Guru3D.com Forums

Go Back   Guru3D.com Forums > General Chat > The HTPC, HDTV & Ultra High Definition section
The HTPC, HDTV & Ultra High Definition section Home Theater PC Enthusiasts or want to talk in High-Definition ? This is Guru3Ds Premier Community of HD and HTPC.



Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
How do i cut the chord? I want streaming + DVR
Old
  (#1)
the_4ork
Master Guru
 
the_4ork's Avatar
 
Videocard: Powercolor HD4850
Processor: Athlon X2 7750
Mainboard: ASROCK 790GX
Memory: 4GB 1066 HyperX
Soundcard: Onboard/Logitech 5.1
PSU: Antec 550w
Default How do i cut the chord? I want streaming + DVR - 12-07-2015, 18:13 | posts: 274 | Location: California

I want to give Dish network the finger.

I've been eyeing this SlingTV for $20 a month, but there is no DVR functionality.

I know I can get an antenna and record with a roku for local channels, but what about all the digital stuff?

Im NEVER home and watch 99% of everything from a record.

Lets say for instance, I record the football game off a local channel from the antenna on a roku, but how would I watch something from say, the discovery channel at a later time?

is it kinda like "on demand" where I can (after the show aired) select, a show off discovery and watch the newest episode? Or is it simlply just streamed live and I have to physically be there to watch it?

its all so confusing, and gives me a lot of anxiety from cutting the chord. my contract is up in a few months so that gives me time to research and pick out my equipment.

help! or at least point me to the correct forum!
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#2)
nhlkoho
Ancient Guru
 
nhlkoho's Avatar
 
Videocard: EVGA 980ti sc+
Processor: i7 4770k
Mainboard: Asus Z87 Plus
Memory: Veng. Pro 16GB DDR3-1866
Soundcard: Soundblaster Z
PSU: EVGA 750G2
Default 12-07-2015, 19:41 | posts: 6,932 | Location: Washington DC

Hulu?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#3)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX RX 470
Processor: Core i5 6600K
Mainboard: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro
Memory: Corsair DDR4-2666
Soundcard: Creative SB-Z
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Default 12-15-2015, 19:13 | posts: 19,765 | Location: US East Coast

HDHomeRun.....


   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
ss35th
Newbie
 
Videocard: GTX 660 2GB
Processor: AMD FX 8350
Mainboard: Asus M5A99FX Pro R 2.0
Memory: 8 GB DDR3 2400
Soundcard:
PSU: OCZ 700W
Default 12-15-2015, 21:23 | posts: 1 | Location: GA

you may want to check out the Tivo OTA or Channel Master DVR+

Last edited by ss35th; 12-15-2015 at 21:26.
   
Reply With Quote
 
Old
  (#5)
vbetts
Don Vincenzo
 
vbetts's Avatar
 
Videocard: Nvidia Geforce GTX 960M
Processor: Intel Core i7 6500U
Mainboard: Asus k501
Memory: 8gb DDR4
Soundcard: onboard
PSU: onboard
Default 12-26-2015, 00:04 | posts: 12,769 | Location: Toledo Ohio

I thought sling had dvr...

If you want to keep it legal, you can build a dvr pc. You can use kodi, and a digital tuner for that.

If you want to go the realm of other ways, there are a lot of sources in kodi.

I do not have cable, and use kodi for dvr and channel guide on my alpha, and a couple of small am1 boxes I built. Works great!

Also helps to know people with some of the vod services like Netflix. I have Netflix, so I let my parents use it so let me use their Hulu and att uverse services, my sister has HBO and stars on demand so I have it.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
main_shoby
Maha Guru
 
main_shoby's Avatar
 
Videocard: 980Ti Qnix 2710 96Hz
Processor: 5820k 4.4ghz on air :(
Mainboard: Asus Rampage V Extreme
Memory: Gskill 32gb 3ghz
Soundcard: Xonar STX & DT 880 Prem
PSU: Corsair Ax850
Default 06-23-2016, 15:30 | posts: 1,037 | Location: Miami

I am off the cable from last 2 years now. I got samsung HU8550 and an S805 android box that can run kodi.
Basically, youtube + hulu + netflix + kodi (for everything else).
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
EspHack
Maha Guru
 
EspHack's Avatar
 
Videocard: ATI/HD5770/1GB
Processor: Intel Core i7-980X
Mainboard: Intel DX58SO
Memory: DDR3/1600MHz/16GB/4 stick
Soundcard: ASUS XonarDX/Logitech G51
PSU: EPS Super Flower 750w
Default 06-30-2016, 05:51 | posts: 2,314 | Location: Dominican Republic

everything is recorded, channels just arbitrarily "air" things at certain hours, tv news are just some 30 second long shaky cam footage repeated a thousand times with a girl talking about it

after about a decade with no use for a tv i just threw mine away and bought a projector for my pc because i was tired of sitting at the desk, now this is what media consumption is supposed to be

if there's anything i have to be present at a certain hour to watch i just dont bother with it, see things like spaceX rocket landings, i can just watch it after it ends the live coverage, rewind it or whatever, thats how things should work
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
0blivious
Maha Guru
 
0blivious's Avatar
 
Videocard: MSi 1070 X / 970 / 780Ti
Processor: i7 4790K/i7 2600K/i3 4160
Mainboard: MSi Z97 Gaming 5
Memory: 16 GB @2133
Soundcard: SBZ + Logitech Z906
PSU: Corsair AX760 / CX750M
Default 07-11-2016, 12:18 | posts: 2,017 | Location: Bremerton, WA USA (Go Seahawks)

Cord-cutting sounds neat, but the part I can't figure out is sports.

Take Baseball, for instance. If I were to dump my TV provider and go internet only, I can buy the best Major League Baseball streaming package. Due to blackout policies, I could only watch the out-of-market games, not my home team because I live within the broadcast area of Root Sports Northwest, the channel that broadcasts all the Seattle Mariner games. If I lived anywhere else, it wouldn't be an issue. Same goes for any baseball fans who actually live near the team.

Baseball is so far behind the times with this.

The only option I'd have is frontrowsports.eu which his better than nothing but those are all streaming in 240p/12FPS.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
TyrantofJustice
Ancient Guru
 
TyrantofJustice's Avatar
 
Videocard: GTX 1080 G1 Gaming
Processor: 6700k 4.6
Mainboard: ASUS TUF type S
Memory: Ballistix 16GB
Soundcard: ASUS essence stx
PSU: SeaSonic Snow Silent-1050
Default 10-04-2016, 19:09 | posts: 4,882 | Location: united states

i watch a lot of cable tv here is the U.S like TNA on pop tv and wwe on USA network among discover channel and a few others that i record like amc walking dead and fear of walking dead can this be done with kodi? because i can get a hacked amazon firestick with kodi
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
sykozis
Ancient Guru
 
sykozis's Avatar
 
Videocard: XFX RX 470
Processor: Core i5 6600K
Mainboard: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro
Memory: Corsair DDR4-2666
Soundcard: Creative SB-Z
PSU: Corsair CX750M
Default 10-07-2016, 01:43 | posts: 19,765 | Location: US East Coast

Playstation VUE is similar to SlingTV but looks to have better channel offerings and prices. When I was shopping around for Internet service, I was looking quite hard at Playstation VUE. It doesn't require a Playstation and there is an app available for the Amazon FireTV.


   
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright (c) 1995-2014, All Rights Reserved. The Guru of 3D, the Hardware Guru, and 3D Guru are trademarks owned by Hilbert Hagedoorn.