Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Videocards > Benchmark Mayhem
Benchmark Mayhem This section is for you benchmark freaks. Wanna show off your 3D Mark scores with your brand new GTX 980 SLI or Radeon R9 290X Crossfire in that Intel Core i7 rig? Then this is your section!



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old
  (#51)
Slikar
Master Guru
 
Slikar's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX970 WF3
Processor: 4670k @4.0
Mainboard: ASUS Z87
Memory: HyperX 8GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Tt 630W
Default 07-15-2016, 10:44 | posts: 368

Glad i sold my Maxwell, it's ridiculous how they could even market them as capable of dx12.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#52)
Kaarme
Master Guru
 
Kaarme's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 390
Processor: i5 6600K
Mainboard: Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Memory: HyperX DDR4 16GB
Soundcard: Lead Audio LA-100 DAC
PSU: EVGA G2 750W
Default 07-15-2016, 10:48 | posts: 655 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by xIcarus View Post
Maxwell2 supports more DX12 features than GCN4 (Polaris). What are you on about?
Sure, on paper. But it doesn't show much in practice, does it? It's still 100% dx11 optimised GPU with dx12 features slapped on top for marketing purposes. Dx12 wasn't yet a thing when Maxwell was designed, and Nvidia lives only for today, not tomorrow.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#53)
Redemption80
Ancient Guru
 
Redemption80's Avatar
 
Videocard: GALAX 970/ASUS 970 STRIX
Processor: i7-2600K @ 4.7ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO Intel P67
Memory: G.Skill RipJawsX 8GB
Soundcard: Nvidia - HDMI
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 07-15-2016, 10:49 | posts: 17,588 | Location: Glasgow

Maxwell cards are doing really well, the only DX12 feature they can't do is async compute.

They support more features in reality, not just on paper. Just not the feature with all the hype behind it, while the features they do support have yet to be used by devs.

Last edited by Redemption80; 07-15-2016 at 10:52.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#54)
BrimStone101
Newbie
 
Videocard: 16 gig
Processor: intel
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: 1200watt
Default 07-15-2016, 10:54 | posts: 39

DX12 performs poorly against vulkan
I score 4200 single 290 card
graphics score 4255
cpu score 4118

test 1 28.33 fps
test 2 23.65 fps

Last edited by BrimStone101; 07-15-2016 at 10:56.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#55)
Wolf9an9
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX970 Gaming
Processor: i7 920 D0 @ 4.2 Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P6T DeLuxe
Memory: Corsair 12Gb @ 1600Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard Logitec 5.1 X530
PSU: Antec HCP 1200W
Default 07-15-2016, 11:08 | posts: 105 | Location: South Africa

@ OP TDurden and Tj

TDurden, this is not free with the basic version and requires the advanced version!

Tj, did you get it working with the basic version?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#56)
Redemption80
Ancient Guru
 
Redemption80's Avatar
 
Videocard: GALAX 970/ASUS 970 STRIX
Processor: i7-2600K @ 4.7ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO Intel P67
Memory: G.Skill RipJawsX 8GB
Soundcard: Nvidia - HDMI
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 07-15-2016, 11:14 | posts: 17,588 | Location: Glasgow

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrimStone101 View Post
DX12 performs poorly against vulkan
I score 4200 single 290 card
graphics score 4255
cpu score 4118

test 1 28.33 fps
test 2 23.65 fps
There is no Vulkan version.

That's actually a good score.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#57)
go4brendon
Member Guru
 
go4brendon's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080Ti Seahawk X
Processor: Intel Core i7-2600K
Mainboard: ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z
Memory: DDR3 1600mhz 16gb
Soundcard: Creative Sound Blaster Z
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
Default 07-15-2016, 11:16 | posts: 103 | Location: Winchester, UK

My R9 295x2 got 7732 graphics score. http://www.3dmark.com/spy/15060
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#58)
BColt
Newbie
 
Videocard: Sapphire Vapor-X 280x
Processor: Phenom 965
Mainboard:
Memory:
Soundcard:
PSU: CM V750S
Default 07-15-2016, 11:46 | posts: 31

Looks more like GALAX advertisement.
They don't make AMD cards, do they?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#59)
zoomer-fodder
Member Guru
 
zoomer-fodder's Avatar
 
Videocard: ASUS ROG Poseidon 780 SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7-3930K@4.7HT
Mainboard: ASUS ROG RIVE
Memory: 16GB 2400 11-11-11-28 1T
Soundcard: harman/kardon
PSU: Chieftec 850W
Default 07-15-2016, 11:47 | posts: 82 | Location: Russian Federation

5956
http://www.3dmark.com/spy/29596

Last edited by zoomer-fodder; 07-15-2016 at 11:49.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#60)
sTOrM41
Master Guru
 
Videocard: GTX 970 @ 1500 MHz
Processor: Xeon W3680 @ 4000 MHz
Mainboard: Dell X58
Memory: 12GB DDR3 @ 1333 MHz
Soundcard:
PSU: Dell 525W
Default 07-15-2016, 11:52 | posts: 492 | Location: Germany

Quote:
Originally Posted by gringopig View Post
http://www.3dmark.com/spy/15920

Using driver 368.69

is this rly with only 4,2ghz?

i wonder why your cpu score is 20% highter than my..
http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/13204027
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#61)
Wolf9an9
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX970 Gaming
Processor: i7 920 D0 @ 4.2 Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P6T DeLuxe
Memory: Corsair 12Gb @ 1600Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard Logitec 5.1 X530
PSU: Antec HCP 1200W
Default 07-15-2016, 12:10 | posts: 105 | Location: South Africa

Before I pay to upgrade my 3DMark Basic version to the Advanced Edition, has anybody been able to run TimeSpy with the Basis Edition?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#62)
Wolf9an9
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX970 Gaming
Processor: i7 920 D0 @ 4.2 Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P6T DeLuxe
Memory: Corsair 12Gb @ 1600Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard Logitec 5.1 X530
PSU: Antec HCP 1200W
Default 07-15-2016, 12:13 | posts: 105 | Location: South Africa

Before I pay to upgrade my 3DMark Basic version to the Advanced Edition, has anybody been able to run TimeSpy with the Basic Edition?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#63)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX980Ti Amp!Omega
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe 2103
Memory: Gskill TridX 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD @Bose A5
PSU: Nitro88+ 650W 52A
Default 07-15-2016, 12:14 | posts: 13,717 | Location: Proxima \/82

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolf9an9 View Post
@ OP TDurden and Tj

TDurden, this is not free with the basic version and requires the advanced version!

Tj, did you get it working with the basic version?
Yes

Check one page earlier, its basic so i cant run custom runs but it works.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#64)
dgrigo
Newbie
 
Videocard: TitanX
Processor: 6700K
Mainboard: ASROCK Exteme 7+
Memory: DDR 4 32gb @2600
Soundcard: ALC Audio / M-Audio BX5A
PSU: 750 corsair
Default 07-15-2016, 12:28 | posts: 17 | Location: Greece

Fury X need a position swap with Titan X as it seems faster....
Please Fix Table.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#65)
xIcarus
Master Guru
 
xIcarus's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 970 Phantom 4GB
Processor: Core i7 2600k @4.6/4.9GHz
Mainboard: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Memory: Exceleram 1333MHz 16GB
Soundcard: Realtek ALC892
PSU: OCZ Fatal1ty 550W
Default 07-15-2016, 12:45 | posts: 703 | Location: Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaarme View Post
Sure, on paper. But it doesn't show much in practice, does it? It's still 100% dx11 optimised GPU with dx12 features slapped on top for marketing purposes. Dx12 wasn't yet a thing when Maxwell was designed, and Nvidia lives only for today, not tomorrow.
DX12 wasn't a thing even when Kepler was released yet it supports some of its features. I think you don't know what you're talking about, the architecture makes certain features possible or not; you can't just slap some features on it.

On paper?
When's the last time you saw conservative rasterization or raster-ordered views being used? Oh, you didn't? Then how do you know they don't work?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#66)
Wolf9an9
Member Guru
 
Videocard: MSI GTX970 Gaming
Processor: i7 920 D0 @ 4.2 Ghz
Mainboard: Asus P6T DeLuxe
Memory: Corsair 12Gb @ 1600Mhz
Soundcard: Onboard Logitec 5.1 X530
PSU: Antec HCP 1200W
Default 07-15-2016, 13:03 | posts: 105 | Location: South Africa

Thanks Tj,

However mine says not available with current license 1.0 - although I downloaded the latest update which includes TimeSpy.

Perhaps I should try downloading again.

EDIT:- I think I do not actually have TimeSpy available as the update I did was too quick for 3.9GB.

Maybe I will just use the special $10 upgrade to new Advanced edition which includes TimeSpy

Last edited by Wolf9an9; 07-15-2016 at 13:57.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#67)
Xuanzang
Master Guru
 
Xuanzang's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080
Processor: Intel i7 3770K@4.5GHz
Mainboard: ASUS P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Memory: HyperX Savage 2133MH 16Gb
Soundcard:
PSU: Super Flower 1300W
Default 07-15-2016, 13:24 | posts: 228

So i am able to run the Time Spy, but how to do custom benching with Time Spy? I already pay for the advanced version of 3DMARK a few months ago, and when i go to upgrade i have to pay for the advanced version once more? $20? even with the promo code?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#68)
Redemption80
Ancient Guru
 
Redemption80's Avatar
 
Videocard: GALAX 970/ASUS 970 STRIX
Processor: i7-2600K @ 4.7ghz
Mainboard: Asus P8P67 PRO Intel P67
Memory: G.Skill RipJawsX 8GB
Soundcard: Nvidia - HDMI
PSU: Corsair GS800
Default 07-15-2016, 13:38 | posts: 17,588 | Location: Glasgow

It was 3.49 to upgrade to the "advanced" edition.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#69)
EdInk
Member Guru
 
EdInk's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 (H20)
Processor: i7-6700K (H20)
Mainboard: Asus Z170i
Memory: DDR4 16GB
Soundcard: Logitech Z3
PSU: Corsair SF600
Default 07-15-2016, 13:52 | posts: 70 | Location: UK

Stocked & OC'd - http://www.3dmark.com/compare/spy/30712/spy/31630
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#70)
Odellot
Master Guru
 
Odellot's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSI 1080TI SLI PG348Q
Processor: i7 6950x @4.4ghz - H240-X
Mainboard: Asus ROG Strix X99
Memory: GSkill RGB - 3200/32GB
Soundcard: Phoebus - M50w / ATH900X
PSU: Seasonic Platinum 1200w
Default 07-15-2016, 13:57 | posts: 650 | Location: Philippines

Yey...6th..

Time Spy Hall of Fame with 2 GPU

   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#71)
Ryu5uzaku
Ancient Guru
 
Ryu5uzaku's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980ti gaming 1490/7700
Processor: 1800x 4.05ghz 1.35 volt
Mainboard: Asus CH VI x370
Memory: 16GB 3ghz ddr4
Soundcard: Asus strix pro
PSU: 850W SF platinum
Default 07-15-2016, 14:09 | posts: 6,463 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by EdInk View Post
Some serious oc. I can oc to max 1110 lol.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#72)
-Tj-
Ancient Guru
 
-Tj-'s Avatar
 
Videocard: ZOTAC GTX980Ti Amp!Omega
Processor: Intel i7 4770K OC 4.7GHz
Mainboard: ASUS Z87 Deluxe 2103
Memory: Gskill TridX 16GB 2400MHz
Soundcard: X-Fi Titanium HD @Bose A5
PSU: Nitro88+ 650W 52A
Default 07-15-2016, 14:20 | posts: 13,717 | Location: Proxima \/82

Conservative raster is used in new vxao and those new shadows htsl?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Xuanzang View Post
So i am able to run the Time Spy, but how to do custom benching with Time Spy? I already pay for the advanced version of 3DMARK a few months ago, and when i go to upgrade i have to pay for the advanced version once more? $20? even with the promo code?
Its only basic in adv version. You need to buy dlc for unlocked timespy custom mode.. think its ~5.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#73)
Kaarme
Master Guru
 
Kaarme's Avatar
 
Videocard: Sapphire 390
Processor: i5 6600K
Mainboard: Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
Memory: HyperX DDR4 16GB
Soundcard: Lead Audio LA-100 DAC
PSU: EVGA G2 750W
Default 07-15-2016, 14:25 | posts: 655 | Location: Finland

Quote:
Originally Posted by xIcarus View Post
When's the last time you saw conservative rasterization or raster-ordered views being used? Oh, you didn't? Then how do you know they don't work?
If they are worth anything, they are used in this test, right? It would be useless for Futuremark to build a comprehensive dx12 test and then just randomly leave stuff out of it. So, logic dictates they are there, but they aren't making Maxwell GPUs win any prizes. Look at Pascal, it's doing much better and acing the test. Async can give a significant boost already, but Nvidia wasn't interested in it when designing Maxwell (because it wasn't today's tech back then, to repeat myself), instead they opted to include stuff that doesn't seem to matter as much. That's why I say it's dx12 on paper but it's in reality a perfect dx11 GPU.

But yeah, I'm not a processor engineer, so you are free to tell me I don't know what I'm talking about. I can only derive assumptions based on statistics.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#74)
IceVip
Master Guru
 
IceVip's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1070 @ 2028/4514
Processor: FX-8320 @ 4.7 Ghz / X31
Mainboard: Gigabyte 990-XA-UD3
Memory: 3x4GB TeamGroup 1608Mhz
Soundcard:
PSU: Corsair CX600
Default 07-15-2016, 14:32 | posts: 527

Went 1.2G on my 290x

http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/13243241?

forgot to put the 16.7.2 driver, usin the 16.6.2 but i doubt there's any diff
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#75)
C-Power
Member Guru
 
C-Power's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte 980 TI G1
Processor: Xeon 2683 v3
Mainboard: ASRock Extreme6/3.1
Memory: 16Gb Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Soundcard: X-Fi HD, Pioneer DJM2000
PSU: Corsair rm1000i
Default 07-15-2016, 14:50 | posts: 56 | Location: The Netherlands

Here is my timespy score, quite happy with it considering I am running dual 2670's

3dmark.com/3dm/13244122

Score: 5897
Gpu Score: 5778
Cpu score: 6677
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.