Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > The HTPC, HDTV & Ultra High Definition section
The HTPC, HDTV & Ultra High Definition section Home Theater PC Enthusiasts or want to talk in High-Definition ? This is Guru3Ds Premier Community of HD and HTPC.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
kx11
Maha Guru
 
kx11's Avatar
 
Videocard: Titan Xp
Processor: i7 6900k
Mainboard: ASUS Rampage V 10th ed.
Memory: G.skill Trident Z RGB
Soundcard:
PSU: EVGA 1000 g2
Default 03-18-2017, 19:51 | posts: 2,275 | Location: Qatar

Quote:
Originally Posted by signex View Post
I watched an amazing 4K HDR clip a week ago.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2RIDhA9c8qw

Also a good channel for 4K HDR content.
the owner of the channel captured HDR ps4pro gameplay , he says it requires a lot of stuff
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
kanej2007
Ancient Guru
 
kanej2007's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 1070 8GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-VPro
Memory: 12Gb Corsair Vengeance C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X Ultra 7.1
PSU: Fractal Design R2 1000W
Default 03-29-2017, 00:39 | posts: 8,227 | Location: London, United Kingdom

@ chispy, I've been running an LG 50'' 4k IPS TV mainly for gaming and playing movies, both in which it excels in.

Any questions I can help you with? I've had the TV for around 5 or 6 months. Not really anything negative to say about the tv.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
chispy
Ancient Guru
 
chispy's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1070@ 2126/2300Mhz-H2O
Processor: AMD R7 1700x@ 4200Mhz-H2O
Mainboard: Asus CH VI Hero x370 AM4
Memory: G.Skill DDR4-3200Ghz 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: eVGA Supernova G2-1300w
Thumbs up 03-29-2017, 16:40 | posts: 7,714 | Location: In Paradise :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kanej2007 View Post
@ chispy, I've been running an LG 50'' 4k IPS TV mainly for gaming and playing movies, both in which it excels in.

Any questions I can help you with? I've had the TV for around 5 or 6 months. Not really anything negative to say about the tv.
Thanks for asking my old friend. Sure i would like to know if your TV supports HDR and if it does have you played any games that supports it ? Shadow warrior 3 and Mass Effect Andromeda been the latest titles me think. Since i do not have those games i cannot comment and i have no idea how does it work or looks like. If by any chance you have any games can you give me some feedback on how to make it work and how does it looks like ? Thank you in advanced.

Kind Regards: Chispy
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
signex
Ancient Guru
 
signex's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 670MX@850/1900
Processor: Core i7 3630QM 3,5GHz
Mainboard: Intel HM77
Memory: 12GB Elpida DDR3 1600MHz
Soundcard: Realtek
PSU: 180W
Default 03-29-2017, 18:01 | posts: 8,129 | Location: Netherlands

Quote:
Originally Posted by chispy View Post
Thanks for asking my old friend. Sure i would like to know if your TV supports HDR and if it does have you played any games that supports it ? Shadow warrior 3 and Mass Effect Andromeda been the latest titles me think. Since i do not have those games i cannot comment and i have no idea how does it work or looks like. If by any chance you have any games can you give me some feedback on how to make it work and how does it looks like ? Thank you in advanced.

Kind Regards: Chispy
You should be able to see a popup when HDR is enabled if it doesn't your TV probably doesn't support HDR or not yet.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
kanej2007
Ancient Guru
 
kanej2007's Avatar
 
Videocard: Asus GTX 1070 8GB
Processor: Intel Core i7 2600 4.7Ghz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-VPro
Memory: 12Gb Corsair Vengeance C8
Soundcard: Asus Xonar D2X Ultra 7.1
PSU: Fractal Design R2 1000W
Default 03-30-2017, 00:57 | posts: 8,227 | Location: London, United Kingdom

^ Signex kindly beat me to the answer.

And yes, I do not have HDR. There is no option for HDR nor any popup to enable it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
chispy
Ancient Guru
 
chispy's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1070@ 2126/2300Mhz-H2O
Processor: AMD R7 1700x@ 4200Mhz-H2O
Mainboard: Asus CH VI Hero x370 AM4
Memory: G.Skill DDR4-3200Ghz 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: eVGA Supernova G2-1300w
Thumbs up 04-04-2017, 18:37 | posts: 7,714 | Location: In Paradise :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by signex View Post
You should be able to see a popup when HDR is enabled if it doesn't your TV probably doesn't support HDR or not yet.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kanej2007 View Post
^ Signex kindly beat me to the answer.

And yes, I do not have HDR. There is no option for HDR nor any popup to enable it.
Thanks for the heads up and feedback guys , appreciate it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#57)
LazKaiWo
Newbie
 
Videocard: AsusGeForceGTX1080Ti 11gb
Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-7600K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX750M 750W80Gold
Default 04-28-2017, 10:18 | posts: 3

Hi Chispy

I just got the Samsung KS8005 model (same as the US KS8000, this is just the EU term) And i have been reading your thread, what I seem to have missed or not found is the total settings you referred that you would post in here?...
This thread has been amazing But could I ask you to post your tv settings and pc settings for gaming?
I know I'm asking alot, and hope that i'm not bothering you

See, I'm totally new to this as well (using a tv for a monitor) and i love to game... well mostly I game WoW and other mmorpg's or just rpg's.. but I'm having trouble with the colors not being quite there and text not being sharp + stuttering.. and then i remembered that you would have your tv calibrated so i thought, hey if i can get you pc settings and tv settings it would help (using Nvidia 1080)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
Steppzor
Master Guru
 
Steppzor's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 980 TI G1
Processor: Intel i7-4770K @ Stock
Mainboard: Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD3H
Memory: Corsair Vengeance 16GB
Soundcard: Kingston HyperX Cloud II
PSU: XFX ProSeries BE 1050W
Default 04-28-2017, 10:45 | posts: 682 | Location: Norway

Quote:
Originally Posted by lazkaiwo View Post
hi chispy

i just got the samsung ks8005 model (same as the us ks8000, this is just the eu term)
eu ks7005 = us ks8000
eu ks8005 = us ks9000
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
LazKaiWo
Newbie
 
Videocard: AsusGeForceGTX1080Ti 11gb
Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-7600K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX750M 750W80Gold
Default 05-01-2017, 00:19 | posts: 3

thnx Step

hmm
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#60)
chispy
Ancient Guru
 
chispy's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1070@ 2126/2300Mhz-H2O
Processor: AMD R7 1700x@ 4200Mhz-H2O
Mainboard: Asus CH VI Hero x370 AM4
Memory: G.Skill DDR4-3200Ghz 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: eVGA Supernova G2-1300w
Default 05-01-2017, 19:43 | posts: 7,714 | Location: In Paradise :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LazKaiWo View Post
Hi Chispy

I just got the Samsung KS8005 model (same as the US KS8000, this is just the EU term) And i have been reading your thread, what I seem to have missed or not found is the total settings you referred that you would post in here?...
This thread has been amazing But could I ask you to post your tv settings and pc settings for gaming?
I know I'm asking alot, and hope that i'm not bothering you

See, I'm totally new to this as well (using a tv for a monitor) and i love to game... well mostly I game WoW and other mmorpg's or just rpg's.. but I'm having trouble with the colors not being quite there and text not being sharp + stuttering.. and then i remembered that you would have your tv calibrated so i thought, hey if i can get you pc settings and tv settings it would help (using Nvidia 1080)
No i'm sorry , i did not get my TV professional calibrated because the techs for BestBuy never showed up to their appointment with me , i did use the rtings settings ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xqb_8r-JDbg ) and tweaked them to my likings , so far i'm more than happy with the outcome .

Kind Regards: Chispy
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#61)
LazKaiWo
Newbie
 
Videocard: AsusGeForceGTX1080Ti 11gb
Processor: Intel® Core™ i5-7600K
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair TX750M 750W80Gold
Default 05-01-2017, 23:08 | posts: 3

thnx for the reply Chispy

Have you done any changes to the nvidia settings on the PC?
I will look over the calibration from the link you posted
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
chispy
Ancient Guru
 
chispy's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX1070@ 2126/2300Mhz-H2O
Processor: AMD R7 1700x@ 4200Mhz-H2O
Mainboard: Asus CH VI Hero x370 AM4
Memory: G.Skill DDR4-3200Ghz 16GB
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD
PSU: eVGA Supernova G2-1300w
Default 05-06-2017, 03:51 | posts: 7,714 | Location: In Paradise :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LazKaiWo View Post
thnx for the reply Chispy

Have you done any changes to the nvidia settings on the PC?
I will look over the calibration from the link you posted
Sure , i'm running 4K 60Hz YCbCr 4:4:4.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.