Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum
MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion forum This forum is intended for MSI customers for questions on the AfterBurner Overclock Utility based off Rivatuner. In this section the users help each other out with answers as well as support staff from MSI.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
pls halp
Old
  (#1)
DarLav
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire RX 470
Processor: i3 6100
Mainboard: Asus B150 pro-gaming atx
Memory: Vengeance 8gb ddr4
Soundcard: 2 tin cans
PSU: corsair vs550
Question pls halp - 01-14-2017, 19:35 | posts: 9 | Location: Ireland

Hi, I'm a noob to pc gaming but just built a new pc and tried to use afterburner to adjust fan speeds etc although msi afterburner is not working for me, maybe my components are not compatible or something but if any of you guys know the answer then feel free to let me know, I'll post a prntscr so you have some clue as to what I'm talking about then let me know please, this could be a long road ahead Update, won't let me post screenshot as I'm a nub although basically it just doesn't let me adjust the slider things etc

My components are:
8gb corsair vengeance ram
i3 6100 cpu
asus b150 pro-gaming mobo
Sapphire RX470 4gb gpu
corsair vs550w psu
crucial mx300 525gb ssd

A guy told me to click "extend official overclocking limits" although this seems to be where the trouble is as I tick the "Extend official overclocking limits" box in general settings and it asks me to reboot so I do although on startup afterburner is still not working and the box I had ticked is no longer ticked so idk what's wrong, any help would be appreciated

http
://prntscr.
com/dvktvm (Remove spaces)
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
nz3777
Maha Guru
 
nz3777's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gtx 980 Strix @ 1500Mhz
Processor: Fx 8320 E @ 4.2 Ghz
Mainboard: Asus M5A78L-M
Memory: 8gb 1600mhz/Ballistic
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Recon 3d
PSU: Corsair Hx 850
Default 01-15-2017, 15:38 | posts: 1,668 | Location: Willowbrook ill.

Hey there,

Download http://www.techspot.com/downloads/46...overdrive.html amd gpu oc utility

if that does not work try this- Saphire Trixx- same thing as above......http://www.sapphiretech.com/catapage...asp?cataid=291

Or His -i-turbo- gpu oc software.http://www.hisdigital.com/un/download.shtml

or Asus gpu tweak- same as above.http://edgeup.asus.com/2015/10/16/ne...d-best-friend/

I responded to your other thread also But try and go with Amd overdrive oc utility 1st if possible, I dont know why Msi afterburner is giving you such a hard time but for the time being just try one of these that I mentioned. Sorry for responding so late.


Nick

Last edited by nz3777; 01-15-2017 at 15:42. Reason: insert links
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
DarLav
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire RX 470
Processor: i3 6100
Mainboard: Asus B150 pro-gaming atx
Memory: Vengeance 8gb ddr4
Soundcard: 2 tin cans
PSU: corsair vs550
Default 01-15-2017, 18:08 | posts: 9 | Location: Ireland

Hi Nick,

Unfortunately Amd overdrive doesn't work as it's not an amd processor and shows this error

http://prntscr.
com/dvz5o6

Sapphire trixx doesn't seem to be working either :/

http://prnt.
sc/dvz6xr

Didn't try the gpu iturbo software yet tbh although can't see it working lol

gpu tweak II doesn't load up

http://prntscr.
com/dvzf8t

I've installed all the latest drivers from asus and still no joy, I don't have a clue what it could be but doesn't seem like a problem with any of the programs as they all doing same thing, thanks for your help though and will keep trying to find out what problem is, knowing my luck it will be something obvious and due to user error lol

DarLav
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
Watcher
Maha Guru
 
Watcher's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte Windforce R9 380
Processor: FX-8350@4.8 H80iV2 Corsai
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Memory: G.SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB @1866
Soundcard: On board Realtek
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 01-15-2017, 18:26 | posts: 2,348 | Location: Canada

Version of Windows?

What version of Catalyst Driver do you have installed?

You can always use the " Automatically Detect and Install Your Driver " file to have the latest installed automatically for you.

http://support.amd.com/en-us/download
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
nz3777
Maha Guru
 
nz3777's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gtx 980 Strix @ 1500Mhz
Processor: Fx 8320 E @ 4.2 Ghz
Mainboard: Asus M5A78L-M
Memory: 8gb 1600mhz/Ballistic
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Recon 3d
PSU: Corsair Hx 850
Default 01-15-2017, 18:51 | posts: 1,668 | Location: Willowbrook ill.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarLav View Post
Hi Nick,

Unfortunately Amd overdrive doesn't work as it's not an amd processor and shows this error

http://prntscr.
com/dvz5o6

Sapphire trixx doesn't seem to be working either :/

http://prnt.
sc/dvz6xr

Didn't try the gpu iturbo software yet tbh although can't see it working lol

gpu tweak II doesn't load up

http://prntscr.
com/dvzf8t

I've installed all the latest drivers from asus and still no joy, I don't have a clue what it could be but doesn't seem like a problem with any of the programs as they all doing same thing, thanks for your help though and will keep trying to find out what problem is, knowing my luck it will be something obvious and due to user error lol

DarLav
Damm I am stumped then lol,
Maybe one of the other Guru's can pitch something in at this point? Stay positive we will figure out something for you dont worry.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
DarLav
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire RX 470
Processor: i3 6100
Mainboard: Asus B150 pro-gaming atx
Memory: Vengeance 8gb ddr4
Soundcard: 2 tin cans
PSU: corsair vs550
Default 01-15-2017, 20:12 | posts: 9 | Location: Ireland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Watcher View Post
Version of Windows?

What version of Catalyst Driver do you have installed?

You can always use the " Automatically Detect and Install Your Driver " file to have the latest installed automatically for you.

http://support.amd.com/en-us/download
Windows 10 - All updates downloaded, maybe I should get windows 7?

http://prntscr.
com/dw0fxw

I'm guessing catalyst is one of these?

http://prntscr.
com/dw172n

Just after doing that although afterburner still looks same :/

http://prntscr.
com/dw17zc

Thanks for all the help so far
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
Watcher
Maha Guru
 
Watcher's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte Windforce R9 380
Processor: FX-8350@4.8 H80iV2 Corsai
Mainboard: ASUS M5A99FX PRO R2.0
Memory: G.SKILL RIPJAWS 8GB @1866
Soundcard: On board Realtek
PSU: OCZ StealthXStream 2 600W
Default 01-15-2017, 20:28 | posts: 2,348 | Location: Canada

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarLav View Post
Windows 10 - All updates downloaded, maybe I should get windows 7?

http://prntscr.
com/dw0fxw

I'm guessing catalyst is one of these?

http://prntscr.
com/dw172n

Just after doing that although afterburner still looks same :/

http://prntscr.
com/dw17zc

Thanks for all the help so far
Windows 10 is good, no reason to move to Windows 7.

Uninstall Afterburner completely. During the uninstall it will ask to remove saved profiles, answer " Yes "

Reboot.

Reinstall Afterburner make sure you select reboot when it asked to find GPU clock values ( or something like that ).

Report back.

Last edited by Watcher; 01-15-2017 at 20:35.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
DarLav
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire RX 470
Processor: i3 6100
Mainboard: Asus B150 pro-gaming atx
Memory: Vengeance 8gb ddr4
Soundcard: 2 tin cans
PSU: corsair vs550
Default 01-15-2017, 20:40 | posts: 9 | Location: Ireland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Watcher View Post
Windows 10 is good, no reason to move to Windows 7.

Uninstall Afterburner completely. During the uninstall it will ask to remove saved profiles, answer " Yes "

Reboot.

Reinstall Afterburner make sure you select reboot when it asked to find GPU clock values ( or something like that ).

Report back.
Wow it actually worked, thanks man and thanks to nick for helping get it solved, not entirely sure what problem was but appreciatory valve wide open

http://prntscr.com/dw1lrk

All the other programs are working aswell

Last edited by DarLav; 01-15-2017 at 20:42.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
nz3777
Maha Guru
 
nz3777's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gtx 980 Strix @ 1500Mhz
Processor: Fx 8320 E @ 4.2 Ghz
Mainboard: Asus M5A78L-M
Memory: 8gb 1600mhz/Ballistic
Soundcard: SoundBlaster Recon 3d
PSU: Corsair Hx 850
Default 01-16-2017, 00:16 | posts: 1,668 | Location: Willowbrook ill.

Sweeeet!!!! Well happy overclocking and thanks (watcher) for getting this done. That is why we are here lol-Get-er-done.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.