Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > Hardware > Laptops & Notebooks
Laptops & Notebooks They’re completely portable, and they use less power and make less noise than desktop models. But what if you have questions ?



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Laptop Ram Upgrade
Old
  (#1)
keithdaman666
Member Guru
 
keithdaman666's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1280 Zotac GTX 560 Ti
Processor: i5 2500k @ 3.3Ghz-for now
Mainboard: Z68 Extreme 4 Gen 3
Memory: G-skill Ripjaws-1600 8GB
Soundcard: creative 5.1
PSU: 700w
Default Laptop Ram Upgrade - 04-28-2016, 14:54 | posts: 56 | Location: Crieff

Hey, recently picked up an Hp Envy Sleek book 1237-tx. It currently has 1x4gb but I'm looking to upgrade to either 1x8 or 2x8.

Is it possible to match the ram specs and just buy from any vendor? as I'm only able to find one person that has 'compatible' ram.

It's Ddr3 pc12800 Sodimm 204 1.5v that I require. Any links? I'm in UK. Thanks
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
keithdaman666
Member Guru
 
keithdaman666's Avatar
 
Videocard: 1280 Zotac GTX 560 Ti
Processor: i5 2500k @ 3.3Ghz-for now
Mainboard: Z68 Extreme 4 Gen 3
Memory: G-skill Ripjaws-1600 8GB
Soundcard: creative 5.1
PSU: 700w
Default 04-28-2016, 15:23 | posts: 56 | Location: Crieff

This is the compatible ram apparently

https://www.offtek.co.uk/hp-compaq/l...FcsW0wodFDkHUg

And this was what I was thinking
http://www.laptopsdirect.co.uk/co_rs...10/version.asp
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
CrazY_Milojko
Maha Guru
 
CrazY_Milojko's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX760, R9 270X, GTX970..
Processor: i7-920C0 i7-2600K X5670/5
Mainboard: Asus & GB X58 /Asus Z68
Memory: 24 / 16 / 24 DDR3 1866
Soundcard: int.RealtekHD on all rigs
PSU: Seasonic 620W, Recom 750W
Default 04-28-2016, 15:59 | posts: 1,644 | Location: Serbia, Indjija

Quote:
Originally Posted by keithdaman666 View Post
Hey, recently picked up an Hp Envy Sleek book 1237-tx. It currently has 1x4gb but I'm looking to upgrade to either 1x8 or 2x8.

Is it possible to match the ram specs and just buy from any vendor?
In 95% situations there shouldnt be any problems if you mix RAMs from different vendors as long as their specs (voltaga, speed and CL timings) are the same or very close.

Quote:
Originally Posted by keithdaman666 View Post
It's Ddr3 pc12800 Sodimm 204 1.5v that I require. Any links? I'm in UK. Thanks

This is the compatible ram apparently

https://www.offtek.co.uk/hp-compaq/l...FcsW0wodFDkHUg

And this was what I was thinking
www.laptopsdirect.co.uk/co_rsa_ir_vengeance_8gb_memory_module_pc3-12800_1600_cmsx8gx3m1a1600c10/version.asp
^^^ Both of these RAMs shoud fit without a problem.

Pay atention on the fact that HP EnvyEnvy 4-1237tx and its Core i5-3337U (its memory controller) supports both 1.5 and 1.35V RAM's. As long as you don't mix DDR3 1.5V with DDR3L 1.35V RAM there shouldnt be a problem.

Personally I would choose this (because of Dual-Channel memory configuration):

2x 4GB 1600MHz DDR3L 1.35V PC3-12800 CL 9 (or CL10)
or
2x 8GB 1600MHz DDR3L 1.35V PC3-12800 CL 9 (or CL10)
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
turtle60
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX965M 2GB
Processor: i7 4720 HQ
Mainboard:
Memory: 16GB
Soundcard:
PSU: Original 180W Adaptateur
Default 11-12-2016, 11:16 | posts: 11

hi,

normally if you used with the same references (voltaga, speed and CL timings) there are no problems.

I have added on my laptop with these informations :

Memory Type
DDR3L (1.35V)
Frequency (s) Memory
PC3-12800 - 1600 MHz DDR3

And there was no problem
   
Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.