Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > The HTPC, HDTV & Ultra High Definition section
The HTPC, HDTV & Ultra High Definition section Home Theater PC Enthusiasts or want to talk in High-Definition ? This is Guru3Ds Premier Community of HD and HTPC.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
HDMI over CAT5E,CAT6
Old
  (#1)
anticupidon
Ancient Guru
 
anticupidon's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX RX480 GTR 8GB
Processor: i5 6600K / Liqmax II 240
Mainboard: Maximus Extreme VIII
Memory: 16 GB GSkill Z DDR4 3000
Soundcard: ROG SupremeFX
PSU: EVGA 750 W G2
Default HDMI over CAT5E,CAT6 - 05-21-2016, 08:41 | posts: 2,857 | Location: far,far from home

I am asked to feed 4 TVs with HMDI signal coming from a Sky box.
A good quality 4-way splitter is about to be purchased, but i am lost a bit using 25 m HMDI cables.
I found out that there are HMDI over Ethernet extenders...anyone can give some advices about those, or about the whole thing ?
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
adabiviak
Master Guru
 
adabiviak's Avatar
 
Videocard: Gigabyte GTX 980Ti
Processor: Intel Core i7-5820K
Mainboard: Asus Sabertooth X99
Memory: DDR4 / 32GB
Soundcard: Creative Soundblaster Z
PSU: Corsair RM750X
Default 05-21-2016, 15:38 | posts: 702 | Location: California

We use VGA extenders at work - the video input goes into a box, CAT5 comes out the other side for the distance to another little box, out of which comes the video. Magenta has treated us well, and Extron hasn't been too bad. I imagine the HDMI ones work largely the same way. These are powered, so you'll want an AC outlet near the source and destination for them. They also push audio, although we don't use it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
InfinityX
Newbie
 
Videocard: 2x GTX 970 SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7 6700k
Mainboard: Asrock Extreme4 Z170
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws V 32GB
Soundcard: Sound Blaster Zx
PSU: Corsair RM 750 (80+ Gold)
Default 06-01-2016, 14:07 | posts: 35 | Location: Newbury, UK.

I use 'HDMI Ethernet Baluns' at work to manage connections between an HDMI matrix and four Epson HD projectors. The baluns work great and retain the original HD video source quality. I use CAT6, but there is no reason not to use CAT5e. Distance before degradation is about 40m in my experience, but the specs usually say 50m.



Each Balun is powered, so take that into consideration, and some models also support IR modules/probes so you can control them remotely, if you have the baluns stashed in a floor or ceiling void.

Google Neet Cables HDMI Extender Baluns. About 40 a pair on Amazon.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.