Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum
MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum This forum is intended for MSI customers for questions on the AfterBurner Overclock Utility based off Rivatuner. In this section the users help each other out with answers as well as support staff from MSI.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Nice work
Old
  (#51)
Probotector
Newbie
 
Videocard: Crossfire 290 @ 1100/1400
Processor: i7 4770K @ 4.2 GHz HT ON
Mainboard: MSI Z87 MPOWER SP
Memory: 16 GB G.Skill Trident X
Soundcard: YAMAHA Receiver RX-373
PSU: Corsair RM750
Default Nice work - 03-06-2017, 22:17 | posts: 27 | Location: Spain

Wow, amazing job, keep it up man.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
Octopuss
Master Guru
 
Octopuss's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD XFX Rx 480
Processor: i7 3770K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard: Sound Blaster ZxR
PSU: -
Default 03-07-2017, 09:04 | posts: 628 | Location: Czech republic

I hope a Metro-style GUI doesn't mean the current one will go away. There are still plenty of people who are using Windows 7, and the flat design (generally speaking) is really horrible.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 03-07-2017, 09:19 | posts: 13,120 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Old one will most likely go away. But nothing prevents you from keeping old skin from the previous versions and using it.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
dr_rus
Maha Guru
 
dr_rus's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 GRP
Processor: i7-6850K
Mainboard: Sabertooth X99
Memory: 64 GB DDR4
Soundcard: SB X-Fi Ti
PSU: CM V1200 Platinum
Default 03-07-2017, 15:20 | posts: 1,739

Yeah, I prefer the old one too. The new flat one looks too much as a straight redraw over the old one, and that's generally not a good idea for a flat designed version of anything.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
Andy_K
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 960 OC
Processor: AMD FX6300
Mainboard: ASRock 970 Extreme3 R2.0
Memory: Crucial 1600 - 8GB
Soundcard: Realtek ALC892 (7.1)
PSU: Corsair CX430M
Default 03-07-2017, 18:57 | posts: 299 | Location: Germany

I think there is a glitch in the GUI.

I open RTSS window and see the list of my app profiles http://image.prntscr.com/image/e2b34...60b7ca1489.png

When I click below the last entry in the list (in the dark part), the last entry visually disappears.
http://image.prntscr.com/image/11f83...f4d9885582.png

It's not gone, it is just ...err... transparent?
If I click on the spot (or even move the selection with keyboard to) where the entry has been, it reappears:
http://image.prntscr.com/image/18efe...81f402d14f.png

Interesting fact I stumbled upon right now: When last entry is not visible, it will be visible if the window loses focus and will turn invisible again if windows gets focus.


some more false 3D applications for the default ignore list:
AllShareAgent.exe
BlueStacks.exe
DesktopOK.exe
DesktopOK_64.exe
Ditto.exe
HD-Agent.exe
Lightshot.exe
obs64.exe
soffice.bin
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
EdKiefer
Maha Guru
 
Videocard: MSI 970 Gaming 4G
Processor: i5-3570k@4.5ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8Z77V pro
Memory: 16Gb-DDR3 1600
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair XT650
Default 03-07-2017, 19:06 | posts: 1,347

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy_K View Post
I think there is a glitch in the GUI.

I open RTSS window and see the list of my app profiles http://image.prntscr.com/image/e2b34...60b7ca1489.png

When I click below the last entry in the list (in the dark part), the last entry visually disappears.
http://image.prntscr.com/image/11f83...f4d9885582.png

It's not gone, it is just ...err... transparent?
If I click on the spot (or even move the selection with keyboard to) where the entry has been, it reappears:
http://image.prntscr.com/image/18efe...81f402d14f.png

Interesting fact I stumbled upon right now: When last entry is not visible, it will be visible if the window loses focus and will turn invisible again if windows gets focus.


some more false 3D applications for the default ignore list:
AllShareAgent.exe
BlueStacks.exe
DesktopOK.exe
DesktopOK_64.exe
Ditto.exe
HD-Agent.exe
Lightshot.exe
obs64.exe
soffice.bin
Yeh, I see same thing, if you click right below last entry you can't see it listed, but if you click on last entry its visible, also as you noted non focus of RTSS and it shows.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#57)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 03-07-2017, 19:50 | posts: 13,120 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy_K View Post
I think there is a glitch in the GUI.

I open RTSS window and see the list of my app profiles http://image.prntscr.com/image/e2b34...60b7ca1489.png

When I click below the last entry in the list (in the dark part), the last entry visually disappears.
http://image.prntscr.com/image/11f83...f4d9885582.png

It's not gone, it is just ...err... transparent?
If I click on the spot (or even move the selection with keyboard to) where the entry has been, it reappears:
http://image.prntscr.com/image/18efe...81f402d14f.png

Interesting fact I stumbled upon right now: When last entry is not visible, it will be visible if the window loses focus and will turn invisible again if windows gets focus.
Reproduced, thanks for reporting. Item text in the profiles list is being rendered with black text color instead of color defined inside the skin in some cases, so the problem was invisible with old skin having black text mode but became visible now with black background and white text. I'll fix it in the next beta.

All
I'd like to see new functionality reflected in the release notes stress-tested as well.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator

Last edited by Unwinder; 03-07-2017 at 20:05.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 03-07-2017, 20:11 | posts: 13,120 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

All

Also I'd really like to collect some skin feedback and collect your personal skin preference for default RTSS look. Old Aero themed or new Metro one. New Metro GUI can be seen in one of Andy_K links, if you're lazy to install new build:

http://image.prntscr.com/image/11f83...f4d9885582.png


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
Vidik
Master Guru
 
Vidik's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1070 Gaming X 2k/9200
Processor: i7-4790K / Noctua NH-D15
Mainboard: GA-Z97X-UD5H-BK F9b
Memory: Corsair 16GB DDR3-2133
Soundcard: Scarlett 2i2 / JBL LSR308
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default 03-07-2017, 20:45 | posts: 284

Are these spaces intended or is it because I don't have Unispace font installed?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#60)
Octopuss
Master Guru
 
Octopuss's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD XFX Rx 480
Processor: i7 3770K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard: Sound Blaster ZxR
PSU: -
Default 03-08-2017, 12:30 | posts: 628 | Location: Czech republic

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
All

Also I'd really like to collect some skin feedback and collect your personal skin preference for default RTSS look. Old Aero themed or new Metro one. New Metro GUI can be seen in one of Andy_K links, if you're lazy to install new build:

http://image.prntscr.com/image/11f83...f4d9885582.png
For Metro style, this doesn't look half bad. I still wouldn't use it (even on Win10 if it's possible), but it's pretty decent.


Will the next RTSS stable version justify re-releasing the whole Afterburner package with it included btw?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#61)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 03-08-2017, 17:18 | posts: 13,120 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vidik View Post
Are these spaces intended or is it because I don't have Unispace font installed?
No, that's not intended. That's result of introducing dynamic tabulation and new text formatting tags. And it definitively shouldn't add that much spaces.
I tweaked dynamic tabulation algorithm a bit, so check beta 2, it should address that:

http://office.guru3d.com/afterburner...up700Beta2.rar

Beta 2 also contain Unispace font distributive and automatically install it on RTSS installation. GUI glitch reported by Andy_K should be fixed now. Also I set default skin composition mode to layered with color key and light transparency to make it look more Metro-styled.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator

Last edited by Unwinder; 03-08-2017 at 18:01.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 03-08-2017, 17:20 | posts: 13,120 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Octopuss View Post
Will the next RTSS stable version justify re-releasing the whole Afterburner package with it included btw?
Yes. New RTSS gives MSI AB new possibilities for OSD visual appearance customization so it will be updated shortly after releasing 7.0.0


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#63)
Vidik
Master Guru
 
Vidik's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1070 Gaming X 2k/9200
Processor: i7-4790K / Noctua NH-D15
Mainboard: GA-Z97X-UD5H-BK F9b
Memory: Corsair 16GB DDR3-2133
Soundcard: Scarlett 2i2 / JBL LSR308
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default 03-08-2017, 17:56 | posts: 284

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
No, that's not intended. That's result of introducing dynamic tabulation and new text formatting tags. And it definitively shouldn't add that much spaces.
I tweaked dynamic tabulation algorithm a bit, so check beta 2, it should address that:
Yep that fixed it and it definitely looks more pleasant with that font, thanks.

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#64)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 03-08-2017, 19:31 | posts: 13,120 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Excellent, thanks for reporting.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#65)
Octopuss
Master Guru
 
Octopuss's Avatar
 
Videocard: AMD XFX Rx 480
Processor: i7 3770K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard: Sound Blaster ZxR
PSU: -
Default 03-09-2017, 10:44 | posts: 628 | Location: Czech republic

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
Yes. New RTSS gives MSI AB new possibilities for OSD visual appearance customization so it will be updated shortly after releasing 7.0.0
Hoho!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vidik View Post
Yep that fixed it and it definitely looks more pleasant with that font, thanks.

Which font is that? That looks really good.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
Vidik
Master Guru
 
Vidik's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1070 Gaming X 2k/9200
Processor: i7-4790K / Noctua NH-D15
Mainboard: GA-Z97X-UD5H-BK F9b
Memory: Corsair 16GB DDR3-2133
Soundcard: Scarlett 2i2 / JBL LSR308
PSU: Corsair AX750
Default 03-09-2017, 10:53 | posts: 284

Quote:
Originally Posted by Octopuss View Post
Which font is that? That looks really good.
Unispace.
 Click to show spoiler

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 03-09-2017, 10:53 | posts: 13,120 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

That is Unispace, which is installed by 7.0.0 and selected as default raster font now.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
ultraex2003
Member Guru
 
ultraex2003's Avatar
 
Videocard: Amd 2x290 Cfx
Processor: i7 5820k @ 4.0
Mainboard: Gigabyte x99-sli
Memory: G-skill ripjaws v @ 3200
Soundcard: stock
PSU: Coolemaster v 1000
Default 03-09-2017, 11:21 | posts: 74 | Location: greece

looks more beautiful with that font, thanks a lot .bro !!!

 Click to show spoiler

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 03-09-2017, 11:26 | posts: 13,120 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

It will be even more beautiful when MSI AB, HwInfo and AIDA start using new text formatting tags. Then it will be possible to make OSD look like that. I've informed both AIDA and HwInfo devs on new OSD customization possibilities, so I hope it won't take long to support that feature in those apps once official 7.0.0 is released.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#70)
Andy_K
Master Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 960 OC
Processor: AMD FX6300
Mainboard: ASRock 970 Extreme3 R2.0
Memory: Crucial 1600 - 8GB
Soundcard: Realtek ALC892 (7.1)
PSU: Corsair CX430M
Default 03-09-2017, 19:05 | posts: 299 | Location: Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unwinder View Post
It will be even more beautiful when MSI AB, ...
The new OSD possibilities, will they be configurable by users in the MSI AB GUI, or in a single config file, or will they be stored in the app profiles?
That way we could adjust the OSD per game.

In some games I just like to have actual time and fps in the OSD, in others more demanding games I would like to have some more information displayed.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#71)
kx11
Maha Guru
 
kx11's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan Xp
Processor: i7 6900k
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage V 10th ed.
Memory: G.skill Trident Z RGB
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA 1000 g2
Default 03-09-2017, 19:23 | posts: 2,372 | Location: Qatar

it works with Quantum break
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#72)
JonasBeckman
Ancient Guru
 
JonasBeckman's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire R9 Fury OC
Processor: i7-3930K @ 4.1Ghz
Mainboard: Asus Rampage IV Extreme
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Asus ROG Phoebus
PSU: Corsair AX 1200W
Default 03-09-2017, 19:54 | posts: 13,182 | Location: Sweden

Yeah no issues so far with either DX11 or DX12, liking the new font too and some of the other improvements around the OSD, even tested some of the new settings a bit though there's little I can say on them since I just started with that but no problems thus far, spacing was the only thing I wondered about in 7.0.0b1 and that's solved now.

For UWP Gears4 was finished and uninstalled a little while back so only ReCore installed currently to test with but been busy with some other games clearing up the backlog a bit heh.
(Vulkan seems OK too via Dolphin last I checked but I don't have that many Wii games so it doesn't see that much use.)

Win10 RS2 15048 since last week too (Or well that might have been 15042 initially and then 15046 ha ha.) but no real problems with Afterburner / RTSS, just start it up, let it fetch the new addresses or caches due to changes to the DirectX files and then it works just as always.
(Which is nice since it should hit RTM late March for general release in mid-April.)

Well I'm just another standard user so nothing especially in-depth to report in terms of functionality, tinker a bit with the config file occasionally trying to learn or get some understanding on how this or that option works.

Glad the UWP system is supported now in case there's any future first-party titles that are unlikely to hit say Steam though I don't foresee the platform being able to compete with the established digital services anytime soon.
(Vulkan too and I'm hoping some more games do start utilizing that API.)

Last edited by JonasBeckman; 03-09-2017 at 19:57.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#73)
boogieman
Maha Guru
 
boogieman's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI GTX 1080X Gaming
Processor: i7 6700K @ 4.6
Mainboard: Asus Z170-A
Memory: 2 x 8 G Skill
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: BFG Tech EX-1200
Default 03-09-2017, 22:22 | posts: 1,883 | Location: USA

Using 7b2. No issues so far. Don't have any UWP games. Looking forward to new AB.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#74)
Tomatone
Member Guru
 
Tomatone's Avatar
 
Videocard: PowerColor R9 270
Processor: i5-4690K@4.5GHz
Mainboard: GIGABYTE GA-Z97-D3H
Memory: Kingston 4x4GB 1866MHz
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: SS-500ET
Default 03-10-2017, 05:37 | posts: 80 | Location: Serbia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy_K View Post
The new OSD possibilities, will they be configurable by users in the MSI AB GUI, or in a single config file, or will they be stored in the app profiles?
That way we could adjust the OSD per game.

In some games I just like to have actual time and fps in the OSD, in others more demanding games I would like to have some more information displayed.
^^This +1
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#75)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 03-10-2017, 06:15 | posts: 13,120 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy_K View Post
The new OSD possibilities, will they be configurable by users in the MSI AB GUI, or in a single config file, or will they be stored in the app profiles?
That way we could adjust the OSD per game.

In some games I just like to have actual time and fps in the OSD, in others more demanding games I would like to have some more information displayed.
Application profiles are not defining which text is displayed by RTSS. It is job of client applications (MSI AB/AIDA etc) to format output and push it into RTSS. So it will be configurable on client (MSI AB in my case) side.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator

Last edited by Unwinder; 03-10-2017 at 06:37.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.