Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Affiliates > Rivatuner Generic Discussion forum
Rivatuner Generic Discussion forum This forum is intended for generic questions and discussion of the RivaTuner Utility. In this section the users help each other out with answers.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Frame limiter causing CPU Temp increase?
Old
  (#1)
Linxa
Newbie
 
Videocard: 980ti 6gb
Processor: Intel core i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 750
Default Frame limiter causing CPU Temp increase? - 11-23-2016, 03:27 | posts: 2

Hello guys,

I recently noticed something strange... When playing many different games, specifically call of duty infinite warfare, my CPU temp was unusually high, even higher than my GPU, this made no sense to me so I investigated. I went into my BIOS and defaulted everything and updated it then re-enabled XMP, that is all, rest is all preset. FOR SOME REASON when I limit my FPS to 60 the CPU temp on my PC goes 10 degrees higher than if I have it 130fps+ then it's normal. this is what happens with call of duty specifically. Other games they make the CPU run overall a little higher when limiting their fps to 60 but then when I unlimited the fps the CPU temps also go down. Overall I've noticed a very clear and instant correlation and it doesn't make sense to me, please can someone clarify this?

Thanks,

Sorry for query being badly written, I was sleepy...

WINDOWS 10
I7 6700K
EVGA 980TI
1TB SSD SAMSUNG FOR OS
6TB WD BLACK FOR GAMES
ASUS V3 HERO MOBO
16GB RAM
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
Linxa
Newbie
 
Videocard: 980ti 6gb
Processor: Intel core i7
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 750
Default 11-23-2016, 04:11 | posts: 2

UPDATE

Tried to use Nvidia Inspector to limit the FPS.

Resault: Managed to cap the FPS at 60 as desired WITHOUT affecting CPU temp, THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT I WANT! Except it now causes input lag ever so slightly.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
Unwinder
Moderator
 
Videocard:
Processor:
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU:
Default 11-23-2016, 08:12 | posts: 12,859 | Location: Taganrog, Russia

Precise frame pacing for maximum smooth frametime require CPU wait loops. So it is up to you to choose the tool depending of your reasons of enabling frame limiting.


Alexey Nicolaychuk aka Unwinder, RivaTuner creator
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.