latency.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#490)
w0nderz
Member Guru
 
w0nderz's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 980
Processor: AMD R7 1700
Mainboard: ASUS X370-Pro
Memory: GSKILL 3200 16GB
Soundcard: RTK ALC1220
PSU: CORSAIR AX860
Default 03-18-2017, 14:11 | posts: 134

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kohlendioxidus View Post
Hi w0nderz,

any changes in that bios? I have the same board with 1.15 at the Moment!
Not that I've noticed. Same bios options, same ram speed limitations.. They might have done some minor stability tweaks I guess.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#491)
w0nderz
Member Guru
 
w0nderz's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 980
Processor: AMD R7 1700
Mainboard: ASUS X370-Pro
Memory: GSKILL 3200 16GB
Soundcard: RTK ALC1220
PSU: CORSAIR AX860
Default 03-18-2017, 14:50 | posts: 134

Patch notes:
1.21: fixed some memory/voltage bugs
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#492)
Gigabytes
Member Guru
 
Gigabytes's Avatar
 
Videocard: RX480 (Vega dreaming)
Processor: AMD Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: Asus Prime X370-Pro
Memory: GSkill DDR4 2x8GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster Zx
PSU: eVGA Supernova 650
Default 03-18-2017, 15:27 | posts: 45

Quote:
Originally Posted by Webhiker View Post
Flashed 504 Bios on my ASUS Prime X370-PRO.

I can get ram to 2933 MHz with 18-14-14-14-34 but CAS simply won't go down any further than 18. I can change it to 17 and reboot, but coming back into BIOS it still shows 18 (even though the manuel input still shows 17).
Benching the RAM at 2933MHz - 18-14-14-14-34 shows little or no improvement over 18-18-18-42 except for a little lower latency.
I have seen CAS not adjusting after a manual change also, but after a few boots it eventually has for me. I also found making a profile with my new settings, saving it then returning the bios to default then applying my new profile has helped. Bios still seems a bit buggy.

Have managed to get timings to 14-14-14-15-34, Windows won't boot if I lower RAS Pre any more. Going to run some stability tests now.

Last edited by Gigabytes; 03-18-2017 at 15:29.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#493)
Webhiker
Master Guru
 
Webhiker's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA GTX 1080 SC Gaming
Processor: AMD Ryzen 7 1800X
Mainboard: Asus Prime X370-PRO
Memory: 32 GB TridentZ DDR4-3200
Soundcard: Realtek® ALC1220
PSU: Zahlman ZM-1000HP
Default 03-18-2017, 15:41 | posts: 213 | Location: Aarhus, Denmark

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigabytes View Post
I have seen CAS not adjusting after a manual change also, but after a few boots it eventually has for me. I also found making a profile with my new settings, saving it then returning the bios to default then applying my new profile has helped. Bios still seems a bit buggy.

Have managed to get timings to 14-14-14-15-34, Windows won't boot if I lower RAS Pre any more. Going to run some stability tests now.
What BIOS are you using ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#494)
OnnA
Ancient Guru
 
OnnA's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
Processor: ZEN x8 k17 + Nepton 280L
Mainboard: ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
Memory: 16GB 3200 CL16 1T Ripjaws
Soundcard: SB-z Nichicon + Wood 5.1
PSU: Seasonic-X 750W Platinum
Talking 03-18-2017, 17:53 | posts: 2,775 | Location: HolyWater Village

Ok now im on ZEN

RAID 0 from Saber not worked (lol i have now 2xHDD instead of RAID)
Almost bricked lol (now on BIOS 1001 and is OK)

Need to install my WinX + Games now

OMG this is fast
RAM is on 2400 CL15 1T for now (not played with this much yet)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#495)
Gigabytes
Member Guru
 
Gigabytes's Avatar
 
Videocard: RX480 (Vega dreaming)
Processor: AMD Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: Asus Prime X370-Pro
Memory: GSkill DDR4 2x8GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster Zx
PSU: eVGA Supernova 650
Default 03-18-2017, 18:27 | posts: 45

Quote:
Originally Posted by Webhiker View Post
What BIOS are you using ?
Am using 0504. The best stable timings I have been able to get with my hardware so far is 14-14-14-15-32

Result is good imho


Last edited by Gigabytes; 03-18-2017 at 18:29.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#496)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX980Ti Amp!Omega
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe 2103
Memory: Gskill TridX 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD @Bose A5
PSU: Nitro88+ 650W 52A
Default 03-18-2017, 19:09 | posts: 13,717 | Location: Proxima \/82

Not bad, now I really wonder about its true memory latency, aida64 didn't fix it yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryu5uzaku View Post


My current setup. Might stay with this. Until I get a bios where I can run my ram at 3200. Also booted to windows with 4.3ghz but that is about it. Will be interesting once bios matures.

Overwatch was a fine experience coming from my 3770k...
..
cool


__________________________________________________ ______


Techpowerup did a more cpu focused games and its ok most of the time, except by Fallout4, Hitman, TotalWar, probably more intel focused.
https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/..._1800X/10.html

Last edited by -Tj-; 03-18-2017 at 19:13.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#497)
Gigabytes
Member Guru
 
Gigabytes's Avatar
 
Videocard: RX480 (Vega dreaming)
Processor: AMD Ryzen 1700X
Mainboard: Asus Prime X370-Pro
Memory: GSkill DDR4 2x8GB
Soundcard: Soundblaster Zx
PSU: eVGA Supernova 650
Default 03-18-2017, 20:17 | posts: 45

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
Not bad, now I really wonder about its true memory latency, aida64 didn't fix it yet?
I meant to use the aida64 beta version, it identifies the cpu better, identifies the MB but still gives a not optimized warning and the results are about the same.


Last edited by Gigabytes; 03-18-2017 at 20:20.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#498)
Pictus
Member Guru
 
Pictus's Avatar
 
Videocard: R9 280x 3GB
Processor: i5-750
Mainboard: Gigabyte P55a-UD3
Memory: 16 GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair 750
Default 03-18-2017, 22:28 | posts: 58

Quote:
Originally Posted by OnnA View Post
Ok now im on ZEN

RAID 0 from Saber not worked (lol i have now 2xHDD instead of RAID)
Congratz!
It does not accepted the previous RAID, but did you try to create a new?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#499)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX980Ti Amp!Omega
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe 2103
Memory: Gskill TridX 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD @Bose A5
PSU: Nitro88+ 650W 52A
Default 03-18-2017, 22:39 | posts: 13,717 | Location: Proxima \/82

Can someone try Monster hunter Online benchmark, Ryu5uzaku or Webhiker?
http://www.guru3d.com/files-get/mons...ownload,1.html


really curious if extra cores help, its highly multi threaded and uses AVX - heats a lot.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#500)
Ryu5uzaku
Ancient Guru
 
Ryu5uzaku's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980ti gaming 1490/7700
Processor: 1800x 4.05ghz 1.35 volt
Mainboard: Asus CH VI x370
Memory: 16GB 3ghz ddr4
Soundcard: Asus strix pro
PSU: 850W SF platinum
Default 03-18-2017, 22:56 | posts: 6,463 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by -Tj- View Post
Can someone try Monster hunter Online benchmark, Ryu5uzaku or Webhiker?
http://www.guru3d.com/files-get/mons...ownload,1.html


really curious if extra cores help, its highly multi threaded and uses AVX - heats a lot.
153.8 avg and minimum was 63.4. 33830 points. With the ranking mode thingie.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
am4, amd, memory, overclocking, ryzen

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.