Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Videocards - AMD Radeon
Videocards - AMD Radeon AMD Radeon graphics cards. Do you have one or want to buy one? Use this forum to discuss anything concerning products using Radeon graphics cards, CrossFireX, from Radeon HD 7800 to R9 390X



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#26)
primetime^
Maha Guru
 
primetime^'s Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX Radeon RX580
Processor: X5670@4.2Ghz Ultra-120Ext
Mainboard: Asus P6T Delux v1
Memory: 12gb Patriot ddr3 1600
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Black Widow 850
Default 12-31-2016, 07:57 | posts: 818 | Location: SC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Myers75 View Post
Some new updates. I sent this gpu to RMA. Waited 3 weeks to get it as it was supposed to be sent to official Gigabyte service. Put the card in boom same black screen Only difference is that now I tried to run Furmark benchmark which is heavy on gpus and it ran with no issues at all. Card came to 70 degrees on heavy load. Why the hell this thing crashes only in games and not in benchmark?
the days of using furmark as the end all stability tool are long gone...just the way it is, because games stress the hardware in different ways....does the card still have issues with case open and gpu fan set to 100%?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#27)
Apparatus
Master Guru
 
Apparatus's Avatar
 
Videocard: RX 470 4gb
Processor: i3 6100
Mainboard: AsRock H110M-HDS
Memory: 8gb ddr4
Soundcard: Realtek onboard
PSU: CORSAIR RM750X
Default 12-31-2016, 18:15 | posts: 189

You can open gpu-z and tick the 'log to file' option.
So when you reboot after the crash, you can see what was the reached temperature of your vga when the black screen occurred.

How old is your psu ?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#28)
Myers75
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte R9 380 4GB
Processor: INTEL Core i3-4330 3.5GH
Mainboard: MSI H87M-P33 LGA1150 ATX
Memory: CRUCIAL Ballistix Sport X
Soundcard:
PSU: XFX TS 550
Default 01-02-2017, 13:49 | posts: 13

Cant believe it. After weeks of testing and pulling my hair I think I finally found the fix. I modded gpu bios and raised the GPU voltage a little with tonga bios editor and now it works like a charm. The same thing with afterburner didnt work but it works with modded bios.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#29)
Myers75
Newbie
 
Videocard: Gigabyte R9 380 4GB
Processor: INTEL Core i3-4330 3.5GH
Mainboard: MSI H87M-P33 LGA1150 ATX
Memory: CRUCIAL Ballistix Sport X
Soundcard:
PSU: XFX TS 550
Default 01-02-2017, 22:17 | posts: 13

Just to make sure I did it right cause I am not very knowledgable in that department. I googled some post from one miner and he did it this way. I am posting a picture what I switched in bios and card works. Is this the right way or can this be done better?

   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#30)
PhantomCracking
Master Guru
 
PhantomCracking's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX R7970 DD Ghz
Processor: i5-750 / Noctua U12P SE2
Mainboard: MSI P55-GD65
Memory: RipjawsZ 4x4GB
Soundcard: Xonar DG/ALC889 SPDIF
PSU: Corsair HX650
Default 01-09-2017, 23:34 | posts: 564 | Location: Tennessee

Quote:
Originally Posted by Myers75 View Post

Not to be rude but, for future reference, don't link to your open bucket. ..Just looking out for ya, bruh. Never know what kind of sensitive info you may have in your screen shots etc.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#31)
Agent-A01
Ancient Guru
 
Agent-A01's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1080Ti H20
Processor: i7 5930K 4.7GHz H20
Mainboard: ASUS X99-AU31
Memory: G.Skill 32GB 3200C12
Soundcard: ASUS Phoebus
PSU: EVGA P2-1200W
Default 01-10-2017, 00:23 | posts: 9,475 | Location: USA

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhantomCracking View Post
Not to be rude but, for future reference, don't link to your open bucket. ..Just looking out for ya, bruh. Never know what kind of sensitive info you may have in your screen shots etc.
That and lots of porn from the 90s.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#32)
Mega
Member Guru
 
Videocard: Club3D R9 290 @ 4096x2160
Processor: intel i5 @ 4+ Ghz
Mainboard: Gigabyte z68a
Memory: DDR3 16GB 1687Mhz
Soundcard: Sondigo inferno 8788
PSU: 850watt 85%+ efficiency
Default 03-08-2017, 20:27 | posts: 52

My R9 290 was working until I got the same issue being this week. Took several days to clean out. Never could overclock my system, but I finally find out how to overclock my i5 to 4+ ghz from 3~ ghz and overclock my r290 from defaults now pushing it to 1+ ghz with stability by manually setting volts. Resolved most of the issues hopefully. Not sure if the random pauses might come back.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#33)
dudecat64
Ancient Guru
 
Videocard: POWERCOLOR PCS+ R9 380 4G
Processor: Amd Ryzen 7 1700
Mainboard: MSI X370 GAMING PLUS
Memory: 2 X 8GIG DDR4 3200
Soundcard: Onboard
PSU: COOLER MASTER G750M
Default 03-08-2017, 23:02 | posts: 3,690 | Location: nystate

Well i sent mine back to rma. Not going to bother with bios modz and then fry the card and void warranty. I would have rma it as it might do it down the road again.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 2017, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.